蔷薇石英描述


蔷薇石英呈舒缓柔和的粉红色色调,深受宝石雕刻家和收藏家的青睐。 – Valerie Power,Arunashi 友情提供
蔷薇石英呈舒缓柔和的粉红色,深受宝石雕刻家和收藏家的青睐。 – Valerie Power,由 Arunashi 友情提供
人们可以接受一定量的沙子、泥土和灰尘,作为生活中普遍的成分。 他们可能不知道的是,这些物质大多是石英 — 地球上最常见的矿物之一。

有多种富有吸引力且众所周知的石英类别。 椭圆形宝石(从右边数第四个)即为蔷薇石英,这种石英是石英家族中较少的宝石之一。 – Robert Weldon
蔷薇石英是用作宝石材料的石英品种之一。 因其细腻的粉红色而得名,颜色范围介于非常浅的颜色(近乎于白色)到中度深色之间。 具有最吸引人的颜色的通常是大颗粒宝石;颜色漂亮的小颗粒蔷薇石英样本较稀缺。 发现的蔷薇石英通常体积较大,因此缺乏常规平整的晶面。 蔷薇石英通常出现在伟晶岩中,但是也存在于热液矿脉中。

研究表明,蔷薇石英之所以呈精致的粉红色是因为排列整齐的硅酸盐矿物纤维微小内含物。 高级测试表明,它们通常与矿物蓝线石较为相似,但不完全相同。 纤维在主宝石冷却过程中结晶,并沿着蔷薇石英的晶体方向排列。

蔷薇石英的矿物内含物赋予它柔和的粉红色。 这枚戒指是由一整块蔷薇石英雕刻而成。 - Eric Welch (埃里克·韦尔奇),由 Jana Miyahira-Smith(亚娜·米牙合拉-史密斯)友情提供
蔷薇石英珠饰、凸圆面和原石排列在商店的展示柜中,十分诱人。 – Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)
这种粉色宝石的内含物赋予宝石云雾状半透明的标志性外观,所有通常可切成珠饰和凸圆面。 有时,如果将成品宝石切磨成凸圆面并进行正确定向,那么内含物将产生六射星光。 精彩示例显示均匀的粉红色体色之上有鲜明清晰的星光浮动。 最透明的蔷薇石英原石可能进行刻面。 切割师可以通过应用凹刻面和切磨大尺寸宝石来强化宝石娇好的颜色。

这颗星光蔷薇石英被评为质量上乘,因为其颜色深,透明度高,星光清晰。 – Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)
精致的半透明的蔷薇石英激发了宝石雕刻师的优雅或奇特造型的灵感。 质量最上乘的蔷薇石英原石通常产自巴西。 其他产地包括印度、马达加斯加和斯里兰卡。

这头可爱的小猪出自 Gerd Dreher 之手,选用产自马达加斯加的蔷薇石英雕刻而成。 – Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登)
除典型云状蔷薇石英(由于内含物而呈现颜色)外,存在一种透明石英,这种石英由于不同的机制而呈现粉红色。 一些业内人士将其称为“粉红晶质石英”、“晶质蔷薇石英”,或简称“粉红石英”。相比于尺寸较大的蔷薇石英而言,这种石英非常罕见, 可能形成美丽透明的、簇状的、形状良好的晶体。 最佳的范例产自巴西,尤其是米纳斯吉拉斯州瓦拉达里斯州长市的 Galiléia 附近的矿床。 质量最佳的往往留作矿物标本,在拍卖会上可拍得高价。 2013 年,一款名为 La Madona Rosa (粉红圣母) 的精美绝伦的石英售价为 662,500 美元。 该标本的尺寸为 15.5×8 英寸(39×20 厘米),有一个类似人形的烟水晶核心,整件标本看似一个人被透明粉红色石英晶体构成的闪闪发光的光环环绕。

暴露在自然光下时,一些矿床的材料将会褪色,但是通过辐射可将颜色恢复。 俄罗斯晶体培育师对合成粉红色石英的研究已经发现致色机制,结果非常类似于天然材料。 培育师在培育透明的合成石英时加入铝和磷杂质,以使石英呈现粉红色。 一些上述杂质在石英晶格中取代了硅。 后续的辐射将形成色心,赋予晶体粉红色。

Rose Quartz Description

The soothing soft pink shades of rose quartz appeal to gem carvers and collectors. – Valerie Power, courtesy Arunashi
The soothing soft pink shades of rose quartz appeal to gem carvers and collectors. – Valerie Power, courtesy Arunashi
People accept a certain amount of sand, dirt, and dust as ordinary ingredients in their lives. What they might not be aware of is that those substances are mostly quartz, one of the most common minerals on earth.

There are many attractive and well-known quartz varieties. The oval gem—fourth from the right—is rose quartz, one of the less abundant gems in the quartz family. – Robert Weldon
Rose quartz is one of the many quartz varieties used as a gem material. It gets its name from its delicate pink color, which ranges from very light (almost white) to medium-dark. The most appealing color typically occurs in larger sizes, and small rose quartz specimens with good color tend to be rare. Rose quartz is always found in massive form, so it lacks regular, flat crystal faces. It’s typically found in pegmatites, but also occurs in hydrothermal veins.

Research has shown that rose quartz owes its delicate pink color to microscopic inclusions of aligned silicate mineral fibers. Advanced testing has shown that they’re generally similar—but not identical—to the mineral dumortierite. The fibers likely crystallized out as the host gem cooled, and they’re aligned according to the crystal directions of the rose quartz.

Rose quartz contains mineral inclusions that give it a soft pink color. This ring was carved from a single piece of rose quartz. - Eric Welch, courtesy Jana Miyahira-Smith
Rose quartz beads, cabochons, and rough make an enticing arrangement in a store’s display case. – Robert Weldon
This pastel gem’s inclusions give it a characteristic cloudy translucence, so it’s generally cut into beads and cabochons. Sometimes, the inclusions produce a six-rayed star if the fashioned gem is cabochon-cut and correctly oriented. Fine examples show a distinct, sharp, star floating above even pink bodycolor. The most transparent rose quartz rough might be faceted. Cutters can intensify the delicate color by applying concave facets and cutting gems in larger sizes.

This star rose quartz is considered fine quality because of its depth of color, degree of transparency, and sharply defined star. – Robert Weldon
The delicate translucence of rose quartz inspires gem carvers to create dainty or whimsical figures. The finest-quality rose quartz rough typically comes from Brazil. Other sources include India, Madagascar, and Sri Lanka.

This adorable piglet was carved by Gerd Dreher from rose quartz mined in Madagascar. – Robert Weldon
Besides the typical cloudy rose quartz, which is colored by inclusions, there’s a type of transparent quartz that owes its pink color to a different mechanism. Some in the trade call it “pink crystalline quartz,” “crystalline rose quartz,” or simply “pink quartz.” Compared to massive rose quartz, it’s exceptionally rare. It might occur as beautiful clusters of transparent, well-formed crystals. The finest examples are from Brazil, especially a deposit near Galiléia, located near Governador Valadares in the state of Minas Gerais. The best are often left as mineral specimens, which can command high prices at auction. In 2013, a superb example called La Madona Rosa (the Pink Madonna) sold for $662,500. This specimen measures 15.5 x 8 inches (39 x 20 cm) and features a core of smoky quartz that resembles a human form surrounded by a glittering halo of transparent pink quartz crystals.

Material from some of these deposits will fade when exposed to natural light, but its color can be restored by irradiation. Research by Russian crystal growers on synthetic pink quartz has demonstrated a color-causing mechanism, which can cause results very similar to the natural material. Growers produce pink color in transparent synthetic quartz by growing it with impurities of aluminum and phosphorous. Some of these impurities replace silicon in the quartz lattice. Subsequent irradiation produces color centers that give the crystal its pink color.

Learn More About Rose Quartz

Why We Love Rose Quartz
Explore rose quartz history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Learn More

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
G&G Winter 2016 Edition
Learn more