Frequently Asked Questions
What pearl grading system does GIA use?

GIA uses a comprehensive standard it developed over a 60-year period of ground-breaking research on pearls. The GIA 7 Pearl Value Factors™ provide a systematic way to evaluate pearls of all types, and to describe their quality in a way everyone can understand. The GIA 7 Pearl Value factors are: Size, Shape, Color, Nacre, Luster, Surface, and Matching.

Learn more about how GIA identifies and classifies pearls.

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Winter 2017 Edition
Learn more