远程教学
专为在职人士设计

认识我们的远程教学教师

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 导师是充满激情的教育工作者,他们将多年的行业经验带到课堂上。每个人都是其各自领域内的领导者,每个人都致力于帮助您获得知识、掌握技能,并开启您的职业生涯。

宝石学

Mariam Aboushadi(玛利亚姆·阿布沙地)

对钻石和宝石学的迷恋始于 Mariam(玛利亚姆)的微观层面。她将每一颗宝石的错综复杂看作是探索宝石发展和旅程的大门。获得生物学专业理学士学位的她,用科学的方法仔细地研究每一颗宝石。Mariam(玛利亚姆)在 GIA 担任宝石分级师,开始了她的宝石学职业生涯。追求卓越促使她成为一名培训师和品质专员。在这些角色中,她发现了自己对教学的热爱。Mariam(玛利亚姆)喜欢与学生分享她的知识,让他们能够在宝石行业中追求自己的兴趣。

Lo Combs(洛·库姆斯)

从小就被宝石和古董珠宝包围的 Lo(洛)对这个行业一直很是着迷。从抛光她父亲古董生意上的银器,到观察她母亲工作的珠宝店里的镶工,Lo(洛)花了相当多的时间发自内心地学习并观察珠宝行业。在雷德兰兹大学获得音乐表演和室内艺术的创作过程和文学士学位后,Lo(洛)在 GIA 进修,获得研究宝石学家和专业珠宝家文凭。她曾任珠宝顾问,并且在 GIA 鉴定所担任过钻石分级师,还定期参加宝石展,展示了她对珠宝行业的承诺,并渴望进一步丰富她的知识和经历。Lo(洛)对宝石学的热情点燃并激发了她对讲师这一角色的渴望,作为讲师的她努力为她的学生提供最佳机会,让他们在宝石学中取得成功。

远程教学教师 Bethany Crane(贝瑟尼·克兰)头像

Bethany “Bess” Crane(贝瑟尼·“贝丝”·克兰)

Bethany(贝瑟尼)从很小的时候起就热爱珠宝,喜欢翻看祖母在环游世界时收集的珠宝藏品。父亲培养了她对艺术和古董的热爱,这两种兴趣也常常相互影响。她获得了犹他州立大学报刊新闻学理学学士学位。了解了 GIA 之后,虽然曾在其他行业工作一段时间,但她知道 GIA 才是追逐自己宝石和珠宝梦想的地方。获得 GIA 研究宝石学家和应用珠宝家文凭后,她曾在几家零售商的质量控制和客户服务部门工作。Bethany(贝瑟尼)很喜欢与学生和朋友分享她对宝石学的热情。

教职员 Michelle Jirkovsky(米歇尔·吉尔科夫斯基)头像

Michelle “MJ” Jirkovsky(米歇尔•吉尔科夫斯基)

Michelle(米歇尔)是第四代珠宝商,拥有一套独特的技能和经验,这让她获得了她梦寐以求的 GIA 讲师职位。她不仅拥有斯坦福大学艺术史学士学位和苏富比艺术学院艺术商务硕士学位,还在卡尔斯巴德的 GIA 校区获得了 GIA 研究宝石学家和应用珠宝家文凭。在澳大利亚学习法律时,她参观了多处蛋白石和钻石矿,并在珍珠养殖场短暂工作,扩大了对宝石的了解。她是 National Association of Jewelry Appraisers(国家珠宝估价师协会)的认证估价师,后来开设了自己的高端珠宝精品店 “Give Me a Ring”,专门从事定制婚礼珠宝设计。

Michelle(米歇尔)通过远程教学获得了英国宝石协会的 FGA 文凭和 GIA 珍珠文凭 (Graduate Pearls),因此深知虚拟教育的独特挑战。对于这份将她的宝石知识和对宝石的热忱传递给下一代宝石学家的机会,她满怀感激。在业余时间,她喜欢采矿、演奏竖琴、射箭和旅行,有时还会陪伴她的丈夫和三只狗:Ruby(鲁比)、Luna(露娜)和 Bella Luce(贝拉·露丝)。

教职员 Michele Lisso(米歇尔·利索)头像

Michele Lisso(米歇尔·利索)

Michele Lisso(米歇尔·利索)对珠宝的迷恋始于在当地一家典当行工作时。在后来的 23 年中,在她的帮助下,这家小商店成为了一家拥有多个业务地点和业务职能部门的公司。在此期间,她还负责管理和培训销售人员。为了更多地了解宝石,她参加了远程教学课程,通过 GIA 获得了专业珠宝家 (AJP)、珍珠文凭和研究宝石学家文凭。从 GIA 毕业后,Michele(米歇尔)协助其他典当行培训员工、鉴定宝石和分级钻石。当 GIA 卡尔斯巴德校区招聘讲师职位时,她立即意识到,帮助学生了解宝石将是一次非常有益的体验,也非常符合她的兴趣。

Paul Mattlin(保罗·马特林)

作为 GIA 远程教学指导的经理,Paul(保罗)投入了自己对宝石和矿物的毕生热情以及 10 多年的行业经验。Paul(保罗)获得了研究宝石学家和研究珠宝学家文凭,并将其广泛应用于工作中,包括珠宝零售和管理、奢华腕表销售,还经营着一家专营独特宝石的小型精品珠宝企业。由于具有网页设计和系统工程方面的经验,Paul(保罗)对于利用技术帮助学生学习很有心得。

Daniela Pacheco(丹妮拉·帕切科)

Daniela(丹妮拉)从小时候就开始对自然地质结构产生了兴趣。后来,她获得了研究宝石学家文凭和专业珠宝家证书,并在 2014 到 2017 年期间担任 GIA 的钻石分级师。Daniela(丹妮拉)也热爱视觉艺术,并于 2014 年获得了拜欧拉大学的美术学士学位。作为一名讲师,她最喜欢的地方就是能够见证学生在了解宝石鉴定过程后的开心时刻。

Glenn Wargo(格伦·瓦格)

Glenn(格伦)对宝石和珠宝的钟爱始于在文法学校就读期间,当时一个世交送给他一本世界各地矿石合集。 他在年轻时担任镶工师傅,并获得蒙特克莱尔州立大学珠宝设计文学士学位,继续坚持自己对宝石学的热情。 Glenn(格伦)继而在 Fortunoff 和 Tiffany 公司从事销售工作,并于 1995 年获得了美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 研究宝石学家 (GG) 证书。 对于在美国宝石研究院教书,他如是说道:“这让我将我所学到的有关设计、销售及研究的知识传授给学生。 我喜欢教学,喜欢看到学生的成长和技能的进步。“

Heather Weishaar(希瑟·魏斯哈尔)

Heather 喜欢艺术和设计,也自然而然对珠宝产生了浓厚的兴趣。 因此,她的第一份工作是在一家珠宝商当学徒。 入读亚利桑那大学以后,她对宝石和珠宝的兴趣与日俱增,并随后获得了研究宝石学家和研究珠宝商文凭。 Heather 加入 GIA 的初衷是学习珠宝制造和设计,但最终与宝石学结下不解之缘。 由于对宝石学萌生了新的兴趣,Heather 找到了批发宝石销售代表的工作,然后是管理零售珠宝店。 作为讲师,Heather 热衷于分享她积累的经验和对宝石学的热爱。

Danielle Yamamoto(丹尼尔·山本)

Dani(丹尼)的童年时期在莫哈韦沙漠度过,在这里,她可以找寻到蔷薇石英、黑曜石箭头和晶洞,因此,她很早就对宝石学产生了浓厚的兴趣。她攻读了英语专业学士学位,并曾在洛杉矶联合学区教授高中英语。后来,为了实现童年时期的梦想,Danielle(丹尼尔)获得了研究宝石学家文凭。在成为 GIA 远程教学讲师之前,Dani(丹尼)曾从事过钻石的电子商务销售工作,并在一家实体珠宝零售店工作过。她还担任过钻石、有色宝石和瑞士手表的采购员。宝石鉴定科目是她最喜欢的研究宝石学家课程之一,因为鉴定一颗宝石就像解开一个谜团。Dani(丹尼)说:“这给我带来了很多乐趣和满足感,这也是让人在珠宝采购行业脱颖而出的重要技能。”

You are being redirected to GIA Alumni Association, LLC.

5

Distance Education
designed for working professionals

MEET OUR DISTANCE EDUCATION FACULTY

GIA instructors are passionate educators who bring years of industry experience to the classroom. All are leaders in their fields, and all are dedicated to helping you gain knowledge, acquire skills and launch your career.

gemology

Mariam Aboushadi

Fascination with diamonds and gemology starts at the microscopic level for Mariam. She views the intricacies of every stone as gateways into its development and journey. With a B.S. in Biology, she approaches each stone with a meticulous application of the scientific method.

Lo Combs

Surrounded by gems and antique jewelry from a young age, Lo has always been fascinated with the industry. From polishing silver at her father’s antique business to watching the local bench jeweler at the jewelry store where her mother worked, Lo spent considerable time learning and observing the trade from the inside. After earning a B.A. in Creative Process and Aesthetics of Music Performance and Studio Art from the University of Redlands, Lo furthered her education at GIA by earning the Graduate Gemologist and Accredited Jewelry Professional diplomas. Her work as a jewelry consultant, as a diamond grader in the GIA Laboratory, and regular attendance of gemological tradeshows demonstrates her commitment to the trade and desire to further enrich her knowledge and experience. Lo’s passion for gemology fuels and inspires her role as an instructor, where she strives to give her students the best opportunity for success in their gemological endeavors.

Headshot of distance education faculty member Bethany Crane

Bethany “Bess” Crane

Bethany’s love of jewelry began when she was very young, going through the jewelry collection her grandmother gathered on her world travels. Her father instilled in Bethany a love of art and antiques, and these interests often intersected. She earned a Bachelor of Science in Print Journalism from Utah State University. After learning of GIA and working in other industries for a time, Bethany knew that GIA was where she wanted to be to pursue her passion for gems and jewelry. After earning her GIA Graduate Gemologist and Applied Jewelry Professional diplomas, she worked in quality control and client services for several retailers. Bethany enjoys sharing her enthusiasm for gemology with students and friends alike.

 Faculty headshot of Michelle Jirkovsky

Michelle “MJ” Jirkovsky

A fourth generation jeweler, Michelle brings a unique set of skills and experiences to her dream role as a GIA Instructor. In addition to holding a bachelor’s degree in Art History from Stanford University and a Master of Art Business from Sotheby’s Institute of Art, she also earned the GIA Graduate Gemologist and Applied Jewelry Professional diplomas at the GIA campus in Carlsbad. While studying law in Australia, she expanded her knowledge of precious stones by visiting opal and diamond mines, and briefly working on a pearl farm. As a certified appraiser through the National Association of Jewelry Appraisers, she later opened her own high-end jewelry boutique, Give Me a Ring, which specialized in bespoke bridal jewelry designs.

Michelle understands the unique challenges of virtual learning, having obtained both her FGA diploma from the Gemmological Association of Great Britain and the GIA Graduate Pearls diploma via distance education. She is grateful for the opportunity to pass her knowledge and passion for gemstones along to the next generation of gemologists. In her spare time, Michelle enjoys mining, playing the harp, archery, traveling, and spending time with her husband and three dogs, Ruby, Luna, and Bella Luce.

Michele Lisso Faculty headshot

Michele Lisso

Michele’s fascination with jewelry began while working for a local pawn shop. Over the next 23 years, she helped build the small shop into a corporation with multiple locations and business functions. Throughout this time, she also managed and trained the sales staff. Intent on learning more about gemstones, she pursued her Accredited Jewelry Professional (AJP), Graduate Pearls and Graduate Gemologist diplomas through GIA as a Distance Education student. After graduating from GIA, Michele assisted other pawn shops with training staff, identifying gemstones and grading diamonds. When an instructor position became available at GIA Carlsbad, she knew instantly that helping students learn about gems would be a rewarding experience and the perfect fit for her interests.

Paul Mattlin

As Manager of Distance Education instruction at GIA, Paul brings a lifelong passion for gemstones and minerals along with more than 10 years of trade experience. Paul completed both the Graduate Gemologist and Graduate Jeweler diplomas, which he utilized extensively while working in retail jewelry sales and management selling luxury watches and owning a small boutique jewelry business that specialized in unique gemstones. With a background in web design and systems engineering, Paul is savvy about using technology to help students learn.

Daniela Pacheco

Daniela’s interest in natural geological formations started in her youth. She followed it by earning the Graduate Gemologist diploma and Accredited Jewelry Professional credential while working as a GIA diamond grader from 2014-2017. Daniela also loves the visual arts, and completed her Bachelor of Fine Arts at BIOLA University in 2014. Her favorite part of being an instructor is witnessing the “aha!” moment when students understand the gem identification process.

Michele Schwien

In addition to her GIA Graduate Gemologist and Accredited Jewelry Professional credentials, Michele holds a dual Bachelor of Arts degree in English and Education from Washburn University. Before joining GIA in 2004 as a Distance Education instructor, Michele worked for more than nine years as a jewelry sales professional and a staff gemologist appraiser, and owned an independent appraisal practice. With a true passion for education, Michele enjoys "academic volleys" with her students -- inquiries that move students from comprehension to performance in real-life situations.

Glenn Wargo

Glenn’s passion for gems and jewelry started in grammar school when a family friend gave him a collection of rocks from around the world. He pursued his love of things gemological in his youth by working as a bench jeweler apprentice and earning a Bachelor of Arts in jewelry design from Montclair State University. Glenn went on to work in sales for Fortunoff and Tiffany & Co, and received his GG from GIA in 1995. On teaching at GIA: “It allows me to give back to students what I’ve learned about designing, selling and studying. I enjoy teaching and watching students grow and develop their skills.”

Heather Weishaar

Heather’s interest in jewelry stems from her love of art and design. This led her to her first job as a jeweler’s apprentice. After attending the University of Arizona, her interest in gems and jewelry grew, and she earned the Graduate Gemologist and Graduate Jeweler diplomas. Heather initially came to GIA with the intention of learning jewelry manufacturing and design, but ended up falling in love with gemology. With a newfound interest in gemology, Heather took a position as a wholesale gem sales representative and then managed a retail jewelry store. As an instructor, Heather shares her years of experience and love of gemology.

Danielle Yamamoto

Dani’s interest in gemology began during her childhood in the Mojave Desert, where she searched for rose quartz, obsidian arrowheads and geodes. She went on to earn a B.A. in English and taught high school English for the Los Angeles Unified School District. Danielle later pursued her childhood passion, earning the Graduate Gemologist diploma. Before becoming a Distance Education instructor at GIA, Dani worked in e-commerce diamond sales and at a brick-and-mortal jewelry retail store. She was also a diamond, colored stone and Swiss watch buyer. Gem Identification is her favorite part of the Graduate Gemologist program, because identifying a gemstone is like solving a small mystery. Dani says, “It’s fun and satisfying, and it’s a skill that makes a person valuable in the jewelry buying world.”