蛋白石保养与清洁指南


Placeholder Alt Text
蛋白石的莫氏硬度范围为 5 ~ 6.5。
硬度和韧度
莫氏硬度用以衡量宝石和矿物的硬度。 这些数字基于矿物可被其他物品划伤的相对难易程度得出。 但莫氏硬度容易产生误导。 不同矿物之间的等级差距并不相等。 举例来说,钻石仅比刚玉高一个等级,但其硬度却比刚玉坚硬许多倍。

蛋白石的硬度取决于其组成和形成条件,具有可变性。硬度范围为莫氏硬度 5 至 6.5。 它的韧性非常差,因此蛋白石适合制成珠宝首饰,但需小心佩戴以防宝石划伤或破裂。

稳定性
蛋白石总体上很稳定,但强烈的光热可能会导致裂缝线,称为“龟裂”。高温或温度突然变化会使蛋白石断裂。  蛋白石会被氢氟酸和腐蚀性碱溶液损坏。

处理
蛋白石可以被用油、蜡或塑料灌注;表面处理包括糖处理和烟熏处理。

清洁
清洁蛋白石唯一安全的方法是用温肥皂水。

蛋白石珠宝
保养得当,蛋白石可供您长久佩戴,乐享一生。 - Cody Opal 友情提供

Opal Care and Cleaning Guide

Mohs Scale
Opal can range from 5 to 6.5 on the Mohs hardness scale.
Hardness and toughness
Gem and mineral hardness is measured on the Mohs scale. The numbers are based on the relative ease or difficulty with which one mineral can be scratched by another. But the Mohs scale is deceptive. The steps between the minerals are not evenly spaced. For example, diamond is only one number away, but it’s many times harder than gems in the corundum family.

Opal hardness is variable depending on its exact composition and formation conditions, and ranges from 5 to 6.5 on the Mohs scale. Its toughness is very poor to fair, making opal a gem that is suitable for jewelry but requires care when wearing so as to not scratch or break the stone.

Stability
Opal is generally stable, but heat from intense light can cause fracture lines called “crazing.” High heat or sudden temperature changes can also cause opal to fracture.  Opal is attacked by hydrofluoric acid and caustic alkaline solutions.

Treatments
Opals can be treated by impregnation with oil, wax, or plastic, and by surface modifications called sugar treatment and smoke treatment.

Cleaning
The only safe way to clean opal is with warm, soapy water.

Opal Jewelry
With proper care, opal jewelry will provide years of enjoyment. - Courtesy Cody Opal


You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more