拓帕石保养和清洁指南


Placeholder Alt Text
拓帕石在莫氏硬度表中位居第 8
硬度和韧度
莫氏硬度用以衡量宝石和矿物的硬度。 这些数值基于一种矿物可被其他物品划伤的相对难易程度得出。 但莫氏硬度易产生误导。 矿物之间的等级差距并不相等。 举例来说,钻石仅比刚玉高一个等级,但其硬度却比刚玉坚硬许多倍。

由于其基底劈裂的特性,对拓帕石进行切磨、磨光和镶嵌时必须格外小心。 它并不强韧,因此重击就可使其开裂,极端压力或温度变化也会导致其断裂。 为降低断裂风险,切磨师会对刻面拓帕石进行定向,采取与桌面呈大约 15 度角的劈裂方向。 珠宝商偏好将拓帕石镶嵌在可保护宝石的镶座中。 或者用于不常佩戴的首饰(例如吊坠和胸针)中。
 
拓帕石的莫氏硬度为 8。 由于具有劈裂特性,其韧性等级较低。

稳定性
高温或温度骤变都会使拓帕石断裂。 宝石的颜色具有光稳定性,但长时间地暴露在高温或阳光下可能会导致褪色,变为黄色至褐色、红褐色或深褐色。 拓帕石受化学物质的影响也非常小。

清洁
避免使用蒸汽或超音波机器清洗拓帕石:最好采用温肥皂水清洗。

处理方法和坚固性考虑
辐射、热处理过程中,无色拓帕石会涂上一层微观的金属氧化物。除此之外,还有一种处理方法需要使用这种涂层。 其涂层不是非常耐用。 虽可以抵御日常磨损,但研磨清洁剂或抛光轮可将其清除。 使用温和的肥皂液清洗是比较安全的。
 
尽管有上述保养注意事项,优质拓帕石本身美丽动人,大尺寸往往呈现温暖、诱人的色彩,而且通常不含可见的内含物或瑕疵。

神秘的托帕石
这枚戒指上的宝石外观独特,其表面使用了金属氧化物进行处理。在市场推广时,以这颗拓帕石的神秘为卖点。 - Livingstone Jewelry 友情提供

Topaz Care and Cleaning Guide

Mohs Scale
Topaz ranks 8 on the Mohs haedness scale
Hardness and toughness
Gem and mineral hardness is measured on the Mohs scale. The numbers are based on the relative ease or difficulty with which one mineral can be scratched by another. But the Mohs scale is deceptive. The steps between the minerals are not evenly spaced. For example, diamond is only one number away, but it’s many times harder than gems in the corundum family.

Because of its basal cleavage, topaz requires special care during cutting, polishing, and mounting. It’s not very tough, so a hard blow might split it, and extreme pressure or sharp temperature changes might cause it to break. To reduce the risk of breakage, cutters orient faceted topaz so the cleavage direction is at about a 15-degree angle to the table. Jewelers prefer to set valuable topaz gems in protective mountings. Or they use topaz in pieces that aren’t exposed to too much wear, like pendants and pins.
 
Topaz rates 8 on the Mohs hardness scale. Its toughness rating is poor due to its cleavage

Stability
High heat or sudden temperature changes can cause breaks in topaz. The gem’s color is generally stable to light, but prolonged exposure to heat or sunlight might cause fading in yellow-to-brown, reddish brown, or dark brown topaz. Topaz is affected only very slightly by chemicals.

Cleaning
It’s important to avoid steam or ultrasound for cleaning topaz: Warm, soapy water works best.

Treatment and durability considerations
Besides irradiation and heat treatment, there is another treatment that involves coating colorless topaz with a microscopic layer of metallic oxide compound. The coating is not very durable. It can resist daily wear and tear, but abrasive cleaners or buffing wheels would remove it. It’s safe to use a mild soap solution.
 
Despite these care considerations, fine topaz is a beautiful gem that offers a range of warm, attractive colors in large sizes that are often free of visible inclusions or flaws.

Mystic Topaz
Surface treatment with metallic oxides resulted in the unique look of this ring’s gem, marketed as mystic topaz. - Courtesy Livingstone Jewelry

Precious Mountings for Topaz

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more