高等教育紧急援助金 (HEERF)《CARES 法案》常见问答



什么是联邦《CARES 法案》?

2020 年 3 月 27 日,美国联邦政府签署了《新冠病毒援助、救济与经济安全法案》(CARES 法案)。该法案为包括教育机构在内的美国经济的各个方面提供经济补偿和援助。

《CARES 法案》让 GIA 获得了多少援助金?

《CARES 法案》划拨了近 140 亿美元,用于援助美国高等教育机构和美国教育部。同时,美国教育部使用一项复杂的公式来计算每间机构应得的资金数额。GIA 获得了 176,142 美元,其中 50% 必须用于学生紧急现金补助,为受新冠肺炎疫情影响,证实自己存在经济需要和经济困难的符合资格的学生提供援助。

哪些学生有资格获得援助金?

《CARES 法案》通过后,GIA 便组建了一支由研究院各部门代表组成的特别工作小组,仔细研究美国教育部提出的法案和指导, 并就学生援助金的分发问题提出建议。GIA 的高级领导团队批准了最终提议。

符合资格的学生必须为参加了 GIA 研究宝石学家 (GG)、研究珠宝学家 (GJ) 或珠宝设计与技术 (JDT) 美国校园课程的学生,并且是在 2020 年 3 月 16 日(卡斯巴尔德校区)或 2020 年 3 月 12 日(纽约校区)入学的学生。根据美国教育部的指导,GIA 将学习以上三门课程符合援助资格的学生分成两组。

第一组:符合以上资格描述,已提交联邦学生援助免费申请 (FAFSA) 的学生。必须已经完成验证过程且补助金额已核算。援助金额根据 FAFSA 中的家庭预计自付金额 (EFC) 进行核算。

第二组:符合以上资格描述,有资格申请 FAFSA 但尚未提交申请的学生。这些学生必须满足以下所有条件才有资格申请 FAFSA:是美国公民,或符合资格的非美国公民;拥有有效的社会保险号码;已在美国 进行兵役登记的男性学生;拥有高中文凭或美国高中同等学历证书,或在经认可的家庭教育环境完成了高中教育。

学生如何得知自己获批援助金?以何种方式获得?

获批信息将以安全邮件的方式发送给学生。学生必须填写“高等教育紧急援助金”核证表,填完后返给 GIA。支票将于 30 天内邮寄给学生。

学生援助金使用方面有何限制?

正如美国教育部所述,学生必须将援助金用于支付由于新冠肺炎疫情影响,校区停学产生的费用,比如食物、住宿、课程材料、技术、医疗以及儿童保育费用。

GIA 派发了多少紧急援助金?

查看 GIA 高等教育紧急援助金报告:
学生部分
机构部分

Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund (HEERF) CARES Act FAQ



WHAT IS THE FEDERAL CARES ACT?

The Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act was signed into U.S. federal law on March 27, 2020. The Act provides financial compensation and support to multiple layers of the U.S. economy, including educational institutions.

HOW MUCH DID GIA RECEIVE in cares act grant fundING?

The CARES Act allocated nearly $14 billion to support U.S. post-secondary educational institutions, and the U.S. Department of Education applied a complex formula to determine the amount awarded to each institution. GIA received a grant of $176,142, at least 50% of which must be used to provide emergency cash grants to qualified students who have demonstrated financial need and experienced financial hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

WHICH STUDENTS ARE ELIGIBLE to RECEIVE a grant?

Following the passage of the CARES Act, GIA organized a task force consisting of representatives from departments across the institute to review the legislation and guidance from the U.S. Department of Education to make recommendations for the allocation and delivery of the funds to students. GIA’s senior leadership team approved the final recommendations.

Qualified students must have started instruction in the GIA U.S. on-campus Graduate Gemologist (GG), Graduate Jeweler (GJ), or Jewelry Design & Technology Program (JDT) program, and been an active student on 03/16/2020 (Carlsbad campus) or 03/12/2020 (New York campus). Within those three programs, GIA established two groups of students who qualify for the grant, following the U.S. Department of Education guidance.

Group One: Students meeting the qualifications described above who have filed a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The verification process must be complete and aid already calculated. Award amounts are based on the Expected Family Contribution (EFC) as calculated in the FAFSA.

Group Two: Students meeting the qualifications described above who are eligible to file a FAFSA but have not done so. These students must meet all of the following criteria to be eligible to file a FAFSA: are a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen; have a valid Social Security number; have registered with the U.S. Selective Service if the student is male; have a high school diploma or GED, or have completed high school in an approved homeschool setting.

HOW WILL QUALIFIED STUDENTS BE NOTIFIED AND RECEIVE FUNDS?

Students will be notified via a secured email. Students must then complete the “Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund” certification form and return it to GIA. A check will be mailed to the student within 30 days.

ARE THERE LIMITATIONS ON HOW STUDENTS CAN SPEND THE MONEY?

As outlined by the U.S. Department of Education, students must use the funds for expenses related to the disruption of campus operations due to coronavirus, such as food, housing, course materials, technology, health care, and child-care expenses.

how many emergency grants has gia distributed?

Please click here for the GIA Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund Report.