生日石

七月生日石

Shadow

红宝石是七月生日石,也是最受欢迎的宝石之一。名称取自拉丁词语 ruber,意思是“红色”— 爱与热情的颜色。没有什么比红宝石生日石更引人注目了。七月生日石最好的颜色是一种带有紫色的深红色,贸易中称为“鸽子血”。红宝石是一种矿物刚玉,其颜色来源于微量元素铬。铬的含量越高,红色就越深。以下是您需要了解的关于这种美丽的七月生日石的信息,以便更好地为七月出生的您自己或您的爱人挑选红宝石。

红宝石生日石

   

红宝石生日石的意义和历史

在古印度,红宝石因其稀有、坚硬(仅次于钻石)、美丽和看似神秘的力量而被称为“宝石之王”。长期以来与生命力血液相关,在印度珠宝中,红宝石是权力和青春活力的象征。在过去的几个世纪里,有些人认为这一七月生日石可以预测不幸或危险,而另一些人则声称它可以治疗炎症性疾病及平息怒气。缅甸勇士认为红宝石能使其在战斗中立于不败之地。中世纪的欧洲人认为红宝石可赐予健康、财富、智慧和成功的爱情。
 

1930 年左右由 Mauboussin(莫布森)出品的装饰艺术雕刻红宝石和钻石项链。红宝石珠饰固定在白色金属柱框架上,上面镶嵌着一颗小钻石。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA。由私人收藏家友情提供
1930 年左右由 Mauboussin(莫布森)出品的装饰艺术雕刻红宝石和钻石项链。红宝石珠饰固定在白色金属柱框架上,上面镶嵌着一颗小钻石。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA。由私人收藏家友情提供


除七月生日石这个身份以外,根据传统,红宝石还是 15 周年和 40 周年结婚纪念日赠送的礼物。

红宝石产自哪里?

七月生日石的探寻之旅始于缅甸,有记录的最古老精品红宝石产地之一。五个多世纪以来,缅甸摩谷地区一直出产着一些最抢手的红宝石 – 光散射内含物与闪亮的红色荧光使这种美物颜色柔和,呈现鲜艳的红色。该区域拥有大量风化大理石与古代佛教寺庙。

摩谷镇的经典视角图,主要是 Chan Thar Gyi Pagoda (左),取其湖周围之景,这里从英国殖民时期就开始开采宝石矿。摄影:Vincent Pardieu(文森特·帕迪乌)
摩谷镇的经典视角图,主要是 Chan Thar Gyi Pagoda (左),取其湖周围之景,这里从英国殖民时期就开始开采宝石矿。摄影:Vincent Pardieu(文森特·帕迪乌)

自 20 世纪末以来,越南一直是七月生日石的另一重要产地。在越南北部的陆克彦地区,雨林覆盖的群山在广阔的稻田间拔地而起,这里出产红色至紫红色的红宝石。再往南一点,葵州地区也出产了许多精品红宝石。如今,手工矿工挖开土壤,希望找到能改变自己命运的宝石。

坐落在蕴藏红宝石的陆克彦地区山脚下的小村庄。摄影:Vincent Pardieu(文森特·帕迪乌) /GIA
坐落在蕴藏红宝石的陆克彦地区山脚下的小村庄。摄影:Vincent Pardieu(文森特·帕迪乌) /GIA


莫桑比克是七月生日石一个重要的新产地。这个非洲国家的蒙特普埃兹拥有多个多产的矿场。这里出产的红宝石可与产自摩谷的著名宝石相提并论。

20世纪末的很多年里,泰国与柬埔寨边界地区的红宝石矿是市场上红宝石的主要产地。七月生日石的其他重要产地包括阿富汗、塔吉克斯坦、巴基斯坦、斯里兰卡、肯尼亚、坦桑尼亚和马达加斯加。

红宝石生日石的保养与清洁

这枚设计师戒指中的 5.00 克拉椭圆形红宝石镶嵌在 18K 玫瑰金铂金中,周围装饰了一圈又一圈圆形红宝石和钻石。由 Omi Privé(奥米·普莱奥)友情提供
这枚设计师戒指中的 5.00 克拉椭圆形红宝石镶嵌在 18K 玫瑰金铂金中,周围装饰了一圈又一圈圆形红宝石和钻石。由 Omi Privé(奥米·普莱奥)友情提供


红宝石通常会经过热处理以去除紫色,凸显出更纯正的红色。这一处理过程还能去除令宝石色调更浅、更浑浊的“丝状”内含物(分针状包裹体)。宝石行业一般接受热处理,因为热处理在正常的佩戴与护理条件下效果很稳定。然而,红宝石也可能受到晶格扩散处理和染色。如果使用质量低劣的材料,用玻璃填充触及表面的多处裂缝和空洞,减少裂缝显现度,令宝石看起来更为通透。其中有些处理可能会让红宝石在正常佩戴与护理时更易受损。

始终在购买前询问您的红宝石是否经过处理以及使用何种方式进行处理。联邦贸易委员会要求披露可影响宝石感知价值的处理。GIA 鉴定证书在鉴定宝石为天然宝石还是合成宝石、是否经过任何方式的处理时非常重要。

大多数情况下,您可以使用温热的肥皂水和柔软的刷子安全清洗您的七月生日石。超声波和蒸汽清洗装置通常可以用于清洗未经处理、经热处理和晶格扩散处理的宝石。玻璃填充或染色处理的宝石应使用湿布清洁。
 
无论您是否拥有七月生日石,拥有一颗美丽的红宝石是一件非常美妙的事。如果您喜欢红色宝石,请参阅我们《红宝石买家指南》。

更多关于红宝石的信息 红宝石买家指南


有兴趣探索其他生日石吗?

BIRTHSTONES

July Birthstone

Shadow

Ruby is the July birthstone – and it’s one of the most coveted of gems. The name is derived from the Latin word ruber, meaning “red” – the color of love and passion. Few things catch the eye like the ruby birthstone. The finest color of the birthstone for July is a deep red with a hint of purple, called “pigeon’s blood” in the trade. A variety of the mineral corundum, ruby gets its color from trace amounts of the element chromium. The more chromium, the stronger the red. Here’s what you need to know about this beautiful July birthstone so you can better choose one for yourself or a loved one who was born in the month of July.

Ruby Birthstone

   

Ruby Birthstone Meaning & History

In ancient India, ruby was called the “king of precious stones” for its rarity, hardness (second only to diamond), beauty and seemingly mystical powers. Long associated with the life force blood, ruby was a symbol of power and youthful energy in Indian jewelry. In past centuries, some believed this birthstone for July could predict misfortune or danger, and others claimed it would cure inflammatory diseases and soothe anger. Burmese warriors believed it made them invincible in battle. Medieval Europeans maintained that rubies bestowed health, wisdom, wealth and success in love.
 

1930’s art deco carved ruby and diamond necklace shows off the July birthstone. Ruby beads are secured to the frame by white metal posts capped with a tiny diamond.
Art Deco carved ruby and diamond necklace by Mauboussin circa 1930. The ruby beads are secured to the frame by white metal posts capped with a tiny diamond. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA. Courtesy: Private Collector


In addition to being the July birthstone, ruby is traditionally given for the 15th and 40th wedding anniversaries.

Where are Rubies Found?

Our search for the July birthstone starts in Myanmar (formerly known as Burma), one of the oldest recorded sources of fine rubies. For more than five centuries, the Mogok area in Myanmar has produced some of the most sought-after rubies – vibrant red beauties softened by light-scattering inclusions and a glowing red fluorescence. The region is a place of weathered marble and ancient Buddhist temples.

Landscape of a Mogok town where the July birthstone ruby is mined, with a green mountainside and lake created from gem mining in British colonial times.
A classic view of Mogok town, dominated by the Chan Thar Gyi Pagoda (left) and arranged around its lake, which was created from a gem mine worked during British colonial times. Photo: Vincent Pardieu

Since the late 20th century, Vietnam has been another important source for the July birthstone. The Luc Yen region in northern Vietnam, where rainforest-clad mountains rise over broad paddy fields, produces rubies of red to purplish red color. Farther south, the Quy Chau district has also yielded many fine rubies. Today, artisanal miners work the soil in hopes of finding a gem that will change their fortunes.

Landscape of a small village surrounded by greenery at the base of the mountains in the Luc Yen region where the July birthstone, ruby is found.
A small village sits at the base of the mountains in the ruby-bearing Luc Yen region. Photo: Vincent Pardieu/GIA


Mozambique is an important new source for the July birthstone. This African nation is home to the prolific mines at Montepuez. Rubies found there have been compared to the famed gems of Mogok.

For many years in the late 1900s, the ruby deposits along the border between Thailand and Cambodia were the major source of rubies in the marketplace. Other important producers of the July birthstone include Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Tanzania and Madagascar.

Ruby Birthstone Care & Cleaning

A 5 carat oval ruby is the focal point of a ring set in platinum with 18k rose gold, surrounded by halos of round rubies and diamonds.
The 5.00 ct oval ruby in this designer ring is set in platinum with 18k rose gold, surrounded by halos of round rubies and diamonds. Courtesy: Omi Privé


Rubies are often heat treated to remove purplish coloration, leaving a purer red. The process can also remove “silk” (minute needle-like inclusions) that can cause a gem to appear lighter in tone and be more opaque. The trade typically accepts heat treatment, as it is stable to normal conditions of wear and care. However, rubies may also be subjected to lattice diffusion treatment and dyeing. In lower-quality material, surface-reaching fractures and cavities may be filled with a glass to decrease their visibility so the gem appears more transparent. Some of these treatments may make the ruby more vulnerable to damage during normal wear and care.

Before you buy, always ask if your ruby has been treated and by what method. The Federal Trade Commission requires disclosure of treatments that affect a gemstone’s perceived value. A GIA Identification Report is important in identifying if a stone is natural or synthetic and whether it has been treated in any fashion.

In most cases, the July birthstone can be safely cleaned with warm soapy water and a soft brush. Ultrasonic and steam cleaners are usually safe for untreated, heat-treated and lattice diffusion–treated stones. Glass-filled or dyed stones should only be cleaned with a damp cloth.
 
Whether or not you have a July birthstone, owning a beautiful ruby is a rare and precious thing. And if you love red gems in general, check out our Ruby Buyers Guide.

More about Ruby Ruby Buyer's Guide


Interested in exploring additional birthstones?