柘榴石质量要素


Placeholder Alt Text
柘榴石拥有广泛的各种尺寸、形状和颜色。
柘榴石是由多种不同矿物质组成的矿物群,因此外观差异巨大。 柘榴石买家需要了解的第一件事情就是各种各样柘榴石类型。

起初,柘榴石众多的类别让人扑朔迷离。 它有助于思考不同类型的石榴石的颜色。
 
颜色
镁铝榴石和铁铝榴石的颜色范围是从紫色到橙红色。 锰铝榴石有各种橙色,而钙铁榴石拥有黄色和黄绿色。 钙铝榴石也许是柘榴石种别中拥有最广泛的色彩范围,从无色至黄色至红橙色和红色到浓烈、充满活力的绿色。

产自美国弗吉尼亚州的锰铝榴石柘榴石
这些充满活力的锰铝榴石来自美国弗吉尼亚州,为收藏家另一个重要的历史来源。 - 约翰·布拉德肖的礼物
68.82 克拉沙弗莱石柘榴石
这颗沙弗莱石拥有迷人的绿色,重 68.82 克拉。 - New Era Gems 友情提供
3.20 克拉浓绿榴石柘榴石
这颗 3.20 克拉浓绿榴石的鲜绿色分外美丽。 事实上,这颗的颜色接近这个类别的最顶级的颜色。 这颗宝石镶嵌于一枚铂金戒指之中,周围镶有一圈小钻。 - A Touch of Color 友情提供
宝石学家和有色宝石经销商根据颜色将柘榴石种别细分出类别。 例如,浓绿榴石是钙铁榴石中亮绿色的类别,深受收藏家珍惜。 沙弗来石和金黄榴石都是钙铝榴石的类别。 沙弗莱石是绿色的,而金黄榴石范围从橙色至橙红色至褐红色。 镁铁榴石是紫红色类别。

8.72 克拉镁铝 — 铁铝榴石柘榴石
镁铁榴石是镁铝榴石-铁铝榴石的紫色类别。 像这颗 8.72 克拉的宝石非常耀眼。
净度
典型柘榴石的净度取决于柘榴石的类型。 例如,红色柘榴石铁铝榴石、镁铝榴石和镁铁榴石通常不含肉眼可见的内含物。 某些橙色柘榴石(如锰铝榴石和金黄榴石)通常有肉眼可见的内含物。

金黄榴石柘榴石
金黄榴石内部往往呈现出绚丽多姿的景象,被称为”狂乱情感“。 - © GIA & Tino Hammid,Gordon Bleck 友情提供
带马尾状内含物的浓绿榴石柘榴石
浓绿榴石可能有肉眼可见的内含物,称为马尾,可以提高它的价值。
钙铝榴石一般是半透明的,用它做成的凸圆型宝石、珠粒和雕刻品深受人们喜爱。

切工
许多柘榴石被切磨成标准形状和尺寸,以方便镶嵌于首饰中。 对于很多红色柘榴石而言,这一点尤为突出。 珍贵的柘榴石(比如优质的沙弗莱石)的切磨形状和样式以能够保留最多原石重量为前提。

各种形状及切工样式的柘榴石
柘榴石形状多种多样,切磨风格千变万化。
浓绿榴石通常按照精确的比例进行切割磨以展示最佳火彩。 设计师也很喜欢切割磨和雕刻柘榴石。 红色柘榴石是经典的切磨成凸圆面和珠粒的宝石材料。 它们通常具有很高的清晰度,非常透明。

克拉重量
柘榴石规格齐全、重量多样。 有些柘榴石,像浓绿榴石及沙弗来石,最常见的是小尺寸,所以尺寸越大,他们的价值上升越显著。 其他柘榴石(如铁铝榴石)尺寸较大者非常常见,因此,就算尺寸更大,其价值也不会显著上升。

Garnet Quality Factors

Garnet Quality Factors
Garnet comes in as wide a variety of sizes and shapes as it does colors.
Garnets are a group that includes a number of different minerals, so appearance can vary widely. The first thing a buyer of garnets needs to be aware of is the wide variety of garnet types.

At first, the sheer number of garnet varieties can seem bewildering. It helps to think of the different types of garnets in terms of color.
 
Color
Pyrope and almandine range in color from purple to orangy red. Spessartine is found in a variety of orange colors, while andradite comes in yellow and yellowish green. Grossular has perhaps the widest color range of any garnet species, from colorless through yellow to reddish orange and orangy red, to a strong, vibrant green.

Spessartine Garnets From the US State of Virginia
These vibrant spessartine garnets are from the US state of Virginia, another important historical source for collectors. - Gift of John Bradshaw
68.82 Carat Tsavorite Garnet
This tsavorite garnet has an appealing green color and is a 68.82-carat gem. - Courtesy New Era Gems
3.20 Carat Demantoid Garnet
This 3.20-carat demantoid garnet’s vivid green hue is exceptionally beautiful. In fact, it’s close to the top color for this variety. The gem is mounted in a platinum ring with diamond accents. - Courtesy A Touch of Color
Gemologists and colored stone dealers further subdivide some garnet species into varieties depending on color. For example, demantoid is a brilliant green variety of andradite that’s highly prized by collectors. Both tsavorite and hessonite are varieties of grossular. Tsavorites are green, while hessonite ranges from orange and orangy red to brownish red. Rhodolite is a purplish red variety.

8.72 Carat Pyrope-almandine Garnet
Rhodolite is the purplish variety of pyrope-almandine garnet. It can be spectacular, like this 8.72-carat gem.
Clarity
Typical garnet clarity depends on garnet type. For example, the red garnets almandine, pyrope, and rhodolite typically do not have eye-visible inclusions. Some of the orange garnets, like spessartine and hessonite, often have eye-visible inclusions.

Hessonite Garnet
Hessonite garnet often has a turbulent inner appearance called the roiled affect. - © GIA & Tino Hammid, courtesy Gordon Bleck
Demantoid Garnet with Horsetails
Demantoid might have eye-visible inclusions called horsetails that can raise its value.
Grossular is typically translucent, making it popular for cabochons, beads, and carvings.

Cut
Many garnets are cut into standard shapes and standard sizes to allow easy setting into jewelry. This is especially true of many red garnets. Expensive garnets like fine-quality tsavorite are cut into shapes and cutting styles that allow more of the weight to be retained from the rough.

Garnets in a Variety of Shapes and Cutting Styles
Garnets come in a variety of shapes and cutting styles.
Demantoid is often cut to exact proportions that allow the best possible display of its fire. Garnets are also popular for designer cuts and carvings. Red garnets are classic materials for cutting into cabochons and beads. They are commonly found to have high clarity and to be very transparent.

Carat Weight
Garnets can be found in all sizes and weights. Some garnets, like demantoid and tsavorite, are more commonly found in small sizes, so their value goes up significantly with size. Other garnets, like almandine, are far more common in larger sizes so there’s no dramatic rise in value as size increases.

Learn More About Garnet

Why We Love
Explore garnet history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Fall 2016 Edition
Learn more