资源

“平片到平片”展览概要



RICHARD T. LIDDICOAT (理查德·特·利德寇特) 宝石学图书馆和信息中心于 2011 年 11 月至 2012 年 8 月在加利福尼亚州卡尔斯巴德举办的展览。

增长见识,孜孜不倦

平片到平片 Pliny 展览实例
摄影:Kevin Schumacher(凯文·舒马赫)/GIA

图书馆最老的一本藏书是 1496 年编订的百科全书(竖直放置,左),普林尼的 《自然史》(博物志)。 普林尼于公元 79 年去世,他撰写的百科全书是时间最早、最著名的学术著作之一。 在文艺复兴之前,它是所有科学学科的基石。  以上照片是普林尼《 自然史》的不同版本,时间跨度为 1496 年至 1826 年。

海量书籍,时间有限

平板到平板 “多书实例”
摄影:Kevin Schumacher(凯文·舒马赫)/GIA

此次展览包含 26,000 多页信息,时间跨度超过 500 年。 美国宝石研究院图书馆是宝石和珠宝所有相关信息的主要来源。 图书馆收藏的书籍还在不断增加,截至 2014 年 7 月,这间占地面积 8,000 平方英尺的图书馆一共收藏了 57,000 本书籍,超过1,800 部影片,成千上万张 CD,以及 700 种杂志和期刊。 除印刷材料以外,可视资源图书馆还收藏了超过 15 万张关于宝石、宝石产地和珠宝的数字影像,这些材料主要用于 GIA 课程教材、课堂讲授内容和出版物。 所有这些资源相结合,为 GIA 履行其教育使命提供了强大的支持。

塔弗尼尔游记

平片到平板 Tavernier(塔维尼埃)实例
摄影:Kevin Schumacher(凯文·舒马赫)/GIA

Tavernier 是法国商人和珠宝商,他将宝石学和旅行经历结合,编写了激动人心的土耳其、波斯和东印度群岛之旅。 在 71 岁高龄时,他在其开创性作品《Les Six Voyages de Jean Baptiste Tavernier》中记录了 1631 年至 1668 年的传奇冒险经历。 他十分迷恋这些充满异域风情的土地,因此将所研究的璀璨宝石也写入了书中 。

宝石晶体

平片到平板 Hauy(郝依)实例
摄影:Kevin Schumacher(凯文·舒马赫)/GIA

René Just Haüy(1744 年 - 1822 年)是一名接受任命的牧师、生物学家和矿物学者。 在意外掉落一块,他从碎片观察到了晶体结构。 好奇心驱使他继续研究其他大量矿物,并于 1801 年出版了自己研究的一套精确的数学理论书籍——Traité de Minéralogie。 这也是第一套用于矿物识别和分类的合理系统。 在 1822 年出版的 Traité de Cristallographie 中,他做了进一步阐释。 为了描述晶体,他创造了表示不同晶体面的系统。 现在,Haüy 的定律也被称为合理指标定律。 上图是中间点缀海蓝宝石、金绿柱石、金绿玉和金黄榴石柘榴石的木材和金属晶体模型。

熠熠生辉的俄罗斯皇室珠宝

平板到平板 Fersman(斐尔司曼)实例
摄影:Kevin Schumacher(凯文·舒马赫)/GIA

《俄罗斯钻石和宝石珍藏》 (Russia’s Treasure of Diamonds and Precious Stones) 记录了罗曼诺夫家族收集在超过 228 年的时间里收集的徽章和皇冠上珠宝。 所有物品均由著名的俄罗斯矿物学者管理。 本书于 1925 年由 A. E. Fersman 代表布尔什维克政府发表,印有三个版本:俄语、法语和英语。 当时出版的数量我们无从得知,但现存数版本不超过 20 部。 GIA 的英文副本收藏在卡地亚珍本库和档案馆,并经过扫描以便在馆内查看。 这个帝国王冠是该目录中的一个作品,也是此次展览的核心作品。


“平片到平片”参考书目

Sowerby(索尔比)的《英国矿物学》和 Martha Proby(玛莎·普洛比) 



Richard T. Liddicoat 宝石学图书馆

查询 GIA 图书馆馆藏目录,图书馆内收藏了 57,000 本书籍、150,000 张照片、1,800 条视频、700 种期刊以及著名的卡地亚善本资源库及档案。
 
访问 GIA 图书馆

联系图书馆

RICHARD T. LIDDICOAT (理查德·特·利德寇特) 宝石学图书馆和信息中心
GIA 全球总部
The Robert Mouawad Campus
5345 Armada Drive
Carlsbad, CA 92008
 
电话:+1 760 603 4000
传真:+1 760 603 4256
联系我们

卡地亚 (Cartier) 善本资源库和档案

了解更多关于 GIA 善本收藏的资讯
了解更多

GIA 创新者
Dona Dirlam

从小对宝石和矿物的热爱
造就了 GIA 图书馆的转型
和持久的卓越声誉。
阅读详细内容

从平片到平片

从平片到平片 “平片到平片:从古至今的珍贵书页”展示了全球 26,000 多页有关宝石、矿物和自然科学的罕见书页,可追溯到 15 世纪。
阅读详细内容

获取最新
《宝石与宝石学》

美国宝石研究院季刊。
 
Download the
Summer 2017 issue

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Resource

Tablet to Tablet Exhibit Summary



An exhibit presented by the The Richard T. Liddicoat Gemological Library and Information Center, November 2011-August 2012, GIA, Carlsbad, California.

Knowledge at Any Cost

Tablet to Tablet Pliny Exhibit Case
Photo by Kevin Schumacher/GIA

The Library’s oldest book is an encyclopedia from 1496 (standing upright, left), Pliny’s Naturalis Historia [Natural History]. Pliny perished in 79 CE and content of his encyclopedia is one of the earliest, and most celebrated, academic treatises of all time. It was the foundation of all science until the Renaissance.  Pictured above are various editions of Pliny’s Naturalis Historia, ranging from 1496 to 1826.

So Many Books, So Little Time

Tablet to Tablet So Many Books Case
Photo by Kevin Schumacher/GIA

This exhibit contains more than 26,000 pages of information spanning over 500 years. The GIA Library is the premier resource for information on all aspects of gems and jewelry. As of July 2014, the growing collection encompasses 57,000 books, over 1,800 videos, hundreds of CDs and over 700 magazine and journal titles in the 8,000 square foot library. In addition to print materials, the Visual Resources Library comprises over 150,000 digital images of gems, gem localities, and jewelry which are used primarily in GIA course materials, classroom lectures and publications. The combination of all these resources allows GIA to fulfill its educational mission.

Tavernier’s Travels

Tablet to Tablet Tavernier Case
Photo by Kevin Schumacher/GIA

Tavernier was a French merchant and jeweler who combined gemology and travel writing to chronicle his exciting journeys through Turkey, Persia, and the East Indies. At 71 years of age, he documented his adventures from 1631-1668 in his seminal work Les Six Voyages de Jean Baptiste Tavernier. His fascinating accounts of these exotic lands include descriptions of the spectacular gems he examined.

Gem Crystals

Tablet to Tablet Hauy Case
Photo by Kevin Schumacher/GIA

René Just Haüy lived from 1744 to 1822 and was an ordained priest, botanist and mineralogist. After accidentally dropping a calcite crystal, he observed from the broken pieces its crystal structure. His curiosity caused him to expand that study to a number of minerals and developed a mathematical theory which was published in 1801, the Traité de Minéralogie. This was also the first rational system for identifying and classifying minerals. He expanded on that in Traité de Cristallographie published in 1822. In order to describe crystals, he created a system of indicating the different faces. Today Haüy’s law is also known as the law of rational indices. Pictured above are crystal models of wood and metal interspersed with crystals of aquamarine and heliodor, chrysoberyl and hessonite garnet.

Imperial Russian Bling

Tablet to Tablet Fersman Case
Photo by Kevin Schumacher/GIA

Russia’s Treasure of Diamonds and Precious Stones documents the regalia and crown jewels that were collected over 228 years by the Romanov family. The inventory, overseen by the noted Russian mineralogist A.E. Fersman and published in 1925 by the Bolshevik government, was printed in three versions: Russian, French and English. While we do not know how many catalogs were produced, less than 20 copies are known to exist today. GIA’s English language copy is housed in the Cartier Rare Book Repository & Archives and has been scanned for viewing in the library. One plate from this catalog, an imperial diadem, is the centerpiece of this display.


Tablet to Tablet Bibliography

Sowerby's "British Mineralogy" and Martha Proby 



Richard T. Liddicoat Gemological Library

Search GIA's library catalog of 57,000 books, 1,800 videos, 700 periodicals, and the renowned Cartier Rare Book Repository and Archive.
 
Visit the GIA Library

Contact the LIbrary

Richard T. Liddicoat Gemological Library and Information Center
GIA World Headquarters
The Robert Mouawad Campus
5345 Armada Drive
Carlsbad, CA 92008
 
Call: +1 760 603 4000
Fax: +1 760 603 4256
Contact Us

Cartier Rare Book Repository and Archives

Learn more about GIA's rare book collections.
Learn More

GIA Innovator:
Dona Dirlam

A childhood love of
gems and minerals led to the transformation of GIA's library and to a lasting reputation
of excellence.
Read More

Tablet to Tablet

Tablet to Tablet Learn more about a museum exhibit that showcased rare book pages on gems, minerals, and natural science.
Read More

Get the latest
Gems & Gemology

Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
The quarterly journal of the Gemological Institute of America.
 
Download the
Summer 2017 issue

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Fall 2017 Edition
Learn more