彩钻描述


Placeholder Alt Text
彩色钻石是最稀有,最珍贵的宝石之一。
在正常颜色范围内,钻石是无色至浅黄色,并使用行业的 D 到 Z 的颜色分级标准进行描述。 而另一方面,彩色钻石有黄色和褐色。这种颜色的钻石会呈现超越 Z 颜色范围,或正面呈现其他颜色。 这些罕见的样本有光谱的每一种颜色,其中最稀有的是蓝色、绿色、粉红色和红色。

象征和平的极光蝴蝶
“和平的极光蝴蝶 (Aurora Butterfly of Peace)"中的彩色钻石由纽约极光宝石公司(Aurora Gems Inc.)的 Alan Bronstein 和 Harry Rodman 历时逾 12 年匹配而成。 组成蝴蝶造型的 240 颗钻石几乎涵盖了所有天然彩钻的颜色和切磨样式 。 - Alan Bronstein 友情提供
从 D 到 Z 成色范围的宝石级钻石随着颜色更加明显,价值更低。 彩钻的情况正好相反:颜色的色度和色调越高,它们的价值也随着提高。 色彩鲜艳的大钻石极为罕见,非常珍贵。 然而,许多彩钻的颜色很柔和,而不是浓郁或鲜艳。

天然彩钻
天然彩钻的颜色通常不是很浓。 - T. Horovitz 友情提供
彩色钻石拥有几乎你能想象的任何色彩。 红色,绿色,紫色和橙色一般是最难得的,其次是粉红色和蓝色。 黄色和褐色是最常见的颜色,它们通常比那些罕见颜色的价值更低。

黄色彩钻
黄色彩钻量较大,与其他彩钻相比,它占所有钻石产量的一小部分。 她们的美丽和不同深浅的颜色给珠宝商提供了广泛的可能性。 - ©GIA and Harold & Erica Van Pelt, Harry Winston, Inc.;Jonathan Doppelt Inc.友情提供; N. Smid; Scarselli 家庭
0.81 克拉彩钻
这颗 0.81 克拉钻石的颜色强度和纯净度大大提高了其价值,远超过了正常颜色范围内类似大小的钻石的价值。
黑色、灰色和彩白色钻石也被认为是稀少的颜色。 有些被制成珠宝。 以俄罗斯公主纳迪亚·维叶群 - 奥尔洛夫(Nadia Vyegin-Orloff)命名的 67.50 克拉黑奥尔洛夫(Black Orloff )钻石是最知名的例子。

黑色奥洛夫钻石
该垫形切磨的黑奥尔洛夫钻石重达 67.50 克拉,据说是从 195 克拉的原石上切磨而成。 它镶嵌在一条钻石铂金项链上。
白色彩钻
彩白钻石外观为乳白色。 - 收藏家 Pericles John Lentz 博士友情提供
高调拍卖昂贵价格的彩色钻石,是提高对彩色钻石认识度的另一个因素。 然而,并非所有的彩色钻石都有如此高的价格。 许多人认为黄色和褐色的钻石比同等重量和净度的近无色钻石需求量少。 深黄色和深褐色钻石比其他彩色钻石价值更低。

Fancy Color Diamond Description

Fancy Color Diamonds
Fancy color diamonds are among the rarest and most valuable gemstones.
Diamonds in the normal color range are colorless through light yellow and are described using the industry’s D-to-Z color-grading scale. Fancy color diamonds, on the other hand, are yellow and brown diamonds that exhibit color beyond the Z range, or diamonds that exhibit any other color face-up. These rare specimens come in every color of the spectrum, including, most importantly, blue, green, pink, and red.

Aurora Butterfly of Peace
The colored diamonds in the Aurora Butterfly of Peace were assembled over a 12-year period by Alan Bronstein and Harry Rodman of Aurora Gems Inc., New York. The butterfly’s 240 stones show nearly the full spectrum of color and cut styles of naturally colored diamonds. - Courtesy Alan Bronstein
Gem diamonds in the D-to-Z range usually decrease in value as the color becomes more obvious. Just the opposite happens with fancy color diamonds: Their value generally increases with the strength and purity of the color. Large, vivid fancy color diamonds are extremely rare and very valuable. However, many fancy diamond colors are muted rather than pure and strong.

Natural Fancy Color Diamonds
The colors exhibited by natural fancy color diamonds are usually not very intense. - Courtesy T. Horovitz
Fancy color diamonds come in almost any color you can imagine. Red, green, purple, and orange are generally the most rare, followed by pink and blue. Yellows and browns are the most common fancy colors, but they’re generally less valuable than the rarer colors.

Fancy Color Yellow Diamonds
While abundant compared to other colored diamonds, fancy color yellow diamonds represent a small portion of overall diamond production. Their beauty and the depths of color in which they occur offer a wide range of possibilities to the jeweler. - ©GIA and Harold & Erica Van Pelt, courtesy Harry Winston, Inc.; Jonathan Doppelt Inc.; N. Smid; Scarselli family
0.81-carat Fancy Color Diamond
The strength and purity of this 0.81-carat diamond’s color increases its value beyond that of a similar-size diamond in the normal color range.
Blacks, grays, and fancy whites are considered fancies, too. Some have been fashioned into gems. The 67.50-carat Black Orloff diamond, named after the Russian Princess Nadia Vyegin-Orloff, is the most well-known example.

Black Orloff Diamond
The cushion-cut Black Orloff diamond weighs 67.50 carats and was reportedly cut from 195-carat rough. It’s set in a diamond and platinum necklace.
Fancy White Diamonds
Fancy white diamonds can have an opalescent look. - Courtesy of collector, Dr. Pericles John Lentz
Spectacular prices in high-profile auctions are another factor in the increased awareness of fancy color diamonds. Not all fancy color diamonds command such high prices, however. Many people consider yellow and brown fancies less desirable than near-colorless stones of equal weight and clarity. And deeper yellows and browns are generally less valuable than other fancy colors.

Learn More About Colored Diamonds

Why We Love
Explore colored diamonds history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Learn More

Fancy Color Diamonds

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more