蛋白石质量要素


Placeholder Alt Text
这颗火蛋白石重量惊人,高达 132 克拉。- 由德国伊达尔-奥伯施泰因 W. Constantin Wild & Co.(W. 康斯坦丁·维尔德公司)友情提供

每一颗蛋白石的外观和质量都大有不同。正如雪花和指纹一样,每颗宝石都有明显的差异。

蛋白石有三个主要的质量要素:

  • 颜色——背景颜色和游彩
  • 图案——游彩的排列方式
  • 净度——透明度和内含物的数量

如何评估蛋白石

蛋白石评估应在可控光线和暗色背景下进行。倚靠背景并翻动蛋白石有助于确定蛋白石的类型,评估其游彩及切工。

评估蛋白石的五个步骤

  1. 确定蛋白石的类型:

    • 这颗蛋白石是黑蛋白石、白蛋白石、水晶蛋白石或是其他类型?

  2. 确定蛋白石游彩的比例和质量:

    • 考虑游彩相对背景色所占比例、强度、主色调、颜色范围和图案。

  3. 确定蛋白石的透明度:

    • 这颗蛋白石是透明、次透明、半透明、次半透明还是不透明?

  4. 确定蛋白石的净度:

    • 查看是否存在母岩、裂纹或凹坑。

  5. 评估蛋白石的切工:

    • 考虑蛋白石的对称性、厚度、磨光、尺寸和校准。

如何评估蛋白石


蛋白石的颜色

蛋白石的色彩含括整个光谱色。一颗蛋白石可能会呈现单一颜色、两种或三种颜色,或者彩虹的所有颜色。除了游彩外,蛋白石还会呈现背景颜色。背景颜色也叫做体色,由蛋白石二氧化硅小球体间微小的杂质悬浮所造成。

黑蛋白石
这颗黑蛋白石拥有大量红色游彩,品质上乘、值得拥有。- 由澳大利亚 Surfer’s Paradise(冲浪者天堂)的 Mariora(马利澳来)友情提供

蛋白石通常根据其背景颜色分类。虽然蛋白石的种类很多,但主要分为以下五种类型:
 
黑蛋白石
在所有其他质量要素相同的情况下,许多买家倾向于购买暗色背景色的黑蛋白石。这部分是由于游彩在暗色背景的衬托下会更显眼夺目。游彩与体色的鲜明对比让黑蛋白石非常受欢迎。此外,人们普遍认为黑蛋白石最为稀有(白蛋白石更常见)。

白蛋白石
呈现半透明至不透明的白色或其他浅色背景色(体色)的蛋白石称为白蛋白石。

火蛋白石
火蛋白石呈透明至半透明,体色通常为黄色、橙色或红色。这种材料可能会呈现游彩,业内也称其为“墨西哥蛋白石”或“墨西哥火蛋白石”。

砾岩蛋白石
砾岩蛋白石是在围岩中带游彩的半透明至不透明蛋白石,是围岩(母岩)中的蛋白石薄层。这种蛋白石与母岩一起切磨,母岩也是成品宝石的一部分。

水晶蛋白石和水蛋白石
水晶蛋白石呈干净的透明至次透明体色。这种类型的蛋白石可以展现出极佳的游彩。水蛋白石则可能呈现也可能不会呈现游彩。即便水蛋白石呈现游彩,其游彩也相对暗淡、比例较小。

游彩可能是蛋白石外观最引人注目的特色。无论是何种颜色或颜色组合,生动鲜艳的游彩才能获得较高的评价。换句话说,明亮的游彩更能博得蛋白石爱好者的喜爱。

砾岩蛋白石
砾岩蛋白石可呈现强烈的游彩。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA

重要性仅次于游彩颜色强度的是游彩的颜色范围。如果一颗蛋白石的游彩不仅明亮,其颜色范围还包含所有光谱色,那么这就是一颗极其罕见且珍贵的蛋白石了。但是,不是每一颗珍贵的蛋白石都闪烁着彩虹的各种颜色。有些蛋白石的游彩只有一种主色,再加上两种或多种次要颜色。


浅色蛋白石珠饰
这些浅色蛋白石珠饰呈乳白色,有大量没有游彩的死角。
- Cody Opal 友情提供

游彩的价值会根据颜色本身而进一步区分。人们通常认为红色是最佳主色,橙色次之,然后是绿色。不过,最受欢迎的颜色也会根据时尚趋势或个人喜好而有所变化。

此外,蛋白石的游彩会随观察角度或光照类型而改变。例如,凸圆面蛋白石呈现红色游彩的部位在改变观察角度后可能会呈现蓝色。

最有价值的蛋白石从各个角度观察均会呈现游彩。

蛋白石的图案

蛋白石的图案是指蛋白石游彩的排列方式。游彩的形态就像云朵的形状一样有多种多样。

游彩图案的常用术语包括:

  • 星火或针点:面积小、紧密相连的色块
  • 彩纹或马赛克:范围大、有棱角、紧密相连的色块
  • 火焰:大范围的红色带或横跨宝石的条纹
  • 孔雀式:主要为蓝色和绿色

一般来说,行家更喜欢面积大、紧紧相连的色块,而不是小小的、分散的点。不管是什么图案的游彩,其色彩一定要鲜艳,宝石才有价值。


有彩纹图案的黑蛋白石
这颗黑蛋白石的彩纹图案带有大量红色、蓝色和绿色游彩。- Rudy Weber(鲁迪·韦伯),由 Cody Opal 友情提供
彩纹图案
在特写镜头下,可以看到黑蛋白石近乎完美的彩纹图案细节。- Cody Opal 友情提供
117.85 克拉凸圆形澳大利亚淡色蛋白石
这颗大型澳大利亚浅色凸圆面蛋白石,重达 117.85 克拉。它闪烁着橙色和绿色的星火状游彩,偏灰的体色上点缀着柔和的蓝色斑点。

买家评估蛋白石图案时,除了考虑图案的分布和游彩色块的形状,还得考虑暗域,或者说“死角”。死角是指宝石中不带游彩、只呈现背景色的区域。死角会降低蛋白石的价值,尤其是当一颗蛋白石有多个死角时。

蛋白石的净度和透明度

蛋白石的净度是指它的透明度和内含物的多少。蛋白石的净度范围可从完全透明延伸至不透明。不同的蛋白石类型,专家对其净度层次有不同的评价标准。例如,对于水晶蛋白石,透明度越高越受专家青睐;而对于黑蛋白石,不透明的背景色则更好。每种蛋白石评价最好的净度总是对应呈现游彩的最佳背景色。对于任何一种蛋白石而言,浑浊或乳白色的背景色都会降低其价值。这种背景色会让宝石缺乏吸引力,而且有时这还表示宝石缺乏稳定性。


晶体蛋白石
水晶蛋白石可以呈现鲜艳的彩纹图案的游彩。

有许多蛋白石净度特征都会影响蛋白石的价值。蛋白石和其他的宝石一样,具有断裂、凹坑等表面特征。蛋白石还可能含有围岩(母岩)的碎片。大多数情况下,成品蛋白石中如果含有母岩,对这颗蛋白石的外观和价值都会产生不利的影响。具体取决于蛋白石的类型。

如果蛋白石的水分流失,可能会导致细微裂纹,这种裂纹是如同蜘蛛网般的细小裂纹网络。高温、过度干燥、处于强光或阳光直射的环境都可能会造成水分流失。让蛋白石远离上述环境条件,比如不要在橱窗中陈列,可以避免细微裂纹的产生。


砾岩蛋白石
砾岩蛋白石不透明,外观有神秘感,是设计师珠宝的理想选材。- Cody Opal 友情提供

即便有裂纹的蛋白石不会立刻裂开,这种蛋白石在珠宝中也毫无稳定性可言,而且裂纹让珠宝的美观和净度都大打折扣。出于质量控制,生产商和经销商会挑出他们认为可能会产生裂纹的蛋白石。不过也有经销商愿意购买有裂纹的蛋白石,因为这种蛋白石的批发价比完好的蛋白石低,这样他们就能以较低的零售价出售。

蛋白石的切磨

切磨师设计成品宝石时,会考虑蛋白石的颜色、图案和净度。与许多极品有色宝石一样,质量上乘的蛋白石可能不会按照标准尺寸和形状切磨。

黑蛋白石
这颗令人惊艳的黑蛋白石切磨成了自由形状。摄影:GIA

例如,切磨师塑造极品红宝石或蓝宝石时,会尽量保留原石重量或最大程度凸显宝石颜色,即便最后会切磨成比例不均匀的宝石。蛋白石的处理方式也是如此,切磨师切磨顶级蛋白石时,会尽可能地展现蛋白石壮观的游彩。

为了达到这一效果,切磨师可能会将优质的蛋白石塑造成大型、不规则的形状,最大程度保留蛋白石的游彩。设计师会将那些昂贵的孤品宝石镶嵌于定制珠宝中。

而另一方面,切磨师通常将商业用的白蛋白石和组合蛋白石塑造成标准尺寸,通常切磨成椭圆形。

优良的蛋白石应呈对称切磨。如果切磨为凸圆面,圆顶应该是圆润的。半球形表面能最好地展现游彩,让宝石从大多数角度看都显得生动鲜艳。如果凸圆面切磨得太平,则宝石较容易损坏,尤其是在珠宝镶嵌过程中。如果凸圆面过高,则宝石很难镶嵌到珠宝中。

凸圆面蛋白石戒指
蛋白石通常切磨成椭圆形凸圆面,镶嵌于珠宝中。由 Omi Privé(奥米·普莱奥)友情提供

克拉重量

蛋白石有各种尺寸和克拉重量。与许多其他宝石相比,蛋白石密度较低,因此即便是佩戴较大的蛋白石,也会感觉舒适。

镶嵌在珠宝中的凸圆面蛋白石的常见尺寸为 6×4、7×5 和 8×6 毫米。

Fire of Australia(澳大利亚之火)是一颗未经切磨的大型蛋白石,重 998 克(近 5,000 克拉)。南澳大利亚是地球上少数几个能够找到这种大小蛋白石的地方之一。世界上大约 90% 的蛋白石来自澳大利亚。

24 克拉黑蛋白石
这颗高品质的 24 克拉黑蛋白石可用作首饰设计的主石,必将给人留下深刻的印象。- Cody Opal 友情提供

组合蛋白石

蛋白石易碎。坚固的凸圆面蛋白石通常材质非常厚,经受日常佩戴磨损和珠宝维修也不会破损。而对于较薄的材质,制造商往往需要添加坚硬的垫底,增加蛋白石的耐用性。

组合蛋白石是贴有垫底的蛋白石。垫底材料可能会采用不属于宝石类的玻璃,但由于组合件的部分是宝贵的蛋白石,所以组合蛋白石仍然具有宝石价值。组合蛋白石虽然售价远低于砾岩蛋白石,但这种商品让制造商可以利用较薄的蛋白石制作出富有魅力的成品宝石。

组合蛋白石的两种常见类型是二层石和三层石。二层石是一层蛋白石薄片与一层垫底粘合。垫底常常由黑曜石、染色黑石髓、黑色玻璃、天然普通蛋白石或塑料组成。三层石是在圆顶状无色石英或透明玻璃和黑曜石、石髓或黑玻璃垫底之间粘合一层蛋白石薄片。

Opal Quality Factors


132 Carat Fire Opal
This fire opal weighs a spectacular 132 carats. - Courtesy W. Constantin Wild & Co., Idar-Oberstein, Germany

Individual opals can vary widely in appearance and quality. As diverse as snowflakes or fingerprints, each gem can differ noticeably.

There are three main aspects of an opal’s quality:

  • Color—Background color and play-of-color
  • Pattern—Arrangement of play-of-color
  • Clarity—Transparency and quantity of inclusions

How to Evaluate an Opal

Opal evaluation should be done under controlled lighting on a dark background. Rotating the opal against a background helps when you’re determining its type and evaluating its play-of-color and cut.

The Five Steps of Evaluating an Opal

  1. Determine the type of opal:

    • Is it a black opal, white opal, crystal opal, etc.?

  2. Determine the ratio and quality of its play-of-color:

    • Consider the percentage of play-of-color compared to background color, its intensity, dominant hues, range of color and pattern.

  3. Determine the opal’s transparency:

    • Is it transparent, semi-transparent, translucent, semi-translucent or opaque?

  4. Determine the opal’s clarity:

    • Look for the presence of matrix, crazing, pits, etc.

  5. Evaluate the opal’s cut:

    • Consider the opal’s symmetry, thickness, polish, sizing and calibration.

How to Evaluate an Opal


Opal Colors

Opal hues can range across the spectrum. An opal might display a single color, two or three colors, or all the colors of the rainbow. Opal displays background color in addition to play-of-color. Background color—also called bodycolor—is caused by the suspension of tiny impurities within opal’s silica spheres.

Black Opal
This black opal has a lot of red play-of-color, which is considered highly desirable. - Courtesy Mariora, Surfer’s Paradise, Australia

Opals are often divided into types based on background color. Even though there are many different categories for opals, here are the main five types:
 
Black Opal
All other quality factors being equal, many buyers favor the dark background color of black opal. This is partly because play-of-color tends to stand out attractively against a dark background. The contrast of play-of-color to bodycolor makes black opals very popular. Additionally, black opals are considered to be the rarest (white opals are more common).

White Opal
An opal with a translucent to opaque white and other light color backgrounds (bodycolor) with play-of-color is called white opal.

Fire Opal
Fire opal is transparent to translucent with a bodycolor that is usually yellow, orange or red. This material, which might show play-of-color, is also known in the trade as “Mexican opal” or “Mexican fire opal”.

Boulder Opal
Boulder opal is translucent to opaque opal with play-of-color within a host rock. Thin layers of opal exist within the host rock (called matrix). The opal is cut with the matrix attached and is part of the finished gem.

Crystal and Water Opal
Crystal opal is transparent to semitransparent with a clear background. This type of opal can show excellent play-of-color. Water opal might or might not display play-of-color. If it does show play-of-color, it is faint and covers only small portions of the gem.

Play-of-color might be the most spectacular aspect of an opal’s appearance. No matter the color or combination of colors, play-of-color must be vivid to command a high rating. In other words, opal lovers prize bright play-of-color over faint play-of-color.

Boulder Opals
Boulder opals can display intense play-of-color. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA

Secondary in importance to play-of-color’s strength is its range. If an opal’s play-of-color is not just bright, but also ranges across the entire spectrum, it’s very rare and valuable. Not every precious opal, however, sparkles with every color of the rainbow. In some, the play-of-color consists of just one main color and two or more secondary colors.


Light-colored Opal Beads
These light-colored opal beads are milky in appearance and have numerous dead spots with no play-of-color.
- Courtesy Cody Opal

Desirable play-of-color is further broken down by the colors themselves. Traditionally, red is considered the best prominent color, orange the next most desirable, followed by green. However, favored colors can vary with fashion or personal preference.

In addition, an opal’s play-of-color can change along with the viewing angle or type of light. For example, red might dominate in the same portion of an opal cabochon where blue dominates when it’s viewed from a different angle.

The most valuable opals display play-of-color from all angles.

Opal Patterns

Pattern describes the arrangement of an opal’s play-of-color. Like the shapes you see in the clouds, play-of-color takes many forms.

Common terms for play-of-color patterns include:

  • Pinfire or pinpoint: Small, closely set patches of color
  • Harlequin or mosaic: Broad, angular, closely set patches of color
  • Flame: Sweeping reddish bands or streaks that shoot across the stone
  • Peacock: Mainly blue and green

In general, connoisseurs prefer large, closely arranged patches of color over tiny, scattered dots. As with any play-of-color, no matter what the pattern, colors must be bright for the stone to be valuable.


Black Opal with a Harlequin Pattern
The harlequin pattern in this black opal has a lot of red, blue, and green play-of-color. - Rudy Weber, courtesy Cody Opal
Harlequin Pattern
In a close-up view, you can see the details of a black opal’s near-perfect harlequin pattern. - Courtesy Cody Opal
117.85 Carat Australian Light Opal Cabochon
This large Australian light opal cabochon weighs 117.85 carats. Small play-of-color flashes of orange and green predominate in a pinfire pattern, with spots of a more muted blue over a grayish bodycolor.

In addition to the arrangement and shape of the play-of-color patches, buyers must consider extinction, or “dead spots,” when evaluating pattern. A dead spot is an area of the gem in which no play-of-color appears and only background color is visible. Dead spots detract from opal value, especially if there are several of them.

Opal Clarity and Transparency

With an opal, clarity is its degree of transparency and freedom from inclusions. An opal’s clarity can range all the way from completely transparent to opaque. Experts prize different levels of clarity for different opal types. For example, in crystal opal, experts admire transparency, while in black opal they prefer an opaque background. Each provides the best background for displaying play-of-color in its individual opal type. A cloudy or milky background color lowers the value of any opal. It makes the gem less attractive, and it can sometimes signal a lack of stability.


Crystal Opal
Crystal opal can have intense play-of-color in a harlequin pattern.

There are various types of opal clarity characteristics that affect value. Opals, like other gems, can have fractures, or pits and other surface blemishes. An opal might also contain fragments of its host rock, called matrix. Matrix in a polished opal is usually—but not always—detrimental to its appearance and value. It depends on the type of opal.

If an opal loses moisture, it can lead to crazing: a fine network of cracks that resembles a spider’s web. The moisture loss can be caused by heat or excessive dryness, or by exposure to bright light or direct sunlight. Crazing can be prevented by never displaying opals in places— such as window displays—where they’re exposed to these conditions.


Boulder Opal
Boulder opals are opaque, giving them a mysterious look that’s ideal for designer jewelry pieces. - Courtesy Cody Opal

Even if cracked opals don’t break right away, they have little durability in jewelry, and the fractures spoil the beauty and clarity of the gem. For quality control, producers and dealers single out opals that they suspect might ultimately craze. Dealers who willingly buy crazed opal do so because it commands a lower wholesale price than undamaged opal. This means they can sell it at a lower retail price level.

Opal Cutting

The cutter considers an opal’s color, pattern, and clarity when planning the finished gem. As with many top-quality colored stones, exceptional opals might not be cut to standard sizes and shapes.

Black Opal
This incredible black opal is cut in a freeform shape. Photo: GIA

Cutters usually fashion exceptional rubies or sapphires, for example, in a way that saves weight or maximizes color— even if the result is an unevenly proportioned gem. In a similar strategy, opal cutters usually cut top-quality rough to show off its spectacular play-of-color.

To achieve this goal, cutters might fashion fine opals into large, irregular shapes that keep as much play-of-color as possible. Designers set these costly one-of-a-kind gems into custom pieces.

On the other hand, cutters typically fashion commercial-quality white opal and assembled opal into standard calibrated sizes, usually ovals.

The cut of a fine opal should be symmetrical. If it’s a cabochon, the dome should be well rounded. Domed surfaces give the best play-of-color, and make the stone appear vivid from most viewing angles. If the cabochon is flat, it might be vulnerable to breakage, especially during setting into jewelry. If it’s too high, it might be hard to set in jewelry.

Cabochon Opal Ring
Opal is commonly cut into oval cabochons for setting in jewelry. Courtesy of: Omi Privé

Carat Weight

Opals come in a wide range of sizes and carat weights. Opal has relatively low density compared to many other gemstones so even larger sizes can be comfortable to wear.

Common sizes for many of the opal cabochons set in jewelry are 6×4, 7×5, and 8×6 mm.

The Fire of Australia, a large uncut opal, weighs 998 grams or just under 5,000 carats. South Australia is one of the few places on Earth where opals of this size can be found. Approximately 90% of the world’s opals are from Australia.

24 Carat Black Opal
At 24 carats, this high-quality black opal will make an impressive centerpiece for a jewelry design. - Courtesy Cody Opal

Assembled Opals

Opal can be fragile. In solid opal cabochons, the gem material is usually thick enough to withstand everyday wear and jewelry repair without breaking. But with thinner material, manufacturers often have to add a rigid backing for durability.

Assembled opals are fashioned opals with backings. They might include materials like glass that aren’t usually part of gem-quality jewelry, but because they are partly precious opal, they still have value as gems. They sell for only a fraction of the price of boulder opals, but they allow manufacturers to make attractive finished gems from thin opal pieces.

The two common types of assembled opal are the opal doublet and triplet. The doublet is a thin layer of opal cemented to a backing. The backing is often composed of obsidian, dyed black chalcedony, black glass, natural common opal, or plastic. The triplet is a thin layer of opal cemented between a domed top of colorless quartz or clear glass and a backing of obsidian, chalcedony, or black glass.