不可思议的昆虫


有的有翅膀, 有的有六条腿, 有的会飞。 它们都是昆虫,种类繁多。 最新消息显示,科学家已经确定了超过 925,000 种昆虫。 它们引起人们的各种情感,或排斥,或着迷。在富有想象力的珠宝设计师手中,它们成为用钻石、红宝石、珍珠和其他绚丽宝石装饰而成的雄伟君王。

就像毛毛虫蜕变成蝴蝶,主要珠宝商将原始元素转化为可佩戴的艺术作品。 抛开对昆虫的一切成见,准备进入另一个世界—— 一个你可能经过无数次,但却从未注意过的世界。

奇怪的甲壳虫​

这个古董(约 1865 年)埃及圣甲虫吊坠手表上部是用红石髓雕刻的法老头像和绿色和蓝色珐琅黄金头饰。 头像下悬挂着一只珐琅圣甲虫,眼睛由红宝石制成,翅膀上镶有钻石。 圣甲虫的下面还有栩栩如生的雕刻,为这件异常复杂的作品锦上添花。


图片由 Mona Nesseth(莫娜·纳瑟茨)和 Michelle Laurenti(米歇尔·劳伦蒂)友情提供

珍珠毛毛虫

使用珍珠制作毛毛虫是创意天才的飞跃。 这枚昆虫胸针的主体是自然融合在一起的两颗大淡水珍珠(50×40 毫米,重 40.4 克)和一颗克旭珠;昆虫头部使用一颗中深色调的灰色克旭珠制成。 九颗包镶的凸圆面红宝石点缀在毛毛虫的身体上。 右下方的叶子是另一种淡水养殖珍珠;上面的叶子镶有 27 颗圆形切工的深绿色蓝宝石。 这条毛毛虫非常精美,并不需要蜕变成蝶。


摄影:© GIA 和 Tino Hammid(蒂诺·哈密德),由 Avi Raz(阿维·拉兹,A&Z Pearls 公司)捐赠。

蜘蛛明星

好莱坞设计师 Tony Duquette(托尼·杜奎特)展示了他是如何运用想象力将一只普通的昆虫塑造为他的“凤凰蜘蛛”的。她拥有珍珠做成的头,悬挂的囊,波浪状的黄金四肢,饰有珐琅斑点的腿,这样的组合胸针和吊坠是著名镶嵌设计师的奇特创作。 这个女神准备饱餐一顿,或产出新一代幼虫,虽然不是昆虫,她仍是其王国的女王。


照片由 Anthony & Elizabeth Duquette Foundation for the Living Arts(安东尼和伊丽莎白·杜奎特生活艺术基金会)友情提供

流线型的飞蛾

一只装饰艺术的飞蛾?听起来很奇怪,但这就是你所看到的。 层状的金属为胸针赋予时代的建筑感。 翅膀棱角分明的线条使其看起来好像在飞行。 耀眼的蛋白石显得略具超现实感。 而许多人却认为飞蛾是昆虫国王的丑姊姊!


照片由 Wallace Goldsmithing 友情提供

祈祷的螳螂,不朽的黄金

在这只螳螂中有多少不同寻常的元素?这只祈祷的仿真螳螂是使用实心银铸的艺术品(使用死螳螂做模型)。 这使其成为原始螳螂的精确复制品。 底部的翅膀用古老而复杂的日本木目金工艺制作:“焊接不同金属的薄层......不使用焊料和助焊剂”。木纹外观是木目金的醒目标志。 上面的翅​​膀制作则源自艺术家的灵感。 现在,该成品可能正用于装饰办公桌,或是在外面狩猎金属猎物。


由 Robert F. Officer(罗伯特·F.欧菲瑟)捐赠

Incredible Insects


Some have wings. Some have six legs. Some can fly. They’re insects, and they come in a stunning variety. At last count, scientists have identified more than 925,000 species of insect. They elicit a wide range of emotions in people – from repulsion to fascination – and in the hands of imaginative jewelry designers, they become majestic monarchs decorated in diamonds, rubies, pearls, and other spectacular gemstones.

Just as a caterpillar turns into a butterfly, master jewelers take raw elements and transform them into wearable works of art. Put aside whatever preconceptions you may have about insects, and prepare to step into another world – one that you have passed by countless times but may not have ever noticed.

Bizarre Beetle

This antique (circa 1865) Egyptian scarab pendant watch is crowned with a pharaoh’s head of carved carnelian and a headdress of green and blue enameled gold. Dangling from the head is an enameled scarab with ruby eyes and diamonds set in the wings. The underside of the scarab is also realistically engraved – the finishing touches of an exceptionally complex piece.


Photo courtesy Mona Nesseth and Michelle Laurenti

A Pearly Caterpillar

Making a caterpillar out of pearls is a leap of creative genius. The body of this bug brooch is two large freshwater pearls that are naturally fused together (50 x 40 mm, weighing 40.4 grams) and a Keshi pearl; the head is a medium-dark gray Keshi pearl. Nine bezel-set cabochon rubies stud the body of the caterpillar. The leaf on the lower right is another freshwater cultured pearl; the leaf above it has 27 round-cut dark-green sapphires. This caterpillar is so beautiful that it doesn’t need to turn into a butterfly.


Photo © GIA and Tino Hammid, Gift of Avi Raz, A&Z Pearls, Inc.

Celeb Spider

Hollywood designer Tony Duquette shows how far the imagination can reinvent a common bug with his “Phoenix Spider.” With her pearled head, hanging sack, undulating golden limbs, and enamel-flecked legs, this combination brooch and pendant is a fanciful creation by the famed set designer. A goddess ready to feast or to give birth to a new brood, although not an insect, she is the queen of her realm.


Photo courtesy The Anthony & Elizabeth Duquette Foundation for the Living Arts

A Streamlined Moth

An Art Deco moth? Sounds strange, but that’s what you’re seeing. The layered metal gives the brooch an architectural feel of the era. The angular lines of the wings make it look as if it were in flight. The dazzling opal appears a bit surreal. So much for thinking that moths are the ugly stepsisters of the insect kingdom!


Photo courtesy Wallace Goldsmithing

A Praying Mantis, Immortalized in Gold

How many unusual elements are in this Praying Mantis? This objet d’art is a solid silver cast of a real Praying Mantis (a dead one was used to make the mold). This makes it an exact replica of the original. The bottom wings were made using the ancient and difficult Japanese mokume gane technique – “welding thin layers of different metals…without solder and flux.” A wood grain look is the tell-tale sign of mokume gane. The upper wings were the artist’s inspiration. Now the finished piece probably decorates someone’s desk – or is out hunting for metallic prey.


Gift of Robert F. Officer