摩根石的历史和传说


Placeholder Alt Text
摩根石是为纪念美国金融家和宝石爱好者摩根(J.P. Morgan) 而命名的 摩根 - Corbis
1910 年在马达加斯加新产地发现蔷薇色绿柱石后,George Kunz 于 1910 年 12 月 5 日在纽约科学院会议上提议以摩根石进行命名,以表彰他的朋友和客户摩根(J.P. Morgan)对艺术和科学的经济支持,以及其向纽约的美国自然历史博物馆和巴黎的自然历史博物馆捐赠的重要宝石。  摩根是 20 世纪初最重要的宝石收藏家之一,他藏品中的一部分由蒂芙尼公司和首席宝石学家 Kunz 负责搜集。
 
Kunz 提到摩根石的一个有趣特性是暴露于 X 射线下时,会发出强烈的红色荧光,但当 X 射线源关闭时则不会呈现任何磷光。
 
1989 年 10 月 7 日发现了最大的摩根石标本之一。 该样本发现于缅因的班纳特采石场,其色调有点呈橙色,长约 23 厘米,宽约 30 厘米。 这块形态良好的晶体重量约超过 50 磅,被称为“缅因州玫瑰”。


矿工于 1911 年在马达加斯加发现第一块摩根石样本。 产自这些矿床的洋红色原石仍然为该宝石类别设定颜色标准。 此样品重约 12 盎司 (349 克)。 - Maha Tannous

Morganite History and Lore

Morganite was named to honor American financier and gem enthusiast J.P. Morgan. - Corbis
Following the discovery of a new locality for rose beryl in Madagascar in 1910, George Kunz proposed the name morganite at a meeting of the New York Academy of Sciences on 5 December 1910 to honor his friend and customer J.P. Morgan for his financial support for the arts and sciences, and his important gifts of gems to the American Museum of Natural History in New York and  to the Museum of Natural History in Paris.  Morgan was one of the most important gem collectors in the early 1900s – his collection was partly assembled by Tiffany and Company and their chief gemologist, Kunz.
 
One of the interesting properties of morganite noted by Kunz was its intense red-colored fluorescence when exposed to X-rays, but no phosphorescence when the X-ray source was turned off.
 
On October 7th, 1989, one of the largest specimens of Morganite was uncovered. It was found in the Bennet Quarry of Buckfield, Maine, and it was somewhat orangish in hue and about 23 cm long and 30 cm across. This well-formed crystal weighed in at just more than 50 pounds, and was called ‘The Rose of Maine’.


Miners discovered the first morganite specimens in Madagascar in 1911. Magenta-colored rough from those deposits still sets the color standard for the variety. This sample weighs about 12 oz. (349 g). - Maha Tannous

Learn More About Morganite

Why We Love Morganite
Explore morganite history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more