拓帕石品质要素


Placeholder Alt Text
蓝色拓帕石成为艺术雕刻品的理想宝石材料。 - Lydia Dyer, John Dyer & Co. 友情提供
颜色
红色是拓帕石中最抢手的颜色之一,在发现的只有 1% 适合刻面的材料中只占不到一半。 业内称为帝王拓帕石的宝石拥有非常珍贵的颜色,也非常罕见。 很多经销商坚持认为,宝石必须呈现出红色的多向色性,才能称为帝王拓帕石。 已打磨宝石(如梨形和椭圆形)的两端常呈偏红的多向色性颜色,而体色为黄色到橙色。

价值高昂的帝王拓帕石
帝王拓帕石的颜色是拓帕石中最珍贵的一种。像这颗华丽的橙红色火焰状拓帕石,曾屡获大奖。 - John Dyer & Co. 友情提供
具有两种颜色组合的已打磨拓帕石被称为双色拓帕石。 有人说粉红色拓帕石(通常被称为玫瑰拓帕石)酷似粉红色钻石或明亮的粉红色蓝宝石。 粉红色拓帕石相较于这两种宝石具有一定的优势。 它比粉红色钻石便宜得多,并且通常比钻石或蓝宝石尺寸更大。

经销商经常用行业术语“雪莉拓帕石”来称呼黄褐色或棕黄色到橙色的拓帕石。 该词源于雪莉酒的颜色。 该颜色范围内的宝石有时也被称为贵重拓帕石。 这样可以将其与类似于(并经常被误认为)拓帕石的价格更为便宜的黄水晶和烟水晶区分开。

金色或黄色拓帕石缺乏帝王拓帕石珍贵的红色光彩。 其产量也更丰富,因此价值比较低。 虽然褐色拓帕石的价值也较低。但一直以来,人们将它用于珠宝和装饰艺术,制成了许多引人瞩目的作品。

自然界最常见的拓帕石是无色的,天然的深蓝色拓帕石十分稀有。 然而市面上具有大量的深蓝色拓帕石。 这些蓝色都是经过处理的。 人们结合辐射和热处理,制作出拓帕石的蓝色。 自 20 世纪 70 年代以来,处理过的蓝色拓帕石开始拥有广阔的市场。

蓝色拓帕石
辐射和热处理将无色的拓帕石改变为不同色调的蓝色。 从 20 世纪 70 年代开始,采用上述方法处理后的蓝色拓帕石物美价廉,开始拥有巨大的市场。 - © GIA & Tino Hammid
首次向市场推广时,经过处理的蓝色拓帕石卖价是每克拉 20 到 40 美元。 但供过于求导致批发价格大幅下降,下降至每克拉几美元或更少。 如今,蓝色拓帕石基本上是畅销的宝石,而价格通常是许多买家最重要的考量之一。 宝石的颜色均匀度和切工也很重要。对进行大批量生产的珠宝制造商而言,这两点尤为重要。

处理过的蓝色拓帕石
原材料的性质和处理类型决定能够呈现出何种蓝色。 这些经过处理的拓帕石重 2.72 克拉到 7.86 克拉不等,呈现出一系列的色彩、色调和色度。 - Chuck Ashbaugh 友情提供
净度
已打磨拓帕石通常不含可见的内含物或瑕疵。 蓝色、无色和黄色拓帕石尤其如此。

12.25 克拉未经处理的托帕石
这枚戒指由 Maria Canale 设计,由一颗产自巴西、重 12.25 克拉的未经处理的拓帕石制成。 这颗宝石不含任何肉眼可见的内含物。 - Richard Krementz Gemstones 友情提供
切工
因为拓帕石的晶体通常是长形或柱状,所以经常切磨成长椭圆形或梨形,以提高出料率。 如果原石颜色鲜艳,则切磨师通常选择祖母绿式切工,因为这种切磨式样可将光泽最大化同时保留大部分重量。

拓帕石的切磨形状各异,可采用多种切磨式样。 生产涉及切割所有标准的宝石形状,如椭圆形、梨形、圆形、垫形、三角形、马眼形、祖母绿切工以及设计者灵感启发的形状。

14.68 克拉拓帕石
这颗 14.68 克拉、明亮的蓝色拓帕石采用现代混合切磨式样,显著强化了其颜色。 - Lydia Dyer, Topaz StarBrite, John Dyer & Co. 友情提供
切磨式样也得到很好的体现。 明亮式切工搭配三角形和风筝形刻面,梯式切工搭配同心成排平行刻面,混合切工采用明亮式切工的冠部和梯形切工的底部,以上均为常见的切磨式样。 采用手工和机器共同制作设计师定制宝石,同样也广受欢迎。

经过处理的蓝色拓帕石
经过处理的蓝色拓帕石色泽均匀,非常适合切磨成标准尺寸,用以制作珠宝。
因为处理过的蓝色拓帕石供应充裕,所以常切磨成校准尺寸,用于大规模市场生产和多宝石珠宝制作。

克拉重量
珠宝行业采用的标准拓帕石切工可制成多种形状和大小。 小尺寸的拓帕石价格不贵。但超过 10×8 毫米则价格攀升。

61.78 克拉雕刻拓帕石
这件 61.78 克拉的拓帕石是一件真正独一无二的雕刻艺术品。 精湛的工艺增强了宝石的蓝色,打造出闪烁的水滴效果。 由于大尺寸的蓝色拓帕石供应充足,因此成为了大型雕刻品的理想材料。 - Lydia Dyer, Blue Topaz Sculptural Gem, John Dyer & Co. 友情提供

Topaz Quality Factors

Uniquely Cut Topaz
Blue topaz makes a perfect gem material for artistic carvings. - Lydia Dyer, courtesy of John Dyer & Co.
Color
Red is one of the most sought-after topaz colors and represents less than one-half of 1 percent of facet-grade material found. The color the trade calls imperial topaz is highly prized and very rare. Many dealers insist that a stone must show a reddish pleochroic color to be called imperial topaz. The reddish pleochroic color often appears at the ends of fashioned gems—like pears and ovals—that have an otherwise yellow-to-orange bodycolor.

Highly Prized Imperial Topaz
Imperial is one of the most highly prized topaz colors, as seen in this spectacular prize-winning, orangy-red, flame-shaped gem. - Gem courtesy of John Dyer & Co.
A fashioned topaz that displays a combination of two colors is called bicolor topaz. Some say that pink topaz, often called rose topaz, resembles a pink diamond or a bright pink sapphire. Pink topaz has certain advantages over these two gems. It’s much less expensive than pink diamond, and it’s often available in larger sizes than either diamond or sapphire.

Dealers often use the trade term “sherry topaz” for yellowish brown or brownish yellow to orange topaz. The term comes from the color of sherry wine. Stones in that color range are also sometimes called precious topaz. This helps distinguish them from less expensive citrine and smoky quartz, both of which look similar to, and are frequently misrepresented as, topaz.

Golden or yellow topaz lacks the prized red overtones of imperial topaz. It’s also much more abundant and therefore less valuable. Although brown topaz is also less valuable, it has been used in striking pieces of jewelry and ornamental art.

In nature, topaz is most commonly colorless, and naturally strong blue gems are extremely rare. In the marketplace, however, strong blue shades are plentiful. Treatments are the reason for this. Treaters use a combination of radiation and heat to produce blue hues in topaz. Since the 1970s, treatments have brought blue topaz to a broad market.

Blue Topaz
Irradiation and heat treatment transform colorless topaz to various shades of blue. Starting in the 1970s, treatment created a huge market for inexpensive blue topaz. - © GIA & Tino Hammid
When it was first introduced to the market, treated blue topaz sold for $20 to $40 per carat. But oversupply led to huge drops in wholesale prices, down to a few dollars or less per carat. Today, blue topaz is basically a mass-market gem, and price is often the most important consideration for many buyers. Uniformity of color and cut is also important, especially for mass-market jewelry manufacturers.

Treated Blue Topaz
The nature of the starting material and the type of treatment determine the blue that results. These treated topaz stones, weighing from 2.72 carats to 7.86 carats, show a range of hue, tone, and saturation. - Courtesy Chuck Ashbaugh
Clarity
Fashioned topaz gems are often free of visible inclusions or flaws. This especially true of blue, colorless, and yellow topaz.

12.25-carat Untreated Topaz
This ring, designed by Maria Canale, holds a 12.25-carat untreated topaz from Brazil. The gem has no visible inclusions. - Courtesy Richard Krementz Gemstones
Cut
Because topaz crystals are usually elongated or columnar, they’re often cut as long oval or pear shapes to improve yield. If the rough is strongly colored, the cutter often chooses the emerald cut because that cutting style maximizes color and retains the most weight.

Topaz is cut in a wide variety of shapes and cutting styles. Production includes all the standard gem shapes such as ovals, pears, rounds, cushions, triangles, marquise, and emerald cuts as well as designer-inspired fantasy shapes.

14.68-carat Topaz
A modern mixed cutting style dramatically intensifies the color of this 14.68-carat bright blue topaz. - Lydia Dyer, Topaz StarBrite courtesy of John Dyer & Co.
Cutting styles are also well represented. Brilliant cuts with triangular and kite-shaped facets, step cuts with concentric rows of parallel facets, and mixed cuts usually consisting of brilliant-cut crowns and step-cut pavilions are all common. Designer cuts fashioned by hand and machine are popular, too.

Treated Blue Topaz
The uniform color of treated blue topaz makes it a highly suitable material for cutting into standard sizes for jewelry.
Because there is an abundant supply of treated blue topaz, it’s often cut into calibrated sizes for use in mass market and multi-stone jewelry.

Carat Weight
Standard topaz cuts for the jewelry industry include a wide range of shapes and sizes. The gem is inexpensive in smaller sizes, but prices rise for gems above 10×8 mm.

61.78-carat Carved Topaz
This 61.78-carat carved topaz is a truly unique sculptural piece. Skilled workmanship intensifies the blue color to produce an effect like shimmering droplets of water. Blue topaz makes a perfect material for large carvings due to availability in large sizes. - Lydia Dyer, Blue Topaz Sculptural Gem courtesy of John Dyer & Co.

Learn More About Topaz

Topaz
Explore topaz history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

Topaz Quality Factors

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Summer 2016 Edition
Learn more