蓝宝石质量要素


Placeholder Alt Text
这款克什米尔蓝宝石有着浓郁的天鹅绒般蓝色。 - George C. Hartmann, Jr. 友情提供
蓝宝石是三大宝石之一,另外两种分别是红宝石和祖母绿。 它是九月的诞生石,质地坚硬,以其实用性和浪漫情怀吸引了不少珠宝买家。
 
颜色
蓝宝石拥有各种各样的颜色,每种颜色都有不同的品质标准。 一般来说,颜色越浓郁且不含有明显的色域,宝石越值钱。
 
颜色是影响蓝蓝宝石价值的重要因素。 价值最高的蓝宝石颜色如为丝绒感,由蓝色至靛蓝色,色调中至中深。 具有浓至鲜艳的色度为首选。 只要不使色调变暗,或降低其亮度,色度高越好。 具有这些颜色特质的蓝宝石,每克拉售价最高。

色彩浓郁的蓝色蓝宝石
作为主要的蓝宝石产地,马达加斯加相对而言是后起之秀。但其出产的宝石拥有浓郁的蓝色,可媲美传统产地的最优质蓝宝石。 - © GIA & Tino Hammid
商用级的蓝宝石则是另一个极端、它们的颜色为绿蓝或带有强烈的绿蓝是多向色性。 多向色性是不同的晶体方向下呈现出不同颜色的特性。 外观带灰,色调太浅或太深的蓝宝石,其价值都不会太高。
 
主要的彩色蓝宝石颜色为帕帕拉夏、粉红色和紫色、橙色和黄色、绿色、无色和黑色。 每个类别都有自己的色彩范围、颜色成因和市场。
 
业内人士称为帕帕拉夏的蓝宝石非常漂亮。 通常帕帕拉夏的每克拉价格很高,比其它类型的彩色蓝宝石高得多。
 
很难形容它们的颜色。 有人说帕帕拉夏蓝宝石的颜色应该用“鲑鱼”或“日落”来形容。 也有人把它的颜色比作成熟番石榴的果肉颜色。
 
尽管对颜色有着的不同描述,业内人士一般认为帕帕拉夏蓝宝石的颜色色度浓郁,浅至中色调的粉红橙色到橙-粉红色。
 
粉红色蓝宝石的颜色范围从淡色调、弱至鲜艳色度的红色到紫色。 紫色蓝宝石在颜色上相似,而色调则较暗,并且紫色是作为主色。 颜色范围从中到深色调的红紫到靛紫色,色度由弱到鲜艳。

浓郁的粉红色蓝宝石
某些粉色蓝宝石呈现鲜艳色度的颜色。 - John Dyer & Co.的 John Dyer 友情提供
刚玉所具有的黄色和橙色范围,其中包括明亮的柠檬色、柔和的桃色和鲜艳的橘子色。
 
在特定的颜色名称中,黄色蓝宝石的颜色范围从绿黄至橙黄色,色调浅,弱到鲜艳色度。 最优质的黄色蓝宝石为黄色至橙黄,中色调和鲜艳色度。
 
橙色蓝宝石的范围从橙黄色至红橙色。 最优质的橙色蓝宝石颜色鲜艳的红-橙色,中色调和鲜艳色度。

蓝宝石
这些蓝宝石的颜色范围从黄色到深黄-橙色(称为金色),至鲜艳色度的红橙色。 - © GIA & Tino Hammid, Varujan Arslanyan 友情提供
绿色蓝宝石的颜色范围由蓝绿色至黄绿色,色调浅至很深,色度通常为低。 绿色蓝宝石产量充裕,但这种颜色不是十分热销。 它的颜色有时被描述为卡其色或橄榄色。 这是因为宝石颜色色度低,或有不美观的色域。
 
有业界人士指出,最纯形式的刚玉为无色或白色蓝宝石。 就无色蓝宝石而言,越接近无色,越有价值。 夹杂浅灰色、黄色、褐色和蓝色色彩十分常见,并且会减低宝石价值。 无色蓝宝石一直是流行的珠宝用陪衬宝石
 
变色蓝宝石是刚玉中的变色龙,宝石在不同的灯光下会改变颜色。 在日光同等的光线(荧光)下,典型的蓝宝石的颜色范围由基本的蓝色到靛色。 在白炽灯下,它的范围从靛紫色调到浓烈的红紫色。 一些罕见​​的蓝宝石在日光下为绿色,当在白炽灯光下又变为红褐色。
 
宝石专家在评估变色蓝宝石时,对颜色强度会用弱、中和强三个等级来描述。 宝石颜色的强度是影响其价值的重要因素,其重要性仅次于宝石的体色。
 
如同所有的彩色宝石,星光刚玉的颜色对它的价值有很大的影响。 上乘的星光刚玉具有鲜艳色度,明显清晰的星光。 如果宝石颜色太淡,则无法与星光形成鲜明的对比,所以星光将不那么明显。
 
在阳光下,星光刚玉会呈现红色、蓝色、黑色、灰色、紫色或黄色。 术语“星光蓝宝石”包括除红色星光刚玉之外的所有颜色的宝石。而红色星光刚玉则被称为星光红宝石。
 
当然,某些颜色的星光刚玉的价值远高于其他颜色。 一般来说,最昂贵的星光刚玉颜色和普通刚玉最昂贵的颜色一样,都是红色和蓝色。
 
以产地命名的宝石名称代表着该宝石特殊的颜色和品质。 其品质代表了该地宝石的典型品质,或是该产地出产宝石的最优品质。 但单一产地从来没有连续出产过颜色和品质完全相同的宝石。 事实上,描述性的名称术语可能仅指该产地出产的一小部分宝石。 来自某一产地的宝石外观往往随时间不同而不断变化。因此出产的宝石可能与该产地原有宝石的品质不相符。
 
新的产地可生产与经典产地品质非常相似的宝石,外观也同样漂亮,或仅有细微的差别。

净度
蓝色蓝宝石通常含有一些内含物,但通常比红宝石的净度高。 具有极高净度的蓝色蓝宝石是罕见的,价值连城。
 
蓝宝石中含有以下几种类型的内含物。 其中,细长的矿物内含物称为针状物。 当针状物为金红石矿物且成群相交时,被称为丝状物。 蓝宝石净度特征还有晶体、指纹状内含物、色域和色带。

蓝宝石丝状内含物
细长交叉的金红石内含物被称为丝状物。 这种排列能够使刚玉产生星光效应。
一般来说,内含物会降低宝石的价格。 如果内含物危及到宝石的坚固性,价格则会大幅下降。 然而有时内含物会增加某些蓝宝石的价值。 许多最珍贵的克什米尔蓝宝石含有极微小的内含物,形成了天鹅绒般的外观。 这些内含物会散射光线,造成令人垂涎的视觉效果,而不影响宝石的透明度。
 
星光红宝石和星光蓝宝石属于现象刚玉类。 星光现象又称为星芒。 它是由微小的针状内含物将光线向几个特定的​​方向反光而形成的结果。 星光通常由 2 、3 个或 6 个相交带状组成,可反射 4 条、6 条或 12 条星线。

蓝宝石净度展示幻灯片
极微小的内含物所产生的反光被称为星光效应。 - © GIA & Tino Hammid, Benjamin Zucker 友情提供
最常见的星光有 6 条,而 12 条星线相当罕见。 两种不同的内含物 - 金红石和赤铁矿- 同时存在且方向略微不同,则会产生 12 条星线。
 
赤铁矿内含物可形成黑色星光蓝宝石。 宝石的颜色实际上是黄色、绿色或蓝色,但内含物使其呈现出深褐色或黑色。
 
最优质的星光应清晰明显,位于凸圆面正中央,约手臂长的适当距离内明显可见。 从各个方向观察时,星光的品质应该是一致的。
 
光芒强度应该一致,由一端腰围延伸至对侧腰围,并在顶点交汇。 星线应直射,不模糊、不弯曲或断开,且与体色形成强烈对比。 星芒的移动应优美,意即晃动宝石时星芒在表面平顺地滑动,且要灵活而无死板之感。
 
最顶级最贵重的星光刚玉是次透明的,具有恰可形成清晰星芒的丝状物。 太多的丝状物可能会降低透明度,影响颜色,因此降低宝石的价值。

切工
 
椭圆形切工蓝宝石
常见已切磨宝石为明亮式冠部(顶部)以及梯式底部(亭部)的椭圆形。
蓝宝石晶体的形状会影响成品宝石的形状和大小。 蓝宝石原石最常见的晶体形状是桶形或细柱状六方形角锥。 因此已切磨蓝宝石往往有很深的底部。

为了获得最佳的整体颜色,保有最佳比例,并尽可能保留最大重量,切磨师将重心放在如色域、多向色性以及宝石深浅时明时暗的考量上。

各种颜色的蓝宝石
这些蓝宝石经过专业切磨后成为用户定制设计,是艺术
的缩影。 - 弗罗里达尤马蒂拉的 Mark Gronlund 友情提供
色域是宝石的不同颜色区域,是蓝宝石中常见的一种特性。 蓝色蓝宝石往往有淡蓝色和蓝色的角状色域。 考虑到某些蓝宝石的色域,切磨师会将颜色集中的区域安排在最佳正面的位置。
 
斯里兰卡蓝宝石的颜色往往集中在靠近晶体的表面上。 如果切磨师将颜色集中的区域作为尖底,那么整个正面会呈现蓝色。
 
多向色性是在不同的晶体方向下呈现出不同的颜色。 蓝宝石往往有绿蓝色和靛蓝色的多向色性。 采取定向切割可使宝石呈现较多的靛蓝色。

蓝宝石的各种切磨式样与颜色
除了颜色多样,刚玉还可采用任何的切工样式。 - Ballerina Gems 的 Jeff Scovil 友情提供
星光刚玉必须切磨成凸圆面才能显示星光效应。 宝石成品的吸引力取决于星光的方向和凸圆面的对称性、比例和修饰品质而定。
 
凸圆面外观必须美观,当宝石底部平方,星芒应位于正面中央位置。 宝石的轮廓应该是对称的。
 
对于大多数凸圆面来说,圆顶应有相当高度,约是宽度的三分之二,以能清晰的呈现星芒。 如果过高,宝石晃动时,星芒就无法优雅地随之移动。 太过极端高也使得宝石难以镶嵌。
 
若圆顶切磨太浅,则只能从正上方看见星光。 然而,黑色星光蓝宝石易发生平行断裂,所以它们通常切磨得很扁,以减少受损的风险。
 
宝石在腰围下不应该有多余的重量,除非有利于光学效果或可加强色彩。

克拉重量
蓝色蓝宝石的大小可从几分到几百克拉,大颗的蓝色蓝宝石比大颗的红宝石更容易获得。 但是,大多数商用级品质的蓝宝石重量不到 5.00 克拉。

Vagabonde Bleue 戒指
大颗的优质蓝宝石非常稀少,但仍比红宝石更容易获得。 这枚戒指的中央镶嵌着一颗令人叹为观止的蓝色蓝宝石(重 18.79 克拉)。 - Vagabonde Bleue Ring © 2011 Fabergé Ltd 友情提供
商用级品质的大颗蓝宝石比优质的大颗蓝宝石更常见。 因此,对优质的蓝宝石而言,尺寸大小会造成更大的价格差异。 一颗优质的 5.00 克拉蓝色蓝宝石每克拉售价比同品质的 1.00 克拉钻石价格高出约五倍以上。
 
一颗商用级品质的 5.00 克拉蓝宝石每克拉售价仅比同等品质的 1.00 克拉价格高出 2 倍。

这些并非准确的价格参考指导,而是说明:随着宝石大小和品质的提高,每克拉的价格提升的幅度很大。

111.96 克拉缅甸星彩蓝宝石
这个蓝色星光蓝宝石重量为 119.96 克拉,无论从大小还是品质方面都可称得上是非凡的宝石。 - Treasured Gems and Jewels LLC/Benjamin Zucker 友情提供
各种蓝宝石
蓝宝石有各种不同的尺寸、形状和颜色。

Sapphire Quality Factors

Sapphire from Kashmir
This sapphire from Kashmir has an intense velvety blue color. - Courtesy George C. Hartmann, Jr.
Sapphire is one of the Big 3 of jewelry colored gemstones—the other two are ruby and emerald. A durable stone that’s designated as a birthstone for September, it captures jewelry buyers with its practicality and aura of romance.
 
Color
Sapphires come in a wide range of colors, and each color has its own quality variations. In general, the more intense the color and the fewer the distracting zones of unattractive color, the more valuable the stone.
 
Color has the most important influence on blue sapphire’s value. The most highly valued blue sapphires are velvety blue to violetish blue, in medium to medium dark tones. Preferred sapphires also have strong to vivid color saturation. The saturation should be as strong as possible without darkening the color and compromising brightness. Sapphires with these qualities command the highest prices per carat.

Intense Blue Sapphire
Madagascar is a relative newcomer as a major sapphire source, but its stones can have an intense blue color that rivals the finest from more traditional sources. - © GIA & Tino Hammid
At the other end of the price scale are commercial-grade sapphires with greenish blue color or strong greenish blue pleochroism. Pleochroism is different colors seen in different crystal directions. Less valuable blue sapphires might be grayish, too light, or too dark.
 
The major fancy sapphire color categories are padparadscha, pink and purple, orange and yellow, green, and colorless and black. Each category has its own color range, causes of color, and market.
 
The fancy sapphires that people in the trade call padparadscha are very beautiful. They typically have a high per-carat value, too—much higher than other types of fancy sapphires.
 
Their color can be hard to describe. Some people say padparadscha sapphire colors should be called salmon or sunset. Others compare the color to the flesh of a ripe guava.
 
In spite of these differing color descriptions, people in the industry usually agree that padparadscha sapphire colors are intensely saturated and range from light to medium pinkish orange to orange-pink.
 
Pink sapphires range from red to purple with weak to vivid color saturation and lighter tone. Purple sapphires are similar in color but darker and always have purple as the dominant color. They range from medium to dark reddish purple to violetish purple with weak to vivid color saturation.

Intense Pink Sapphire
Some pink sapphires have intensely saturated color. - John Dyer, gem courtesy of John Dyer & Co.
Corundum appears in an array of yellow and orange hues that includes bright lemon, soft peach, and vivid tangerine.
 
In specific color terms, yellow sapphires range from light to dark greenish yellow to orangy yellow with weak to intense color saturation. The finest yellow sapphire is yellow to orangy yellow with vivid saturation.
 
Orange sapphires range from yellowish orange to reddish orange. The finest orange sapphires are strong, pure orange to red-orange with medium tone and vivid saturation.

Sapphires
These sapphires range from yellow to a deep yellow-orange color called golden to highly saturated reddish orange. - © GIA & Tino Hammid, courtesy Varujan Arslanyan
Green sapphires range from light to dark bluish green through yellowish green, and are usually low in saturation. Green sapphire is readily available, but its color isn’t very marketable. Its color is sometimes described as khaki or olive. That’s because the stones tend to have low saturation or unattractive color zoning.
 
People in the trade refer to corundum in its purest form as either colorless sapphire or white sapphire. The closer corundum comes to having no color, the more valuable it is as a colorless sapphire. Traces of extremely light gray, yellow, brown, and blue are common, and reduce the value. Colorless sapphires have been popular as small accent stones in jewelry.
 
Color-change sapphires are corundum’s chameleons—stones that change color under different lighting. Under daylight equivalent (fluorescent) light, the typical color-change sapphire’s basic color ranges from blue to violet. Under incandescent light, it ranges from violetish purple to strongly reddish purple. Some rare color-change sapphires change from green in daylight to reddish brown in incandescent light.
 
When gem experts judge color-change sapphires, they describe the color change as weak, moderate, or strong. The strength of the stone’s color change is the most important quality factor affecting its value, followed in importance by the actual colors of the stone.
 
As with all colored stones, the color of star corundum has a great effect on its value. The best star corundum has a crisp, distinct star against strongly saturated color. If the color is too light, it doesn’t provide enough contrast for the star’s rays, and the star will be less visible.
 
Star corundum can be red, blue, black, gray, purple, or yellow—practically every color under the sun. The term “star sapphire” encompasses all colors of star corundum except red, which is called star ruby.
 
Naturally, some colors of star corundum are valued more highly than others. In general, the most prized colors are the same as the colors most valued in non-phenomenal corundum: red and blue.
 
Trade terms based on sources can represent certain colors and qualities that are associated with a stone’s source. The qualities might be typical of that source or they might represent the finest stones from that source. But a single source never consistently yields gems that are all the same color and quality. In fact, the descriptive term might represent only a small percentage of stones from that source. The appearance of stones from a particular source often varies over time, and the original quality associated with that source might no longer match the material produced.
 
New sources can produce material very similar to that from classical sources or with a slightly different, but just as beautiful, appearance.

Clarity
Blue sapphires typically have some inclusions, but they generally have better clarity than rubies. Blue sapphires with extremely high clarity are rare, and very valuable.
 
Several types of inclusions are found in sapphires. Among these are long thin mineral inclusions called needles. Fine needles are called silk when they occur as the mineral rutile in intersecting groups. Other clarity characteristics in sapphire are included mineral crystals, partially healed breaks that look like fingerprints, color zoning, and color banding.

Silk Inclusions in Sapphire
These long, thin, intersecting inclusions of the mineral rutile are called silk. This arrangement can produce the star effect in corundum.
Generally, inclusions make a stone less valuable. Price can drop substantially if the inclusions threaten the stone’s durability. Even so, inclusions can actually increase the value of some sapphires. Many of the most valuable Kashmir sapphires contain tiny inclusions that give them a velvety appearance. They scatter light, causing the coveted visual effect without negatively affecting the gem’s transparency.
 
Star rubies and star sapphires belong to the phenomenal corundum category. The star effect is called asterism. It’s caused by reflections from tiny, needle-like inclusions that are oriented in several specific directions. Stars are usually made up of 2, 3, or 6 intersecting bands, resulting in 4, 6, or 12 rays.

Sapphire Slide Show  Clarity
Tiny inclusions create magnificent reflections of light known as the star effect. - © GIA & Tino Hammid, courtesy Benjamin Zucker
The most common stars have 6 rays, and 12-rayed stars are quite rare. Two different sets of inclusions—one of rutile and one of hematite—oriented in slightly different directions can cause a 12-rayed star.
 
Hematite inclusions cause asterism in black star sapphires. The sapphire’s color is actually yellow, green, or blue, but the inclusions make it appear dark brown or black.
 
The finest star is distinct, centered on the top of the stone, and visible from a reasonable distance, about arm’s length. The star’s quality should be the same when viewed from all directions.
 
The rays should be uniform in strength, reach from one side to the other, and intersect at the top of the stone. They should be straight, not fuzzy, wavy, or broken, and they should contrast strongly against the background color. The star should also have elegant “movement.” This means that, as you rock the stone, the star should move smoothly across the surface with no dead spots.
 
The best and most expensive star corundum is semi-transparent, with just enough silk to create a well-defined star. Too much silk can harm transparency and also lead to poor color, lowering the value of the stone considerably.

Cut
 
Oval-cut Sapphire
Oval shapes with triangular and kite-shaped facets on the gem's crown (top portion) and parallel rectangular facets on the gem's pavilion (bottom portion) are very common for corundum of all colors.
The shape of a rough sapphire crystal influences the finished stone’s shape and size. Rough sapphire’s most common crystal form is a barrel- or spindle-shaped hexagonal pyramid. For this reason, finished sapphires are often deep.

To achieve the best overall color, maintain the best proportions, and retain the most weight possible, cutters focus on factors like color zoning, pleochroism, and the lightness or darkness of a stone.

Variety of Color Sapphires
These sapphires are miniature works of art that have been expertly cut into custom
designs. - Courtesy Mark Gronlund, Umatilla, Florida
Color zoning—areas of different colors in a stone—is a common sapphire characteristic. Blue sapphire often has angular zones of blue and lighter blue. To accommodate color zoning in some sapphires, cutters orient the concentrated color in a location that offers the best visible color in the cut stone.
 
In Sri Lankan sapphires, the color is often concentrated close to the surface of the crystal. If a cutter can orient the culet within the concentrated area of color, the stone will appear entirely blue in the face-up position.
 
Pleochroism is different colors in different crystal directions. Blue sapphires often have greenish blue and violetish blue pleochroism. It’s most desirable to orient the cut so the stone shows the violetish blue color when it is set in jewelry.

Variety of Cuts and Colors of Sapphire
Besides coming in all colors, corundum also comes in all cutting styles. - Jeff Scovil, courtesy Ballerina Gems
Star corundum must be cut as a cabochon to display asterism. A finished stone’s attractiveness depends on the star’s orientation and the cabochon’s symmetry, proportions, and finish.
 
The cabochon must have an appealing appearance, with the star properly centered when the gem rests on its base. The stone’s outline should be symmetrical.
 
For most stones, the dome should be fairly high—about two-thirds of the stone’s width—to focus the star sharply. If it’s too high, the phenomenon loses its graceful motion when the stone is tilted. Excessive height also makes the stone difficult to mount.
 
If the dome is cut too shallow, the star will be visible only from directly above. Black star sapphires, however, are prone to parallel breaks, so they’re usually cut very flat to reduce the risk of damage.
 
A stone should not have excess weight below the girdle that doesn’t contribute to the optical effect or reinforce color.

Carat Weight
Blue sapphires can range in size anywhere from a few points to hundreds of carats, and large blue sapphires are more readily available than large rubies. However, most commercial-quality blue sapphires weigh less than 5.00 carats.

Vagabonde Bleue Ring
Fine-quality blue sapphires in larger sizes are rare, but they’re still more available than ruby. The incredible blue sapphire in the center of this ring weighs 18.79 carats. - Vagabonde Bleue Ring © 2011 Fabergé Ltd
Large commercial-quality blue sapphires are more common than large fine-quality ones. As a result, size makes more of a difference in the price of fine-quality sapphire. A fine-quality 5.00 carat blue sapphire sells for approximately five times more per carat than the same-quality 1.00 carat stone.
 
A commercial-quality 5.00 carat stone sells for only about twice as much per carat as a 1.00 carat blue sapphire of the same quality.

These examples are not meant to be exact pricing guidelines, but to illustrate how much the per-carat price can go up as the size and the quality rise.

111.96 Burmese Star Sapphire
This blue star sapphire weighs 119.96 carats, making it a magnificent gem in terms of both size and quality. - Courtesy Treasured Gems and Jewels LLC/Benjamin Zucker
Assorted Sapphires
Sapphires are available in all sizes, shapes, and colors.

Learn More About Sapphire

Why We Love
Explore sapphire history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

Ranges of Sapphire Quality

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Fall 2016 Edition
Learn more