爱德华时代回眸


Placeholder Alt Text
这个时代的头饰上闪耀着钻石、银、黄金和玳瑁的光芒。 私人臻藏
钻石、 珍珠、 铂金、 对称。 这就是爱德华时代的珠宝 — 如今,仍广受现代设计师们的热捧。

回到爱德华时代(1900 -1915)。 日不落帝国。 英国权力和财富横流。 君主是时尚创造者爱德华七世。 对于士绅阶层而言,爱德华时代是一个繁荣和特权的时代。 也许当时最豪华、规模最大的远洋客轮泰坦尼克号将客舱分为一、二、三等舱,能够最好地体现时代精神。 在爱德华时代,大不列颠的艺术有着明确的目的,常常用于强化阶级制度。 例如,建筑对称而有秩序,产生权威感、稳定性和地位感。
曼彻斯特的维多利亚浴池
阶级差别随处可见 — 甚至在公共浴池也是如此。 曼彻斯特的维多利亚浴池为第一阶层男性、第二阶层男性和女性设置了不同的出入口。
珠宝是显示社会地位的首要方式。 珠宝只有上层阶级才负担得起,他们通过佩戴精美的珠宝来彰显自己的财富和地位。
Robert Ackermann,GIA 卡尔斯巴德珠宝制造艺术导师。
铂金、钻石、珍珠是首选材料。 花环和属于征服者的胜利桂冠是常见的主题。 这些豪华高贵的材料和图案代表着大英帝国的威严,显示着佩戴者的重要地位。 富丽奢华的头饰、吊坠、项链和颈链不仅体现着时代的风格,也含有象征的意味。 例如,在有地位更高的女士出席的场合佩戴较高的头饰就显得粗鲁无礼。 由于 1880 年代在南非发现了钻石矿,因此爱德华七世时代常常使用钻石制作珠宝。 宝石供应充足,英国贵族很快就爱上了这种璀璨闪亮的宝石。

亚历山大变石凸圆面吊坠

这枚钻石和猫眼石凸圆形亚历山大变石吊坠下方垂悬着几颗珍珠。
在爱德华时代,珍珠也很受欢迎,常常出现在单件珠宝中。 将一粒珍珠垂悬在多颗钻石下,或镶嵌在铂金中,爱德华时代的人们认为,这种强烈的白色组合达到了精细优雅的极致。 尽管很多爱德华时代的习俗可能是遥远的过去的一部分,但电视剧《唐顿庄园》将第一季的背景设置在爱德华时代的英国,因此在国际市场获得巨大成功,这说明我们仍然迷恋着那个时代。 看看身边的珠宝店,你会发现,爱德华时代的珠宝继续影响着当代设计师。

Echoes of the Edwardian Era

Edwardian Crown
Diamonds, silver, gold, and tortoise shell sparkle in this period tiara. Courtesy of a Private Collection
Diamonds. Pearls. Platinum. Symmetry. This defined Edwardian Era jewelry – and it’s still is extremely popular with modern designers.

Take a step back in time to the Edwardian Era (1900 – 1915). The sun never set on the British Empire. England was flush with power and wealth. Tastemaker Edward VII was king. For the landed gentry, the Edwardian Era was a period of prosperity and privilege. Perhaps the Titanic, the most luxurious and largest ocean-liner of its time, best captured the spirit of the age with her First, Second, and Third Class cabins. The arts in Great Britain served a definite purpose during the Edwardian Era; they were frequently used to reinforce the class system. Architecture, for example, was symmetrical and orderly, which evoked power, stability, and status.
Victoria Baths in Manchester
Class divisions were everywhere – even at bath houses. The Victoria Baths in Manchester had separate entrances for first class males, second class males, and females.
Jewelry was a preferred way to show one’s rank in society. Only the upper classes could afford it, and they advertised their wealth and position by wearing exquisite works.
Robert Ackermann, Jewelry Manufacturing Arts instructor, Carlsbad, GIA.
Platinum, diamonds, and pearls were the materials of choice. Garlands and triumphal laurel wreaths belonging to a conqueror’s crown were common themes. These regal materials and motifs spoke of the might of the British Empire and the importance of the wearer. Stately tiaras, pendants, necklaces, and chokers were not only the style of the day but also carried symbolic weight. For example, it was rude for a lady to wear taller tiara in the presence of a woman of higher rank. Diamonds were abundant in Edwardian jewelry due to the discovery of mines in South Africa in the 1880s. A ready supply of the gem was now available, and Britain’s aristocracy quickly fell in love with the glittering stone.

Alexandrite Cabochon Pendant

Pearls dangle from this diamond and cat’s eye alexandrite cabochon pendant.
Pearls were also popular during the Edwardian Era, and were often showcased in a piece of jewelry. Drop a pearl in a bed of diamonds or set it in platinum, and Edwardians thought this blazingly white-hot combination to be the height of sophistication and elegance. Although many of the customs of the Edwardian Era may seem to be a part of the distant past, the international success of Downton Abbey, the television drama whose first season was set in Edwardian England, proves that we are still fascinated by the time. And if you look around a jewelry store, you’ll see that Edwardian jewelry continues to influence contemporary designers.


Jewelry Design & Technology

Jewelry Design & Technology The JDT diploma program and Jewelry Design certificate teach you how to create retro-Edwardian pieces.

Learn More

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Fall 2017 Edition
Learn more