卡尔斯巴德
加利福尼亚

认识我们的教师

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 导师是充满激情的教育工作者,他们将多年的行业经验带到课堂上。 每个人都是其各自领域内的领导者,每个人都致力于帮助您获得知识、掌握技能,并开启您的职业生涯。

宝石学

John Cason(约翰·卡森)

John(约翰)是面授宝石学教学主管,他加入 GIA 时,已经在珠宝行业有超过 14 年的丰富经验,包括安特卫普钻石采买、珠宝销售、珠宝制造等。从业十余年后,又获得了 GIA 研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 文凭。他还获得了多媒体技术和珠宝制作与设计的教育证书。John(约翰)利用业闲时间获得了位于加利福尼亚州 Oceanside 市的美国力量编队 (United States Power Squadron) 的讲师认证,他也乐于教授安全知识和航海技能。

Martin Harmon(马丁·哈蒙)

Martin(马丁)的珠宝职业生涯始于高中时期的一堂美术课,并在大学时得以延续。1982 年,他进入 GIA 圣塔莫尼卡分校学习,完成了研究珠宝学家和钻石文凭课程。在全职工作期间,他还通过远程教育获得了有色宝石和宝石鉴定文凭。Martin(马丁)具有丰富的行业经验,其中包括 16 年的零售业经验和 12 年的管理经验。他曾担任过镶工师傅、生产经理以及批发行业的采购员。2000 年 5 月,Martin(马丁)开始担任卡尔斯巴德校区在校研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 课程的讲师,之后担任 GIA 鉴定所的在职宝石学家、钻石分级师及质量保证分级师。对 Martin(马丁)来说,作为一名讲师,最有价值的地方在于能够帮助学生实现成为研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 的目标。

Brenda Harwick

作为卡尔斯巴德校区的校内教学高级经理,Brenda(布伦达)拥有 10 多年的钻石分级、有色宝石分级和宝石鉴定的理论与实践经验。Brenda 的专业知识来自于广泛的零售和正规宝石学培训。她钟情于珠宝首饰,渴望吸收产品知识,擅长客户关系,这一切促使其零售事业获得成功,其中包括销售、采购和定制珠宝设计和制造的准备工作等职位。对宝石和珠宝的热爱促使她来到美国宝石研究院 (GIA),并在此获得了研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 文凭。Brenda 于 1999 年被聘为 GIA 卡尔斯巴德校区的在校辅导员。她还曾在全球多个 GIA 校区任教。

Jessica Kramer

Jessica 在高中快毕业时开始对宝石学产生兴趣,因此,她在 2005 年入读 GIA,并获得了研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 和应用珠宝专家 (Applied Jewelry Professional) 文凭。她在珠宝零售业工作了十年,销售订婚戒指和精美珠宝,并与珠宝商密切合作,为客户定制珠宝。Jessica 于 2015 年加入 GIA 鉴定所,担任在职宝石学家,主要负责钻石分级。后来她帮助培训钻石分级师新生,并带学生和客户参观鉴定所。加入教育团队担任宝石学讲师后,Jessica 便能融合其对钻石和宝石的热情,同时帮助学生、教授学生。

Carson Lee(卡森·李)

Carson(卡森)开始从事珠宝行业时是一名金匠。 他超过 10 年的工作经验还包括:精美手表和珠宝销售、销售培训以及珠宝设计。 Carson(卡森)喜欢与客户紧密合作,为其提供卓越的修缮、销售、定制设计珠宝服务。 入行前,他在巴西待过两年,能说一口流利的葡萄牙语。

Tim Richardson(蒂姆·理查森)

15 岁时,Tim(蒂姆)便在自家经营的珠宝公司学习基本的珠宝维修和磨光技术,开始进入珠宝行业。17 岁时,他开始从事销售工作,在订婚珠宝、时尚、估价和定制设计领域积累了经验。2012 年,他获得了工商管理和音乐文学学士学位,此后,担任门店经理一职。在此期间,他不仅累积了销售经验,还参加过多场展会,获得了应用珠宝家 (Applied Jewelry Professional) 文凭。2014 年从 GIA 卡尔斯巴德分校毕业并获得研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 文凭后,Tim(蒂姆)开始担任 GIA 钻石鉴定所的在职宝石学家/钻石分级师。2015 年,他加入了教育团队,担任宝石学讲师。

Nina Switzer-Spano(尼娜·斯威策-斯帕诺)

Nina 在珠宝首饰贸易行业做了四年,后来意识到获得研究宝石学家证书会极大地促进自己的职业生涯。 从美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 毕业后,她曾连续 11 年在伯格曼高级珠宝 (Bergmann’s Fine Jewelry) 任经理和估价师。 她在 2007 年加入美国宝石研究院成了一名讲师,把自己的经验和对销售、设计、购买珠宝的深入了解带到课堂。

Teresa Tolbert(特雷莎·托尔伯特)

Teresa(特雷莎)对宝石和珠宝充满热情,因此她参加了卡尔斯巴德的 GIA 研究宝石学家课程。她在 2005 年获得 GIA 研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®)和应用珠宝家(Applied Jewelry Professional)文凭后,便开始担任 GIA 鉴定所的钻石分级师,给 D-Z 级别的钻石和彩色钻石分级。在鉴定所工作的 14 年间,她帮助培训了卡尔斯巴德、纽约、印度、以色列和博茨瓦纳的新的钻石分级师,这是她任职期间主要的工作内容。她还参与了其他许多工作,比如质量保证工作。能看到自己培训的分级师有所进步,是她工作中最有意义的一方面。她希望帮助下一代珠宝师,这让她成为了 GIA 宝石学讲师。

Kate Trunnell(凯特·特鲁尼尔)

2005 年加入美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 之前,Kate 为一家玻璃工坊从事了六年的制作与设计工作。 她还拥有数年的珠宝零部件供应商经验。 Kate 在珠宝首饰零售、批发和设计方面的丰富经验让她对珠宝全程制作艺术有了独特理解。 Kate 对于自己在美国宝石研究院的工作如此评论道:“我喜欢与学生分享其达到目标那一刻的喜悦和自豪。”

Shelly Verwymeren(雪莉‧沃瑞莫兰)

作为一名拥有 14 年从业经验的珠宝行业老将,Shelly(雪莉)拥有零售管理、销售、珠宝设计,和为一家美国龙头珠宝企业采购的经验。 现任美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 实习班讲师,她非常享受宝石学基础教学这一过程。 成为宝石学家之前,Shelly(雪莉)曾是一位优秀的音乐家和音乐教师。 她经营自己的娱乐公司,并曾在若干个欧洲和亚洲市场工作。 在亚洲,Shelly(雪莉)在一家总部位于香港的珠宝公司工作,在那里,她专业从事国际销售和市场营销。

Kate Waterman(凯特·沃特曼)

Kate(凯特)自 2000 年起就开始进入宝石和珠宝行业,并于 2011 年加入了 GIA。她对大自然令人惊叹的作品充满了无限热情,这让她涉足宝石和珠宝行业的诸多领域,包括:销售、管理、运营、学徒培训、金器制作、珠宝设计、钻石分级、钻石研究分析,现在,她更成为了一名宝石学讲师。Kate(凯特)获得了 GIA 的应用珠宝家 (Applied Jewelry Professional) 证书、研究珠宝学家 (Graduate Jeweler) 和研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 文凭,并在教经历中不断成长。正如她所说:“与学生分享我对宝石的热爱,看着他们学习,每天都激励着我进步。”

珠宝制造艺术

Darla Alvarez(达拉·阿尔瓦雷斯)

Darla(达拉)的第一份工作是珠宝销售员,一干就是两年。期间,她获得了应用珠宝家 (Applied Jewelry Professional) 文凭,但很快,她又迷上了珠宝创造。完成研究珠宝学家课程后,她在一家商店工作了 2 年,随后,她被一家定制珠宝设计工作室聘用。接下来的 7 年里,她专注于吸收成为一名定制珠宝商所需的各类知识,学习维修、铸造、加工和镶嵌的工艺流程,尤其是 CAD/CAM。Darla(达拉)加入 GIA 团队是为了和学生们分享实践经验,从而最大化地促进学生的未来成长。

Manuel Basmajian(曼纽尔·贝斯马吉安)

Manuel(曼纽尔)从年轻时起就对珠宝创作充满热情,那时,他还是一家块状手链手工制作公司的学徒。 16 岁时,他开始供职于一家专门进行数控机床婚戒制作的公司。 之后,他在零售店做镶工兼销售员。 2002 年,他成为一家制造公司工厂的经理和 CAD/CAM 设计师,这家公司专门生产钻石和有色宝石珠宝。 2009 年,Mannual(曼纽尔)成为公司的设计总监,创作出获得大奖的军用戒指。 他还为主要珠宝商创建了自定义模型设计。 2016 年,Mannual(曼纽尔)加入 GIA 成为一名新的 CAD 老师,他带来了 23 年以上的相关行业经验,并且,他乐于助人。

Paula Carter Andrews(保拉·卡特·安德鲁斯)

Paula(保拉)于 2015 年初加入 GIA 伦敦校区。在伦敦吉尔德霍尔大学学习珠宝设计和制造后,她便从银匠和金匠学徒开始做起,慢慢地爱上了这份职业,一做就是 18 年。在过去的九年里,她已发展为采用最新最前沿的技术从事定制和 CAD 设计工作。Paula(保拉)从事珠宝行业多年,掌握了丰富的知识,她渴望将其所学带到 GIA。

Jerry Golech(杰里·高乐科)

Jerry(杰里)于 1983 年进入珠宝行业,从事珠宝销售和销售管理。他非常喜爱手工工作,因此获得晋升,负责管理一家全国性珠宝零售商的地区维修店。1985 年,他在俄亥俄州坎顿开了一家珠宝定制店,他主要负责珠宝维修、制作、蜡雕、铸造和复合珠宝修复。Jerry(杰里)于 2005 年加入 GIA 教育团队,担任研究珠宝学家 (Graduate Jeweler) 课程的讲师。Jerry(杰里)是 GIA 的研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 和终身学习者,积极开展课堂教学、开发课程内容,为下一代珠宝商提供有用信息,给他们一些启发。

Doug Hall(道格·霍尔)

Doug 开始制作珠宝是在1973年。 随着经验的积累(从手工锻造到宝石镶嵌),他为美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 带来了一套令人印象深刻的艺术、工艺和学术技能。 他在克兰布鲁克艺术学院获得了金工美术学士学位,并曾在 GIA 学习钻石分级和有色宝石分级。 Doug 已在世界各地的 GIA 鉴定所进行了技术培训,并给他的学生带来了丰富的经验。

Don Hughes(唐·休斯)

Don(唐)因为对宝石艺术和银器制作的喜爱而进入珠宝行业。1992 年,他完成了 GIA 研究珠宝学家 (Graduate Jeweler) 和研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist®) 课程。2000 年加入 GIA 之前,他经营了一家商店七年,从事零售、定制设计和镶工工作。他教授过铸造、橡胶模具制造、高级宝石镶嵌和珠宝制造艺术流程等方面的延伸课程。Don(唐)一直积极开展课堂教学、开发课程内容,为下一代珠宝商提供教学,给他们一些启发。

Michael Turinetti(迈克尔·都里奈提)

Michael(迈克尔)最初在一家家族珠宝店当学徒,开始进入珠宝行业。 在那里,他重新改造古董珠宝。 随后,他继续管理以修复为主要业务的交易公司,以及以制造和新产品大量生产为主的大型公司。 Michael(迈克尔)获得了美国珠宝商协会 (Jewelers of America) 的高级镶工证书。教授宝石制造知识是他多年以前的愿望。

Javier Zavala(哈维尔·萨瓦拉)

高中一毕业,Javier(哈维尔)就在当地一家珠宝店里当学徒。 他与金匠 Lance Frank(兰斯·弗兰克)和 Isauro Martinez(伊绍罗·马丁内斯)紧密合作,参加众多周末研讨会,继续其自学和学徒之路。 然后,他花了 15 年经营自己的店铺,专门进行珠宝维修和定制。 他还学习了 CAD / CAM 和铣削专业知识。 现在,他殷切期盼与 GIA 学生分享他的经验。

MEET OUR FACULTY

GIA instructors are passionate educators who bring years of industry experience to the classroom. All are leaders in their fields, and all are dedicated to helping you gain knowledge, acquire skills and launch your career.

gemology

PE_Carl_Faculty-John Cason-120x120

John Cason

John is the supervisor of on-campus gemology instruction and joined GIA with more than 14 years of diverse jewelry industry experience, including diamond buying trips to Antwerp, jewelry sales, and jewelry manufacturing. After more than ten years in the trade, John received his GIA Graduate Gemologist® diploma. He also has education credentials in multi-media technologies and jewelry manufacturing and design. In his spare time, John received his Instructor Certification from the United States Power Squadron in Oceanside, California and he enjoys teaching safety and sailing skills.

Martin Harmon 120x120

Martin Harmon

Martin’s career in the jewelry industry began with an art class in high school and continued in college. In 1982 he attended GIA in Santa Monica, completing the Graduate Jeweler and Graduate Diamond diploma programs. He also earned the Colored Stones and Gem Identification diplomas through Distance Education while working full time. Martin’s trade experience includes 16 years in the retail industry and 12 years in management, with stints working as a bench jeweler, production manager and buyer in the wholesale industry. Martin started as an instructor for the on-campus Graduate Gemologist® program at the Carlsbad campus in May 2000, and then worked in the GIA Laboratory as a staff gemologist, diamond grader and quality assurance grader. For Martin, the most rewarding part of being an instructor is helping students achieve their goal of becoming a Graduate Gemologist®.

PE_Carl_Faculty-BrendaHarwick-120x120

Brenda Harwick

As senior manager of on-campus instruction at the Carlsbad campus, Brenda's experience is a product of her more than 10 years of demonstrated knowledge of the theory and practice of diamond grading, colored stone grading, and gem identification. Brenda’s expertise comes from extensive retail and formal gemological training. Her passion for gems and jewelry, her keenness to absorb product knowledge, and her flair for customer relations propelled her to a successful career in retail that included positions in sales, buying, and preparation work for custom jewelry design and manufacturing. Her love of gems and jewelry brought her to GIA, where she earned her Graduate Gemologist® diploma. Brenda was hired as an on-campus instructor at GIA Carlsbad in 1999. She has also taught at several GIA campuses around the world.

Jessica Kramer

Jessica Kramer

Jessica’s interest in gemology started late in high school, which led her to attend GIA and earn her Graduate Gemologist® and Applied Jewelry Professional diplomas in 2005. She spent ten years in retail jewelry sales, selling engagement rings and fine jewelry, and worked closely with jewelers creating custom pieces for their clients. Jessica joined the GIA laboratory in 2015 as a staff gemologist, with diamond grading as her chief responsibility. She later helped train new diamond graders and gave lab tours to students and clients. Since joining the education team as a gemology instructor, Jessica has been able to merge her passions for diamonds and gemstones, while helping and teaching her students.

PE_Carl_Faculty-Carson Lee-120x120

Carson Lee

Carson started in the jewelry industry as a goldsmith. His more than 10 years of work experience also includes: sales of fine watches and jewelry, sales training, and jewelry design. Carson enjoyed working closely with his customers in providing service excellence in repairs, sales, and custom designing jewelry. Prior to his work in the trade, Carson spent two years in Brazil; as a result, he is fluent in the Portuguese language.

Tim Richardson

Tim Richardson

Tim started in the jewelry industry at the age of 15, learning basic repair and polishing in his family’s jewelry business. At age 17 he started working in sales, gaining experience in engagement jewelry, fashion, appraisals and custom design. After earning a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and Music Liberal arts in 2012, Tim took on the role of store manager. During this time, he enhanced his sales experience, attended trade shows and earned his Applied Jewelry Professional credential. Upon graduating from GIA in Carlsbad in 2014 with a Graduate Gemologist® diploma, Tim began working as a staff gemologist/diamond grader in GIA’s diamond grading laboratory. He joined the Education team as an instructor of gemology in 2015.

PE_Carl_Faculty-NinaSpitzerSpano-120x120

Nina Switzer-Spano

Nina had been working in the jewelry trade for four years when she realized that earning her GG credential would significantly advance her career. After graduating from GIA, she worked for 11 years at Bergmann’s Fine Jewelry as manager and appraiser. She joined GIA as an instructor in 2007, bringing her experience and in-depth knowledge of selling, designing, and buying jewelry to the classroom.

Teresa Tolbert

Teresa Tolbert

Teresa’s passion for gems and jewelry led her to GIA’s Graduate Gemology program in Carlsbad. After graduating with the GIA Graduate Gemologist® and Applied Jewelry Professional diplomas in 2005, she began working in the GIA laboratory as a diamond grader, color grading diamonds in the D-Z range as well as Fancy colored diamonds. For a significant part of her 14-year tenure in the lab, she helped train new diamond graders in Carlsbad, New York, India, Israel and Botswana. She also took on a number of other roles, such as quality assurance. One of the most rewarding aspects of her work was watching the advancement of the graders she trained. Her desire to help the next generation of gemologists led her to become a Gemology Instructor at GIA.

PE_Carl_Faculty-KatherineTrunnell-120x120

Kate Trunnell

Before joining GIA in 2005, Kate did bench work and design for a glass artisan for six years. She also worked for several years as a jewelry parts supplier. Kate’s experience in jewelry retail, wholesale, and design gives her a unique understanding of the art of creating jewelry from start to finish. Kate shares her feelings about working at GIA: "I like being a part of the joy and pride that students have for themselves once they accomplish their goals."

PE_Carl_Faculty-ShellyVerwymeren-120x120

Shelly Verwymeren

A 14-year veteran of the jewelry industry, Shelly’s experience includes retail management, sales, jewelry design, and purchasing for a leading jewelry company in the United States. Shelly now works as a GIA Lab class instructor, and thoroughly enjoys teaching the fundamentals of gemology. Before becoming a gemologist, Shelly was an accomplished musician and music teacher. She operated her own entertainment company and worked in several European and Asian markets. While in Asia, Shelly worked for a Hong Kong-based jewelry company, where she specialized in international sales and marketing.

Kate Waterman

Kate Waterman

Kate has worked in the gem and jewelry industry since 2000 and joined GIA in 2011. Her passion for Mother Nature’s awe-inspiring creations inspired her to work in many areas of the trade, including: sales, management, operations, apprenticeship, goldsmithing, jewelry design, diamond grading, diamond research analytics, and she has now found her calling as an instructor of gemology. Kate earned her Applied Jewelry Professional certificate, and Graduate Jeweler, and Graduate Gemologist® diplomas from GIA and thrives in an educational environment. As she puts it: “Sharing my love of gemstones with students and watching them learn inspires me on a daily basis.”

jewelry manufacturing arts

Darla Alvarez

Darla Alvarez

Darla spent the first two years of her career in jewelry sales, earning her Applied Jewelry Professional diploma, but was quickly drawn into the world of jewelry creation. After completing the Graduate Jeweler program, she worked in a trade shop for two years before being recruited by a custom design jewelry studio. She spent the next seven years absorbing everything there is to know about being a custom jeweler, learning all phases of repair, casting, fabrication, setting, and especially CAD/CAM. Darla joined the GIA team to share all of those real-world experiences with students to best facilitate their future growth.

Manuel’s passion for creating jewelry industry started in his youth, when he apprenticed at a manufacturing company that produced hand-crafted tennis bracelets. At the age of 16, he started working for a firm that specialized in CNC-machined wedding bands. He then worked in retail shops as a bench jeweler and retail sales. In 2002, he became the factory manager and CAD/CAM designer for a manufacturing company that specialized in the production of diamond and colored stone jewelry. In 2009, Manuel became the director of design for a company that created award-style military rings. He also created custom-model designs for leading jewelers. Joining GIA in 2016 as a new CAD instructor, Manuel brings more than 23 years of experience in the industry and a love for helping others.

Manuel Basmajian

Manuel’s passion for creating jewelry started in his youth, when he apprenticed at a manufacturing company that produced hand-crafted tennis bracelets. At the age of 16, he started working for a firm that specialized in CNC-machined wedding bands. He then worked in retail shops as a bench jeweler and retail sales. In 2002, he became the factory manager and CAD/CAM designer for a manufacturing company that specialized in the production of diamond and colored stone jewelry. In 2009, Manuel became the director of design for a company that created award-style military rings. He also created custom-model designs for leading jewelers. Joining GIA in 2016 as a new CAD instructor, Manuel brings more than 23 years of experience in the industry and a love for helping others.

Paula Carter Andrews

Paula Carter Andrews

Paula joined GIA in 2015, instructing at the London campus before coming to Carlsbad in early 2019. After studying jewelry design and manufacturing at London Guildhall University, she began her professional career as an apprentice silversmith and goldsmith, which has evolved into an 18-year passion. Within the last nine years, her role has progressed to working on bespoke and CAD designs using the latest cutting-edge technology. Paula has gained a wealth of knowledge from her years in the jewelry industry, which she is keen to bring to GIA.

Jerry Golech

Jerry Golech

Jerry’s career in the jewelry industry began in 1983 in jewelry sales and sales management. His love of working with his hands led to a position managing a regional jewelry repair shop of a national retailer. In 1985, he opened a custom jewelry shop in Canton, Ohio, where his work included jewelry repair, fabrication, wax carving, casting and complex jewelry restoration work. Jerry joined the GIA education team in 2005 as an instructor in the Graduate Jeweler program. A GIA Graduate Gemologist® and lifetime learner, Jerry is passionate about informing and inspiring future generations of jewelers through classroom instruction and the development of course content.

PE_Carl_Faculty-DougHall-120x120

Doug Hall

Doug first began making jewelry in 1973. With experience in everything from blacksmithing to diamond setting, he brings an impressive set of artistic, technical, and academic skills to GIA. He has a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in metalsmithing from the Cranbrook Academy of Art, and has studied diamond grading and colored stone grading at GIA. Doug has conducted technical training at GIA’s laboratories around the world, and brings a wealth of experience to his students.

Don Hughes

Don Hughes

Don’s path to the jewelry industry began with an interest in lapidary arts and silversmithing. In 1992, he completed the GIA Graduate Jeweler & Graduate Gemologist® programs. Before joining GIA staff in 2000, he ran a shop undertaking retail sales, custom design and bench work for seven years. He has taught extension classes in casting, rubber mold making, advanced stone setting and teaching the jewelry manufacturing arts process. Don is passionate about teaching and inspiring future generations of jewelers through classroom instruction of course content.

Michael Turinetti

Michael Turinetti

Michael started in the jewelry industry as an apprentice at a family owned jewelry store. While there, he reconstructed vintage jewelry. He then went on to manage trade shops specializing in repair, and large companies that had a focus on manufacturing and high production of new products. Michael earned a Senior Bench Jeweler Certificate from Jewelers of America.Teaching jewelry manufacturing is a passion of his that he discovered many years ago.

Javier Zavala

Javier Zavala

Javier apprenticed to a local jeweler as soon as he graduated from high school. He continued his path of self-study and apprenticeship by working closely with goldsmiths Lance Frank and Isauro Martinez, and by attending numerous weekend seminars. Javier then spent 15 years running his own shop, where he specialized in repair and custom work. He also developed expertise in CAD/CAM and milling. Now he is eager to share his experience with GIA students.