当前展览

Visions in Crystal(水晶幻想)

2015 年 6 月至 2018 年 7 月

Article Landscape New

照片: Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA, 由 Tom Munsteiner(汤姆·明斯特因纳)友情提供

展览描述

Tom Munsteiner(汤姆·明斯特因纳)是德国伊达尔-奥伯施泰因的第三代宝石切割大师。伊达尔-奥伯施泰因自文艺复兴时起,就一直是精美宝石切割工艺中心。 Tom Munsteiner(汤姆·明斯特因纳)和他的父亲 Bernd Munsteiner(布恩·明斯特因纳)一起接受传统宝石切割工艺培训,并在普福尔茨海姆学习艺术与珠宝制作,这为他带来了灵感,使他对天然矿物作品有了新的理解,最终将宝石雕刻发展到抽象艺术的水平。

“Visions in Crystal(水晶幻想)”高逾 6 英尺(210 厘米),由 264 块水晶石英、黄水晶和烟水晶组成,每块水晶均切磨成不同的带棱角刻面,刻面大小为 60 x 40 毫米。 烟水晶和黄水晶成"S"形排列,镶嵌在铝框中,一直蜿蜒至作品表面下方。

他创造的这件作品很好地诠释了怎样才能将宝石看成一种精美的艺术。

Munsteiner(明斯特因纳)说到,“这件雕塑的创意始于拉斯维加斯,我们每年都在那里的时装设计大会上展示一次, 很多酒店和建筑物都拥有令人印象深刻的大型艺术作品,它们使我想到,可以创作一件大小类似的大件装饰品,即,一整面水晶墙。”  

从提出概念到完成作品,他花了两年时间来雕刻这些水晶(全部切割成完全相同的水晶块),然后在图案中将水晶拼在一起。

“设计中本来有对比:相同的切工,朝左或朝右,给观看者留下更深刻的印象。”他说道。 “我用烟水晶和黄水晶创造出轻微的色差,令颜色对比更加鲜明。 这种对比在艺术品设计中形成一种张力,让作品更震撼,更有趣。”

每块宝石都切磨成相同的图案,但是朝向略微不同,从而呈现一种整体设计纹路和对比。 由 Tom Munsteiner(汤姆·明斯特因纳)友情提供。 摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA


Munsteiner(明斯特因纳)花费了大量时间和精力,这给 GIA 博物馆馆长 Terri Ottaway(特丽·奥特维)留下了深刻的印象。

她说:“要获得数量如此庞大的宝石级水晶石英和烟水晶十分困难, 我们的客人和学生看到这件作品的时候都为之着迷了。”

Munsteiner(明斯特因纳)说,他创造这件作品是为了证明,宝石并不仅仅是用于制作珠宝。 “我希望人们能以不同的角度、全新的视角来看待宝石。 它们不仅仅是戒指或吊坠中的装饰宝石, 也可以被视为一种艺术!”他说道。 “我希望,‘水晶幻想’这类作品能成为宝石切磨和艺术新思维的敲门砖。”



 

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 博物馆

博物馆

GIA 博物馆带游客进入一个广阔而充满活力的宝石与珠宝世界。 前往参观美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 总部(加利福尼亚州卡尔斯巴德)参观的游客可以体验广阔和充满活力的宝石与珠宝世界。

返回博物馆页面

联系 GIA 博物馆

GIA 博物馆位于:
The Robert Mouawad Campus
5345 Armada Drive
Carlsbad, CA 92008

要安排个人或团体旅游,请发送电子邮件或致电:
+1 800 421 7250,转 4116
+1 760 603 4116

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Current Exhibit

Visions in Crystal

June 2015 - July 2018

Article Landscape New

Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA, Courtesy of Tom Munsteiner

Exhibit Description

Tom Munsteiner is a third generation gem cutter from Idar-Oberstein, Germany, a center for fine lapidary work from the Renaissance to the present day. Training with his father, Bernd Munsteiner, in traditional lapidary techniques, combined with his studies in art and jewelry fabrication in Pforzheim, inspired him to create new interpretations of natural mineral pieces and take gem carving to the level of abstract art.

“Visions in Crystal” stands at more than 6 feet (210 cm) tall and is comprised of 264 tiles of rock crystal quartz, citrine and smoky quartz each cut with various angular facets, each measuring 60 x 40 mm. The smoky quartz and citrine tiles snake down the face of the piece, which is framed in aluminum.

He created the piece as an example of how gemstones can be seen as fine art.

“The idea for the sculpture started in Las Vegas, where we are exhibiting once a year at the Couture fair,” Munsteiner says. “Many of the hotels and buildings host impressive artworks in large-scale dimensions, and this brought me to the idea of creating a similarly large ornament: a whole wall of rock crystal.”  

It took him two years – from concept to completion – to carve the tiles (all cut exactly the same) and put them all together in this pattern.

“The design is supposed to have contrast: The same kind of cut, facing left and right, leaves a stronger impression on the viewers,” he says. “The slight color nuances I implemented with the smoky quartz and the citrine are further supporting this contrast. It creates a tension within the design of the artwork, and makes it more exciting and interesting.”

Each gem tile is cut with the same pattern, but in slightly different directions, to give the overall design texture and contrast. Courtesy of Tom Munsteiner. Photo by Robert Weldon/GIA


Terri Ottaway, Museum curator for GIA, is impressed with the amount of time and effort Munsteiner put into this piece.

“It is difficult to obtain such large quantities of gem-quality rock crystal quartz and smoky quartz,” she says. “Our visitors and students are mesmerized when they see it.”

Munsteiner says he created the piece to show that gemstones are not just meant for jewelry. “I would like people to see gemstones from a different angle, from a whole new perspective. They can be much more than a gem inside a ring or a pendant. They can be seen as art, too!” he says. “I hope that pieces like “Visions in Crystal” will be a stepping stone to a new mindset towards gem cutting and art."



 

GIA Museum

Museum

GIA’s Museum introduces visitors to the vast and vibrant world of gems and jewelry. Exhibits showcase the science and beauty of gems and minerals, along with expertly designed and crafted jewelry.

Back to Museum

Contact the GIA Museum

The GIA Museum is located at:
World Headquarters and The Robert Mouawad Campus
5345 Armada Drive
Carlsbad, CA 92008

To schedule an individual or group tour, please email or call:
+1 800 421 7250, ext. 4116
+1 760 603 4116

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more