2020 年继续教育单元

现已推出 2020 年继续教育认证课程单元。请于 2020 年 12 月 31 日前完成全部八个单元,获得继续教育认证课程参与证明。

作业 1 发布日期:2/3/2020

地理原产地鉴定

长久以来,珠宝行业对特定地方的宝石有溢价,比如来自克什米尔的蓝色蓝宝石和来自缅甸的红宝石。然而,其他地方产出的宝石也能与这些备受推崇的产地相媲美。不管怎样,来自知名产地的宝石价格往往最高。因此,鉴定宝石的地理原产地可能意味着会在价值上产生数百甚至数千美元的差异。本月,GIA 有色宝石服务全球总监 Shane McClure(沙恩·麦克卢尔)将探讨鉴定所鉴定各种有色宝石地理原产地时面临的挑战。

这是 2020 年继续教育认证课程的第一项任务。您一整年都能持续访问整个课程,包括作业、GIA 网络学习课程和多媒体档案。请务必在 2020 年 12 月 31 日前完成全部八次作业,以获得继续教育认证课程证书。

如需了解更多有关地理原产地鉴定的信息,请查看《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 2019 年冬季刊地理原产地特刊

作业 1 发布日期:3/2/2020

GIA 实地宝石学

参考藏品是 GIA 研究部门的一项重要资产,由 GIA 从全球各地采集来的宝石样品组成。GIA 实地宝石学部门不断努力,扩充这些藏品。科学家利用这些藏品,增进对宝石地理原产地和宝石处理方法的了解。为支持 GIA 研究,于 2008 年专门设立了实地宝石学部门。GIA 实地宝石学家在六大洲的实地考察逾 95 次,采集样品数逾 22,000 件。本月,GIA 实地宝石学主管 Wim Vertriest(维姆·维特瑞斯特)探讨了 GIA 的分类系统以及该领域的工作挑战。

有关打造研究藏品的更多信息,请参阅《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 2019 年冬季刊:地理原产地特刊。

作业 3 发布日期:2020 年 4 月 6 日

达碧兹宝石

达碧兹宝石通常被认为是大自然美丽的奇物,是宝石行家眼中真正的宝藏。真正的达碧兹是由几个宝石片段组成,被内含物形成的臂分隔。1879 年,Emile Bertrand(埃米尔·伯特兰)在 Société Géologique de France(法国地质学会)一次会议上首次描述了哥伦比亚穆佐矿的达碧兹祖母绿。此后还发现了其他达碧兹形式的宝石。本月,8th Dimension Gems 的 Jeffrey Bergman(杰弗里·伯格曼)讨论了他对这种独特宝石的热爱及其同样独特的市场地位。

采访:Susan Wheeler(苏珊·惠勒)— Susan Wheeler(苏珊·惠勒)的头像
作业 4 发布日期:2020 年 5 月 4 日

采访:Susan Wheeler(苏珊·惠勒)

责任采购已经成为生活中方方面面的热门话题。越来越多的消费者开始寻求以可持续发展方式制造的产品。消费者想要知道制造那些产品的工人是否受到了公平对待,以及产品生产过程对环境的影响程度。越来越多的珠宝商也提出了同样的问题。此外,他们还不断寻找方法,回馈为他们生产原材料的群体。走在这波趋势前沿的是 Susan Wheeler(苏珊·惠勒)。她是一名珠宝设计师,也是 Chicago Responsible Jewelry Conference(芝加哥负责任珠宝大会)的创始人。欢迎加入我们,一起聆听 Wheeler(惠勒)女士探讨宝石与金属道德采购的挑战和回报。

作业 5 发布日期:2020 年 6 月 1 日

俄罗斯珠宝制造业

俄罗斯丰富的珠宝制造历史可追溯到数百年前,拥有一些最为美丽精巧的艺术作品。GIA 团队曾探访过俄罗斯著名的浓绿榴石矿场,并有幸参观一家专门制作高端珠宝的制造公司。本月和我们一起,聆听 GIA 团队与 Chamovskikh Jewellery House(查莫夫斯基珠宝行)所有者 Alexander Chamovskikh(亚历山大·查莫夫斯基)先生共同探讨俄罗斯的珠宝制造业。

作业 6 发布日期:2020 年 7 月 6 日

贝壳和珍珠

几千年以前,人们将珍珠视为宝物,幸运的是,当今市场上已能供应各种颜色、形状、尺寸和价位的珍珠。确实有一些珍珠能够吸引每一个人的注意,无论它是天然珍珠还是人工养殖珍珠。本月,GIA 全球珍珠服务高级经理 Nicholas Sturman(尼古拉斯·斯特曼)讨论了珍珠以及生产珍珠的软体动物。加入我们,一起探索这些珍稀有机宝藏。

作业 7 发布日期:2020 年 8 月 3 日

先进分析设备

宝石学研究人员似乎每一天都要迎接新的挑战。宝石是经过处理或合成的吗?它的原产地是哪里?它的颜色是由哪些微量元素形成的?研究人员使用一整套工具帮助他们辨识和分析宝石。想知道科学家是如何利用光谱检测分析化学杂质的吗?想了解激光剥蚀电感耦合等离子体质谱仪吗?GIA 研究部门高级管理人员 Aaron Palke(亚伦·保克)博士讨论了现代宝石学实验室中使用的工具。跟随他一起观察科学家如何利用先进分析设备来鉴定和描述 GIA 经手的宝石吧。

作业 8 发布日期:2020 年 9 月 7 日

尼日利亚宝石

尼日利亚是一个文化多元的国家,有很多种本土语言。它是非洲最富有的国家之一,拥有令人叹为观止的美丽景观。它还拥有丰富的自然资源,比如各种各样闪闪发亮的宝石。和我们一起聆听 Mina Egwuatu(米娜·艾格瓦涂)介绍她家乡的宝石,以及她和她的公司为发展尼日利亚宝石和珠宝行业而做出的种种努力。

2020 Continuing Education Modules

The 2020 Continuing Education Recognition Program modules are now available. Complete all eight modules by December 31, 2020 in order to receive your Continuing Education Recognition Program participation acknowledgment.

Assignment 1 Release Date: 2/3/2020

Geographic Origin Determination

The jewelry trade has long put a premium on gems from certain locations, such as blue sapphire from Kashmir or ruby from Myanmar (Burma). Yet other localities produce stones that rival those from these revered sources. Whether it is fair or not, gems from renowned sources command the highest prices. For that reason, determining the geographic origin of a stone can mean the difference of hundreds or even thousands of dollars in value. This month, Shane McClure, Global Director of Colored Stone Services at GIA, discusses the challenges laboratories face when determining the geographic origin of various colored stones.

This is the first assignment in the 2020 Continuing Education Recognition Program. You will have continuous access to the entire course -- including the assignments, the GIA eLearning courses, and the multimedia archive -- until the end of the calendar year. Be sure to complete all eight assignments by December 31, 2020 in order to receive your Continuing Education Recognition Program certificate.

For more information about Geographic Origin Determination, see theWinter 2019 issue of Gems & Gemology: Geographic Origin Special Issue.

Assignment 2 Release Date: 3/2/2020

GIA Field Gemology

An essential asset of GIA’s research department is its reference collection of gem samples from around the globe. Used by scientists to gain better a better understanding of geographic origins and treatments of gems, the collection has been built through the efforts of GIA’s field gemology department. The field gemology department was established in 2008 specifically to support GIA research. GIA field gemologists have conducted more than 95 field expeditions to six continents and collected over 22,000 samples. This month, GIA’s supervisor of field gemology, Wim Vertriest, discusses GIA’s classification system as well as the challenges of working in the field.

For more information about building a research collection, see theWinter 2019 issue of Gems & Gemology: Geographic Origin Special Issue.

 

Assignment 3 Release Date: 4/6/2020

Trapiche Gems

Trapiche gems, often considered beautiful oddities of Mother Nature, are truly treasures for the gem connoisseur. True trapiche consists of gem segments separated by arms formed by inclusions. Trapiche emeralds from the Muzo mine in Colombia were first described by Émile Bertrand in 1879 at a meeting for the Société Géologique de France. Since then, other gems that form as trapiche have been found. This month, Jeffrey Bergman of 8th Dimension Gems discusses his passion for these unique gems and their equally unique place in the market.

Interview: Susan Wheeler - Headshot of Susan Wheeler
Assignment 4 Release Date: 5/4/2020

Interview: Susan Wheeler

Responsible sourcing has become a hot topic across all aspects of life. More and more, consumers are searching out products that are manufactured in sustainable ways. They want to know if the workers who contribute to the making of those products are treated fairly and how the environment is impacted in the process. A growing number of jewelers are asking these same questions — and, furthermore, looking at ways to give back to the communities they depend on for their raw goods. At the forefront of this wave is Susan Wheeler, a jewelry designer and founder of the Chicago Responsible Jewelry Conference. Join us as Ms. Wheeler discusses the challenges and rewards of ethical gem and metals sourcing.

Assignment 5 Release Date: 6/1/2020

Jewelry Manufacturing in Russia

With a rich history of jewelry making dating back hundreds of years, Russia can lay claim to some of the most beautiful and skillfully created examples of this art. When a team from GIA visited Russia to see the famous demantoid mines, they were also fortunate enough to be welcomed into a manufacturing company that specializes in high-end jewelry. Join us this month as the team discusses jewelry making in Russia with the owner of Chamovskikh Jewellery House, Mr. Alexander Chamovskikh.

Assignment 6 Release Date: 7/6/2020

Shells & Pearls

Humans have cherished pearls for millennia and fortunately for us, they are available in a dizzying array of colors, shapes, sizes, and price points. Natural or cultured, there are truly pearls that speak to every individual. This month, Nicholas Sturman, Senior Manager of Global Pearl Services at GIA discusses pearls and the mollusks that produce them. Join us as we explore these rare, organic treasures.