《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 创刊 80 周年


Placeholder Alt Text
该杂志创立时较为简陋。 GIA 和出版物的创始人 Robert M. Shipley 在家中发行了第一期杂志。 他和他的儿子 Robert Jr. 写了很多的文章,而 Shipley 的妻子 Beatrice 则是业务管理员。 Shipley 对于出版物“提高宝石商人的知识和能力”的愿景得到了发展和升级。 Robert Crowningshield 和 Edward Gübelin 等著名宝石学家则撰写了关于行业里程碑的文章。 RICHARD T. LIDDICOAT (理查德·特·利德寇特) 担任《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 的主编,并于 1952 年成为 GIA 总裁,继续前任总裁开拓事业的传统。 自《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 创刊以来,已走过 80 载,其开创性、屡获殊荣研究刊物传统将不断传承下去。

这八十年来,《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 一直都是宝石和珠宝行业的重要资源。 早在 20 世纪 40 年代就出现了关于钻石分级的开创性文章。 通过“实验室注意事项”部分,GIA 宝石学家报告最新的处理和合成方法,从而为行业及公众提供保护。

祖母绿和钻石的净度提升。 高科技提升红宝石和蓝宝石的颜色。 合成红宝石、祖母绿、蓝宝石以及可能最大的挑战 — 合成钻石。 所有这些都已在 《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 的文章中进行了说明。

与此同时,该杂志向世界介绍了新的宝石材料,如碳硅石;探索了从哥伦比亚到莫桑比克历史上著名的和新的宝石矿床;并报道了宝石行业的快速发展,如中国的珍珠养殖业和加拿大的钻石开采。

“80 年来,《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 一直都是为行业提供各种宝石材料信息的主要专业期刊之一。 其内容揭示了宝石学的科学发展。”GIA 特聘研究员 James Shigley 博士说。 《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 在主编 Duncan Pay 的带领下继续发展。 在保持杂志科学严谨性的同时,Pay 的愿景是要达到更广泛的受众,并进一步将其突破性的研究整合到 GIA 教育中。

《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 有 GIA 鉴定所的支持,因此我们可以获得无可匹敌的资源来调查当下的重要问题。 这使得它成为推动宝石学研究和教育我们的学生和贸易专业人员的独特工具。”Pay 指出。

80 年来的所有《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 期刊均可在 www.gia.edu 免费下载,从而扩大其全球影响力。 宝石和珠宝专业人士可以轻松地访问多样而相关的文章库。 我们也要求杂志的主编和主要撰稿人选出十大标志性文章,他们的精选集非常吸引人而富有启发性。 单击此处查看具有里程碑意义的文章。

历史的车轮不断向前,下一个 80 年的发展之路将比第一个 80 年更加璀璨。

80 Years of Gems & Gemology


Placeholder Alt Text
The journal had humble beginnings. Robert M. Shipley, founder of GIA and the publication, produced the first issues out of his home. He and his son, Robert Jr., wrote many of the articles, while Shipley’s wife, Beatrice, was the business administrator. Shipley’s vision of a publication “to increase the gem merchant’s knowledge and ability” evolved and flourished. Eminent gemologists such as Robert Crowningshield and Edward Gübelin wrote articles about industry milestones. Richard T. Liddicoat assumed the roles of editor of Gems & Gemology (G&G) and president of GIA in 1952, continuing in the pioneering tradition of his predecessor. Now 80 years since its conception, G&G continues its legacy as a groundbreaking, award-winning research journal.

Over these eight decades, G&G has been a critical resource for the gem and jewelry industry. Groundbreaking articles on diamond grading appeared as early as the 1940s. Through the Lab Notes section, GIA gemologists reported on the latest treatments and synthetics, which helped to protect the trade and the public.

Clarity enhancement of emeralds and diamonds. High-tech color enhancement of rubies and sapphires. Synthetic rubies, emeralds, sapphires and—perhaps the greatest challenge—synthetic diamonds. All have been explained through the pages of G&G.

At the same time, the journal has introduced to the world new gem materials such as moissanite; explored historic and new gem deposits from Colombia to Mozambique; and reported on rapid developments such as the emergence of China’s cultured pearl industry and diamond mining in Canada.

“For 80 years, G&G has been one of the principal professional journals for information on gem materials of all kinds. Its contents reveal the evolution of the science of gemology,” said Dr. James Shigley, GIA Distinguished Research Fellow. G&G continues to evolve under the editorship of Duncan Pay. While the journal will retain its scientific rigor, Pay’s vision is to reach a broader audience and further integrate its groundbreaking research into GIA education.

G&G is backed by GIA’s laboratory, giving us unmatched resources to investigate the important issues of the day. This makes it a unique vehicle for advancing the study of gemology and for educating our students and the trade professionals,” noted Pay.

All 80 years of G&G are available for free download at www.gia.edu, thus broadening its reach around the globe. Gem and jewelry professionals can easily access a library of diverse and relevant articles. We also asked the journal’s editor and key contributors to pick ten landmark articles, and their selections are fascinating and illuminating. View the landmark articles here.

If history is a guide, the next 80 years promise to be even brighter than the first.