纽约
纽约

认识我们的教职员

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 导师是充满激情的教育工作者,他们将多年的行业经验带到课堂上。 每个人都是其各自领域内的领导者,每个人都致力于帮助您获得知识、掌握技能,并开启您的职业生涯。

宝石学

Edyta Banasiak

Edyta Banasiak(埃迪塔·巴纳西亚克)

作为一名矿物学家和宝石学家,Edyta(埃迪塔)获得了波兰雅盖隆大学的地质学硕士学位。她的研究领域包括热液过程和矿物系统。Edyta(埃迪塔)于 2013 年加入 GIA,成为有色宝石鉴定部门的宝石学家,并在此获得了研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 文凭。她目前担任纽约校区的宝石学讲师,非常高兴能与学生分享她的热情和知识。爱因斯坦是她的科学偶像,其名言“教育就是当一个人把在学校所学全部忘光之后剩下的东西”便是她的行事准则。

Sidharth Bhatia

Sidharth Bhatia(西达尔特·巴蒂亚)

Sidharth(西达尔特)在很小的时候就开始对宝石和珠宝感兴趣。高中毕业后,他开始在 Galaxy 美国公司工作,专门销售彩色钻石。在 Galaxy 美国公司工作期间,Sidharth(西达尔特)获得了钻石文凭,并从柏鲁克学院毕业,获得了经济学学士学位。2015 年,对学习和帮助他人的渴望让他来到了 GIA。在担任学生支持代表的同时,他完成了有色宝石文凭 (Graduate Colored Stones) 课程(获得研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 文凭),并获得了专业珠宝家 (Applied Jewelry Professional) 和珍珠文凭 (Graduate Pearls) 证书。

Cristiano Brigida(克里斯蒂亚诺·布里吉达)

地质学家和宝石学家 Cristiano Brigida(克里斯蒂亚诺·布里吉达)拥有意大利米兰大学的矿物学和岩石学博士学位。 在从事矿物和材料科学研究期间,克里斯蒂亚诺曾在墨西哥、加拿大和意大利阿尔卑斯山进行过野外考察;还曾前往泰国、印度、马达加斯加和巴西购买过宝石。 克里斯蒂亚诺还曾在公立学校和科研机构任教,也非常高兴能到 GIA 任教。

Brian Driscoll(布赖恩·德里斯科尔)

Brian 在大学学习地球科学,毕业后任职于旧金山加州科学院。 搬到纽约市后,他在美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 工作,同时获得了GG文凭。 自 Brian 2002 年成为 GIA 教职工一员以来,他还获得了英国宝石学协会优秀研究员称号。

Francoise Greder(弗朗索瓦丝·格雷德)

Francoise(弗朗索瓦丝)持有法国莱斯大学英语学士学位。她最初进入珠宝行业是在一家珠宝店做销售助理,后来就读于美国宝石研究院的研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 课程,学习必要的专业知识和技能。自 2000 年以来,Francoise(弗朗索瓦丝)一直担任 GIA 的宝石学讲师。

Lisa Kennedy(丽莎·肯尼迪)

Lisa(丽莎)毕业于纽泽西大学,拥有化学理科学士学位。 她的研究领域包括固态化学以及新热电材料的研发。 毕业后,Lisa(丽莎)曾在珠宝零售业担任过销售助理。 她从 2014 年开始加入 GIA,成为花式彩色钻石和宝石鉴定部门的宝石学家。 现在,她非常热衷于和学生分享她对宝石学的热情。

Samira Mazloom

Samira(萨米拉)成长于珠宝商世家,继承了家族对珠宝的热情,从伦敦密德萨斯大学 (Middlesex University) 获得了翻译和珠宝设计学士学位。毕业后,她设计的作品荣获了多项大奖。作为买手、宝石学家、估价师、设计师和珠宝商,Samira(萨米拉)的足迹遍布中东、欧洲和美国。随后 Samira(萨米拉)从 GIA 纽约校区获得了研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 文凭。现在,她将自己的丰富知识和经验应用于教学工作。

Kathleen Trocine(凯瑟琳·特洛辛)

Kathleen(凯瑟琳)拥有 20 多年的珠宝行业从业经验。她的专业成就包括获得了 GIA 研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 文凭,以及在蒂芙尼公司 (Tiffany & Co.) 从事销售和质量控制工作。Kathleen(凯瑟琳)还曾担任过美国制造商和海外女装设计师的联络人。在加入 GIA 纽约校区之前,凯瑟琳担任了 Lazare Kaplan Inc. 公司的珠宝生产经理。

珠宝制造艺术

Antar Hall(安塔尔·霍尔)

安塔尔持有汉普顿大学海洋与环境科学学士学位和弗吉尼亚理工大学水产养殖硕士学位。 2007 年,他就职于 David Yurman 公司,同时在 Fashion Institute of Technology(时装技术学院)学习珠宝 3D 建模艺术。 在 Yurman 公司,安塔尔很幸运地得到了公司一些顶级 CAD 艺术家的指导。 他同时还担任曼哈顿很多珠宝品牌的全职和兼职 CAD 设计师,包括 Alexis Bittar、Temple St. Clair、Ippolita、Verragio、Maiyet 和 Henry Dunay。 安塔尔还曾在 Fashion Institute of Technology(时装技术学院)任教六年,主讲 Rhino 课程。 近日,安塔尔在白宫举行的首届 3D 打印圣诞饰品设计大赛上获胜,他设计的饰品挂上了白宫的圣诞树,随后被史密森尼国立美国历史博物馆收藏。

John Mastoloni(约翰·马斯托洛尼)

约翰将超过 25 年的 CAD/CAM 经验和 15 年的珠宝设计经验带到了课堂。 从范德比尔特大学机械工程专业毕业后,约翰先后供职于多家航空公司,利用 CAD 为公司设计机身部件。 1999年,他创办了 M2 Systems 公司,为珠宝行业提供 CAD/CAM 服务。 在此期间,他将公司打造成为 Robert McNeel and Associate 公司 Rhinoceros 和 Gemvision 公司 Matrix CAD 系统的认证培训机构。 约翰还拥有丰富的珠宝生产经验,非常熟悉最新的 3D 打印和数控铣床。

Maria Tsangaropoulos

Maria 将超过 20 年的珠宝设计经验带到了课堂。 她曾担任 Riva Manufacturing 的产品开发主管,负责管理 CAD 工程团队以及建立原型和样品。 在为新​​娘首饰制造商 Paul Winston 工作期间,她承担同样的职责。 在为男士珠宝制造商 Robert Baum 工作期间,她负责质量控制和承包商管理。 在 Iris Gold,Maria 是公司推出的意大利风格系列的首席设计师。 Maria 在加州州立大学长滩分校获得了珠宝和金属加工专业的美术学士学位,并获得了 GIA 的珠宝设计证书,之后曾就职于一家荷兰金饰加工公司。

New York
New York

MEET OUR FACULTY

GIA instructors are passionate educators who bring years of industry experience to the classroom. All are leaders in their fields, and all are dedicated to helping you gain knowledge, acquire skills and launch your career.

gemology

Edyta Banasiak

Edyta Banasiak

A mineralogist and gemologist, Edyta received her Masters of Science in Geology from the Jagiellonian University in Poland. Her areas of study included hydrothermal processes and mineral systems. Edyta has been with GIA since 2013, holding the position of staff gemologist in the Colored Stones Gem Identification department, where she earned her Graduate Gemologist® diploma. Currently a gemology instructor at the New York campus, she is happily sharing her passion and knowledge with her students. Inspired by her scientific hero, Albert Einstein, she follows the saying, “Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school.”

Sidharth Bhatia

Sidharth Bhatia

Sidharth’s interest in gems and jewellery started when he was young. Upon graduation from high school, he began working at Galaxy USA, where he specialised in the sale of fancy coloured diamonds. While at Galaxy USA, Sidharth earned his Graduate Diamonds diploma and graduated from Baruch College with a BA in Economics. His desire to learn and help others brought him to GIA in 2015. While working as a student support representative, he completed the Graduate Colored Stones programme (earning the Graduate Gemologist® diploma), and earned the Applied Jewelry Professional and Graduate Pearls certificates.

Cristiano Brigida

Geologist and gemologist Cristiano Brigida earned a PhD in mineralogy and petrology at the University of Milano, Italy. While working in the field of mineral applications and material sciences, Cristiano went on field expeditions to Mexico, Canada, the Italian Alps; and gemstone buying trips to Thailand, India, Madagascar and Brazil. Cristiano also taught the subject matter in public schools and research institutions, and is thrilled to be teaching it at GIA.

Brian Driscoll

After studying earth sciences in college, Brian worked at the California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco. Moving to New York City, he worked for GIA, and at the same time earned his GG. A member of GIA’s teaching staff since 2002, Brian also holds the distinguished Fellowship from the Gemmological Society of Great Britain.

Francoise Greder

Fran holds a Bachelor’s in English from Nice University in France. She entered the jewelry industry as a sales associate at a jewelry store, and then enrolled in GIA’s Graduate Gemologist® program to acquire necessary knowledge and skills. Fran has been a gemology instructor with GIA since 2000.

Lisa Kennedy

Lisa holds a bachelor's of science in chemistry from The College of New Jersey. Her areas of study included solid state chemistry and the development and research of new thermoelectric materials. After graduation, Lisa worked as a sales associate in jewelry retail. She has been with GIA since 2014, holding the positions of staff gemologist in the fancy colored diamonds and gem identification departments. She is now thrilled to share her passion for gemology with her students.

Samira Mazloom

Growing up in a family of jewelers, Samira followed her family’s passion by earning a B.A in translation and jewelry design from Middlesex University, London. After graduation, she won multiple awards for her designs. Working as a buyer, gemologist, appraiser, designer and jeweler, Samira traveled across the Middle East, Europe and the United States. Samira then earned a Graduate Gemologist® diploma from GIA's New York campus. She now brings her vast knowledge and experience to the classroom.

jewelry manufacturing arts

Antar Hall

Antar holds a Bachelor’s of Science in marine and environmental science from Hampton University and a Master’s of Science in aquaculture from Virginia Tech. He learned the art of 3D modeling jewelry in 2007 while attending the Fashion Institute of Technology and working at David Yurman. At Yurman, Antar was fortunate enough to be mentored by some of the company’s top CAD artists. He also worked as a fulltime and freelance CAD designer for many top Manhattan- based jewelry brands including Alexis Bittar, Temple St. Clair, Ippolita, Verragio, Maiyet, and Henry Dunay. Antar also taught classes in Rhino at the Fashion Institute of Technology for six years. Recently, Antar was a winner in the White House’s first-ever 3D printed ornament design challenge, where his ornament was hung on a White House Christmas tree, and subsequently included in the collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.

John Mastoloni

John brings 25 years of CAD/CAM experience and 15 years of jewelry design experience to the classroom. After graduating from Vanderbilt University with a degree in mechanical engineering, John spent the next 10 years designing airframe components for numerous aerospace companies using CAD. In 1999, he founded M2 Systems, which offered CAD/CAM services to the jewelry industry. During his time at M2 Systems, he became a certified training facility for Robert McNeel and Associate’s Rhinoceros and Gemvision’s Matrix CAD systems. John also has extensive jewelry production experience, and is extremely knowledgeable about the newest 3D printing and CNC milling machines.

Maria Tsangaropoulos

Maria brings more than 20 years of jewelry design experience to the classroom. She was the director of product development for Riva Manufacturing, where she oversaw the CAD engineering team and the creation of prototypes and samples. She had similar responsibilities when she worked at Paul Winston, a manufacturer of bridal jewelry. At Robert Baum, a manufacturer of men’s jewelry, she was responsible for quality control and managing contractors. At Iris Gold, Maria was lead designer for the firm’s Italian-styled collection. Maria earned a bachelor in fine arts-jewelry /metalsmithing from California State University in Long Beach, the Jewelry Design certificate from GIA, and served a four-year apprenticeship with a Dutch goldsmith.