当前展览

向 Richard T. Liddicoat(理查德·T.·李迪克)致敬


Article Landscape New

照片: ,

Orasa Weldon(奥拉沙·韦尔登)

Richard T. Liddicoat holding a slab of liddicoatite tourmaline. Courtesy of Charles Carmona.

Richard T. Liddicoat holding a slab of liddicoatite tourmaline. Courtesy of Charles Carmona.


RTL 介绍


来自英国康沃尔郡的两位铜矿矿工的孙子,Richard Thomas Liddicoat Jr.(小理查德·托马斯·李迪克) (1918-2002) 经常说,他的血液中流淌着对宝石与矿物的热爱。因此,他决定在密歇根大学学习地质学与矿物学也就不足为奇了。

他与 Gene Hibbard(吉恩·希巴德)(1915-1995) 结婚后不久,于 1940 年 6 月加入 GIA。他喜欢 GIA 创始人 Robert M. Shipley Sr.(老罗伯特·M·希普利)。而且,正如他多年之后所说,“在一个像加利福尼亚这样‘糟糕’的地方开展宝石工作,这个想法真的有一些吸引力。”

RTL 六十多年工作期间只因第二次世界大战时前往美国 海军服役而中断了一次。1946 年他回归后,迅速晋升为研究院院长(1952 年),并最终成为 GIA 理事会主席。

RTL 工作很勤奋,也很喜欢玩。  他是一名狂热的高尔夫爱好者,并且擅长打桥牌。与 Liddicoat(李迪克)先生共进午餐时,总是要喝上一杯夏敦埃酒(或两杯)。他的冷幽默让人觉得既好笑又摸不着头脑,但他闪烁的眼光里总会流露出精妙之处。虽然身材矮小,但舞池里的他仿佛化身为温文尔雅的 Fred Astaire(弗雷德·阿斯泰尔)— 总是最后一个离开。

Gene(吉恩)和 Dick Liddicoat(迪克·李迪克)始终没有自己的孩子,但是多年来,这位谦逊、友好、体贴的领导人就像父亲一样,为无数 GIA 学子和工作人员服务。
 

理查德·T·李迪克 (Richard T. Liddicoat)

4C 标准的缔造者


1953 年,Richard Liddicoat(理查德·李迪克)在 4C 标准(颜色、净度、切工和克拉重量)的基础上,推出了一套无色至近乎无色的实用钻石质量分级系统。作为 GIA 国际钻石分级系统TM 的缔造者,他广受赞誉,如今这一系统已成为钻石分级的世界标准。

新系统是由 Liddicoat(李迪克)和他的 GIA 同事一起设计出来的,最初是作为一种教学机制,用于新的钻石分级和评估课程。他们最终创造了一种钻石语言,为珠宝商、钻石经销商和消费者所采用。

GIA 钻石鉴定证书(1955 年首次出具)是新钻石分级系统无意间产生的副产品。开始时是一张表格,学生会将它们随钻石一起提交给 GIA,以确保他们正确地使用了新系统。最后,他们决定把钻石交给 GIA 进行分级,这比自己分级要容易多了。如今,GIA 每年都会在全球多个地区对数百万颗钻石进行分级。

现代宝石学之父


在 Richard Liddicoat(理查德·李迪克)的大部分 GIA 职业生涯中,他面临的最大的宝石学挑战来自有色宝石:鉴定宝石本身,确定宝石是否经过处理,以及将天然宝石从宝石仿品和合成宝石中区分出来。多年来,他在 GIA 建立了强大的研究准则,而且重要的是,他通过著书、在 GIA 科学期刊《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 上刊登文章,以及 GIA 研究宝石学家和其他教育项目,在全世界分享信息。由于他对宝石学知识和宝石学专业性的贡献,1977 年,一种新的碧玺以他的名字命名,也就是“李迪克碧玺”。

Current Exhibit

A Tribute to Richard T. Liddicoat


Article Landscape New

Photo: Orasa Weldon/GIA,

Photo: Orasa Weldon/GIA
Liddicoatite, Madagascar

Richard T. Liddicoat holding a slab of liddicoatite tourmaline. Courtesy of Charles Carmona.

Richard T. Liddicoat holding a slab of liddicoatite tourmaline. Courtesy of Charles Carmona.


RTL the Man


The grandson of two copper miners from Cornwall, England, Richard Thomas Liddicoat Jr. (1918-2002) often said a love of gems and minerals was in his blood. So it was no surprise when he decided to study geology and mineralogy at the University of Michigan.

He joined GIA in June 1940, soon after his marriage to Gene Hibbard (1915-1995). He liked GIA founder Robert M. Shipley Sr. and, as he said years later, “the idea of working with gemstones in a ‘terrible’ place like California really had some appeal.”

RTL’s six decades at GIA were interrupted only by his service in the U.S. Navy during World War II. When he returned in 1946, he rose quickly to head of the Institute by 1952 and ultimately chairman of the GIA Board of Governors.

A hard worker, RTL also liked to play.  He was an avid golfer and excellent at bridge. Lunch with Mr. Liddicoat invariably involved a glass of chardonnay (or two). His dry sense of humor sometimes puzzled as much as it amused, but the twinkle in his eye invariably gave away the punch line. Though small in stature, on the dance floor he was the debonair Fred Astaire – and always the last to leave.

Gene and Dick Liddicoat never had children of their own, but over the years this humble, friendly, caring leader served as father to myriad GIA students and staff members.
 

Richard T. Liddicoat

Architect of the 4Cs


In 1953, Richard Liddicoat introduced a practical system for quality grading colorless to near-colorless diamonds on the basis of the 4Cs: Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat weight. Today he is widely acclaimed as the architect of the GIA International Diamond Grading SystemTM, now the world standard for diamond grading.

The new system was originally designed by Liddicoat and his GIA colleagues as a teaching mechanism, for use in the new Diamond Grading and Evaluation class. They ultimately created a language for diamonds that was adopted by jewelers, diamond dealers and consumers alike.

The GIA diamond grading report (first issued in 1955) was an unintentional byproduct of the new diamond grading system. It began as worksheets students would submit to GIA with their diamonds to be sure they were using the new system correctly. Eventually, they decided it was easier to send their diamonds to GIA for grading than to do it themselves. Today, GIA grades millions of diamonds annually in several locations worldwide.

The Father of Modern Gemology


For most of Richard Liddicoat’s career with GIA, the greatest gemological challenges he faced came from colored gemstones: identifying the gem itself, determining if it had been treated, and separating the natural gem from simulants and synthetics. Over the years, he built a strong research ethic at GIA and, as importantly, shared the information worldwide through books and the pages of GIA’s scientific journal, Gems & Gemology, as well as in GIA’s Graduate Gemologist and other education programs. For his contributions to both the knowledge and professionalism of gemology, in 1977 a new tourmaline – “liddicoatite” – was named in his honor.