玉石描述


Placeholder Alt Text
硬玉,往往切为凸圆面,是价值最高和极具文化涵意的宝石之一。 - Mason-Kay Fine Jade Jewelry 友情提供
两种不同的宝石材料可以正确地称为玉。 硬玉就是其中之一,而另一种就是软玉。 二者实际上均是变质岩,由微小的交锁矿物晶体组合而成。 这些交锁晶体让两种宝石都变得异常坚硬。 硬玉有着丰富的魅力颜色:绿、黄、红橙色,再加上白色、灰色、黑色、褐色、淡紫色(通常是浅紫色或浅灰紫色)。 着色常为条纹或斑点,赋予硬玉宝石有趣的视觉纹理,雕刻师可以用来创建富有想象力的迷人效果。

颜色各异的硬玉
硬玉有多种颜色可供选择。 绿色是最有价值的。 - Mason-Kay Fine Jade Jewelry 友情提供
软玉在国际宝石与珠宝行业也被人认为是玉的一种。 从半透明到不透明,色调为浅至深的绿色、黄色、棕色、黑色、灰色或白色。 它的颜色往往比硬玉更柔和,而且常为斑点或条纹。

现代宝石学家将软玉和硬玉统称为“玉”。 这些宝石在历史长河中一直都有紧密联系。 事实上,玉一词也被应用在一些宝石和类似玉的装饰材料上,甚至是一些类似硬玉和软玉的 人造等价物上。

硬玉原石
毛坯硬玉通常为巨石的形状。 这块产自缅甸的原石重 23 吨。

Jade Description

Jadeite Jade
Jadeite jade, often cut as a cabochon, is one of the most valuable and culturally significant gemstones. - Courtesy Mason-Kay Fine Jade Jewelry
Two different gem materials can correctly be called jade. Jadeite is one of them, and the other is nephrite. Both are actually metamorphic rocks made up of tiny interlocking mineral crystals. These interlocking crystals make both gems exceptionally tough. Jadeite comes in a wide range of attractive colors: Many shades of green, yellow, and reddish orange, plus white, gray, black, brown, and lavender (often a light purple or light grayish violet color). The coloration is often streaked or mottled, giving jadeite gemstones an interesting visual texture that carvers can use to create imaginative and intriguing effects.

Jadeite Jade in a Variety of Colors
Jadeite jade comes in a variety of colors. Green is the most valuable. - Courtesy Mason-Kay Fine Jade Jewelry
Nephrite is also accepted as jade in the international gem and jewelry industry. It ranges from translucent to opaque and can be light to dark green, yellow, brown, black, gray, or white. Its colors tend to be more muted than jadeite’s, and they’re often mottled or streaked.

Modern gemologists use the word “jade” as a generic term for both nephrite and jadeite. These gems have been linked throughout history. In fact, the term jade has also been applied to a number of gems and ornamental materials that resemble jade, and even some manmade equivalents resembling jadeite and nephrite.

Rough Jadeite Jade
Rough jadeite jade often takes the form of boulders. This one from Myanmar weighs 23 metric tons.

Learn More About Jade

Why We Love Jade
Explore jade history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more