切工:4C 的第四个标准


Placeholder Alt Text
此图中有三颗圆形明亮式钻石,重量分别是 0.76、0.82 及 0.74 克拉(从左到右),均达到了很好的切工等级。 每一个切工等级都代表一系列的比例组合,因此,每个切工等级的钻石外观都不相同。 摄影:Kevin Schumacher(凯文·舒马赫)/GIA

自 2006 年,GIA 开始将圆形明亮式钻石的切工等级纳入其鉴定证书,旨在以与颜色和净度相同的方式制定切工标准。 此切工分级系统以此前十年间进行的研究为基础;研究成果发表于《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 刊载的数篇文章中。

在 1989 年之前,GIA 对钻石切工的研究已持续数十年之久,也正是在这一年,GIA 的研究迎来了一个重大转机。 这一年,计算机技术取得了新突破和进展。通过新技术,GIA 研究人员可分析圆形明亮式切工钻石视觉外观的各方各面,而在此之前,这些分析都是不可能实现的,且对这些方面的探索亦是举步维艰。

圆形明亮式钻石 3-D 模型及电脑生成的光线路径
GIA 开发了一个先进的光线追踪程序,说明光线在钻石内部的相互作用。 这有助于研究人员确定哪种比例组合能创造更加明亮、闪耀的外观。

采用先进的计算机模型,我们能够模拟光线在圆形明亮式切工钻石中的传播轨迹,从而预测钻石的亮度和火彩特征。 为了研究这两项正面外观指标,我们对成千上万颗钻石的比例组合进行了分析,其中包括:桌面大小、冠角、底部角度、星形刻面长度、腰下刻面长度、腰围厚度、尖底大小及总深。 此外,我们还对磨光及对称性这两个外观特征的效果进行了研究。 我们发现,所有这些参数对光线效应的影响都是相互交错的,而且,与行业传统观念截然不同的是,在判断钻石的外观时,我们不能仅仅考虑这其中任何的单一比例或比例组合。 研究显示,高质量的光线效应与一系列比例组合紧密相关。

但是,这些发现还远远不够。

切工背后的谜团

我们想要找到两个重要问题的答案:第一,比例数值的变化在多大程度上会带来外观的差异,从而被观察者所发觉?第二,哪些比例组合所呈现的外观对多数观察者来说具有吸引力,哪些又会使钻石流失美丽?

通过大量的观察与研究,我们最终找到了这两个问题,甚至是更多问题的答案。

制定钻石切工分级系统

GIA 钻石切工分级系统建立在科学研究之上,旨在对圆形明亮式钻石进行预测评估

为了验证亮度和火彩的计算值,分析影响圆形明亮式钻石整体切工外观和质量的其他因素(如闪光、设计和工艺),GIA 踏上了一段漫长的观察测试之旅。所有观察测试均在标准照明环境下进行。

GIA 在珠宝行业的各个层面(钻石制造商、经销商、零售商和珠宝买家)研究了 2,300 多颗钻石,进行了 70,000 多次观察。 毫无疑问,这项研究的规模是史无前例的。

拿着托盘的手部特写,托盘中的钻石坞放着三颗待观察的钻石。
对真实钻石的观察非常重要,这有助于了解钻石的光区和暗区对比对其魅力的影响。

最终的预测性分级系统

在我们的试验中,每位观察者需对拥有不同比例组合的圆形明亮式钻石的亮度、火彩及整体切工外观进行评估。 这些观察的结果对 GIA 钻石切工分级系统的制定至关重要,可概括如下:

  • 我们能够验证针对钻石亮度和火彩的电脑建模。 这包括精确我们的度量值,使其与在标准照明及观测条件下所观察的真实钻石的亮度及火彩数值一致。
  • 我们能够分析并最终预测闪光等其他正面外观特征及切工品质因素,如设计、工艺等。
  • 我们能够确定在多大范围内,每个特征的差异(如亮度)会对真实钻石的外观造成能为观察者所识别的影响,以及人们能够辨别的整体切工等级类别。 这些结果的价值不可估量,通过它们,我们成功地将科学模型转化成一个可用于钻石行业日常运营的实际系统。
  • 我们发现,个人及地区外观偏好是功能强大的切工分级系统的固有部分。 虽然大多数观察者能够识别钻石切工品质的五大级别,但在挑选每个类别中最青睐的钻石时,个人和/或地区偏好往往在最后起到了决定性作用,我们的试验也证实了这一点。 这强调了一个事实,即在切工等级相同的钻石中,它们的外观可能各不相同,但却同样受人喜爱。
  • 也许最重要的一点是,大量的观察试验及行业互动让 GIA 建立了这样一个具有预测性的钻石切工分级系统。 也就是说,我们可以放心地将一组完整的比例及参数信息输入系统,获取切工等级结果,因为这个结果与大部分观察者的观察结果相一致。 这就是切工系统的预测评估本质,这也让 GIA 创建了一个包含超过 3,850 万组比例数值的切工分级结果的切工数据库。

GIA 研究人员正在观察钻石坞上的钻石。
在制定 GIA 钻石切工分级系统过程中,在标准照明环境下观察了成千上万颗钻石。

整体效应

通过电脑建模、观察试验及行业互动,我们发现,钻石要具备良好的视觉效果,它应该明亮、火彩强、熠熠生辉且整体外观赏心悦目,尤其是当正面朝上观察明暗模式时。

同样地,GIA 认识到,除了与正面外观吸引力相关的因素外,还有一些其他的因素应被纳入整体切工品质的评估。 设计及工艺品质(如钻石的重量比、坚固性、磨光和对称性等),即便它们对钻石的正面外观并无影响,在评定钻石的最终切工等级时,亦应将其纳入考虑范围。

Cut: The 4th C

GIA Research
January 14, 2016
These three round brilliant diamonds, weighing 0.76, 0.82, and 0.74 ct (left to right), received Very Good cut grades. Each cut grade covers a range of proportions and can therefore have different appearances. Photo by Kevin Schumacher/GIA

In an effort to establish standards for cut in the same manner as it has for color and clarity, GIA began issuing reports that included a cut grade for round brilliant diamonds in 2006. This grading system is based on research conducted over the previous decade, which was chronicled in several articles published in Gems & Gemology.

GIA had been studying diamond cut for decades, when in 1989 the Institute turned a significant corner. It was at this time that new advances in computer technology allowed GIA researchers to analyze aspects of the visual appearance of round brilliant cut diamonds that once had been impractical and difficult to explore.

3-D model of a round brilliant diamond with a computer generated light ray path
GIA developed an advanced ray-tracing program to understand how light interacts within a diamond. This helped researchers determine which proportion combinations create a brighter and more fiery appearance.

Using advanced computer modeling, we were able to replicate the way light behaves within a round brilliant cut diamond so that we could predict how a diamond would perform with regard to brightness and fire. To study these two aspects of face-up appearance, we analyzed tens of thousands of proportion sets which included: table size, crown angle, pavilion angle, star length, lower-half length, girdle thickness, culet size, and total depth. We also studied the effects of polish and symmetry on appearance. We found that all of these parameters were interrelated in their effects on light performance, and contrary to some traditional thinking in the trade, that no single proportion, or subset of proportions, could be considered alone in judging diamond appearance. We found that there was a wide range of proportions that had the potential for high quality light performance.

But that was just the beginning.

The Questions Behind Cut

We wanted to answer two important questions: First, to what degree do changes in proportion values create distinctions in appearance that can be seen by an observer? And second, which proportion sets produce results that are deemed attractive or unattractive by most observers?

With extensive observations and research, we were able to answer these questions, and more.

Development of the Cut Grading System

The GIA Diamond Cut Grading System for round brilliant cut diamonds is a predictive system that is grounded in science and research.

In an effort to validate the calculated values for brightness and fire, as well as analyze other components that contribute to a round brilliant's overall cut appearance and quality (such as scintillation, design, and craftsmanship), GIA embarked on an extensive journey of observation testing using a standardized lighting environment.

Over 70,000 observations were made on more than 2,300 diamonds using observers from all sectors of the jewelry industry: diamond manufacturers, dealers, retailers, and jewelry consumers. This undertaking was, without a doubt, the largest study of this type ever conducted.

Close-up of hands holding a tray with three diamonds to observe in Diamond Dock.
Observing real diamonds provided critical insight as to how the contrasting pattern of light and dark areas contributes to an attractive diamond.

A Final, Predictive Grading System

In our experiments, each observer was asked to evaluate the brightness, fire, and overall cut appearance of round brilliant diamonds representing many different proportion combinations. The results of this observation testing were vital to the development of the GIA Diamond Cut Grading System, and can be summarized as follows:

  • We were able to validate our computer modeling for brightness and fire. This included refining our metrics so that the results represented the brightness and fire seen in actual diamonds when they were observed in standard lighting and viewing conditions.
  • We were able to analyze and eventually predict other components of face-up appearance, such as scintillation, as well as aspects of cut quality such as design and craftsmanship.
  • We were able to determine how much variation in any one component (for example, levels of brightness) observers could see consistently in actual diamonds, and how many overall cut grade categories people could consistently discern. The value of these results was immeasurable — they allowed us to transform our scientific models into a practical system that could be used in the day-to-day world of the diamond industry.
  • We discovered that personal and regional preferences in appearance were an inherent part of a truly functional cut grading system. Although we confirmed that most observers could discern five overall grade categories for diamond cut quality, personal and/or regional tastes often dictated which diamond was finally preferred within each of those categories. This underscores the fact that there can be many different, yet equally pleasing, appearances within a grade category.
  • Perhaps most importantly, extensive observation testing and trade interaction allowed GIA to create a diamond cut grading system that was predictive. That is, it assured us that when the complete set of proportion and parameter information is input into the system to obtain a cut grade, that grade is consistent with the grade that would have been provided by a large majority of observers. It is this predictive nature of the cut system that allowed GIA to create a cut database that contains cut grading results for over 38.5 million proportion combinations.

GIA Researcher observing diamonds in a Diamond Dock.
Thousands of diamonds were observed in a standardized lighting environment during the development of the GIA Diamond Cut Grading System.

Putting It All Together

Through computer modeling, observation testing, and trade interaction, we confirmed that to be attractive, a diamond should be bright, fiery, sparkling, and have a pleasing overall appearance, especially when the pattern of bright and dark areas is viewed face up.

In the same manner, GIA recognized that more than just face-up attractiveness should be incorporated into the assessment of overall cut quality. Quality in design and craftsmanship (as evidenced by a diamond's weight ratio, durability, polish, and symmetry), even when face-up appearance is barely affected, should be considered in a diamond's final cut grade.

Related Articles:

Diamond Cut Anatomy: Round Brilliant

Certain measurements of the shape or proportions ultimately have an affect on the round brilliant diamond’s cut grade.
Read More

About GIA Facetware®

GIA Facetware® is a free online service that allows you to access GIA's database of more than 38.5 million diamond proportion sets
Read More

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more