生日石

四月生日石

在这枚精美的三石戒指上,有 15 克拉的钻石镶嵌在铂金之中。由 Rahaminov 友情提供 Shadow

钻石内部有一团闪闪发光的火,是世界上最受人们欢迎和喜爱的宝石之一。四月出生的人非常幸运,他们可以将这种象征着纯净和力量的闪亮宝石称作自己的生日石。事实上,钻石十分坚硬,它的名字源自希腊词语“adamas”,意思是“不可战胜的”、“牢不可破的”。早在钻石成为四月生日石之前,它的永恒魅力就备受珍视,钻石的产地就和与钻石有关的传说一样充满吸引力。

钻石生日石

   

钻石生日石的意义和历史

我们对这种四月生日石的热衷起源于印度,这里的人们从河流和溪流中采集钻石。早在公元前 4 世纪,钻石便作为商品开始交易,受到皇室和富人们的追捧。后来,商队将印度钻石和其他别具异域风情的商品带到了威尼斯的中世纪市场。到了 15 世纪,钻石成为欧洲上流人士的时尚配饰。1477 年,奥地利大公马克西米利安向勃艮地玛莉公主求婚,第一枚有史料记载的钻石订婚戒指就此登场。最近的证据证实了 45.52 克拉 (ct) 的蓝色传奇 Hope Diamond(霍普钻)的产地为印度戈尔康达矿区,1668 年由法国国王路易十四(当时被称为法国蓝色钻石)购得。

18 世纪初,印度钻石的供应量开始下降,巴西成为另一个重要来源。黄金矿工在米纳斯吉拉斯州热基蒂尼奥尼亚河筛选砾石时,意外发现了钻石。 此后巴西统领钻石市场 150 多年。

19 世纪 60 年代,人们在南非的金伯利附近发现了钻石,标志着现代钻石市场的开始。企业家 Cecil Rhodes(塞西尔·罗兹)于 1888 年创立了 De Beers Consolidated Mines Limited(戴比尔斯联合矿业有限公司),到 1900 年,戴比尔斯便控制了全球约 90% 的钻石原石产量。迄今为止发现的最大钻石重达 3106 克拉(621 克),是 1905 年在南非的 Premier 钻石矿开采出来的。它被切磨成 530 克拉梨形库利南一号钻石,也称为“非洲之星”,现镶嵌在带十字架的皇家权杖上,与其他王室珠宝一起收藏在伦敦塔博物馆。 
 

Hope Diamond(霍普钻)由 Smithsonian Institution(史密森学会)友情提供
Hope Diamond(霍普钻)由 Smithsonian Institution(史密森学会)友情提供


一位姓名不详的二世纪诗人认为钻石遮住了恶魔之眼 —— 人们认为,恶魔狰狞的面貌会导致疾病、贫穷,甚至是死亡。甚至有人认为这种四月生日具有疗愈功效。千百年来,钻石生日石一直被当成解毒良药、预防瘟疫的护身法宝。 有些人声称钻石是赐予长寿、力量、美貌和幸福的恩物。
 
除四月生日石这个身份以外,钻石还是 60 周年和 75 周年结婚纪念日宝石。当然,钻石订婚戒指如今已成为几乎通行全球的爱情和婚姻象征。

钻石产自哪里?

四月生日石现在可在世界各地进行开采。到了 21 世纪初,其他非洲国家也加入了南非的行列,成为主要的钻石原石产地。这些国家包括刚果民主共和国(前称扎伊尔)及博茨瓦纳。前苏联于 1960 年开启了首个主要矿场,俄罗斯的钻石如今在产量和品质方面都名列前茅。随着 1983 年澳大利亚 Argyle(阿盖尔)矿区的开启和 20 世界 90 年代加拿大北部几个钻石矿床的发现,钻石开采急剧扩张。 

俄罗斯东西伯利亚的钻石开采堪比冒险小说。背景:苔原冻土、严寒、日晒时间短。道具:喷气发动机和炸药用于加热和软化覆盖在金伯利管状脉(大量垂直分布的胡萝卜状火成岩)的冰,这些岩石是钻石的主要来源。故事情节:2013 年,俄罗斯主要钻石开采公司 Alrosa(阿尔罗萨)估计,冻土层下的钻石储量还有 9.7 亿克拉。
 
博茨瓦纳的钻石通常埋藏在该国东部的炎热半干旱区域下面。这些多产的矿场成为了发展经济的福音,造就了越来越多的中产阶级。该国也是钻石集散地,全球约 40% 的钻石原石都会在这里进行分拣和估价。
 

戴维克钻石矿夏季 A154 堤坝和露天矿场。为了安全开采露天矿体,也就是湖水底部离岸边不远处的死火山,人们建造了堤坝。由 Copyright © 2016 Rio Tinto(力拓) 友情提供
戴维克钻石矿夏季 A154 堤坝和露天矿场。为了安全开采露天矿体,也就是湖水底部离岸边不远处的死火山,人们建造了堤坝。由 Copyright © 2016 Rio Tinto(力拓) 友情提供

钻石生日石的保养与清洁

钻石的莫氏硬度为 10,经久耐用,可以放进超声波清洗装置中进行清洗。然而,如果您的钻石生日石有很多内含物或者经过处理,清洁时最好还是使用不起毛的软布,或使用温水、温和的肥皂和软毛牙刷或者市售珠宝清洁剂。您也可以定期请专业珠宝商为您清洁钻石生日石珠宝并检查镶嵌情况,以长期保持其美感和完整性。
 

由 GIA 应用珠宝艺术 (AJA) 课程毕业生 Michael Russo(迈克尔·鲁索)设计的钻石戒指。Michael(迈克尔)在一个课堂项目中利用 CAD/CAM 课程设计了这枚戒指,并为它制作了一个 CAD 模型。课后他将自己的 CAD 文件发给了制作公司,随后该公司制作了一枚
由 GIA 应用珠宝艺术 (AJA) 课程毕业生 Michael Russo(迈克尔·鲁索)设计的钻石戒指。Michael(迈克尔)在一个课堂项目中利用 CAD/CAM 课程设计了这枚戒指,并为它制作了一个 CAD 模型。课后他将自己的 CAD 文件发给了制作公司,随后该公司制作并镶嵌了戒指。摄影:Kevin Schumacher(凯文·舒马赫)/GIA


鉴于您已经对钻石这种四月生日石有所了解,您将成为更加明智的买家。您也可能会更加喜欢这种最耐用的宝石。无论是彩色钻石还是无色钻石,也无论钻石尺寸是大还是小,四月生日石都将继续吸引那些四月出生的幸运儿,以及那些在恋爱中收到或送出钻石订婚戒指的幸运儿。如果您正考虑购买钻石,我们希望我们的简明导览可以告诉您更多有关四月生日石的历史及其产地的信息。

开始着手准备钻石购买之旅?别忘了复习一下钻石品质 4C 标准,另外,请务必带上我们的钻石购买指南

更多关于钻石的信息 钻石买家指南


有兴趣探索其他生日石吗?

BIRTHSTONES

April Birthstone

This impressive three-stone ring has 15 carats of diamonds, set in platinum. Courtesy: Rahaminov Shadow

Sparkling with an internal fire all its own, diamond is one of the world’s most sought-after and adored gemstones. Those born in April are lucky enough to call this scintillating gem their birthstone, a symbol of clarity and strength. Diamond is so strong, in fact, that its name comes from the Greek word "adamas," which means “invincible” or “unbreakable.” The timeless charm of diamond was cherished long before it became the April birthstone, and the places where diamond comes from are as fascinating as the lore that surrounds it.

Diamond Birthstone

   

Diamond Birthstone Meaning & History

Our love for the April birthstone started in India, where diamonds were gathered from the country’s rivers and streams. Traded as early as the fourth century BCE, diamonds were coveted by royalty and the wealthy. Later, caravans brought Indian diamonds, along with other exotic merchandise, to medieval markets in Venice. By the 1400s, diamonds were becoming fashionable accessories for Europe’s elite. The first diamond engagement ring on record was given by Archduke Maximillian of Austria to his betrothed, Mary of Burgundy, in 1477. Recent evidence supports the origin of the legendary 45.52 carat (ct) blue Hope diamond in India’s Golconda mining area and its sale to King Louis XIV of France (then known as the French Blue diamond) in 1668.

In the early 1700s, as India’s diamond supplies began to decline, Brazil emerged as an important source. Diamonds were discovered when gold miners sifted through gravels on the banks of the Jequitinhonha River in Minas Gerais. Brazil dominated the diamond market for more than 150 years.

The discovery of diamonds near Kimberley, South Africa, in the late 1860s marked the beginning of the modern diamond market. Entrepreneur Cecil Rhodes established De Beers Consolidated Mines Limited in 1888, and by 1900 De Beers controlled an estimated 90 percent of the world’s production of rough diamonds. The largest diamond ever found – at 3,106 ct (621 grams) – was recovered from South Africa’s Premier mine in 1905. From it was cut the pear shaped 530 ct Cullinan I diamond, also known as the Great Star of Africa, which is now set in the Royal Sceptre with Cross and housed with the other Crown Jewels in the Tower of London. 
 

This deep-blue 45.52 carat April birthstone is the famous Hope diamond.
The Hope diamond Courtesy: Smithsonian Institution


An anonymous second-century poet maintained that this birthstone for April warded off the evil eye – a malevolent look believed to cause sickness, poverty and even death. The April birthstone was even believed to have healing powers. Over the centuries, the diamond birthstone was thought to be an antidote to poison and provide protection against the plague.  Some claim that it is a boon for longevity, strength, beauty and happiness.
 
In addition to being the April birthstone, diamond is the gift of choice for the 60th and 75th wedding anniversaries. And, of course, today the diamond engagement ring has become a near-universal symbol of love and marriage.

Where is Diamond Found?

The birthstone for April is now mined around the world. By the early 2000s, South Africa had been joined by other African nations as major producers of rough diamonds. These include the Democratic Republic of the Congo (previously known as Zaire) and Botswana. The former Soviet Union opened its first major mine in 1960, and Russia is now one of the top producers by both volume and value. Diamond mining expanded dramatically with the opening of the Argyle mine in Australia in 1983 and the discovery of several diamond deposits in northern Canada in the 1990s. 

Diamond mining in Russia’s eastern Siberia reads like an adventure novel. The setting: tundra, frigid temperatures and short days. The props: jet engines and explosives used to heat and soften the ice covering the kimberlite pipes – vertical, carrot shaped masses of igneous rock that can be a primary source for diamonds. The storyline: In 2013, Alrosa, Russia’s main diamond mining company, estimated that there were 970 million carats still waiting to be found in the frozen tundra.
 
Diamonds in Botswana lie in the typically hot, semi-arid eastern region of the country. These prolific mines have brought a boom to the economy, creating a growing middle class. The country is also a diamond hub, where approximately 40 percent of the world’s supply of rough diamonds are sorted and valued.
 

The April birthstone, diamond can be found in Canada’s Diavik diamond mine, a sub-arctic landscape of open-pit mines surrounded by a lake.
Diavik diamond mine summer A154 dike and open pit. To safely open-pit mine its ore bodies, extinct volcanoes located just offshore under the lake waters, dikes were built. Courtesy: Copyright © 2016 Rio Tinto

Diamond Birthstone Care & Cleaning

Diamond (10 on the Mohs hardness scale) is usually durable enough to be placed in an ultrasonic cleaner. However, if your diamond birthstone has many inclusions or has been treated, it it is best to clean it with a lint-free cloth, or use warm water, mild soap, and a soft toothbrush or a commercial jewelry cleaning solution. Also, have your diamond birthstone jewelry periodically cleaned and its setting examined by a professional jeweler to maintain its beauty and integrity over time.
 

A gold ring designed from a CAD model features the April birthstone with a round center diamond surrounded by small diamonds and a diamond band.
Diamond ring designed by Michael Russo, a graduate of the GIA AJA program. Michael designed the ring as a class project using a CAD/CAM program, and made a CAD model of the piece. After class, he sent his CAD file to a manufacturing company which made and set the ring. Photo: Kevin Schumacher/GIA


Now that you’ve learned something about the April birthstone, diamond, you’ll be a smarter shopper. And maybe you’ll have an even greater appreciation for this most durable of all gemstones. Colored or colorless, large or small, the birthstone for April continues to captivate those lucky enough to be born in this month, and those lucky in love who receive – or give – a diamond engagement ring. If you’re thinking about acquiring a diamond, we hope our brief excursion told you a little more about the history of the April birthstone and where diamonds come from.

Embarking on a diamond shopping journey? Don’t forget to brush up on the 4Cs of diamond quality, and be sure to take along our Diamond Buying Guide.

More about Diamond Diamond Buyer's Guide


Interested in exploring additional birthstones?