生日石

九月生日石

Shadow

九月生日石蓝宝石 — 一款被珍爱了数千年的宝石。虽然蓝宝石这个词通常指的是刚玉的蓝色种类(红宝石是红色种类),但是这一生日石还有如彩虹般的其他颜色。 蓝宝石长久以来被认为是皇室和浪漫的象征,也有人认为是忠诚和灵魂的象征。“蓝宝石”源自希腊词语 sappheiros,蓝色蓝宝石是最受欢迎的彩色宝石之一。继续阅读,了解更多关于九月生日石的信息,特别是它的历史和产地。

蓝宝石生日石

    

蓝宝石生日石的意义和历史

九月生日石一直被视为真诚、真理、信念和高贵的象征。多个世纪以来,蓝宝石一直用于装饰皇室成员和神职人员的礼袍。古希腊和罗马的精英们相信,蓝色蓝宝石可以保护它们的主人远离嫉妒和伤害。中世纪的牧师佩戴蓝宝石,因为蓝宝石象征着天堂。古波斯人认为,地球实际上存在于一颗巨大的蓝宝石上,所以才会有蔚蓝的天空。

人们还认为,九月生日石蓝宝石具有疗愈功效。中世纪的欧洲人认为蓝宝石可治愈疖子瘟疫和眼部疾病,蓝宝石生日石还具有解毒功效。

著名蓝宝石包括洛克菲勒蓝宝石,这是一颗 62.02 克拉 (ct) 的矩形阶梯式切磨蓝宝石,来自缅甸。1934 年,由金融家、慈善家小约翰·D.·洛克菲勒(John D. Rockefeller, Jr.) (1874–1960)从印度王公手中购入,经历了多次切磨与重新镶嵌。这颗蓝宝石最初镶嵌在一枚胸针上,后来镶嵌在一枚有着两颗切角三角形钻石副石的戒指上。也许近年来最著名的蓝宝石就是一颗 12 克拉蓝色宝石四周镶嵌着钻石的蓝宝石订婚戒指,最开始是戴安娜王妃佩戴,最后由他的儿子送给了凯特·米德尔顿(Kate Middleton),也就是现在的剑桥公爵夫人。
 

著名的洛克菲勒蓝宝石戒指重达 62.02 克拉。其两侧为两颗三角形切磨钻石,镶嵌在标记着 Tiffany & Co.(蒂芙尼公司)的铂金戒指上。由 Christie’s Images Ltd. 于 2015 年友情提供
著名的洛克菲勒蓝宝石戒指重达 62.02 克拉。其两侧为两颗三角形切磨钻石,镶嵌在标记着 Tiffany & Co.(蒂芙尼公司)的铂金戒指上。由 Christie’s Images Ltd. 于 2015 年友情提供


除九月生日石这个身份以外,蓝宝石还是 5 周年45 周年结婚纪念日宝石。

蓝宝石产自哪里?

克什米尔、缅甸、斯里兰卡是历史上三大重要的九月生日石产地。在澳大利亚、泰国、柬埔寨、马达加斯加和美国蒙大纳州以及其他亚洲及非洲国家,也发现了大量的九月生日石。
 
蓝宝石 1881 年首次发现于克什米尔,当时喜马拉雅山山体滑坡,露出了一大片温润的“矢车菊”般的蓝色晶体。随着这些美丽的蓝宝石开始在更远的南部地区出现,克什米尔王公命令军队控制了新出现蓝宝石的区域。从 1882 到 1887 年,发现了数千块美丽的大型晶体。这些晶体刻面出来的宝石让克什米尔蓝宝石成为了世界上最受欢迎的宝石之一。在这之后,就只是零星出产,但拍卖行偶尔会拍卖一些精美的克什米尔蓝宝石珠宝。
 
缅甸摩谷地区也以出产九月生日石而闻名。灌木丛生的小山丘、四周连绵的群山,构成了这里独特而壮观的地貌。蓝宝石通常与红宝石矿床同时出现,但产量比红宝石低得多。“缅甸”蓝宝石有着丰富浓郁的蓝色色调,正是这种蓝色色调让它尤为珍贵。  缅甸也是硬玉尖晶石锆石紫水晶橄榄石以及其他优质宝石的著名产地。


摩谷附近的美丽风景足以媲美底下埋藏的蓝宝石。摄影:詹姆斯·希格利 (James Shigley)/GIA
摩谷附近的美丽风景足以媲美底下埋藏的蓝宝石。摄影:詹姆斯·希格利 (James Shigley)/GIA


两千多年以来,斯里兰卡一直是优质九月生日石的产地。从“印度洋宝盒”的冲积砂砾中发现的这种蓝色和彩色宝石有着惊人的亮光和色度。此外,斯里兰卡“牛奶石”蓝宝石的乳白色可以经热处理变为深邃的蓝色。


在斯里兰卡,矿工使用传承数百年的简单冲洗工艺,在当地的河流中搜寻蓝宝石原石。由 Afsaneh Tazari 友情提供
在斯里兰卡,矿工使用传承数百年的简单冲洗工艺,在当地的河流中搜寻蓝宝石原石。由 Afsaneh Tazari 友情提供


泰国既是蓝宝石的产地,也是蓝宝石的主要切磨和处理中心。泰国 Chanthaburi(尖竹汶府)土路交织的密林中,矿工们在开采蓝宝石。来自缅甸和柬埔寨的蓝宝石常常运到尖竹汶进行切割和处理,或者送到重要的宝石中心曼谷。

蓝宝石生日石的保养与清洁

在莫氏硬度表中,九月生日石蓝宝石的硬度为 9。它韧性好,无解理。解理是指宝石受力后沿一定方向断裂的特性。这使其成为戒指以及其他日常佩戴首饰的绝佳之选。
 
然而,请注意,蓝宝石通常会加以处理改善其颜色或净度。热处理是最常见的 — 结果也是永恒不变的 — 因此为贸易所接受。不太常见的处理,如晶格扩散、裂缝填充和染色,可能需要特殊护理。某些情况下,晶格扩散引起的颜色较浅,因此如果宝石崩口或重新切磨,这种颜色就可能会消失。即使是轻微的酸,如柠檬汁,也会损坏裂缝填充和染色的蓝宝石。始终在购买前询问您的蓝宝石是否经过处理以及使用何种方式进行处理。

使用温肥皂水清洁九月生日石始终是安全可靠的方法。超声波和蒸汽清洗装置通常可以用于清洗未经处理、经热处理和晶格扩散处理的宝石。经过裂缝填充或染色处理的宝石应使用湿布清洁。

人们很容易就会爱上蓝宝石这种九月生日石的浓郁蓝色。由 JYE's International 友情提供
人们很容易就会爱上蓝宝石这种九月生日石的浓郁蓝色。由 JYE's International 友情提供


既然您了解了蓝宝石的全部信息,看一下我们的《蓝宝石购买指南》,因为这会帮助您为您自己或您的爱人挑选一颗惊艳的九月生日石。

更多关于蓝宝石的信息 蓝宝石买家指南


有兴趣探索其他生日石吗?

BIRTHSTONES

September Birthstone

Shadow

The September birthstone is sapphire – a gem that’s been cherished for thousands of years. Although the term sapphire usually refers to the blue variety of corundum (ruby is the red variety), this birthstone comes in a rainbow of other colors. Sapphires have been long associated with royalty and romance and are also said to symbolize fidelity and the soul. “Sapphire” comes from the Greek word sappheiros and blue sapphire is one of the most popular colored stones. Read on to learn more about the September birthstone, specifically its history and where it can be found.

Sapphire Birthstone

    

Sapphire Birthstone Meaning & History

The September birthstone has traditionally symbolized sincerity, truth, faithfulness and nobility. For countless centuries, sapphire has adorned royalty and the robes of the clergy. The elite of ancient Greece and Rome believed that blue sapphires protected their owners from harm and envy. Clerics of the Middle Ages wore sapphires because they symbolized Heaven. Ancient Persians believed the earth actually rested on a giant sapphire, which made the sky blue.

The September birthstone was reputed to have healing powers as well. Medieval Europeans believed that sapphire cured plague boils and diseases of the eye. The sapphire birthstone was also thought to be an antidote to poison.

Famous sapphires include the Rockefeller Sapphire, a 62.02 carat (ct) rectangular step cut stone that was unearthed in Myanmar (Burma). Acquired in 1934 by financier and philanthropist John D. Rockefeller, Jr. (1874–1960) from an Indian maharaja, the gem was recut and remounted over the years. The sapphire was first set as a brooch and later as a ring featuring two cut-cornered triangular diamond side stones. Perhaps the best-known sapphire in recent years is the 12 ct blue gem surrounded by diamonds in the sapphire engagement ring first worn by Princess Diana and then given by her son to Kate Middleton, now Duchess of Cambridge.
 

The famed Rockefeller Sapphire weighs 62.02 carats and is flanked by two cut-cornered triangular cut diamonds, mounted in a platinum ring to show off the blue September birthstone.
The famed Rockefeller Sapphire weighs 62.02 ct. Here it is flanked by two cut-cornered triangular cut diamonds, mounted in a platinum ring signed Tiffany & Co. Courtesy: Christie’s Images Ltd., 2015


In addition to being the September birthstone, sapphire is also the gem commemorating the 5th and 45th wedding anniversaries.

Where Is Sapphire Found?

Kashmir, Myanmar (formerly Burma) and Sri Lanka are three historically important sources for the September birthstone. Significant quantities of the September birthstone have also been found in Australia, Thailand, Cambodia, Madagascar and the United States (Montana), among other countries in Asia and Africa.
 
Sapphires were discovered in Kashmir around 1881 when a landslide high in the Himalayas exposed a large pocket of velvety “cornflower” blue crystals. As the spectacular sapphires began to appear farther south, the Maharaja of Kashmir – and his army – took control of the new locality. From 1882 to 1887, thousands of large, beautiful crystals were recovered. The stones faceted from these crystals established Kashmir sapphire’s reputation as one of the world’s most coveted gems. Production has been sporadic since then, but auction houses occasionally sell fine pieces of Kashmir sapphire jewelry.
 
The Mogok area of Myanmar is another locale famed for producing the September birthstone. Jungle-clad hills hemmed by mountains make a dramatic landscape. Sapphire typically occurs alongside ruby deposits, but in much smaller quantities than its red counterpart. ”Burmese” sapphire, as it is still called by many, can possess a rich, intense blue hue, which has made it particularly prized.  Myanmar is also a noted source of jadeite jade, spinelzirconamethystperidot and other fine gem materials.


A scenic view of the lush green hills near Mogok rivals the beauty of the sapphires, September’s birthstone, that are hidden underground.
A scenic view near Mogok rivals the beauty of the sapphires hidden underground. Photo: James E. Shigley/GIA


For more than 2,000 years, Sri Lanka has been a source of the September birthstone. The blue and fancy-color stones mined from the alluvial gravels of this “jewel box of the Indian Ocean” can display remarkable brilliance and saturation. In addition, the island’s milky white “geuda” sapphires can be heat treated to a rich blue color.


Miner in Sri Lanka searching for September’s birthstone, sapphire, among gravel using rudimentary washing techniques in a local stream.
Using the same rudimentary washing techniques as generations before them in Sri Lanka, a miner is searching for sapphire among the gravels in a local stream. Courtesy: Afsaneh Tazari


Thailand is both a source of sapphire and a major cutting and treatment center. In dense jungle crossed by dirt roads, miners dig for sapphire in Chanthaburi Province. Sapphires from Myanmar and Cambodia often end up in Chanthaburi for cutting and treatment and are also sent to Bangkok, an important gem hub.

Sapphire Birthstone Care & Cleaning

The September birthstone is relatively hard, ranking 9 on the Mohs scale. It has excellent toughness and no cleavage, which is a tendency to break when struck. This makes it a great choice for rings and other mountings subject to daily wear.
 
Note, though, that sapphires are often treated to improve their color or clarity. Heat treatment is common – and the results permanent – so it is well accepted in the trade. Less common treatments such as lattice diffusion, fracture filling and dyeing may require special care. In some cases, the color induced by lattice diffusion is so shallow it could be removed if the stone was chipped or had to be recut. Fracture-filled and dyed sapphires can be damaged by even mild acids like lemon juice. Before you buy a sapphire, always ask if it is treated and by what method.

Warm, soapy water is always a safe choice for cleaning the September birthstone. Ultrasonic and steam cleaners are usually safe for untreated, heat-treated and lattice diffusion–treated stones. Fracture-filled or dyed material should only be cleaned with a damp cloth.

A rich blue sapphire set in a ring with diamonds shows off the September birthstone.
It’s easy to love the rich blue of the September birthstone, sapphire. Courtesy: JYE's International


Now that you know all about sapphire, take a look at our Sapphire Buying Guide, as it can help you pick a stunning September birthstone for yourself or a loved one.

More about Sapphire Sapphire Buyer's Guide


Interested in exploring additional birthstones?