校友会分会

加利福尼亚州金门分会:玉 — 中国给世界的礼物


中国人素来对玉器珍爱有加,至今已有大约 8000 年的历史。“玉”是汉语中最古老的文字之一;与统治者“王”只有一点之差。

在中国境外,人们普遍认为玉石是来自缅甸的硬玉,品质最好的硬玉呈鲜艳的绿色。然而,在中国,玉是性质完全不同的另一种宝石,品质最好的玉是白色的。Lotus Gemology 宝石鉴定所的 Richard Hughes(理查德·休斯)自 19 岁首次访问缅甸以来,一直在从事玉石研究。他将对硬玉和软玉的产地进行简短的调查,然后详细介绍真正的中国玉器 — 真正的“天堂之石”。

休斯是世界上最重要的宝石专家之一。他出版了数本关于宝石和宝石学的著作和 160 多篇文章,他的文章和照片经常登上各种出版物。他的新书《红宝石和蓝宝石:宝石学家指南》(Ruby & Sapphire: A Gemologist’s Guide)(2017 年)可以说是有史以来关于单一宝石种类的最详尽的著作。

休斯获得了无数行业奖项:2004 年获得了《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 杂志颁发的 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华·J·古柏灵)博士最具价值文章奖;2005 年获得美国宝石协会颁发的 Richard T. Liddicoat(理查德·T·李迪克)新闻奖;2010 年获得注册宝石学家委员会 (AGA) 颁发的 Antonio C. Bonanno(安东尼奥·C·博南诺)卓越宝石学奖。在 2013 年被 Association Française de Gemmologie 评为有史以来改变宝石学历史的 50 大重要人物之一;2016 年成为上海同济大学的客座教授。

休斯和妻子 Wimon(维蒙)及女儿 Billie(比利)居住在泰国曼谷,并在此经营 Lotus Gemology 宝石鉴定所。

如需了解更多信息

请务必在您发给我们的信息中注明您所咨询的活动。
联系我们

Alumni Chapter

Golden Gate-California Chapter: Jade- China’s Gift to the World


Jade has been treasured by the Chinese for some 8,000 years. Yù (玉), the Chinese word for jade, is one of the oldest in the Chinese language; its pictograph is distinguished from the pictograph for “ruler” only by one dot.

Outside of China, people generally think of jade as the jadeite jade from Burma, where the finest quality is a vivid green. Within China, however, jade is a stone of an entirely different character, with the finest quality being white. Lotus Gemology’s Richard Hughes has been studying jade since he first visited Burma at age 19. He will offer a brief survey of the places jadeite and nephrite come from and then delve into the real Chinese jade, the true “Stone of Heaven.”

Hughes is one of the world’s foremost experts on precious stones. The author of several books and more than 160 articles on gems and gemology, his writings and photographs have appeared in a diverse range of publications. His latest book, “Ruby & Sapphire: A Gemologist’s Guide” (2017), is arguably the most comprehensive volume ever devoted to a single gem species.

Hughes has received numerous industry awards: co-winner of the 2004 Edward J. Gübelin Most Valuable Article Award from Gems & Gemology magazine; the Richard T. Liddicoat Journalism Award from the American Gem Society in 2005; and the 2010 Antonio C. Bonanno Award for Excellence in Gemology from the Accredited Gemologists Association. In 2013, the Association Française de Gemmologie (AFG) named Hughes as one of the 50 most important figures that have shaped the history of gems since antiquity, and in 2016 he was awarded a visiting professorship at Shanghai’s Tongji University.

Hughes resides in Bangkok, Thailand, where he operates Lotus Gemology, with his wife, Wimon, and daughter, Billie.

For More Information

Please be sure to mention the event you are inquiring about in your message to us.
Contact Us