网络学习

宝石鉴定

GEM 240

课程描述

鉴定 60 余种宝石,区分天然宝石与合成宝石,检测宝石处理。 在宝石上实践检验程序和技术。 了解该行业的工具,以及它们如何帮助揭示宝石的性质,而这对宝石鉴定至关重要。 研究最新的宝石处理手段,了解如何借助照明技术促进鉴定过程。 学习如何使用宝石鉴定所服务以及宝石鉴定技能来保护您的业务,避免出现代价高昂的错误。 期末考试为开卷,有人监考,请参阅教育目录了解详情。

要完成本课程,您必须使用宝石镊子(非锁定)、日光同等型光源、Maglite 笔形灯或类似设备(白炽灯)、至少 10 倍和 30 倍宝石学双目显微镜(暗场照明)、宝石擦布、带有可拆卸放大镜的折射仪、白色光源和偏光滤镜、折射率 (RI) 测量液 1.81、光学图形球、二色镜、偏光器、分光仪。 课程材料中不包括这些仪器。 远程教学的学生可以通过 GIA 商店购买工具包。 (您也可以在学生工作室中使用这些工具,请参阅教育目录。)

在此期间,您可能会接触到化学制品,因此如果您是孕妇、患有特定疾病或患有过敏症,应咨询医生意见。 请务必阅读化学制品安全信息披露。 如需了解更多信息,请致电 760 603 4165 联系教务长。

您将获得

  • 宝石鉴定证书

宝石鉴定

GEM 240

最长修课期限 24 个月

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

eLearning

Gem Identification

GEM 240

Course Description

Identify more than 60 species of gemstones, distinguish natural gems from synthetics, and detect gem treatments. Practice testing procedures and techniques on stones. Learn the tools of the trade and how they help reveal gem properties essential to identification. Study the latest gem treatments, and how illumination techniques can facilitate the identification process. Learn how to use gemological laboratory services and gem identification skills to protect your business from costly mistakes. Final exam is open book and proctored; see the Education Catalog for details.

To complete this course, you must have access to gem tweezers (non-locking), a daylight-equivalent light source, a mini Maglite or similar (incandescent), a gemological binocular microscope minimum 10x and 30x (darkfield illumination), a gem cloth, a refractometer with removable magnification piece, white light source and polarizing filter, refractive index (RI) liquid 1.81, an optic figure sphere, a dichroscope, a polariscope, and a spectroscope. These instruments are not included with the course materials. Distance Education students can purchase an instrument package through the GIA Store. (You can also use these tools in a Student Workroom; please refer to the Education Catalog).

During this course, you may come into contact with chemicals, so if you are pregnant, have certain medical conditions, or have allergies, you should contact your physician for advice. Be sure to read the Chemical Safety Disclosure. For more information, contact the Dean of Students at 760 603 4165.

What You Earn

  • Gem Identification Certificate

Gem Identification

GEM 240

Max Completion Time 24 Months

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
G&G Winter 2016 Edition
Learn more