堇青石质量要素


切割师充分利用堇青石的颜色和透明度,加工成独特的雕刻宝石,用于制作珠宝首饰。 – Lydia Dyer,宝石由 John Dyer & Co. 友情提供
堇青石由于价格实惠且富有吸引力而广泛用于制作各类珠宝首饰。 偶尔会发现尺寸较大且十分漂亮的堇青石,其颜色浓郁,可满足最挑剔的有色宝石行家的要求。

颜色
堇青石具备两个鲜明的特点:源于铁元素的美丽的紫蓝色至略带紫色的蓝色,以及肉眼可见的令人惊艳的多向色性。 其多向色性颜色随着体色的变化而变化。 带紫罗兰色的堇青石呈现浅紫罗兰色、深紫罗兰色、黄-褐色的多向色性颜色。  偏蓝色的堇青石呈现无色至黄色、蓝-灰色及深紫罗兰色的多向色性颜色。 从某些角度来看,偏蓝色的堇青石实际上可以呈现完全无色或黄色,而偏紫罗兰色的堇青石可以呈现褐色。 某些宝石可以呈灰色或接近无色。

这颗精美不凡的堇青石经过娴熟地切磨,正面朝上时呈现出最佳颜色。
净度
堇青石通常是透明的,其内含物相对较少。 堇青石有各种各样的形状,甚至经过雕刻呈现美丽的效果。

堇青石包含可导致各种现象的内含物。 堇青石偶尔包含较长、平行、管状的内含物, 沿着正确地方向进行切磨,可以产出猫眼宝石。

含有大量金属平板状内含物的堇青石切磨后可产生闪光效果,这一效果称为洒金现象。 当微小的片状内含物偏褐色或偏红色时,宝石可作为“血点”堇青石推向市场。

偏褐色和偏红色的内含物使之成为“血点”堇青石。
切工
由于堇青石通常是透明的,并且其内含物相对较少,因此通常对堇青石进行刻面。 然而,堇青石也可切磨成凸圆面或用于雕刻。 经常也能见到堇青石珠,特别是当材料的质量较低时。

克拉重量
成品堇青石从 1 克拉至 10 克拉不等,但是 5 克拉以上的优质堇青石较为罕见。

Iolite Quality Factors

The cutter took full advantage of this iolite’s color and transparency, fashioning it into a uniquely carved gem, ready for use in jewelry. – Lydia Dyer, Gem courtesy John Dyer & Co.
Affordable and attractive, iolite can be used in many types of jewelry. It’s sometimes found in large sizes and beautiful, intense colors that satisfy even the most discriminating colored gemstone connoisseur.

Color
Iolite possesses two distinctive features—a beautiful, violetish blue through slightly violetish blue hue derived from iron and a striking, eye-visible pleochroism. Its pleochroic colors differ with its bodycolor. Iolites that appear violet display light violet, dark violet, and yellow-brown pleochroic colors.  Bluish iolites display colorless to yellow, blue-gray, and dark violet pleochroic colors. From some angles, then, a bluish iolite can actually appear completely colorless or yellow, and a violetish iolite can look brown. Some gems can look grayish or nearly colorless.

This attractive iolite was skillfully cut to show its best color face-up.
Clarity
Iolite is commonly transparent, with relatively few inclusions. It can be found in all shapes and has even been carved to beautiful effect.

Iolite can contain inclusions that cause various phenomena. Occasionally, iolites with long, parallel, tubular inclusions are found. When the cut is oriented properly, these stones yield cat’s-eye gems.

Iolite containing numerous metallic, plate-like inclusions can be cut to display a sparkly effect known as aventurescence. When the platelets are brownish or reddish in color, the gem might be marketed as “bloodshot” iolite.

The brownish and reddish inclusions make this a “bloodshot” iolite.
Cut
Because it is commonly transparent with relatively few inclusions, iolite is most often faceted. However, iolites can be cut into cabochons or carvings as well. They are frequently seen as beads, especially when the material is of somewhat lower quality.

Carat Weight
The size range for a fashioned iolite is anywhere from 1 to 10 carats, but fine iolites over five carats are rare.

Learn More About Iolite

Why We Love Iolite
Explore iolite history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Spring 2017 Edition
Learn more