生日石

五月生日石

需要标题 Shadow

作为五月的生日石,祖母绿在几千年来一直深受人们的喜爱,让人联想到重生和复兴。很多人认为祖母绿最符合绿色定义,是最完美的春天色彩。从爱尔兰岛被诗意地描述为“绿宝石岛”,到著名的祖母绿本身具备的鲜艳绿色,古往今来,这种五月生日石始终在牵绊着所有人的情感和思想。
 
这种苍翠欲滴的绿色让人想起能带给人舒心的繁茂花园。传说祖母绿具备让佩戴者更聪明、更机敏的能力,一度被认为可以治愈霍乱和疟疾等疾病。如今,祖母绿已经成为 20 周年和 35 周年结婚纪念日宝石。

祖母绿生日石

    

祖母绿生日石的意义和历史

从埃及法老到印加帝王,祖母绿一直深深吸引着皇室成员。埃及艳后克丽奥佩特拉 (Cleopatra) 钟情于祖母绿,并将其用作王室珠宝。传奇的安第斯王冠打造于南美殖民地,便是西班牙人推崇五月生日石的一个例证。根据传说,征服者弗朗西斯科·皮萨罗 (Francisco Pizarro) 从最后一位印加皇帝阿塔瓦尔帕 (Atahualpa) 手中夺走了最大的祖母绿(现被称为阿塔瓦尔帕祖母绿)。人们在 17 世纪的西班牙沉船阿托卡夫人号 (Nuestra Señora de Atocha) 上找到了祖母绿和黄金宝藏,当时从新世界送往西班牙的殖民地财富数不胜数,这些只是其中一小部分。

安第斯皇冠上镶嵌着一颗 24 克拉祖母绿主石,另有 442 颗祖母绿镶嵌在这件精心打造的黄金头饰上,令人叹为观止。由大都会艺术博物馆友情提供
安第斯皇冠上镶嵌着一颗 24 克拉祖母绿主石,另有 442 颗祖母绿镶嵌在这件精心打造的黄金头饰上,令人叹为观止。由大都会艺术博物馆友情提供

从 Nuestra Señora de Atocha(阿托查夫人号)沉船中打捞的祖母绿十字架和黄金念珠。由 Eileen Weatherbee(艾琳·韦瑟比)友情提供。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA
从 Nuestra Señora de Atocha(阿托查夫人号)沉船中打捞的祖母绿十字架和黄金念珠。由 Eileen Weatherbee(艾琳·韦瑟比)友情提供。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA


“祖母绿”这个词源自古希腊语 smaragdos,意思是绿色宝石。罗马作家老普林尼(Pliny the Elder,死于公元 79 年的维苏威火山爆发) 在他著述的百科全书 Natural History(《自然史》)中这样描述祖母绿,“没有什么比它更绿了”。他还称五月生日石具有医疗特性,可帮助宝石切割师:“如果要放松眼睛,没有什么比凝视祖母绿更好的方式了,它温和而碧绿的颜色可以抚慰和消除他们的疲劳和精神不振。”科学家现在证明了这一说法:绿色可缓解压力和眼睛疲劳。

绿色生日石还被认为具有神奇的力量。将祖母绿放在舌头下便能预见未来。有人认为它可让人成为雄辩的演说家并揭露爱人作出的虚假承诺。

祖母绿产自哪里?

500 多年来,哥伦比亚一直是优质祖母绿的产地,哥伦比亚祖母绿也是评估所有其他祖母绿的标准。哥伦比亚的三个矿区都非常著名:穆佐、契沃尔和科斯凯茨。每个矿区都会出产各种颜色的祖母绿,但一般而言,穆佐出产颜色偏深的纯绿色祖母绿。契沃尔出产色调较淡的弱蓝绿色祖母绿。而科斯凯茨则出产弱黄绿色祖母绿。
 

郁郁葱葱的安第斯山在穆佐周围的热带深谷上方拔地而起。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA
郁郁葱葱的安第斯山在穆佐周围的热带深谷上方拔地而起。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA


巴西米纳斯吉拉斯州也发现过五月生日石。技术先进的贝尔蒙特矿是绿色生日石产量最高的矿区之一。卡坡艾依拉娜 (Capoeirana) 是另一个重要的祖母绿产地,这个地区崎岖不平,主要依靠独立采矿者和小规模矿场进行采矿作业。

一位独立矿工在 Capoeirana(卡坡艾依拉娜)矿区拿着一颗祖母绿原石。摄影:Eric Welch(埃里克·韦尔奇)/GIA
一位独立矿工在 Capoeirana(卡坡艾依拉娜)矿区拿着一颗祖母绿原石。摄影:Eric Welch(埃里克·韦尔奇)/GIA


非洲也能找到五月生日石。赞比亚是祖母绿的主要产地,恩多拉农村限制区 (Ndola Rural Restricted Area) 的矿场出产的祖母绿颜色较深,呈蓝绿色。巴基斯坦和阿富汗也是祖母绿的重要产地。

祖母绿生日石的保养与清洁

祖母绿的莫氏硬度介于 7.5 至 8 之间,钻石的莫氏硬度为 10,因此,祖母绿比钻石更容易划伤。五月生日石通常会进行处理,以改善其颜色或净度。常见的处理方法包括:

1. 染色:多处断裂的淡色祖母绿会被染成绿色以改善其颜色。
2. 裂缝填充:通常会使用油脂、蜡和人造树脂填充祖母绿中延伸至表面的裂缝。目的在于减少裂痕显现度及改善表面净度。填充材料的用量可从微量到大量不等;不同的物质拥有不同的稳定性。

祖母绿生日石有一些特殊的保养要求:避免高温、空气压力变化(如飞机客舱)及刺激的化学品。千万不要使用超声波清洗装置清洗祖母绿,因为振动和高温会导致填充物融化并从断裂处流出。接触用于清洗碗碟的热水也可能会损坏经填充的祖母绿。用软刷和温肥皂水轻轻擦拭绿宝石是最稳妥的方法。


这颗两侧镶嵌着六颗钻石的 3.69 克拉宝石显现出了祖母绿的美。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA。由 Ismael Daoud(伊斯梅尔·达乌德) 友情提供
这颗两侧镶嵌着六颗钻石的 3.69 克拉宝石显现出了祖母绿的美。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA。由 Ismael Daoud(伊斯梅尔·达乌德) 友情提供


无论在何处,五月生日石都非常适合用于庆祝人生中的重要时刻。祖母绿的绿色浓郁,我们难免被它的魅力所折服。世界各地的多产矿场让所有喜爱绿色或出生在五月的人们都被这种独特的宝石深深吸引。现在您可以赠送一颗祖母绿给自己或心爱之人,尽情感受祖母绿散发出这个季节应有的勃勃生机。请参阅我们的《祖母绿购买指南》,了解更多关于如何挑选一颗迷人祖母绿的信息。

更多关于祖母绿的信息 祖母绿买家指南


有兴趣探索其他生日石吗?

BIRTHSTONES

May Birthstone

Need caption Shadow

Emerald, the birthstone for May, has been beloved for millennia, evoking rebirth and renewal. Widely regarded as the definition of green, emerald is the perfect color for spring. From the poetic description of Ireland as “the Emerald Isle” to the vibrant green of the famed gemstone itself—the May birthstone emerald has captured hearts and minds through the ages.
 
Variations of this rich green color suggest soothing, lush gardens. Legend has it that emerald has the power to make its wearer more intelligent and quick-witted, and it was once believed to cure diseases like cholera and malaria. Today, it's the gemstone given for the 20th and 35th wedding anniversaries.

Emerald Birthstone

    

Emerald Birthstone Meaning & History

From Egyptian pharaohs to Inca emperors, emerald has enchanted royalty. Cleopatra was known to have a passion for emerald and used it in her royal adornments. The legendary Crown of the Andes, fashioned in colonial South America, is one example of how the Spanish revered the May birthstone. According to lore, its largest stone—now called the Atahualpa emerald—was taken from the last Inca emperor, Atahualpa, by conquistador Francisco Pizarro. The emerald and gold treasures recovered from the sunken 17th century Spanish galleon Nuestra Señora de Atocha represent a small fraction of the colonial riches sent to Spain from the New World.

The Crown of the Andes boasts the May birthstone with a 24 carat emerald center stone and 442 additional emeralds set in the intricately crafted golden headpiece.
The Crown of the Andes boasts an impressive 24 ct emerald center stone and 442 additional emeralds set in the intricately crafted golden headpiece. Photo: the Metropolitan Museum of Art

The May birthstone is the focal point of a gold rosary necklace with a cross made of seven emeralds, recovered from the Nuestra Señora de Atocha shipwreck.
An emerald cross and gold rosary recovered from the Nuestra Señora de Atocha shipwreck.Courtesy: Eileen Weatherbee. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA


The word “emerald” comes from smaragdos, ancient Greek for a green gem. Roman author Pliny the Elder, who died in the 79 CE eruption of Mt. Vesuvius, wrote in his encyclopedic Natural History that “nothing greens greener.” He also stated that the May birthstone had therapeutic properties that helped gem cutters: “(they) have no better method of restoring their eyes than by looking at the emerald, its soft, green color comforting and removing their weariness and lassitude.” Science now proves this belief: The color green relieves stress and eye strain.

The green birthstone was also thought to have magical powers. By placing it under the tongue, one could see into the future. Some believed it made one an eloquent speaker and exposed lovers who made false promises.

Where Are Emeralds Found?

Colombia has been the source of the finest emeralds for more than 500 years, and Colombian emeralds are the standard by which all others are measured. Three mining sites in Colombia are particularly noteworthy: Muzo, Chivor and Coscuez. Each locality produces a range of colors but, generally speaking, darker tones of pure green emeralds come from Muzo. Emeralds that are lighter in tone and slightly bluish green are associated with Chivor. Slightly yellowish green emeralds are unearthed in Coscuez.
 

The May birthstone, emerald, is found in the landscape of the lush green Andes Mountains towering over the deep tropical valleys around Muzo.
The lush green Andes Mountains tower over the deep tropical valleys around Muzo. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA


The May birthstone is also found in the state of Minas Gerais, Brazil. One of the most productive sites for the green birthstone is the sophisticated Belmont mine. Capoeirana is another important locality, a rugged region worked largely by independent miners and small-scale operations.

Miner holding a rough emerald at the Capoeirana mining area where the May birthstone is found.
An independent miner at the Capoeirana mining area holds a rough emerald. Photo: Eric Welch/GIA


The May birthstone can also be found in Africa. Zambia is a major source, and mines in the Ndola Rural Restricted Area are known for producing emeralds that are bluish green and darker in tone. Pakistan and Afghanistan are important producers as well.

Emerald Birthstone Care & Cleaning

Emerald is a 7.5 to 8 on the Mohs scale of hardness, so it is more susceptible to scratching than a diamond, which ranks 10 on the scale. The May birthstone is often treated to improve its color or clarity. Common treatment methods include:

1. Dyeing: Paler emeralds with multiple fractures may be dyed green to enhance their color.
2. Fracture Filling: Oils, waxes, and artificial resins are often used to fill surface-reaching fractures in emeralds. The goal is to reduce the visibility of the fractures and improve the apparent clarity. The volume of filler material present can range from minor to significant; the different substances have varying degrees of stability.

The emerald birthstone requires some special care: Avoid exposure to heat, changes in air pressure (such as in an airline cabin) and harsh chemicals. Never put an emerald in an ultrasonic cleaner, as the vibrations and heat can cause the filler to sweat out of fractures. Filled emeralds can also be damaged by exposure to hot water used for washing dishes. The safest way to clean emeralds is to gently scrub them with a soft brush and warm, soapy water.


 3.69 carat emerald ring flanked by six diamonds shows off the May birthstone.
The beauty of emerald is seen in this 3.69 ct stone flanked by six diamonds. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA. Courtesy: Ismael Daoud


The May birthstone is perfectly suited to the celebration of life blooming everywhere. Given the rich green hues of emerald, it was inevitable that we would fall under its spell. Productive mines around the world ensure that all who love green or are born in May will continue to be enchanted. Now you can treat yourself – or a loved one – to an emerald that captures the exuberance of the season. Learn more about how to pick a beautiful emerald with our Emerald Buying Guide.

More about Emerald Emerald Buyer's Guide


Interested in exploring additional birthstones?