日光石护理与清洁


Placeholder Alt Text
日光石如加以适当护理可相伴终生,带来佩戴首饰的快乐。 – Mike Havstad
硬度和韧度
莫氏硬度用以衡量宝石和矿物的硬度。 这些数字以一种矿物可被其他矿物划伤的相对难易程度为基准。 但莫氏硬度会引起误导。 不同矿物的硬度等级之间的差距并不均匀。 举例来说,钻石的莫氏硬度只比刚玉高1度,但实际上它比刚玉家族的宝石坚硬好多倍。

长石(包括日光石)具备两个共同特质,影响其耐用性并使其容易损坏, 即质地柔软(根据莫氏硬度表为 6.5 至 7.2)和两个方向上的劈裂,导致日光石的韧度等级为“不良”。

然而若将日光石镶到为其提供保护的镶座中,该宝石则是珠宝首饰的上选。 保护性镶座包括吊坠、耳环和胸针,而非戒指,这是因为戒指更可能遭到碰撞和撞击。

莫氏硬度
根据莫氏硬度表,日光石的硬度在 6.5 和 7.2 之间。
稳定性
不建议将日光石暴露在热条件下,但是将其暴露在光条件下时其颜色将保持稳定且不会褪色。

清洁
使用温肥皂水清洗日光石通常较为安全。 应避免使用超声波和蒸汽清洁机清洗日光石。 长石极易受到盐酸腐蚀,因此还应避免使用包含漂白剂的清洁产品。
极少情况下,日光石可能经过断裂填充处理。 这些宝石只可用温肥皂水清洗。

Sunstone Care and Cleaning

With proper care, sunstone can provide a lifetime of jewelry-wearing pleasure. – Mike Havstad
Hardness and Toughness
Gem and mineral hardness is measured on the Mohs scale. The numbers are based on the relative ease or difficulty with which one mineral can be scratched by another. But the Mohs scale is deceptive. The steps between the minerals are not evenly spaced. For example, diamond is only one number away, but it’s many times harder than gems in the corundum family.

Feldspars, including sunstone, share two traits that affect their durability and make them vulnerable to damage. These are softness—at 6.5 to 7.2 on the Mohs scale—and cleavage in two directions, which gives sunstone a Poor toughness rating.

When sunstone is mounted in a setting that protects it, however, it’s an excellent choice for jewelry. Protective settings include pendants, earrings, and pins rather than rings, which are more likely to receive knocks and bumps.

Mohs Scale
Sunstone’s hardness falls between 6.5 and 7.2 on the Mohs hardness scale.
Stability
Exposure to heat is not recommended for sunstone, but its color is stable when exposed to light and won’t fade.

Cleaning
Warm, soapy water is always a safe sunstone cleaning method. Ultrasonic and steam cleaners should be avoided. Feldspars are rapidly attacked by hydrochloric acid, so cleaning products containing bleach should also be avoided.
Rarely, sunstone might be fracture filled. These stones should only be cleaned with warm, soapy water.

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more