经济援助退款/返回 Title IV (R2T4)



法律明确规定如果学生从学校退学,GIA 应如何确定学生所获得的 Title IV 计划援助。 这项法律涵盖的 Title IV 计划包括:联邦佩尔助学金、联邦补充教育机会补助金 (FSEOG)、联邦帕金斯贷款、直接贷款以及 PLUS 直接贷款。

虽然学生的经济援助会在每个付款周期开始之时划到他/她的学费账户,但是,学生可以在完成该周期之后获得这笔援助。 如果学生在付款期或注册期内退学,学生在此之前获得的 Title IV 计划经济援助金额将按照特定公式计算。 如果学生(或代表学生的 GIA 或家长)收到的经济援助比学生获取的金额少,则学生可以获得额外的资金。 如果学生收到的经济援助比获取的金额多,则那么 GIA 和/或学生必须退回多余资金。

学生取得的经济援助金额按照一定的比例计算。 例如,如果一名学生完成了付款期或学期的 30%,学生可以获取原计划援助的 30%。 如果学生完成付款期或学期的 60% 以上,就可以获取原计划在这一周期内接受的所有经济援助。

Title IV 退款将按照以下顺序分配:

1. 非补贴型联邦直接斯塔福德贷款计划

2. 补贴型联邦直接斯塔福德贷款计划

3. 联邦 PLUS 贷 款计划

4. 联邦 Perkins 贷款计划

5. 联邦佩尔助学计划

6. 联邦补充教育机会补助金 (FSEOG) 计划

7. 任何其他 Title IV 程序

8. 其他联邦、州、私人或机构学生经济援助计划

如果学生没有收到他/她争取到的所有资金,那么,学生应该获得退学后垫付款。 如果学生提款后垫付款包括贷款资金,GIA 在向学生支付该费退学前必须得到学生的同意。 学生可以选择拒绝部分或全部贷款资金,这样就不会产生额外的债务。 GIA 可自动使用全部或部分学生退学后垫付款,作为学杂费。 在使用提款后垫付款支付所有其他学校费用之前,GIA 必须征得学生的同意。 如果学生不同意,该笔资金将直接向学生提供。 让 GIA 保管这笔资金最符合学生的利益,这样可以减少学生在 GIA 的债务。

如果学生是第一次入学的一年级本科学生,并且在退学之前没有完成课程计划的第一个 30 天,那么,他们不会收到在完成过去 30 天登记期的前提下本应该收到的任何直接贷款资金。

如果学生(或代表学生接受资金的 GIA 或学生家长)超过了 Title IV 资金且必须退款,那么,GIA 必须退还多余的资金一部分,且退还资金应以以下较低者为准:

1. 未争取到的资金所占百分比乘以学生学费,或者

2. 多余资金的全部金额。

即使 GIA 没有保管这一笔学生 Title IV 计划资金,也必须退还该笔资金。

如果 GIA 没有必要退还所有多余资金,则学生必须退回剩余金额。

如果学生拥有任何必须退还的贷款资金,则他/她(或申请直接 PLUS 贷款的家长)必须按照约定记录中的条款偿还资金。

学生必须退还的所有未获得补助资金总额统称为超额偿付。 学生必须偿还的补助金超额偿付最高金额是学生已接收或预计接收补助资金的一半。 如果超额偿付的原始金额为 50 美元或更低,则学生无需偿还补助金超额偿付。 学生必须与 GIA 或教育部协商,退还未获得的补助资金。

在学生提款时,Title IV 计划资金的要求独立于 GIA 可能拥有的任何补助政策之外;学生可以要求 GIA 提供复印件。 学生可能依然需要向学校支付资金,抵消未支付的学费。 GIA 还可以向学生收取学校必须退还的任何 Title IV 计划资金。 GIA 还可以向学生提供正式退学的要求和程序。

如果学生存在与 Title IV 计划资金相关的一般问题,可致电联邦学生援助信息中心,电话:1-800-4-FEDAID (1-800-433-3243)。 TTY 用户可致电 1-800-730-8913。 学生亦可访问学生援助网站 www.studentaid.ed.gov,了解更多信息。

You are being redirected to GIA Alumni Association, LLC.

5

Financial Aid Refunds/Federal Return to Title IV Funds (R2T4)



The law specifies how GIA must determine the amount of Title IV program assistance that a student earns if he/she withdraws from school. The Title IV programs that are covered by this law are: Federal Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants (FSEOGs), Federal Perkins Loans, Direct Loans, and Direct PLUS Loans.

Although a student’s aid is posted to his/her tuition account at the start of each payment period, a student earns the funds as he/she completes the period. If a student withdraws during a payment period or period of enrollment, the amount of Title IV program assistance that the student has earned up to that point is determined by a specific formula. If a student received (or GIA or a parent received on the student’s behalf) less assistance than the amount that the student earned, the student may be able to receive those additional funds. If the student received more assistance than he/she earned, the excess funds must be returned by (GIA) and/or the student.

The amount of assistance that a student has earned is determined on a pro rata basis. For example, if a student completed 30% of his/her payment period or period of enrollment, the student earned 30% of the assistance they were originally scheduled to receive. Once the student has completed more than 60% of the payment period or period of enrollment, the student has earned all the assistance that they were scheduled to receive for that period.

Title IV refunds are allocated in the following order:

1. Unsubsidized Federal Direct Stafford Loan Program

2. Subsidized Federal Direct Stafford Loan Program

3. Federal PLUS Loan Program

4. Federal Perkins Loan Program

5. Federal Pell Grant Program

6. Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) Program

7. Any other Title IV program

8. Other federal, state, private, or institutional student financial aid programs

If a student did not receive all of the funds that he/she earned, the student may be due a post-withdrawal disbursement. If a student’s post-withdrawal disbursement includes loan funds, GIA must get the student’s permission before it can disburse them. The student may choose to decline some or all of the loan funds so that they don’t incur additional debt. GIA may automatically use all or a portion of the student’s post-withdrawal disbursement of grant funds for tuition and fees. GIA needs the student’s permission to use the post-withdrawal grant disbursement for all other school charges. If a student does not give their permission, the student will be offered the funds. It may be in the student’s best interest to allow GIA to keep the funds to reduce the student’s debt at GIA.

If a student is a first-time, first-year undergraduate student and they have not completed the first 30 days of their program before they withdraw, they will not receive any Direct Loan funds that they would have received had they remained enrolled past the 30th day.

If the student receives (or GIA or the student’s parent receives on the student’s behalf) excess Title IV program funds that must be returned, GIA must return a portion of the excess equal to the lesser of:

1. The student’s institutional charges multiplied by the unearned percentage of your funds, or

2. The entire amount of excess funds.

GIA must return this amount even if it didn’t keep this amount of the student's Title IV program funds.

If GIA is not required to return all of the excess funds, the student must return the remaining amount.

Any loan funds that the student must return, he/she (or parent for a Direct PLUS Loan) repays in accordance with the terms of the promissory note.

Any amount of unearned grant funds that the student must return is called an overpayment. The maximum amount of a grant overpayment that the student must repay is half of the grant funds the student received or was scheduled to receive. A student does not have to repay a grant overpayment if the original amount of the overpayment is $50 or less. A student must make arrangements with GIA or the Department of Education to return the unearned grant funds.

The requirements for Title IV program funds when a student withdraws are separate from any refund policy that GIA may have; a student may ask GIA for a copy. A student may still owe funds to the school to cover unpaid institutional charges. GIA may also charge a student for any Title IV program funds that the school was required to return. GIA can also provide students with the requirements and procedures for officially withdrawing from school.

If a student has general questions about their Title IV program funds, they can call the Federal Student Aid Information Center at 1-800-4-FEDAID (1-800-433-3243). TTY users may call 1-800-730-8913. Information is also available on Student Aid on the Web at www.studentaid.ed.gov

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more