特征

米粒钻:现代设计的基础元素


米粒钻可用于装饰各种轮廓和形状,比如这枚奇特的戒指。由 JYE's International 友情提供

米粒钻是宝石和珠宝行业的重要元素,可以创造时尚的造型和优雅的设计图案。设计师以及整条价值链上的所有专业人士都需要对此有所了解。
 
GIA 将米粒钻定义为重量小于 1/5 克拉的小颗钻石和宝石,但具体尺寸因国家和贸易市场而异。米粒钻通常被切磨成圆形,但可用于装饰各种形状:祖母绿式、公主方形、雷地恩式、马眼形等等。新的设计和制作技术带来了更华丽复杂、更受欢迎的珠宝。

Photograph of instruments used to help
Dealers may use sieves such as these to sort melee into different sizes.

珠宝上镶嵌的钻石越多,珠宝就越闪亮。米粒钻体积小,与大颗主石相比,价格低廉,因此,订婚戒指的设计中通常采用大量米粒钻来提升亮度和闪光。
 
米粒钻通常用于衬托旁边的宝石和制作装饰图案。此外,它们也被用于提升手链、项链、耳环、手表等珠宝的光芒。

米粒钻通常没有非常具体的颜色分级,如“正面白色(颜色等级为 D 到 H)”和“顶级浅褐色(颜色等级为 M 到 O)”。对于净度的描述也很类似,比如,使用“肉眼无瑕”来描述肉眼看不到内含物的钻石。接下来,珠宝制造商便会将主石的颜色与米粒钻的颜色进行搭配。

Image of white gold bracelet featuring hundreds of melee.
There are approximately 9.50 ct of melee (791 round diamonds) in this 18K white gold bracelet. If the melee were not carefully matched for color, the bracelet would lose much of its elegant beauty. Courtesy of Uneek

工厂使用最新的钻石切磨设备,大批量生产米粒钻。高科技机器减少了生产所需的劳动力,并提高了成品钻石的品质,但是,切磨和分拣米粒钻仍然需要大量人手。印度的苏拉特市是一个重要的钻石制造中心,这里将米粒钻切磨成刻面样式,然后进行分拣,最后将钻石打包出售给珠宝制造商,每包至少重 100 克拉(每包可以装 400 多颗米粒钻)。一件珠宝可以镶嵌有几十颗甚至几百颗米粒钻。
 
与大颗钻石一样,检测米粒钻仿品和合成(实验室培育)米粒钻的能力在业内至关重要。过去几年,公司引进了 GIA 米粒钻分析服务这类自动系统,可以有效分析和区分天然米粒钻与合成米粒钻。
 
珠宝设计中的米粒钻

富有创造力的珠宝设计师使用微小的米粒钻创造出不同凡响的作品。他们将米粒钻镶嵌在订婚戒指上,提升戒指的闪光,并在大尺寸的有机曲面上创造出奇特而逼真的效果(有色宝石通常用作米粒钻)。

Photograph of a blue benitoite ring.
The gradations of color in this ring was accomplished by cutting benitoite into melee. Courtesy of the Columbia Gem House Inc.

订婚戒指上的米粒钻颜色与主石颜色相配非常重要。相配的颜色可以创造出令人惊艳的效果。米粒钻形成的光晕可以让主石看起来更大。米粒钻的装饰图案可以打造出视觉效果。但是,如果米粒钻的颜色比主石的颜色更深或更浅,最终的效果可能不那么美观。

这张图片展示一颗钻石被一圈米粒钻环绕的订婚戒指。
米粒钻形成的光晕增添闪耀度,让主石看起来更大。这枚铂金订婚戒指镶嵌着一颗 1 克拉的主石,戒圈上装饰着一圈总重为 0.5 克拉的米粒钻。由 Blue Nile 友情提供。

处理珠宝设计中的米粒钻时,最重要的是要了解“克拉重量”与“总克拉重量”之间的区别,因为钻石重量是决定价格的根本因素。总克拉重量,珠宝界通常缩写为“tcw”,专门用于描述一件仅镶嵌钻石的珠宝中包含的所有钻石的总重量。克拉重量的缩写为“ct”,仅用于描述单颗宝石,比如主石。与镶嵌着一颗 2.50 克拉钻石的单石订婚戒指相比,镶嵌着许多小钻石,且小钻石总重(或 tcw)为 2.50 克拉的戒指的价格要低得多。
 
常见的米粒钻镶嵌样式

  • 明亮式珠镶:这是一种很受欢迎的珠镶风格,利用小珠子将宝石托起,珠子镶座周围是一个明亮式切工的壁面,可以将光线反射进钻石中。
  • 夹镶:这是一种将单颗或多颗宝石固定在两个的槽壁之间,且下方有槽底支撑的镶嵌工艺。这种镶嵌方式没有珠子或镶爪来固定宝石。
  • 密镶:另一种珠式镶嵌,将宝石镶嵌成三排或三排以上,并使用托起的珠子将它们牢牢固定。
  • 爪镶:金属支撑固定宝石,成为镶座的一部分。相较于其他镶嵌方式,爪镶使用的金属较少,因而显露出来的宝石部分较多。
Four images of rings featuring set melee and CAD renderings.
米粒钻设计与工程学挑战

使用米粒钻需要在设计与工程之间实现完美平衡。例如,将米粒钻放在胸针上任何一个可用的位置或许都能打动顾客,但是,如果没有对这种使用方式进行设计,则胸针可能会不耐用。
 
此外,密镶、珠镶和夹镶这些镶嵌方式需要去除珠宝上的金属。但是,如果从一件设计不合理的珠宝上去除太多金属,则会导致日常佩戴过程中出现结构不稳和结构损坏。
 

GIA 质量保证基准 (QAB™) 是评估珠宝设计、工程和制作的标准。GIA 珠宝设计与技术研究珠宝学家文凭课程中会教授相关知识。下文提供了一些最佳范例,可采用这些范例来处理米粒钻:

 
  • 米粒钻大小不同(即使只有 0.20 毫米 (mm) 的差异),顾客都可能会注意到。如果设计要求尺寸均匀,那么,选择尺寸相近的钻石非常重要。
  • 所有镶爪的尖端均应牢牢固定在宝石冠部,镶爪和宝石之间应无缝隙。镶爪的尖端如果不齐平,则会钩住衣物,划伤皮肤,或导致破损。
  • 对于密镶或明亮式珠镶,需要使用至少 0.50 毫米的边界,以确保结构的完整性。
  • 对于夹镶宝石,需要在宝石两侧各搭建 1.00 毫米的槽壁。支撑可以切磨成槽壁,因此,大约有 10% 的钻石面积与镶座接触。
  • 黄金、白银和铂金的性质各不相同。镶嵌米粒钻时,请务必将所用金属的金属特性考虑在内。
Diagrams showing quality assurance benchmarks related to bead-setting diamonds.
GIA Quality Assurance Benchmarks highlight workmanship of semi-finished and finished jewelry. Learn how to evaluate the quality of a bead-set diamonds in the shank of a platinum ring. GIA.edu/QAB

GIA QAB™ 是在珠宝行业支持与反馈的基础上开发出来的,通过与公认的标准进行比较,提供了一个客观的方法来评估成品或半成品珠宝的质量,并对如何正确镶嵌米粒钻进行了说明。
 
如果不考虑所面临的挑战,镶嵌米粒钻其实很划算,并且破损造成损失的可能性相对较低。对于其他贸易环节的专业人员来说,米粒钻的重要性远比其尺寸要大得多。因此,了解米粒钻十分重要。

Feature

Melee: Building Blocks of Contemporary Design

GIA
October 11, 2017
Photograph of gold ring shaped like a leaf with many melee stones set in various areas.
Melee can be used to ornament a wide variety of contours and shapes such as on this extraordinary ring. Courtesy of JYE's International

An important element of the gem and jewelry industry, melee can create a modern look and elegant design patterns. Designers need to know about it, and so do professionals all along the value chain.
 
GIA defines melee (pronounced meh-lee) as small diamonds and gemstones weighing less than 1/5 carat (ct), but size ranges vary from country to country and from one segment of the trade to another. Melee are often cut into a round shape, but are available in a variety of  shapes: emerald, princess, radiant, marquise and more. New design and manufacturing technology is enabling more ornate and complicated jewelry that is in high demand.

Photograph of instruments used to help
Dealers may use sieves such as these to sort melee into different sizes.

The more diamonds in a piece of jewelry, the more sparkle it has. Due to their small size, melee diamonds are inexpensive when compared to larger diamond center stones, so they are often generously used in engagement ring designs to add brightness and scintillation.
 
Melee are often used to enhance nearby stones and to make decorative patterns. They are also used to add sparkle to bracelets, necklaces, earrings, watches and other types of jewelry.

Melee color grades are usually not very detailed: “Face up white” (D-H colors) and “Top light browns” (M-O colors) are examples. Clarity grades are described similarly, such as “Eye clean” for no visible inclusions to the unaided eye. Jewelry manufacturers then strive to match the color of the center stone to the color of melee.

Image of white gold bracelet featuring hundreds of melee.
There are approximately 9.50 ct of melee (791 round diamonds) in this 18K white gold bracelet. If the melee were not carefully matched for color, the bracelet would lose much of its elegant beauty. Courtesy of Uneek

Melee diamonds are produced in large quantities in factories that use the latest diamond cutting equipment. High-tech machines have reduced the amount of labor required and improved the quality of the finished product, but cutting and sorting melee is still a labor intensive business. The city of Surat in India is an important manufacturing hub for diamonds, including melee which are faceted, sorted, and sold in parcels of 100 carats or more to jewelry manufacturers (parcels can have over 400 melee). A single piece of jewelry can have dozens or even hundreds of melee stones. 
 
Just like larger carat diamonds, the ability to detect simulants and synthetic (lab-grown) melee diamonds is important to the trade. In the past few years, companies have introduced automated systems like GIA’s Melee Analysis Service, which cost-effectively analyzes and sorts natural diamond melee from synthetic.
 
Melee in Jewelry Design

Creative jewelry designers are using tiny pieces of melee to make a big statement. They’re incorporating it to add scintillation to engagement rings, and to create a realistic or whimsical look in large, organic curved surfaces (colored gems are often used as melee).

Photograph of a blue benitoite ring.
The gradations of color in this ring was accomplished by cutting benitoite into melee. Courtesy of the Columbia Gem House Inc.

In engagement rings, matching the color of melee to the color of the center stone is important. When it does match, the results can be breathtaking. A halo made of melee can make the center stone appear larger. Decorative patterns of melee can create visual interest. But if the melee is darker or lighter than the center stone it’s likely to create an unattractive appearance.

Image of engagement ring showing a single diamond surrounded by a halo of melee diamonds.
Melee used to create a halo can add additional sparkle and make the center stone appear larger. This platinum engagement ring features a 1 ct center stone with 0.5 total carat weight of melee in the halo and shank. Courtesy of Blue Nile.

When working with melee in jewelry design, it’s important to understand the difference between “carat weight” and “total carat weight,” because diamond weight is a driving factor in determining price. Total carat weight, often abbreviated (tcw) in the jewelry industry, is used to describe the combined weight of all the diamonds in a piece of jewelry that only contains diamonds. The description carat weight (ct) only applies to an individual stone, like the center stone. A ring with many small diamonds with a 2.50 tcw can cost significantly less than a solitaire engagement ring with a single diamond weighing 2.50 ct.
 
Common Setting Styles for Melee

  • Bead and Bright: Small beads hold the stones in place in this popular style of bead setting. The bead setting is surrounded by a bright-cut wall that helps to reflect light into the diamond.
  • Channel: This is a technique where single or multiple stones are secured between two opposing walls with channel supports below. This setting does not have beads or prongs to secure the stone.
  • Pavé: Another bead-style setting, pavé is setting stones in three or more rows with hand-raised beads that hold them in place.
  • Prong: Metal supports secure a gemstone and are part of a setting. Prong settings show more of the gemstone by using less metal than other setting styles.
Four images of rings featuring set melee and CAD renderings.
Melee Design and Engineering Challenges

Using melee requires striking a balance between design and engineering. For example, placing melee in every available location on a brooch may impress customers, but if the piece is not designed for this type of application it may not be durable.
 
Also, setting styles such as pavé, bead and channel require the removal of metal from jewelry. However, removing too much metal from an improperly engineered piece can result in structural weakness and failure during daily wear.
 

GIA Quality Assurance Benchmarks (QABs™) are criteria for evaluating the design, engineering and manufacture of jewelry and are taught in the GIA Jewelry Design & Technology and Graduate Jeweler diploma programs. Here are some best practices you can use when working with melee:

 
  • Melee of different sizes (even by 0.20 millimeters (mm)) may be noticeable to a customer. Selecting similar-size diamonds is important if uniformity is part of the design.
  • All prong tips should be in solid contact with the gem’s crown so there are no gaps between the prong and the stone. Prong tips that are not flush can snag on clothes, scratch skin and break.
  • For pavé or bead and bright setting, use at least a 0.50 mm border to ensure structural integrity.
  • For channel-set stones, build 1.00 mm walls on either side of the stones. Then bearings can be cut into the channel walls, so that approximately 10% of the diamond is in contact with the setting.
  • Gold, silver and platinum have different properties. Be sure to account for the unique metallurgical properties of the metal you are using when setting melee.
Diagrams showing quality assurance benchmarks related to bead-setting diamonds.
GIA Quality Assurance Benchmarks highlight workmanship of semi-finished and finished jewelry. Learn how to evaluate the quality of a bead-set diamonds in the shank of a platinum ring. GIA.edu/QAB

GIA QAB™, which were developed with support and feedback from the jewelry industry, provide an objective method for evaluating the quality of semi- or fully-finished jewelry by comparing it against acknowledged criteria, and show how to set melee properly. 
 
Challenges aside, setting melee can be very lucrative, and comes with relatively low liability for potential loss due to breakage. For professionals in other parts of the trade, melee has an importance far greater than its size. So knowing about it is essential.

Quality Assurance Benchmarks

Follow these benchmarks to design and manufacture jewelry that will last for generations.

GET STARTED

Graduate Jeweler Diploma Program

Learn more about the Graduate Jeweler (GJ) diploma program. Learn More

The Latest on Synthetic Diamonds

On the left is a 5.26 ct Fancy deep blue heart shape HPHT synthetic diamond. On the right is a 5.27 ct Fancy deep blue emerald cut HPHT synthetic diamonds.

Dr. James Shigley, GIA distinguished research fellow, shares the latest developments about HPHT and CVD synthetic diamonds, and information on GIA’s ability to identify them.

Read More

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Fall 2017 Edition
Learn more