研究

GIA 为何要开展研究?





GIA 的研究工作可通过以下几点为宝石买卖双方提供保障:
  • 确保宝石质量鉴定精准且符合国际标准
  • 建立分级、鉴定方法,及其鉴定所的最佳操作流程。
  • 告知 GIA 专业培训课程和项目的课程设置
  • 开发实用的仪器和工具以提高销售点检测
各种各样的宝石材料,无论是天然的还是合成的,都可以在当今市场上找到。  同样,也可以发现一些经处理的天然宝石,其目的在于改善宝石颜色和外观。 这些产品变得越来越复杂,且生长或处理过程的细节并不总是十分明显,这种现状无疑增加了宝石鉴定的难度。 
 
GIA 研究工作包括天然宝石材料特性描述,目的在于了解宝石形成、微量元素构成、颜色成因以及宝石产地(如有可能)。 主要领域包括处理检测以及天然宝石材料与合成宝石材料的区分。 
 

研究承诺

GIA 具有得天独厚的优势,其开展宝石研究的规模是其他组织无法企及的。  GIA 是非盈利组织,将其收入持续重新投入到研究工作,确保在卡尔斯巴德(加利福尼亚州)、纽约、曼谷和安特卫普等地设立的先进研究机构设备齐全。  研究院拥有独一无二的优势,可以访问各个宝石生产产地并了解各种宝石材料,同时,研究院还建立了数据库,收集了每年由其他机构提交的成千上万种待分析物品, GIA 研究人员都曾在各大高校接收学术培训,并在宝石鉴定领域拥有多年的鉴定所工作经验。 在进行宝石研究时,他们会使用各种各样的先进科学仪器,并与来自史密森尼自然历史博物馆、华盛顿卡内基研究所等其他机构的研究人员开展全球合作。  
 

目前的研究活动  

六个实验合成钻石和六个天然钻石。
在此图中,下排中央向右为六个戴比尔斯实验合成钻石:两个重量分别为 1.04 克拉和 1.56 克拉的黄褐色样品以及四个重量为 0.41 至 0.91 克拉的近乎无色的合成样品;上排中央向左是重量为 1.10 克拉至 2.59 克拉的六个天然钻石。戴比尔斯可切割的合成钻石不供商业出售,仅用于研究和教学。 天然钻石由洛杉矶 Vincent's Jewelry 的 Louis P. Cvelbar(路易斯·P.·斯维尔巴)和 Vincent Kong(文森特·贡)友情提供。
GIA 研究旨在应对迅速变化的宝石处理与合成技术,以及全世界对宝石形成、萃取、制作及销售等方面不断加深的认识。  研究的主要领域包括但不限于:
  • 钻石:钻石形成、产地、晶体结构及其光学效应、颜色成因方面的持续性研究;针对天然及人工辐射和多步骤处理工艺的高级鉴定协议;研究知名制造商的合成钻石处理流程;开发分级系统以评估花式切割钻石的切工品质。
  • 有色宝石与珍珠:分析并记录从已知产地收集的各种宝石材料的光谱、微量元素化学性质及内部特征,以进一步确定产地归属;研究新的和现有的珍珠养殖与处理工艺;了解刚玉内微量元素所产生的影响。
  • 仪器与数据库开发:开发支持 GIA 研究工作的专用工具,并为交易提供切实可行且经济实惠的宝石检测和鉴定仪器 
  • 实地考察:持续考察全世界的宝石矿山及生产中心以记录并收集样本;调查当地的宝石制造与处理流程;深入了解地理、经济、文化和政治对宝石生产与分布所产生的影响
 

交流研究成果

GIA 的持续研究项目对全球研究社群、公众以及宝石和珠宝行业大有助益且切实可行。 其研究成果将作为知识全面的文章,定期在 GIA 专业季刊——Gems & Gemology 《宝石与宝石学》 以及其他大量著名的出版物中发布。 还可通过 GIA 网站和研究院的每月电子期刊(如《GIA Insider》)查看最新研究成果。 通过研究积累的真知灼见同样也适用于 GIA 教育计划和专业宝石仪器。 
 
在国际宝石学论坛及其他相关会议上,GIA 研究人员既是主要的发言人也是杰出的贡献者:
戴比尔斯钻石大会
美国地质学会年会
国际宝石学会议
国际地质学会议
国际金伯利岩会议
国际矿物学协会年会
V.M. Goldschmidt 会议
2015 意大利布雷萨诺内国际钻石学院
 

GIA 研究里程碑  

自 1931 年以来,宝石学研究便一直在 GIA 非营利性使命中占据核心地位。 研究成果包括: 
  • 开发第一台利用暗场照明的宝石显微镜,这一革命性的技术可较暗的背景下生动明亮地呈现宝石的内部特征(1938 年)。
  • 为钻石确定 D 到 Z 颜色范围内及“无瑕级”到“I3”净度范围(1953 年),并成为国际公认的钻石品质评估标准。
  • 检测经过辐射的黄色钻石(1956 年)
  • 确定黑色人工养殖珍珠的颜色为天然色(1961 年)
  • 第一项关于一种全新宝石(现知为丹泉石)的研究(1968 年)
  • 刻面合成钻石的第一份证书(1971 年)
  • 鉴定玻璃填充的红宝石(1984 年)
  • 检测裂缝填充的钻石(1989 年、1994 年)
  • 评价祖母绿填充物的坚固性(1991 年)
  • 区分合成钻石和天然钻石(1995 年)
  • 检测合成碳硅石,这是一种非常流行的钻石仿品(1997 年)
  • 确定钻石外观的荧光效果(1997 年)
  • 检测因高压/高温 (HPHT) 处理而脱色的钻石(1999 年)
  • 检测使用化学蒸气沉淀法 (CVD) 制造的宝石品质合成钻石
  • 创建圆形明亮式切工钻石的综合切工分级系统(2004 年)
  • 开发 DiamondCheck,一种商用的鉴定和检测装置,适用于天然、合成和经处理的钻石(2014 年)
时代前沿的 DiamondCheck 仪器。
2014 年,GIA 开发了 GIA DiamondCheck™,该设备可准确识别 D 到 N 范围内无色天然、未经处理的钻石,并可提交可能的合成或经处理钻石进行进一步检测。
 

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 宝石项目

GIA 已经研究了 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华·J·古柏林)宝石藏品中的 400 多种重要宝石,并致力于分享此宝石学资源库信息。 转至索引

当前研究

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Research

Why GIA Research?





GIA research efforts serve to protect all who buy or sell gems by:
  • Ensuring accurate and unbiased global standards for determining gem quality
  • Establishing the grading and identification methods and best practices GIA uses in its laboratories
  • Informing the curricula of GIAs professional training courses and programs
  • Developing practical instruments and tools to improve detection at point of sale
A wide of range of gem material – both natural and synthetic - can be found in the marketplace today.  There are also a number of natural gems that have been treated to improve their color or appearance. These products have become increasingly sophisticated, and details of the growth or treatment process are not always revealed, a situation that compounds the difficulty of gem identification. 
 
GIA research efforts include the characterization of natural gem materials to understand gem formation, trace element chemistry, causes of color, and geographic origin when possible. Key focus areas include treatment detection and the separation of natural from synthetic gem material. 
 

A Commitment to Research

GIA is uniquely poised to conduct gemological research on a scale that few other organizations can match.  Nonprofit GIA continually reinvests its revenues into its research efforts, maintaining fully equipped, state of the art research facilities in Carlsbad (California), New York City, Bangkok and Antwerp.  The Institute has unique access to gem-producing localities and a wide range of gem materials, including a database representing the hundreds of thousands of items that are submitted to its laboratories for analysis each year. GIA researchers have academic training from major universities, combined with many years of laboratory experience in gem identification. In conducting gem research, they use a variety of advanced scientific instruments, and collaborate globally with researchers from other facilities, such as the Smithsonian Natural History Museum and the Carnegie Institute in Washington, D.C..  
 

Current Research Activities  

Six experimental synthetic diamonds and six natural diamonds.
This figure shows, bottom center and to the right, six De Beers experimental synthetic diamonds: two yellow-brown samples weighing 1.04 and 1.56-ct and four near-colorless synthetics ranging from 0.41 to 0.91-ct At the top center and to the left are six natural diamonds, ranging from 1.10-ct to 2.59-ct De Beers cuttable-quality synthetic diamonds are not available commercially; they have been produced solely for research and education. Natural diamonds courtesy of Louis P. Cvelbar and Vincent Kong, Vincent's Jewelry, Los Angeles.
GIA research aims at responding to rapidly changing gem treatment and synthesis technologies, as well deepening the world’s understanding of how gems are formed, extracted, manufactured, and sold.  Key areas of research include, but are not limited to:
  • Diamonds: on-going studies of diamond formation, localities, crystal structure and its optical effects, and origin of color; advancing identification protocols for natural and artificial irradiation, and multi-step treatment processes; investigating synthetic diamond processes from known manufacturers; developing a grading system for evaluating the cut quality of fancy cut diamonds
  • Colored Stones & Pearls: analyzing and documenting the spectroscopy, trace-element chemistry and internal characteristics of a variety of gem materials from known localities to further efforts in country of origin determinations; investigating new and existing pearl culturing and treatment processes; understanding the effects of trace elements in corundum
  • Instrument and Database Development: developing specialized tools needed to support GIA research efforts, and provide the trade with practical and affordable gem testing and identification instruments 
  • Fieldwork:  on-going expeditions to gem mines and production centers worldwide to document and gather samples; investigate local gem manufacturing and treatment process; and develop a deeper understanding of the geographic, economic, cultural and political influences at play in gem production and distribution
 

Communicating Research

GIA’s ongoing research projects are useful and accessible to the global research community, the public and the gem and jewelry industry. The results of its studies appear as comprehensive articles in GIA’s quarterly professional journal, Gems & Gemology (G&G) and many other prestigious publications. Research updates can also be found on GIA’s website, and through the Institute’s monthly electronic newsletter, GIA Insider. The insight acquired through research is also applied to GIA’s educational programs  and professional gemological instruments. 
 
GIA researchers are frequent speakers and contributors at international gemological forums and other relevant conferences:
De Beers Diamond Conference
Geological Society of American Annual Meeting
International Gemmological Conference
International Geological Congress
International Kimberlite Conference
International Mineralogical Association Annual Meeting
V.M. Goldschmidt Conference
2015 International Diamond School at Brixen, Italy
 

GIA Research Milestones  

Since 1931, gemological research has been at the very core of GIA’s nonprofit mission. Research accomplishments include: 
  • building the first gemological microscope with darkfield illumination, a revolutionary technique in which the gem’s internal characteristics appear bright and vivid against a dark background (1938)
  • creating the D-to-Z color scale and Flawless-to-I3 clarity scale for diamonds (1953), internationally recognized standards for evaluating diamond quality
  • detecting irradiated yellow diamonds (1956)
  • determining the color of black cultured pearls to be natural (1961)
  • the first study of a new gem now known as tanzanite (1968)
  • the first report on faceted synthetic diamonds (1971)
  • identifying glass-filled rubies (1984)
  • detecting fracture-filled diamonds (1989, 1994)
  • evaluating the durability of emerald filling substances (1991)
  • distinguishing natural from synthetic diamonds (1995)
  • detecting synthetic moissanite, a popular diamond imitation (1997)
  • identifying the effect of fluorescence on diamond appearance (1997)
  • detecting diamonds decolorized by high pressure/high temperature (HPHT) treatment (1999)
  • detecting gem-quality synthetic diamonds created by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) (2003)
  • creating a comprehensive cut grading system for round brilliant cut diamonds (2004)
  • developing DiamondCheck, a commercially available identification and detection device for natural, synthetic, and treated diamonds (2014)
Front Stage of the DiamondCheck instrument.
In 2014, GIA developed the GIA DiamondCheck™, a device that accurately identifies colorless natural, untreated diamonds in the D-to-N range and refers diamonds that are potentially synthetic or treated for further examination.
 

Scientific Instruments

The names of these instruments may sound cryptic, but to GIA researchers they are the tools that help unravel the mysteries of the gems.
Learn More

GIA Gem Project

GIA has studied more than 400 important gemstones in the Edward J. Gübelin Gem Collection and is committed to sharing this repository of gemological information.

Go to Index

Research Activities

GIA pursues a wide range of scientific investigations to gather and analyze data on gemstones.

Learn More

Career Opportunities

Our researchers hold advanced degrees in physics, geology, computer sciences, gemology, history, and more. Join a global team committed to advancing the science of gemology.
Learn More

Download this issue

Click here for
the Fall 2014 G&G

Ongoing Research

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Fall 2017 Edition
Learn more