分析与分级

为何委托 GIA 进行宝石分级和分析?



房子有房产证, 汽车有车牌和登记信息。 购买宝石之类的贵重物品理所当然也应有类似的文件。

GIA 的证书便是对宝石特性和品质特征的专家鉴定。 GIA 证书不是对经济价值的评估,而是对宝石品质的保证,明确说明其材质是否经过合成或是否使用了处理手段来进行优化或改变外观。 该证书能够为有信心地购买宝石或珠宝提供至关重要的证明。

作为非营利的公益性研究和教育机构,GIA 是评估宝石品质和提供公正信息的独立、公正的实体。 我们不出售宝石,我们也不代表宝石卖家的利益。

世界各地的人们在鉴定和评估宝石材料时都依赖 GIA。

部分原因如下:

研究 — GIA 拥有世界上最全面的宝石学研究课程、现代科学仪器、琳琅满目的宝石材料,以及拥有学术培训和宝石测试经验的工作人员。 80 多年来,GIA 的研究人员已对宝石的科学属性进行了研究,开发出鉴定天然、合成和经处理宝石的新方法。  这些研究的结果均已收录至 GIA 教材之中,并发表于专业期刊上。 他们向我们传授在鉴定所里使用的分级和分析方法。

检测 — 我们的鉴定所每年检测两百多万颗钻石、有色宝石和珍珠。 我们收集的数据为我们奠定了基础,使我们能够检测进入市场的新宝石材料。

标准 — GIA 开发和维护用于评估钻石、有色宝石和珍珠的方法与最佳实践。 作为 4C 标准和 GIA 国际钻石分级系统™的创立者,我们确定了描述 D 到 Z 彩色钻石品质的通用表达。 我们还开发了彩色钻石的评估术语和方法,以及天然珍珠和养殖珍珠的分级标准,即珍珠价值 7 要素 ( 7 Pearl Value Factors)™。

仪器仪表 — 检测当今日益复杂的合成及处理宝石需要使用非常先进的科学仪器进行检查。 GIA 鉴定所配备强大的分析工具,这些工具只有一流的大学和国家实验室中才具备。  该设备可以让我们以高倍放大率检测材料,以记录宝石学性质、化学组成、光谱特性及其他特征。

准确性和一致性 — 每个 GIA 鉴定所都依据一套相同的标准程序和原则出具证书,以确保每份宝石鉴定或分级证书的客观性和准确性。 研究人员、训练有素的工作人员、最先进的安全和监控功能,以及一套最佳实践都是这些原则的有力支柱。

全球数据库 — 宝石分级和鉴定记录存档于内容广泛的全球数据库中,以供正在进行的研究和将来参考使用。 这些信息使得 GIA 能够识别先前提交给我们进行检验的物品,并能协助世界各地的执法部门追回失窃物品。 

GIA 著名钻石分级 — 我们受委托对世界上最著名的若干颗钻石进行过分级,包括希望之钻(45.52 克拉)、斯坦梅茨粉红钻石(59.60 克拉)、泰勒波顿之钻(69.42 克拉)、欧那特黄钻(101.29 克拉)、戴比尔斯千禧之星(203.04 克拉)、世纪之星(273.85 克拉)和无与伦比之钻(407.48 克拉)。

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Analysis & Grading

Why Turn to GIA for Gem Grading and Analysis?



Houses have deeds. Vehicles have titles and registrations. It only makes sense that you have similar documentation for something as precious as a gem purchase.

A report from GIA is an expert statement of a gem’s identity and quality characteristics. A GIA report isn’t an appraisal of financial value; it’s is your assurance of your gemstone’s quality, with clear disclosure if the material is synthetic or if it has been treated to enhance or alter its appearance. The report provides the kind of evidence that is vital to a confident gem or jewelry purchase.

A nonprofit, public benefit research and educational institution, GIA is as an independent and impartial entity for evaluating the quality of gems and delivering unbiased information on them. We do not sell gemstones, nor do we represent the interests of gem sellers.

People from all over the world rely on GIA when it comes to identifying and evaluating gem materials.

Here are some reasons why:

Research - GIA has the world’s most comprehensive gemological research program; a staff with academic training and gem-testing experience; modern scientific instrumentation; and a superb collection of gem materials. For more than 80 years, GIA researchers have studied the scientific properties of gems to develop new methods of identifying natural, synthetic and treated gems.  Results of these studies are incorporated into GIA educational materials and are published in professional journals. And they inform the grading and analytical methods we use in our laboratories.

Detection - Our laboratories examine more than two million diamonds, colored stones, and pearls each year. The data we collect forms the basis of our ability to detect new gem materials entering the marketplace.

Standards - GIA developed and maintains the methods and best practices for evaluating diamonds, colored stones and pearls. As creator of the 4Cs and the GIA International Diamond Grading System™, we established the common language for describing the quality of D-to-Z color diamonds. We also developed the terminology and methodology for evaluating colored diamonds, and the classification standard for natural and cultured pearls  - the 7 Pearl Value Factors™.

Instrumentation - Detecting today’s increasingly sophisticated synthetic and treated gems require examination using highly advanced scientific instruments. GIA laboratories are equipped with powerful analytical tools similar to what can be found only at leading universities and national laboratories.  This equipment allows us to examine material at high magnification in order to document gemological properties, chemical composition, spectral features, and other characteristics.

Accuracy and Consistency - Every GIA laboratory operates under the same set of standard procedures and principles designed to ensure the objectivity and accuracy of every gem identification or grading report issued. These tenets are supported by research, highly trained staff, state-of-the-art security and monitoring features, and a suite of best-practices.

Global Database - Gem grading and identification records are archived in an extensive global database for ongoing study and future reference. This information gives GIA the ability to identify items that have been submitted to us previously for examination, and to assist law enforcement agencies from around the world in the recovery of stolen goods. 

Famous Diamonds Graded by GIA - We’ve been entrusted with grading some of the world’s most famous diamonds,including the Hope (45.52 carats), the Steinmetz Pink (59.60 carats), the Taylor-Burton (69.42 carats), the Allnatt (101.29 carats), the De Beers Millennium Star (203.04 carats), the Centenary (273.85 carats), and the Incomparable (407.48 carats).

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Spring 2017 Edition
Learn more