研究

GIA 研究活动



GIA 研究旨在应对迅速变化的宝石处理与合成技术,与此同时,不断深化世界对宝石形成、提取、制作及销售等方面的认识。  研究的主要领域包括但不限于:
 

钻石切工和净度

鉴于钻石的比例对其亮度和整体外观有如此深远的影响,GIA 进行了为期 15 年的研究来模拟光线在圆形明亮式钻石内的表现形式。 一个针对圆形明亮式钻石的革命性切工分级系统由此诞生,该系统的相关内容已于 2005 年纳入 GIA 钻石鉴定证书。 研究院将继续探索钻石切工(尤其是花式切工)的复杂性。 更一致、更精确的净度分级研究也正在进行之中。
 

天然彩色钻石 — 分类和颜色成因

由于其稀有性,天然彩钻具有较高的克拉单价。 近几年来,彩色钻石的人气达到了前所未有的新高度,与此同时,分清楚它们的颜色及其颜色成因也变得比以往任何时候都更加重要。 对这些钻石的颜色成因进行的研究进一步提升了 GIA 的彩色钻石鉴定服务。
 
天然蓝钻
有三类钻石带有天然蓝色:(1) 硼杂质致色的 IIb 型;(2) 因辐射致色的 Ia 型或 IIa 型;(3) 颜色成因与氢元素相关的 Ia 型。 其中,仅有 IIb 型钻石(类似中间的钻石)在 GIA GTL 彩色钻石颜色分级系统中通常被描述为蓝色(无色彩修正)。 那些着色与辐射照射相关的钻石,其颜色通常被描述为蓝-绿色(左),而那些着色与氢相关的钻石,其颜色将被描述为灰-紫色到灰-蓝色(右)。
 

钻石的处理和鉴别

除了如辐射和高压/高温 (HPHT) 热锻等颜色变化处理之外,GIA 的研究人员还致力于检测净度优化,如镭射穿凿和裂缝填充等。
 
高温高压 (HPHT) 钻石
6.61 克拉的钻石,HPHT 热锻除色处理前后。 左:热锻处理之前,彩黄褐色,右:热锻处理之后,“L”(淡黄色)。

合成钻石及其鉴定

自 1971 年关于通用电气的首颗可切割合成钻石的报告发布以来,GIA 一直处在合成钻石研究的前沿。 包括对高压/高温 (HPHT) 合成产品以及最近研发的化学蒸汽沉淀法 (CVD) 所制作产品的检测。

钻石内的石墨化羽状裂纹可能表明经过 HPHT 处理。

红宝石和蓝宝石的产地

红宝石或蓝宝石的产地往往对其市场价值有极大的影响。 研究所的研究人员采取了许多措施以准确鉴别 GIA 原产国报告中彩色宝石的地质和地理来源。
 

经处理的刚玉及其鉴定

经热处理的蓝宝石、铍扩散蓝宝石和玻璃填充的红宝石仅是刚玉处理的几个范例。 这些优化手法通常未被公开,而且 GIA 研究人员正致力于对这些人工优化手法进行研究,以发现针对这些方法的检测手段。

含铅玻璃填充红宝石
在含铅玻璃填充的红宝石中可以看到橙色和蓝色的闪现光效应。 放大 30 倍。

天然刚玉中铍的出现及其暗示

最近发现,刚玉中存在自然形成的铍,这就意味必须对这种材料进行研究以避免与经铍扩散处理后颜色发生改变的刚玉混淆。
 

吸收光谱和发光光谱的发展

多数情况下,经典的宝石学方法,如显微镜、折射仪和手持分光仪等已不足以鉴别经处理或合成的宝石材料。 吸收光谱和发光光谱等技术为宝石鉴定提供了更为先进的手段。 除改进 GIA 的商用宝石仪器之外,这些技术的发展将进一步提升研究所的研究和鉴定水平。

光谱可以检测宝石处理方法:这颗 24.16 克拉钻石的光谱 所显现的特征十分独特,但在实验室使用辐射处理改变钻石颜色之前,这些特征不会显现。

宝石涂层

宝石的涂层处理可追溯到数千年前。 然而随着技术的进步,涂层已变得更为坚固,也更加难以鉴别, 其中包括 GIA 一直在探究的钴涂层丹泉石。

涂层丹泉石
涂层丹泉石

GIA 宝石数据库 

该项目包含了 2,800 多种 GIA 宝石的测试和记录数据,这些宝石都是从著名的瑞士宝石学家 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华·J·古柏林)博士的个人资产中购得。 这些数据将被公布,以便用于研究和教育领域。


珍珠处理方法的鉴定和天然珍珠的研究

为了保证珍珠的美观和色彩上的一致性,经常使用漂白、染色或辐射等方法处理养殖珍珠。 GIA 研究人员会跟进这些处理进展,且同时对罕见的天然珍珠进行检查。

漂白珍珠
这七颗大溪地养殖的巧克力色珍珠(10.50 到 12.53 毫米),由 Ballerina Pearl Co. 公司 运用专有的漂白方法进行处理,现在正对它们进行研究,以评估它们在消费者佩戴的各种条件下的耐久性。 样品按顺序从左至右、从上到下摆放(CCP-1 至 CCP-7)。
 

科学仪器

这些仪器的名称听起来神秘,但对于 GIA 研究人员而言,他们是帮助揭开宝石奥秘的工具。
了解更多

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 宝石项目

GIA 已经研究了 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华·J·古柏林)宝石藏品中的 400 多种重要宝石,并致力于分享此宝石学资源库信息。 转至索引

当前研究

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Research

GIA Research Activities



GIA research aims at responding to rapidly changing gem treatment and synthesis technologies, as well deepening the world’s understanding of how gems are formed, extracted, manufactured, and sold.  Key areas of research include, but are not limited to:
 

Diamond cut and clarity

Because a diamond’s proportions have such a profound effect on its brilliance and overall appearance, GIA conducted a 15-year study to model the way light behaves within a round brilliant diamond. The result was a revolutionary cut grading system for round brilliants, incorporated into GIA Diamond Grading Reports in 2005. The Institute continues to explore the complexities of diamond cut, particularly for fancy cuts. Research into more consistent, accurate clarity grading is also under way.
 

Naturally colored diamonds – classification and color origin

Because of their rarity, naturally colored diamonds have high price-per-carat values. Fancy diamonds have enjoyed unprecedented popularity in recent years, and articulating their color and cause of color has never been more important. Research into these diamonds' color origin continues to enhance GIA's colored diamond identification services.
 
Natural Blue Diamonds
Three categories of diamonds have been associated with a natural blue color: (1) type IIb, which are colored by boron impurities; (2) those type Ia or IIa that owe their color to radiation exposure; and (3) those type Ia in which the color is associated with hydrogen. Of these, only type IIb diamonds (like that in the center) are typically described as blue (without a hue modifier) in the GIA GTL colored diamond color-grading system. Those naturally colored by exposure to radiation are usually described as green-blue (left), whereas those colored by color centers associated with hydrogen are described as gray-violet to gray-blue (right).
 

Diamond treatment and its identification

In addition to color-changing treatments such as irradiation and high pressure/high temperature (HPHT) annealing, GIA researchers are committed to detecting clarity enhancements such as laser drilling and fracture filling.
 
HPHT Diamond
6.61 ct diamond, before and after HPHT annealing to remove its color. Left: Before anealing, fancy yellow brown, right: After annealing, "L" (faint yellow).

Synthetic diamonds and their identification

Since reporting on General Electric’s first cuttable synthetic diamonds in 1971, GIA has been on the leading edge of synthetic diamond research. This includes the detection of goods produced by high pressure/high temperature (HPHT) synthesis and, more recently, chemical vapor deposition (CVD).

Graphitized feathers in a diamond may indicate HPHT treatment.

Country of origin of ruby and sapphire

The geographic source of a ruby or sapphire often has a dramatic effect on its market value. Institute researchers take many steps to accurately identify the geologic and geographic sources of colored gemstones in GIA's country-of-origin reports.
 

Treated corundum and its identification

Heat-treated sapphire, beryllium-diffused sapphire and glass-filled ruby are just a few examples of treated corundum. These enhancements often go undisclosed, and GIA researchers work hard to investigate these artificial enhancements and uncover the means of detecting them.

Lead Glass Filled Ruby
The orange and blue flash effect seen in a lead glass-filled ruby. Magnification 30x.

Occurrence of beryllium in natural corundum and its implications

The recent discovery of naturally occurring beryllium in corundum means this material must be studied to avoid confusion with corundum that has been beryllium-diffused to alter its color.
 

Development of absorption and luminescence spectroscopy

In many cases, classical gemological methods such as the microscope, refractometer and handheld spectroscope are no longer sufficient in identifying a treated or synthetic gem material. Techniques such as absorption and luminescence spectroscopy offer more sophisticated means of gem identification. Besides improving GIA's commercially available gem instruments, development of these technologies will enhance the Institute's research and identification efforts.

Spectroscopy can detect gem treatments: the spectrum of this 24.16 ct. diamond showed distinctive features that weren’t present prior to irradiation in a laboratory to change its color.

Coating of gemstones

The practice of coating gemstones dates back thousands of years. With technological progress, though, coatings have become more durable and harder to identify. One such product GIA continues to probe is cobalt-coated tanzanite.

Coated Tanzanite
Coated Tanzanite

The GIA Gem Database 

This project involves testing and recording data on the more than 2,800 gems GIA purchased from the estate of renowned Swiss gemologist Dr. Edward J. Gübelin. This data will be made publicly available for research and educational use.


Identification of pearl treatment and the study of natural pearls

To achieve an attractive and consistent color, cultured pearls are frequently treated by bleaching, dyeing or irradiation. GIA researchers track these developments and also examine rare natural pearls.

Bleached Pearls
These seven Tahitian cultured Chocolate Pearls (10.50 - 12.53 mm), treated by Ballerina Pearl Co. using a proprietary bleaching method, were studied to evaluate their durability to various conditions of consumer wear. The samples are in order (CCP-1 to CCP-7) from left to right, top to bottom.
 

Why GIA Research?

Research not only deepens the world’s understanding of gems, but also protects those who buy or sell them.
 
Learn More

Scientific Instruments

The names of these instruments may sound cryptic, but to GIA researchers they are the tools that help unravel the mysteries of the gems.
Learn More

Career Opportunities

Our researchers hold advanced degrees in physics, geology, computer sciences, gemology, history, and more. Join a global team committed to advancing the science of gemology.
Learn More

GIA Gem Project

GIA has studied more than 400 important gemstones in the Edward J. Gübelin Gem Collection and is committed to sharing this repository of gemological information.

Go to Index

Download this issue

Click here for
the Fall 2014 G&G

Ongoing Research

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more