大而罕见的钻石揭示地幔的内在活动


这是文章“来自于地球深层地幔中金属液体的宝石级大钻石”的扩展摘要,发表于2016年12月16日的《科学》 期刊。 GIA 博士后研究员Evan Smith(埃文·史密斯)博士是整篇文章的主要作者。

大而卓越的宝石级钻石,像著名的 Cullinan(库利南,非洲之星)或 Lesotho Promise (莱索托诺言)往往有一套独特的物理特征,以区别于其他种类的钻石(图1)。 其最显著的特征之一是低氮浓度,将这些钻石规类为 II 型,尽管不是所有 II 型钻石都必须属于该类别。 《科学》期刊发表的新研究揭示,这些类似Cullinan(库利南,非洲之星)的宝石,被称为“CLIPPIR”钻石,告诉我们一些关于深层地球的不寻常的东西。

图1:来自 Letseng 矿,莱索托的 CLIPPIR 钻石原石,例证了大尺寸(图中 14 至 91 克拉)、不规则形状和熔蚀表面。 摄影:Robert Weldon / GIA; 样品由 Gem Diamonds 有限公司友情提供。

新的发现表明, CLIPPIR 钻石可能生长于地球深层地幔中的金属液体1。 这种铁镍金属是由深层地幔中的高压矿物产生和稳定的2,3。 虽然在地幔的这些区域中金属的含量可能约为1%或更少,但它被认为会调节和限制氧的可用性。 氧的分布和可用性是控制地球大规模地质演化的关键参数之一4

这个发现是基于内含物。 如文章1所述, CLIPPIR 钻石倾向于具有很少的内含物,特别是在切磨之后,但有时它们会包含很小的金属内含物(图2)。 金属内含物与少量的液态甲烷和氢共存。 除了金属内含物,一些 CLIPPIR 钻石包含可用来限制其原始深度的矿物内含物。 这些内含物显示在极端深度形成的钻石,可能在对流地幔的360-750公里内。 这比在大陆构造板块的下部150-200公里深度形成的大多数其他宝石级钻石深得多。 这种对 CLIPPIR 钻石的新解释解决了钻石形成研究中的一个主要谜题 - 世界上最好和最大的钻石如何形成。

图2:含有金属内含物的经过切磨的 CLIPPIR 钻石(左)。 金属内含物(右)外观为银色并且具有从其延伸的黑色石墨裂纹。

这些大钻石中的内含物给了我们答案。 金属内含物是铁、镍、碳和硫的固化混合物,在金属相和周围钻石之间的薄的微小空间中也含有微量的液态甲烷和氢。1 最初,这种混合物是地球深层地幔中更大量的熔融金属液体,钻石正是由其中的纯碳结晶而形成。 这种金属液体的小液滴在钻石生长过程中不时被捕获在钻石中。 在切磨过程中,包含内含物的钻石部分经常被修剪或抛光掉以制造具有极小缺陷的精美宝石。 这些被切割掉的废钻石碎片通常不会用于研究,但是我们经过特别努力获得这些碎片用以学习该研究中的内含物。 钻石是研究地球深层的最有价值的科学工具之一,否则这将是一个完全无法进入的隐藏在构造板块之下我们视线之外的区域。

先前的实验和理论已经预测多年,深层地幔下约250公里深度的部分含有少量的金属铁并且具有有限的可用氧2。 现在, CLIPPIR 钻石中的金属内含物及其周围的甲烷和氢夹层提供了一致的系统物理证据来支持这种预测。 虽然金属分布的程度是不确定的,但这是对我们理解地球的关键观察,并且对深层地球的行为具有广泛的影响,包括将表面岩石再循环到对流地幔中,以及碳和氢通过地质时间在地幔中的深层存储和循环。

访问全文(适用于美国科学促进会成员)

Smith, E. M. et al. Large gem diamonds from metallic liquid in Earth's deep mantle. Science in press, doi:10.1126/science.aal1303 (2016).

Frost, D. J. et al. Experimental evidence for the existence of iron-rich metal in the Earth's lower mantle. Nature 428, 409-412, doi:10.1038/nature02413 (2004).

Rohrbach, A. et al. Metal saturation in the upper mantle. Nature 449, 456-458, doi:10.1038/nature06183 (2007).

Rohrbach, A. & Schmidt, M. W. Redox freezing and melting in the Earth's deep mantle resulting from carbon-iron redox coupling. Nature 472, 209-212, doi:10.1038/nature09899 (2011).

Large, Rare Diamonds Reveal the Inner Workings of Earth’s Mantle

GIA
December 16, 2016

This is an extended abstract of the article ‘Large Gem Diamonds From Metallic Liquid in Earth’s Deep Mantle,’ published on December 16, 2016 in Science magazine. GIA Postdoctoral Research Fellow Evan Smith is the lead author of the article.

Large and exceptional gem diamonds like the famous Cullinan or Lesotho Promise tend to have a set of physical characteristics that distinguish them from other kinds of diamonds (fig 1). One of the most noted characteristics is a low nitrogen concentration, such that these diamonds are predominantly type II, although not all type II diamonds necessarily belong to this family. New research published in Science reveals that these Cullinan-like gems, dubbed "CLIPPIR" diamonds, tell us something remarkable about the deep earth1.

Figure 1: Rough CLIPPIR diamonds, from the Letseng mine, Lesotho, exemplifying large size (14 to 91 carats here), irregular shape and resorbed surfaces. Photo by Robert Weldon/GIA; courtesy of Gem Diamonds Ltd.

The new findings show that CLIPPIR diamonds may have grown from a metallic liquid in Earth’s deep mantle1. This iron-nickel metal is created and stabilized by the high pressure minerals in the deep mantle2,3. Although the amount of metal in these regions of the mantle is likely about 1% or less, it is expected to regulate and limit the availability of oxygen. The distribution and availability of oxygen is one of the key parameters governing the large-scale geologic evolution of the Earth4.

This discovery is based on inclusions. As explained in the article1, CLIPPIR diamonds tend to have few inclusions, especially in their cut and polished state, but sometimes they have small metallic inclusions trapped within them (fig 2). The metallic inclusions coexist with traces of fluid methane and hydrogen. In addition to the metallic inclusions, some CLIPPIR diamonds contain mineral inclusions that constrain the depth of origin. These inclusions show the diamonds formed at extreme depths, likely within 360–750 km in the convecting mantle. This is much deeper than most other gem diamonds, which form in the lower part of continental tectonic plates at depths of 150–200 km. This new explanation for CLIPPIR diamonds resolves one of the major enigmas in the study of diamond formation—how the world’s very best and biggest diamonds formed.

Figure 2: Polished CLIPPIR diamond (left) containing metallic inclusions. The metallic inclusions (right) are silvery in appearance and have black graphitic cracks extending from them.

The composition of the inclusions provides the story. The metallic inclusions are a solidified mixture of iron, nickel, carbon, and sulfur, also containing traces of fluid methane and hydrogen in the thin tiny space between the metallic phases and the encasing diamond1. Originally, this mix was a larger mass of molten metallic liquid in Earth’s deep mantle, from which the pure carbon crystallized to form diamonds. Small droplets of this metallic liquid were occasionally trapped within the diamonds as they grew. During cutting and polishing, parts of the diamond that contain inclusions are often trimmed off or polished away to craft exquisite gems with minimal flaws. These offcut waste diamond pieces are not normally made available for research, but a special effort was made to obtain offcuts study the inclusions in this investigation. Diamonds are one of the most valuable scientific tools for studying the deep Earth, which is otherwise completely inaccessible and hidden from our view beneath the tectonic plates.

Previous experiments and theory have predicted for many years that parts of the deep mantle below about 250 km depth contain small amounts of metallic iron and have limited available oxygen2. Now, the metallic inclusions and their surrounding methane and hydrogen jackets in CLIPPIR diamonds provide consistent, systematic physical evidence to support this prediction. Though the extent of metal distribution is uncertain, this is a key observation for our understanding of the Earth and has broad implications for the behavior of the deep Earth, including the recycling of surface rocks into the convecting mantle, and the deep storage and cycling of carbon and hydrogen in the mantle through geologic time.

Through an arrangement with Science magazine, visitors to GIA.edu can access the full text of the article ‘Large Gem Diamonds From Metallic Liquid in Earth’s Deep Mantle’ from this webpage.

View abstract
View reprint
View full text

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Fall 2017 Edition
Learn more