彩钻保养和清洁指南


Placeholder Alt Text
有了适当的保养,精美彩钻也可以是“永久”保存。 - Robert Weldon
硬度
以莫氏硬度衡量宝石和矿物的硬度。 莫氏硬度起源于 1822 年,Friedrich Mohs 选择了 10 种矿物质,并分别编号,以测试矿物被另一种矿物划伤的相对难易程度决定其硬度。 但莫氏硬度易产生误导。 不同等级的矿物,其硬度等级差距并不均匀。 举例来说,钻石仅比刚玉高一个等级,但其硬度却比刚玉坚硬许多倍。 只有钻石才可以划损钻石。
 
莫氏硬度表未能列出贵金属的数值,但对钻石行业同样重要的是,钻石可以磨损任何用于镶嵌的贵金属。 这就意味着,镶座中松动的钻石经过一段时间可以损坏镶爪。
莫氏硬度
钻石的硬度为莫氏硬度最高级别 10。

韧度
无论宝石(包括钻石)的韧性如何,一旦正确的位置遭受重击,它们都可能断裂。 韧度是衡量宝石抵受影响并抵抗破损、碎裂或开裂能力的指标。
 
钻石原子紧密键合的方向更坚硬,键力相对较弱的方向则次之。
 
最弱的方向是那些原子相距最远的地方。 在这些方向钻石更容易被打碎,被称为劈裂方向。 按劈裂方向可将钻石原石切开。 即使经过切磨,重击仍然可以劈裂或破裂钻石。 这在镶嵌过程中最可能发生。另外在佩戴或不小心撞击到另一个物体时也可能发生。

稳定性
稳定性是钻石抵抗温度变化和化学品能力的术语。 钻石稳定性极高。 首先,它们几乎不会受到各种酸的损害。 切磨过程中会产生大量的热量,但钻石通常完好无损。 对钻石稳定性威胁更大的情形是突然和极端的温度变化。 这些变化可引起热冲击,产生新的裂缝和裂痕,或导致现有裂缝扩大。
 
钻石在大约 1562°F (850°C) 会燃烧。 房屋火灾和珠宝匠使用的火炬可达到这个温度。 在珠宝修复过程中,珠宝匠可以用某些方法来保护钻石,远离火炬的高温火焰。

清洁
可以用不起毛的布、商业珠宝清洁液,以及家用洗涤剂安全地清洗钻石。
 
不建议使用强力的家用清洗方法。 这包括使用粉状磨蚀性家用清洁剂、超声波清洗机以及蒸汽清洗机。

Fancy Color Diamond Care and Cleaning Guide

Fancy Color Diamonds
With proper care Fancy color diamonds can also be "forever". - Robert Weldon
Hardness
Gem and mineral hardness is measured on the Mohs scale. The scale originated in 1822 when Friedrich Mohs chose ten minerals and assigned numbers to them, based on the relative ease or difficulty with which one could be scratched by another. But the Mohs scale is deceptive. The steps between the minerals are not evenly spaced. For example, diamond is only one number away, but it’s many times harder than gems in the corundum family. Only a diamond can scratch a diamond.
 
Something the Mohs scale doesn’t show, but that’s equally important to the diamond industry, is that diamond can also scratch any of the precious metals used for settings. That means a diamond that’s loose in its setting can wear through a prong over time.
Mohs Scale
Diamond rates highest on the Mohs hardness scale, at number 10.

Toughness
Any stone, including a diamond, will fracture if it’s hit hard enough in the right place. Toughness is a measure of how well a gem can survive an impact and resist breaking, chipping, or cracking.
 
Diamonds are tougher in the directions where the atoms are bonded tightly together, less tough where they’re not so tightly bonded.
 
The weakest directions are the ones where the atoms are farthest apart. It’s easier to break a diamond in those directions, which are called cleavage directions. A cutter can split a rough diamond by hitting it sharply in the cleavage direction. Even after cutting, a hard blow can still cleave or fracture a diamond. This can happen during the setting process, when it’s being worn, or when it accidentally strikes another object.

Stability
Stability is a term that describes how well a diamond resists temperature changes and chemicals. Diamonds are very stable. They’re invulnerable to virtually all acids, for one thing. The cutting process generates a lot of heat, but diamonds usually endure intact. Situations that are more threatening to a diamond’s stability are those that involve sudden and extreme temperature changes. Those changes can cause thermal shock and create new fractures and cleavages or cause existing ones to spread.
 
Diamonds will burn at about 1562°F (850°C). House fires and jewelers’ torches can reach that temperature. During jewelry repair, the bench jeweler can use certain methods to protect the diamond from the torch’s high-temperature flame.

Cleaning
Diamonds can be safely cleaned with lint-free cloths, commercial jewelry cleaning solutions, and household detergents.
 
Harsher cleaning methods are not recommended for household use. These include powdered abrasive household cleansers, ultrasonic cleaners, and steam cleaners.




You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more