幻想式切工随之而来


以前,宝石切割是一门受到几个世纪的传统所束缚的严谨工艺。 宝石工艺匠的工作就是将宝石切磨成理想的比例,同时尽可能保留更多的克拉数。 Bernd Munsteiner (b. 1943) 发明了幻想式切工(宝石背面所做的凹切)。

Munsteine​​r 在宝石的背面随意切下若干克拉,让宝石的正面能熠熠发光、引人注目。 他认为唯一的理想比例就是能释放出隐藏在宝石中的自然之美。

许多宝石和珠宝行业的人都不知道如何理解幻想式切工。 但最终批评者甚至都转为了崇拜者,Munsteine​​r 的作品也在画廊和博物馆中展出。

Dom Pedro – Ondas Maritimas 称得上是 Munsteine​​r 最有名的作品,它是一颗精美的 10,363 克拉海蓝宝石。 它是如此令人惊叹,Smithsonian 就评价说“这是世界上少数几颗被放在距 Hope Diamond (霍普钻) 仅 30 英尺的展柜中还能引人注目的钻石。”



Munsteine​​r 1993 年创作的 Dom Pedro – Ondas Maritimas 是他的作品的一个分水岭,它标志着幻想式切工已成为一个公认的艺术形式。 摄影:Donald E. Hurlbert;史密森学会自然历史博物馆友情提供

Munsteine​​r 的创新作品激励了几代获奖的宝石艺术家,比如 Richard Homer、Michael Dyber、John Dyer 和 Sherris Cottier Shank。 美国宝石交易协会甚至举办了著名的“完美切工奖”比赛,宝石切割家可以提交自己的幻想式切割作品。


GIA 的研究宝石学家 Richard P. Homer 以一件 36.74 克拉的 Antique Cushion Concave Focus™ 切割的帝王拓帕石作品赢得 2013 年的 AGTA 光谱奖。 摄影:Robert Weldon;Gems By Design, Inc., Kent, OH 友情提供

Sherris Cottier Shank 通过在这颗华美的 8.97 克拉碧玺的底部切割凹槽而创造出这种漩涡效果。 摄影:Sherris Cottier

幻想式切工与传统的切工之间最显著的不同在于所采用的宝石切工类型。 传统宝石成型是将它们放置在一台带有振动磨盘工具的刻面机器上,这台机器能研磨和磨光宝石。 幻想式切工宝石有凹槽、光学碟状和凹入刻面:工具的开发能将这些设计元素运用到宝石材料的切割中。


John Dyer 的 27.47 克拉多色俄勒冈日光石是一件艺术品。 摄影:David Dyer,宝石由
John Dyer & Co. 友情提供。

对于宝石工艺匠来说,宝石的大小是一个重要的考虑因素:宝石越大,“画布”(发挥的空间)就越大。一些切磨师采用钻石和“三大宝石”(红宝石、蓝宝石和祖母绿),但这些矿石往往很难找到体积较大的。 很多切磨师会选择发挥空间比较大的宝石,比如石英和海蓝宝石。


“我在创作这件“Wind”(风)作品时相信我的直觉。 我在没有任何计划的情况下开始创作,”Michael Dyber 说。 这件成品唤起人们对时间静止下的“狂风”的想象。 摄影:Sena Dyber

高级珠宝和幻想式切工的世界可能离我们很遥远,但每个领域的工匠们都要对宝石学有深刻的认识。 正是这种对宝石的热爱最终让他们团结起来。


Dalan Hargrave 采用了多种技术来设计这三件幻想式切工的紫黄晶作品。 摄影:Robert Weldon/GIA,由南美洲玻利维亚 Minerales y Metales del Oriente 友情提供

And Then Came the Fantasy Cut

GIA
September 29, 2014
View Gallery

Once upon a time, gem cutting was a strict craft bound by centuries of tradition. The job of a lapidary was to cut a gemstone to ideal proportions while preserving as many carats as possible. Then Bernd Munsteiner (b. 1943) invented the fantasy cut (concave cuts made on the back of gemstones).

Munsteiner freely sliced away carats on the backs of gemstones to create spectacular lightshows on their fronts. The only ideal proportion he acknowledged was the one that freed the natural beauty he saw hiding in the stone.

Many in the gem and jewelry trade didn’t know what to make of the fantasy cut. But the critics eventually became admirers, and Munsteiner’s pieces ended up in galleries and museums.

Munsteiner’s most famous work may be the Dom Pedro – Ondas Maritimas, an exquisite 10,363 ct aquamarine gemstone. It is so breathtaking that the Smithsonian said it is “one of the few objects in the world that can hold its own in a display case just 30 feet from the Hope Diamond.”



Munsteiner’s Dom Pedro – Ondas Maritimas, 1993, was a watershed creation: it signaled that the fantasy cut had become an accepted art form. Photo by Donald E. Hurlbert, courtesy of the Natural History Museum, the Smithsonian Institute

Munsteiner’s innovative work inspired generations of award-winning lapidaries like Richard Homer, Michael Dyber, John Dyer, and Sherris Cottier Shank. The American Gem Trade Association even hosts the prestigious Cutting Edge Awards competitions where lapidaries submit fantasy cut gemstones.


Richard P. Homer, GIA GG, won a 2013 AGTA Spectrum Award for his 36.74 ct Antique Cushion Concave Focus™ cut Imperial Topaz. Photo by Robert Weldon, courtesy of Gems By Design, Inc., Kent, OH

Sherris Cottier Shank created the swirls in this spectacular 8.97 ct pink tourmaline by making curved grooves on the pavilion. Photo by Sherris Cottier Shank

One of the most significant differences between fantasy cuts and traditional cuts are the types of cuts made on gemstones. Traditional gemstones are fashioned by placing them on a faceting machine with a flap lap tool, which grinds away and polishes the stone. Fantasy cut gemstones have grooves, optic dishes, and concave facets – all made possible by the development of tools to cut these design elements into gem materials.


John Dyer’s 27.47 ct multicolor Oregon sunstone is an objet d’ art. Photo by David Dyer, gem courtesy of
John Dyer & Co.

Size of the gemstone is an important consideration to lapidaries: the larger the gem, the larger the “canvas.” Some cutters use diamonds and the Big Three (rubies, sapphires, and emeralds), but these materials are often difficult to obtain in large sizes. So many cutters chose gemstones that provide larger canvases, like quartz and aquamarine.


“I trusted my intuition when I made Wind. I just started creating without any planning,” says Michael Dyber. The finished piece evokes a fierce storm frozen in time. Photo by Sena Dyber

The world of fine jewelry and the fantasy cut may be far apart, yet a profound understanding of gemology is required by the craftspeople in each field. It is this love of gemstones that ultimately unites them.


Dalan Hargrave used a variety of techniques on these three pieces of fantasy cut ametrine. Photo by Robert Weldon/GIA, courtesy of Minerales y Metales del Oriente, Bolivia, SA

Graduate Colored Stones

Explore the beauty of fantasy cuts with the Graduate Colored Stones
diploma program.
 
Learn More

Positive Design with Negative Space

Negative space is a design technique that’s in style. Here’s how to add
it to your toolbox.
 
Read More

Insights on Inclusions

Inclusions can tell you a gemstones origin, history and value – an invaluable skill for a gemologist.
 
Read More

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more