生日石

十一月生日石

两种十一月生日石分别为拓帕石(粉红色和橙色宝石)和黄水晶(黄色宝石)。 Shadow

十一月出生之人有两种美丽的生日石可选:拓帕石和黄水晶。拓帕石可以呈现出彩虹般的缤纷颜色;黄水晶以其迷人的黄色和橙色而倍受赞誉。这两种十一月生日石以拥有安抚人心的能量,并且能够为佩戴者带来财富和温暖而闻名。大多数拓帕石和黄水晶生日石的价格都较为实惠,因为这两种宝石中的优质品并不像其他同类产品那样稀少。这意味着十一月出生的人有多种选择。您面临的挑战在于选择哪一种。

拓帕石生日石

    

拓帕石生日石的意义与历史

拓帕石的颜色多种多样,包括透明、浅黄色、黄色、橙色、粉色、紫罗兰色、褐色和极少见的红色。现在所能看到的大多数蓝色拓帕石都是利用辐射和加热对透明拓帕石进行加工所呈现出的永久性效果。“电镀拓帕石”中的虹彩效果是通过人造薄膜对透明拓帕石进行涂层处理而呈现的。

有人认为“topaz(拓帕石)”来自于梵语词汇 tapas,是“火彩”的意思。其他人则认为其可以追溯至希腊词汇 topazo。十一月生日石素来被认为具有很多益处。古希腊人认为,拓帕石赋予人们力量。从 14 到 17 世纪,欧洲人认为它能打破魔法咒语,还能驱除愤怒情绪。数百年来,印度的很多人一直认为,托帕石戴在心脏之上,可以延年益寿,确保美丽和智慧。

显眼的略带粉色的橙色帝王拓帕石和贵族的渊源颇深。人们普遍认为,这个名字源于俄罗斯王室坚持将出产于俄罗斯乌拉尔山脉的这种宝石中颜色最美的,专供他们使用。另一种解释在巴西广为流传,可以追溯到 1881 年,巴西皇帝佩德罗二世 (Pedro II) 到欧鲁普雷图视察,这是离巴西产量最大的拓帕石矿最近的一个城镇,百姓向他赠送了一颗红色的拓帕石。
 
蓝色拓帕石是第 4 个结婚周年纪念日的纪念石帝王拓帕石是第 23 个结婚周年纪念日的纪念石。

这款粉红橙色帝王拓帕石是最受欢迎的十一月生日石之一。摄影: Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA
这款粉红橙色帝王拓帕石是最受欢迎的十一月生日石之一。摄影: Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA

拓帕石产自哪里?

巴西米纳斯吉拉斯州是最重要的高品质拓帕石产地之一,那里的拓帕石开采历史长达两个多世纪。这里出产的原石颜色包括黄色至橙色、红色、粉红色、紫罗兰色以及红色和橙色或紫色的混合颜色。附近的欧鲁普雷图小镇与这个山谷完美互补。在这个联合国教科文组织世界遗产中,宏伟的殖民地教堂直冲天际,古朴的鹅卵石街道纵横交错,遍布全城。
 
巴基斯坦的西北部地区以出产粉红色拓帕石闻名。邻近 Katlang 小镇的 Ghundao Hill 自 1972 年开始采矿。产自 Katlang 的珍贵粉红色拓帕石带有淡淡的紫罗兰色,业内有些人将这种颜色称为仙客来粉红色。但即使是在 Ghundao Hill,高品质的粉红色十一月生日石也很少见。
 

巴基斯坦 Katlang 的山景。由 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华·J.古柏林)博士藏品友情提供
巴基斯坦 Katlang 的山景。由 Edward J. Gübelin(爱德华·J.古柏林)博士藏品友情提供


今天,这种十一月生日石的主要产地还包括纳米比亚、尼日利亚、马达加斯加、墨西哥、缅甸、斯里兰卡和美国,以及有历史意义的俄罗斯地区。

拓帕石生日石的护理与清洁

托帕石的莫氏硬度为 8,但是其韧性就差,因此需要仔细护理,以避免出现缺口或开裂。如需清洁十一月生日石拓帕石,不能使用蒸汽清洁法或超声波清洁器。 最好采用温肥皂水清洗。高温或温度骤变都会使拓帕石内部断裂。生日石的颜色一般对光比较稳定,但长时间暴露在高温或阳光下可能会导致褪色为黄褐色拓帕石。拓帕石可能会受到某些化学物质的轻度影响。

电镀拓帕石的涂层可以抵御正常磨损,但磨蚀性清洁剂或抛光轮则会破坏涂层。应仅使用温和的肥皂液来清洁通过这种方式处理过的拓帕石生日石。

 

此为拓帕石众多颜色中的一部分。从左到右:产自尼日利亚的 9.21 克拉的无色拓帕石、产自巴西的 15.01 克拉的浅蓝色拓帕石、产自巴基斯坦的 18.41 克拉的紫粉红色拓帕石和产自巴西的 12.54 克拉的橙-红色拓帕石。摄影:罗布 (Robe)
此为拓帕石众多颜色中的一部分。从左到右:产自尼日利亚的 9.21 克拉的无色拓帕石、产自巴西的 15.01 克拉的浅蓝色拓帕石、产自巴基斯坦的 18.41 克拉的紫粉红色拓帕石和产自巴西的 12.54 克拉的橙-红色拓帕石。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA
关于拓帕石的更多详情 拓帕石买家指南


黄水晶生日石

    

黄水晶生日石的意义与历史

这种十一月生日石是石英的透明黄到褐橙色的变种,用于制作珠宝的历史已有数千年。黄水晶自古以来就是一种流行的宝石,还层与另一种十一月生日石拓帕石有过共享误解身份的历史。因此, 人们认为黄水晶具有与拓帕石有相同是能量。人们认为黄水晶生日石可以缓解脾气,使佩戴者保持平静。

古希腊人雕刻的岩石水晶饰品,像永久冻土层一样闪闪发光。罗马教皇佩戴着镶有巨大紫色紫水晶的戒指,罗马珠宝中有使用黄水晶的历史。从维多利亚时代开始,在多彩的苏格兰珠宝中尤为常见。据称,黄水晶的英语 citrine 源自法语中的柠檬 (citron),是第十三个结婚纪念日的纪念石。

如今,市场上的大多数黄水晶是经过热处理制作而成。 黄水晶生日石是最实惠、最理想的黄色宝石之一,因为它有各种尺寸随时可用。
 

幻象式切磨释放了这颗 43.49 克拉黄水晶的火彩。摄影:Priscilla Dyer(普里西拉·代尔)。由 John Dyer & Co. 友情提供
幻象式切磨释放了这颗 43.49 克拉黄水晶的火彩。摄影:Priscilla Dyer(普里西拉·代尔)。由 John Dyer & Co. 友情提供

黄水晶产自哪里?

这种十一月生日石的最佳产地是玻利维亚、西班牙、马达加斯加、墨西哥和乌拉圭。紫水晶通常会加热处理成黄水晶的颜色,这些紫水晶大多产自巴西。
 
玻利维亚安纳西矿位于全球最大的淡水湿地的最深处,是未经热处理的天然黄水晶的重要产地。成片的野花、颜色鲜艳的鸟类、绚丽多彩的蝴蝶、咆哮的猴子和美洲虎都是这个巨大舞台上的演员。这个矿场的历史可与其环境媲美。17 世纪初,一位西班牙征服者发现了这里,当他与巴拉圭 Ayoreos 部落的安纳西 (Anahi) 公主结婚时,这个矿作为公主的嫁妆送给了他。该矿销声匿迹了三百多年,直到 20 世纪 60 年代才再次被发现。
 

产自玻利维亚安纳西矿的数以千计的紫水晶和黄水晶。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA
产自玻利维亚安纳西矿的数以千计的紫水晶和黄水晶。摄影:Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)/GIA


安纳西矿出产的一种特殊晶体中,可能同时包含紫水晶和黄水晶;如果成型的宝石中同时出现这两种颜色,这种宝石就被称为紫黄晶。安纳西矿出产的黄水晶生日石颜色通常为橙黄色至褐黄色/绿黄色。

 

安纳西矿晶体经过刻面后产出黄水晶、紫水晶和紫黄晶。摄影:GIA 与Tino Hammid(蒂诺·哈米德)
安纳西矿晶体经过刻面后产出黄水晶、紫水晶和紫黄晶。摄影:GIA 与Tino Hammid(蒂诺·哈米德)

黄水晶生日石的护理与清洁

您的黄水晶生日石的莫氏硬度为 7,具有良好的韧性,可以经受正常磨损和护理,足够耐用。用温肥皂水清洁黄水晶不会对其造成损害。通常情况下可以用超声波机器清洗您的十一月生日石,但蒸汽清洗法会有风险,因为高温会使黄水晶破裂。
 

橙色黄水晶生日石戒指。照片由 Arya Esha(艾莉亚·伊莎)友情提供
橙色黄水晶生日石戒指。照片由 Arya Esha(艾莉亚·伊莎)友情提供


既然您已对这两种十一月生日石的历史和产地有了更多的了解,您或许想把它们添加到您的收藏之中!将拓帕石和黄水晶做为您的十一月生日石会为您带来很多选择,因为它们都有着吸人眼球的色彩和大小。当您想要为自己或您爱的人寻找十一月生日石时,您会发现我们的《拓帕石购买指南》《黄水晶购买指南》对您很有帮助。

关于黄水晶的更多详情 黄水晶买家指南


有兴趣探索其他生日石吗?

You are being redirected to GIA Alumni Association, LLC.

5

BIRTHSTONES

November Birthstone

The two November birthstones are topaz (the pink and orange gems) and citrine (the yellow gem). Shadow

Those with November birthdays have two beautiful birthstones to choose from: topaz and citrine. Topaz comes in a rainbow of colors; citrine is prized for its charming yellow and orange hues. Both November birthstones are known to have calming energies while bringing fortune and warmth to the wearer. Most topaz and citrine birthstones are affordably priced, as good-quality gems are not as rare as for many of their counterparts. This means that those born in November have many options to choose from. Your challenge will be deciding which one to pick.

Topaz Birthstone

    

Topaz Birthstone Meaning & History

The variety of topaz hues includes colorless, light blue, yellow, orange, pink, violet, brown and, very rarely, red. The vast majority of blue topaz seen today is the permanent result of treating colorless topaz with irradiation and heating. The rainbow effect seen in “Mystic Topaz” is created by coating colorless topaz with a thin artificial film.

Some believe the word “topaz” comes from the Sanskrit word tapas, which means “fire.” Others trace it back to the Greek topazos. This November birthstone was long thought to have many benefits. The ancient Greeks believed that topaz gave them strength. From the 1300s to the 1600s, Europeans thought it could thwart magic spells and dispel anger. For centuries, many people in India have believed that topaz worn above the heart assures long life, beauty and intelligence.

The distinctly pinkish orange Imperial topaz has aristocratic cachet. It is commonly believed that the name originated with the Russian royal family’s insistence on keeping the finest colors of this gem, which was mined in Russia’s Ural Mountains, exclusively for their use. An alternate explanation, especially popular in Brazil, is that it dates from an 1881 visit by Brazilian Emperor Pedro II to Ouro Preto—the town closest to Brazil’s most productive topaz mines–and the gift of a reddish topaz to him.
 
Blue topaz is the gem of the fourth wedding anniversary, and Imperial topaz is the gem of the 23rd wedding anniversary.

One of the most sought-after November birthstones is this pinkish orange Imperial topaz. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA
One of the most sought-after November birthstones is this pinkish orange Imperial topaz. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA

Where Is Topaz Found?

Minas Gerais, a state in Brazil, is one of the most important sources for high-quality topaz, which has been mined there for more than two centuries. Yellow to orange, red, pink, violet and blends of red with orange or purple are some of the colors unearthed here. The nearby town of Ouro Preto is a fitting companion. In this UNESCO world heritage site, majestic colonial churches checker the skyline and quaint cobblestone streets crisscross the city.
 
Northwestern Pakistan is known for producing pink topaz. Ghundao Hill, close to the small town of Katlang, has been mined since 1972. The most sought-after shade of pink topaz from Katlang has a tinge of violet, which some in the gem trade call cyclamen pink. But even at Ghundao Hill, only rarely is this fine pink November birthstone found.
 

Hillside view in Katlang, Pakistan. Courtesy: Dr. Edward J. Gübelin Collection
Hillside view in Katlang, Pakistan. Courtesy: Dr. Edward J. Gübelin Collection


Today, other major sources of this November birthstone include Namibia, Nigeria, Madagascar, Mexico, Myanmar, Sri Lanka and the United States, as well as the historic Russian localities.

Topaz Birthstone Care & Cleaning

Topaz is an 8 on the Mohs scale of hardness, but it has poor toughness, so care is required to avoid chipping or cracking. To clean this November birthstone, do not use steam cleaning or ultrasonic cleaners. Warm, soapy water works best. High heat or sudden temperature changes can cause internal breaks in topaz. The birthstone’s color is generally stable to light, but prolonged exposure to heat or sunlight might cause fading in some yellow-to-brown gems. Topaz may be affected slightly by some chemicals.

The coating on Mystic Topaz can withstand normal wear, but abrasive cleaners or buffing wheels will remove it. Only a mild soap solution should be used to clean a topaz birthstone treated in this manner.

 

Here are some of the many colors of topaz. From left to right: a 9.21 carat (ct) colorless topaz from Nigeria, a 15.01 ct light blue topaz from Brazil, an 18.41 ct purplish pink topaz from Pakistan, and a 12.54 ct orange-red topaz from Brazil. Photo: Robe
Here are some of the many colors of topaz. From left to right: a 9.21 carat (ct) colorless topaz from Nigeria, a 15.01 ct light blue topaz from Brazil, an 18.41 ct purplish pink topaz from Pakistan, and a 12.54 ct orange-red topaz from Brazil. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA



Citrine Birthstone

    

Citrine Birthstone Meaning & History

This November birthstone is the transparent yellow to brownish orange variety of quartz, which has been used in jewelry for thousands of years. Citrine has been a popular gemstone since ancient times and has shared a history of mistaken identities with the other November birthstone, topaz. As a result, people thought citrine had the same powers as topaz. They believed the citrine birthstone could soothe tempers and calm the wearer.

The ancient Greeks carved rock crystal ornaments that glistened like permafrost. Roman pontiffs wore rings set with massive purple amethysts, and citrine has been reported in Roman jewelry. It was particularly popular in colorful Scottish jewelry from the Victorian era. Citrine, believed to derive from the French word for “lemon” (citron), is given for the thirteenth wedding anniversary.

Today, most of the citrine in the marketplace results from the heat treatment of amethyst. With its ready availability in a broad range of sizes, citrine birthstone is one of the most affordable and desired yellow gemstones.
 

A fantasy cut unleashes the fire within this 43.49 ct citrine. Photo: Priscilla Dyer. Courtesy: John Dyer & Co.
A fantasy cut unleashes the fire within this 43.49 ct citrine. Photo: Priscilla Dyer. Courtesy: John Dyer & Co.

Where Is Citrine Found?

The top sources for this November birthstone are Bolivia, Spain, Madagascar, Mexico and Uruguay. Amethyst that’s typically heat treated to a citrine color is mined mostly in Brazil.
 
Deep in the world’s largest freshwater wetland lies Bolivia’s Anahí mine, an important source for natural, unheated citrine. Fields of wildflowers, brightly plumed birds, kaleidoscopes of butterflies, Howler monkeys and jaguars are some of the actors on this vast stage. The story of the mine is worthy of the setting. Discovered by a Spanish conquistador in the 1600s, it was given to him as dowry when he married Anahí, a princess from the Ayoreos tribe of Paraguay. The mine was lost for three centuries until it was rediscovered in the 1960s.
 

Thousands of crystals with both purple amethyst and yellow citrine have been recovered from the Anahí mine in Bolivia. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA
Thousands of crystals with both purple amethyst and yellow citrine have been recovered from the Anahí mine in Bolivia. Photo: Robert Weldon/GIA


The Anahí mine produces a unique combination of amethyst and citrine in the same crystal; when the two colors appear together in a fashioned gem, it is known as ametrine. The citrine birthstones produced at the Anahí mine typically range from orange-yellow to brownish/greenish yellow.

 

Faceting of the Anahí mine crystals produces citrine, amethyst and ametrine gems. Photo: GIA & Tino Hammid
Faceting of the Anahí mine crystals produces citrine, amethyst and ametrine gems. Photo: GIA & Tino Hammid

Citrine Birthstone Care & Cleaning

At 7 on the Mohs scale of hardness with good toughness, your citrine birthstone is usually durable enough for normal wear and care. It can be safely cleaned with warm, soapy water. While it is usually okay to clean your November birthstone in an ultrasonic machine, steam cleaning is risky since high heat could cause the stone to crack.
 

Orange citrine birthstone ring. Courtesy: Arya Esha
Orange citrine birthstone ring. Courtesy: Arya Esha


Now that you know a little bit more about the history of these two November birthstones and where they can be found, you just might be inspired to add them to your collection! Having topaz and citrine as your November birthstones gives you numerous choices, as they offer eye-catching colors and sizes. You’ll find our Topaz Buying Guide and Citrine Buying Guide to be extremely helpful when looking for a November birthstone for yourself or a loved one.

More about Citrine Citrine Buyer's Guide


Interested in exploring additional birthstones?