来自《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 的
重要文章


Placeholder Alt Text
同行审查的季刊《宝石及宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 已对宝石学科学产生了深远影响。 八十年来,其报告一直为科学家和研究人员提供资料,教育了一代代的宝石和珠宝专业人士。

我们请该杂志的编辑和主要撰稿人审查该杂志的大量作品,并选出他们认为特别重要的文章。 审查这个材料宝库后,他们挑选出一些文章,这些文章对推动宝石学知识和向宝石与珠宝行业提供实用的见解尤为重要。

我们将与您分享他们挑选的文章。

钻石颜色分级问题的解决方案
作者:Robert M. Shipley 和 R.T. Liddicoat
1941 年秋季刊,第 3 卷, 第 11 期, 162-167 页

Robert Shipley Sr. 和 Richard Liddicoat 介绍了通过使用标准化光源进行查看来评价无色到淡黄色钻石成色的方法;以及使用原型比色仪,以分度的颜色标度为标准对成色进行分级(后来成为 D 到 Z 成色等级标度)。

20 世纪 50 年代初期,采用了 GIA 钻石分级系统,1955 年出具了第一份钻石鉴定证书。 该系统现在成为评估钻石品质的国际标准。



在研究院宝石鉴定所遇到的新宝石材料或不寻常宝石材料
作者:G. Robert Crowningshield
1957 年夏季刊,第 9 卷, 第 2 期, 35-37 页,61-62 页

Robert Crowningshield 的专栏文章介绍了已提交给 GIA 进行测试的新宝石材料和有趣的宝石材料。 近 60 年后,关于宝石材料的报告仍然出现在该期刊的“实验室注意事项”部分。



宝石测试中的光谱学介绍
作者:G. Robert Crowningshield
1957 年夏季刊,第 9 卷, 第 2 期, 46-55 页,第 62 页

20 世纪 50 年代初,GIA 鉴定所的工作人员率先在英国使用分光仪来鉴定钻石和有色宝石。 在接下来的几年中,Robert Crowningshield 成为使用分光仪研究宝石的大师之一,并画出了各种宝石材料光谱带的手绘图案。

Crowningshield 在这里介绍宝石学家如何使用分光仪。 文中包含了他的一些光谱图副本。 分光仪仍然是珠宝测试中最重要的工具之一。



开发宝石测试中的观察方法
作者:R.T. Liddicoat
1962 年夏季刊,第 10 卷, 第 10 期,291-303 页

Richard Liddicoat 介绍了一些用于观察宝石材料的关键特征以对其进行鉴定的方法。 50 多年后,这些方法仍然是 GIA 宝石鉴定课程的重要组成部分。



快速目测估计钻石切工品质
作者:R.T. Liddicoat
1962 年秋季刊,第 10 卷, 第 11 期, 323-335 页

钻石的正面外观取决于刻面与其相关角度的比例。 Richard Liddicoat 介绍了宝石学家用于估计重要比例值的目测技能。



填充钻石的特点与鉴定
作者:John I. Koivula、Robert C. Kammering、Emmanual Fritsch、C.W. Fryer、David Hargett 和 Robert E. Kane
1989 年夏季刊,第 25 卷, 第 2 期, 68-83 页

用特殊玻璃填充及至表面的裂缝,能掩盖净度特征并改善钻石的表观净度。 这是用于无色和近无色钻石的最普遍处理方法。 作者介绍了一些宝石学家可用于识别经过净度处理钻石的视觉线索。



GIA 宝石鉴定所彩色钻石颜色分级
作者:John M. King、Thomas M. Moses、James E. Shigley 和 Yan Liu(刘燕)
1994 年冬季刊,第 30 卷, 第 4 期, 220-242 页

彩色钻石是最珍贵的宝石,是市场上最稀有的一种宝石材料。 本文详细介绍了 GIA 用于观察和描述这些钻石颜色的步骤,并引入了“彩级 (Fancy)”术语。



红宝石和蓝宝石的铍扩散
作者:John L. Emmett、Kenneth Scarratt、Shane F. McClure、Thomas M. Moses、Troy R. Douthit、Richard Hughes、Steven Novak、James E. Shigley、Wuyi Wang(王五一)、Owen Bordelon 和 Robert E. Kane
2003 年夏季刊,第 39 卷, 第 2 期,84-135 页

要改变红宝石和蓝宝石的颜色或外观,加热是最广泛使用的处理方法。 这个过程通常由于某种元素扩散到刚玉中产生与表面相关的颜色带而得以增强。 John Emmett 等人介绍了通过加热和晶格扩散处理使刚玉产生颜色或改变刚玉颜色的不同原理。



圆形明亮式切工钻石整体切工品质的分级基础
作者:Thomas M. Moses、Mary L. Johnson、Barak Green、Troy Blodgett、Kim Cino、Ron H. Guerts、Al M. Gilbertson、T. Scott Hemphill、John M. King、Lisa Komylak、Renee M. Renitz 和 James E. Shipley
2004 年秋季刊,第 40 卷, 第 3 期, 202-228 页

圆形明亮式切工钻石的切工分级系统基础建立在十年的工作之上,包括光线与已磨光钻石相互作用的数学模型,还有对各种钻石的大量观察。 2006 年开始出现在钻石鉴定证书上。 本文中将对其进行详细介绍。



GIA 鉴定所“D 到 Z”钻石成色分级
作者:John M. King、Ron H. Guertz、Al M. Gilbertson 和 James E. Shigley
2008 年冬季刊,第 44 卷, 第 4 期, 296-321 页

作者介绍了用于评价无色到淡黄色钻石成色的关键概念。 GIA 在 20 世纪 50 年代初采用的颜色分级仍然是钻石品质分级系统的重要组成部分。

Landmark Articles from
Gems & Gemology


Placeholder Alt Text
Gems & Gemology, GIA’s peer-reviewed quarterly journal, has had far-reaching effects on the science of gemology. For eight decades, its reporting has informed scientists and researchers, and educated generations of gem and jewelry professionals.

We asked the magazine’s editor and key contributors to review the journal’s body of work, and select articles they considered to be especially significant. After reviewing this treasure trove of materials, they picked ones that were particularly important to advancing gemological knowledge and providing practical insights to the gem and jewelry industry.

We share with you their selections.

A Solution to Diamond Color Grading Problems
By Robert M. Shipley and R.T. Liddicoat
FALL 1941, VOL. 3, NO. 11, PAGES 162-167

Robert Shipley Sr. and Richard Liddicoat describe methods for evaluating the color of colorless to light-yellow diamonds by the use of a standardized light source for viewing; and a prototype colorimeter for grading the color against a graduated color scale (which would later become the D-to-Z color grade scale).

The GIA diamond grading system was introduced in the early 1950s, with the first diamond grading reports issued in 1955. It is now the international standard for evaluating diamond quality.



New or Unusual Gem Materials Encountered in the Institute’s Gem Trade Laboratories
By G. Robert Crowningshield
SUMMER 1957, VOL. 9, NO. 2, PAGES 35-37, 61-62

Robert Crowningshield’s debut column describes new and interesting gem materials submitted to GIA for examination. Nearly 60 years later, reports on gem materials still appear in the “Lab Notes” section of the journal.



An Introduction to Spectroscopy in Gem Testing
By G. Robert Crowningshield
SUMMER 1957, VOL. 9, NO. 2, PAGES 46-55, 62

In the early 1950s, GIA lab staff used a spectroscope pioneered in the United Kingdom to identify diamonds and colored gemstones. During the next few years, Robert Crowningshield became one of the masters in using the spectroscope for studying gems, and also created hand-drawn patterns of spectral bands of a wide variety of gem materials.

Here Crowningshield describes how gemologists can use the spectroscope. Reproductions of a number of his spectra drawings are included. The spectroscope remains one of the most important instruments for gem testing.



Developing the Powers of Observation in Gem Testing
By R.T. Liddicoat
SUMMER 1962, VOL.10, NO. 10, PAGES 291-303

Richard Liddicoat describes methods for observing key features in gem material to determine their identity. More than 50 years later, these methods remain an essential component of GIA gem identification courses.



Rapid Sight Estimates of Diamond Cutting Quality
By R.T. Liddicoat
FALL 1962, VOL. 10, NO. 11, PAGES 323-335

The face-up appearance of a diamond depends upon the proportions of the facets and their related angles. Richard Liddicoat describes visual techniques that allow gemologists to estimate important proportion values.



The Characteristics and Identification of Filled Diamonds
By John I. Koivula, Robert C. Kammering, Emmanual Fritsch, C.W. Fryer, David Hargett, and Robert E. Kane
SUMMER 1989, VOL. 25, NO. 2, PAGES 68-83

Filling surface-reaching breaks with a special glass can hide clarity characteristics and improve the apparent clarity of a diamond. This is the most widespread treatment used on colorless and near-colorless diamonds. The authors describe the visual clues gemologists can use to recognize clarity-treated diamonds.



Color Grading of Colored Diamonds in the GIA Gem Trade Laboratory
By John M. King, Thomas M. Moses, James E. Shigley, and Yan Liu
WINTER 1994, VOL. 30, NO. 4, PAGES 220-242

Colored diamonds are the most valuable and some of the rarest gem materials in the marketplace. The procedures used by GIA to observe and describe the color of these diamonds, and the addition of “Fancy grade” terms are detailed here.



Beryllium Diffusion of Ruby and Sapphire
By John L. Emmett, Kenneth Scarratt, Shane F. McClure, Thomas M. Moses, Troy R. Douthit, Richard Hughes, Steven Novak, James E. Shigley, Wuyi Wang, Owen Bordelon, and Robert E. Kane
SUMMER 2003, VOL 39, NO. 2, PAGES 84-135

Heating is the most widely used treatment to change the color or appearance of ruby and sapphire. This process is often augmented by the diffusion of certain elements into corundum to produce a surface-related color zonation. John Emmett and others describe the various mechanisms used to create or modify color in corundum by heating and diffusion treatments.



A Foundation for Grading the Overall Cut Quality of Round Brilliant Cut Diamonds
By Thomas M. Moses, Mary L. Johnson, Barak Green, Troy Blodgett, Kim Cino, Ron H. Guerts, Al M. Gilbertson, T. Scott Hemphill, John M. King, Lisa Komylak, Renee M. Renitz, and James E. Shipley
FALL 2004, VOL. 40, NO. 3, PAGES 202-228

The foundation of the cut grading system for round brilliant-cut diamonds was created using a decade of work of mathematical models of light interacting with polished diamonds, along with numerous observations of a variety diamonds. It started appearing on diamond grading reports in 2006. It is described here.



Color Grading “D-to-Z” Diamonds at the GIA Laboratory
By John M. King, and Ron H. Guertz, Al M. Gilbertson, and James E. Shigley
WINTER 2008, VOL. 44, NO. 4, PAGES 296-321

The authors describe key concepts for evaluating color in colorless to light yellow diamonds. Grading color remains an essential component of the quality grading system of diamonds, which GIA introduced in the early 1950s.