生日石

三月生日石

Shadow

三月的两种生日石海蓝宝石和血石在外观上有着很大的差异,但在庇佑人们幸福安康这方面,二者都享有盛誉。海蓝宝石生日石让人想起大海的颜色。从深绿-蓝到弱绿蓝色的色彩,刻面海蓝宝石通常没有内含物,如水般清澈,象征着精神和灵魂的纯净。血石生日石通常为深绿色凸圆面,含有氧化铁的红色斑点,那是为佩戴者带来健康和力量的“血”。 继续阅读,了解关于这两种三月生日石的更多信息(意义及产地)。

海蓝宝石生日石

海蓝宝石生日石的意义和历史

海蓝宝石的名字来自拉丁文的海水。古代海员称该宝石可以让海面风平浪静,保证水手在海上的安全。这种三月生日石也被认为能够让婚姻幸福。人们认为,在战斗和诉讼过程中佩戴绿柱石可以抵御敌人。人们还认为佩戴绿柱石能使人不可战胜,和蔼可亲,并且更加机智。
 
海蓝宝石不仅是三月生日石,也是 19 周年结婚纪念日的礼物。说到著名的海蓝宝石,不得不提以下这一颗:1936 年,巴西政府赠予第一夫人 Eleanor Roosevelt(埃莉诺·罗斯福)一颗深蓝色的矩形阶梯式切磨海蓝宝石,重达 1298 克拉。一颗重达 2.9 磅(1.3 公斤)的惊人海蓝宝石原石被分成两颗刻面宝石,前述的那颗海蓝宝石便是其中较大的那一颗。如今,它被收藏于纽约海德公园的富兰克林·罗斯福总统图书馆和博物馆里。重达 10,363 克拉(约 4.6 磅)的多姆·佩德罗(Dom Pedro)海蓝宝石是史密森尼学会的一件著名展品,被认为是全世界最大的刻面海蓝宝石。这颗近乎 14 英寸(36 厘米)高的方尖碑由备受赞誉的德国宝石匠贝恩德·明斯特因纳 (Berndt Munsteiner) 运用幻象式切磨技巧雕刻而成。

 

1936 年,巴西政府将这颗重达 1298 克拉的矩形阶梯式切磨海蓝宝石赠予埃莉诺·罗斯福 (Eleanor Roosevelt),当时她和罗斯福总统正在访问里约热内卢。由纽约海德公园富兰克林·罗斯福总统图书馆和博物馆 (Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum) 友情提供
1936 年,巴西政府将这颗重达 1298 克拉的矩形阶梯式切磨海蓝宝石赠予埃莉诺·罗斯福 (Eleanor Roosevelt),当时她和罗斯福总统正在访问里约热内卢。由纽约海德公园富兰克林·罗斯福总统图书馆和博物馆 (Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum) 友情提供

海蓝宝石产自哪里?

在过去的两个世纪,巴西米纳斯吉拉斯州一直是海蓝宝石的重要产地。在那里旅游,您会发现不断变化的全景景观:中央和东部地区遍布岩石山丘、河流和矮树丛;西部的大草原、森林和溪流纵横交错;郁郁葱葱的青山向南延绵。人们在米纳斯吉拉斯州东部(特奥菲卢奥托尼的宝石中心附近)的原生(硬质岩石)和次生(风化)伟晶岩矿床发现了海蓝宝石。
 
人们还在巴基斯坦的喀喇昆仑山麓的高处发现了海蓝宝石。为了到达矿床,矿工们必须爬上海拔 9800 至 13,000 多英尺(3000 至 4000 多米)的陡峭山路,并在险峻的悬崖边上作业。 这个荒凉的岩石世界下面是肥沃的峡谷、湍急的河流和小镇。产自这个地区的海蓝宝石被形容为“水般清澈”。
 

沿着陡峭山坡的一个狭小开口(位于最左侧)是通往海蓝宝石矿的入口。巴基斯坦的 Shigar 山谷蕴含丰富的宝石矿藏,它位于雄伟的喀喇昆仑山脉的山麓之间。摄影:文森特·珀迪乌 (Vincent Pardieu)/GIA
沿着陡峭山坡的一个狭小开口(位于最左侧)是通往海蓝宝石矿的入口。巴基斯坦的 Shigar 山谷蕴含丰富的宝石矿藏,它位于雄伟的喀喇昆仑山脉的山麓之间。摄影:文森特·珀迪乌 (Vincent Pardieu)/GIA


海蓝宝石生日石还开采自肯尼亚、马达加斯加、尼日利亚、赞比亚和莫桑比克,以及非洲的其他地区。美国产地包括科罗拉多州的 Mount Antero 地区(作为州宝石)和加利福尼亚州的河滨县和圣迭哥县。此外,在中国、缅甸、俄罗斯和乌克兰等国家也发现了海蓝宝石。

海蓝宝石生日石的保养与清洁

这种三月生日石的莫氏硬度为 7.5 — 8,坚硬耐磨,适合日常佩带。海蓝宝石的保养非常简单。使用温水、温和的肥皂和牙刷,擦洗容易集纳污垢的生日石背面。 超声波清洗机和蒸汽清洗通常是安全的方法,只要宝石内不含断裂或液体内含物。

 

这颗 10.06 克拉的梨形海蓝宝石四周围绕着 72 颗圆形钻石(0.35 克拉),用铂金镶嵌。由奥米·普莱奥 (Omi Privé) 友情提供
这颗 10.06 克拉的梨形海蓝宝石四周围绕着 72 颗圆形钻石(0.35 克拉),用铂金镶嵌。由奥米·普莱奥 (Omi Privé) 友情提供
更多关于海蓝宝石的信息 海蓝宝石买家指南


血石生日石

 

血石生日石的意义和历史

血石,又称太阳石,是石髓的类别(潜晶质石英),是含有氧化铁(尤其是赤铁矿)红色内含物的、通常为次半透明至不透明的深绿色碧玉。 血石的另一个名称太阳石 (heliotrope) 源自古希腊词语,意思是“面向太阳”。在古代,人们认为如果把这些三月生日石放在水中,它们就会让太阳变红。血石这个名字来源于一些人的信仰,他们认为这种色型具有宗教意义,代表了基督的血液。

这种三月生日石还被赋予了一些形而上学的特性。包括增强力量,获得隐形能力,保持健康和青春。在现代,许多人认为血石生日石是一种幸运符,因为运动员和其他希望增强自身力量的人对这种宝石赞赏有加。即使在今天的印度,优质血石也可能会被碾碎成粉末,用作催情药。

虽然血石没有海蓝宝石三月生日石那么美,但其特殊属性却得到许多人的褒奖。用作宝石的血石通常被切磨成凸圆面宝石,尽管也有些非常惊艳的刻面宝石。

 

来自罗马帝国的九十颗雕刻宝石、浮雕和垂饰之一。由盖蒂博物馆 (The J. Paul Getty Museum) 友情提供
来自罗马帝国的九十颗雕刻宝石、浮雕和垂饰之一。由盖蒂博物馆 (The J. Paul Getty Museum) 友情提供

血石产自哪里?

当今市场上的大部分血石产自印度。然而,巴西、澳大利亚、中国和美国等国家也出产血石。血石可以在其他岩石的填充裂缝或孔洞内发现,或作为河床上的鹅卵石存在。
 

产自亚洲的血石板。
产自亚洲的血石板。

血石生日石的保养与清洁

您可以在家使用温热的肥皂水和柔软的刷子轻松清洗您的血石生日石。让您的血石远离刺激性化学物质和高温,这一点非常重要。用干净柔软的布擦干这块三月生日石。为了防止刮伤宝石(莫氏硬度为 6.5 — 7),应该将您的血石生日石放在柔软的布料中,这一点很重要。
 

一条罕见的 Antonio Pineda 墨西哥银质血石手链,1953 年左右产自墨西哥塔克斯科。手链采用了包边镶嵌的宝石,细棒和圆球重叠相连,并用方形搭扣和链节固定。由遗产拍卖行友情提供
一条罕见的 Antonio Pineda 墨西哥银质血石手链,1953 年左右产自墨西哥塔克斯科。手链采用了包边镶嵌的宝石,细棒和圆球重叠相连,并用方形搭扣和链节固定。由遗产拍卖行友情提供


出生于三月?双鱼座白羊座是您的星座。珠宝设计师设计了一些创意作品,我们搜罗了一些供您欣赏。作为三月生日石的海蓝宝石和血石十全十美:美丽、富有传说色彩、经久耐用。现在,您已经知道如何挑选一颗血石,为您的珠宝盒增添一件珍藏品。




有兴趣探索其他生日石吗?

BIRTHSTONES

March Birthstone

Shadow

Aquamarine and bloodstone, March’s two birthstones, are very different when it comes to appearance, but they share a similar reputation for protecting one’s well-being. The aquamarine birthstone evokes the colors of the sea. From deep green-blue to light, slightly greenish blue hues, faceted aquamarines are often free from inclusions and as clear as water, symbolizing purity of spirit and soul. The bloodstone birthstone is typically a dark-green cabochon that contains red spots of iron oxide, the “blood” that brings health and strength to the wearer. Read on to learn more about these two March birthstones – what they mean and where they can be found.

Aquamarine Birthstone

Aquamarine Birthstone Meaning & History

Aquamarine’s name comes from the Latin for seawater, and ancient mariners claimed the gem would calm waves and keep sailors safe at sea. This March birthstone was also thought to bring happiness in marriage. Beryl was believed to give the wearer protection against foes in battle and litigation. It was also thought to make the wearer unconquerable and amiable, and to quicken the intellect.
 
Aquamarine is not only the birthstone for March, but the gem is also given as a present on the 19th wedding anniversary. As for famous ones, in 1936 the government of Brazil gave First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt a dark blue rectangular step cut aquamarine that weighed 1,298 carats (ct). It was the larger of two stones faceted from a piece of aquamarine rough that itself weighed an impressive 2.9 pounds (1.3 kilograms). It is now housed at the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum in Hyde Park, New York. A celebrated attraction at the Smithsonian Institution is the 10,363 ct (about 4.6 pounds) Dom Pedro Aquamarine – believed to be the largest faceted aquamarine in the world. The approximately 14 inch (36 centimeter) high obelisk was fashioned by acclaimed German lapidary Berndt Munsteiner using the fantasy cut technique.

 

The 1,298 carat rectangular step-cut aquamarine in art deco box gifted to Eleanor Roosevelt from the government of Brazil in 1936 is one of the largest April birthstones.
The government of Brazil gave this 1,298 ct rectangular step cut aquamarine to Eleanor Roosevelt when she and President Roosevelt visited Rio de Janeiro in 1936. Courtesy: The Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, Hyde Park, New York

Where is Aquamarine Found?

The Brazilian state of Minas Gerais has been an important source of aquamarine for the past two centuries. Travel there and you’ll find a changing panorama of landscapes: rocky hills, rivers and scrub brush dominate the central and eastern regions; savannahs, forests and streams checker the west; and lush green hills roll southward. Aquamarines are found in primary (hard rock) and secondary (weathered) pegmatite deposits in the eastern portion of the state, near the gem center of Teófilo Otoni.
 
Aquamarine is also found high in the Karakorum foothills of Pakistan. To reach the deposits, miners must climb steep paths to elevations of 9,800 to 13,000+ feet (3,000 to more than 4,000 meters) and work the sides of forbidding cliffs. Below this inhospitable rocky world lie fertile valleys, rushing rivers and small towns. Aquamarine from this area has been described as “water clear.”
 

Landscape of Pakistan’s Shigar Valley between steep mountains where the March birthstone aquamarine mines are found.
A sliver of an opening (on the far left) along this steep mountainside is the entrance to an aquamarine mine. Pakistan’s gem-rich Shigar Valley lies between foothills of the majestic Karakoram range. Photo: Vincent Pardieu/GIA


Aquamarine birthstones are also mined in Kenya, Madagascar, Nigeria, Zambia and Mozambique, as well as elsewhere in Africa. U.S. sources include the Mount Antero area of Colorado (it’s the state gem) and California’s Riverside and San Diego counties. In addition, aquamarine has been found in China, Myanmar, Russia and Ukraine, among other countries.

Aquamarine Birthstone Care & Cleaning

With a hardness of 7.5–8 on the Mohs scale, this March birthstone is durable enough for everyday wear. Caring for the gem is easy. Use warm water, mild dish soap and a toothbrush to scrub behind the birthstone where dirt can collect. Ultrasonic cleaners and steam cleaning are usually safe options as long as there are no fractures or liquid inclusions in the gem.

 

The March birthstone is the focal point of this necklace with a 10.06 carat pear shaped aquamarine surrounded by 72 round diamonds set in platinum.
This 10.06 ct pear shaped aquamarine is surrounded by 72 round diamonds (0.35 carats) that are set in platinum. Courtesy: Omi Privé
More about Aquamarine Aquamarine Buyer's Guide


Bloodstone Birthstone

 

Bloodstone Birthstone Meaning & History

Bloodstone, also known as heliotrope, is a variety of chalcedony (cryptocrystalline quartz) that is traditionally semi-translucent to opaque dark green jasper with red inclusions of iron oxides, especially hematite. Bloodstone’s alternate name heliotrope comes from the ancient Greek word that means “to turn the sun.” In ancient times, these March birthstones were believed to turn the sun red if they were placed in water. The name bloodstone derives from the belief by some that the color pattern has religious significance, representing the blood of Christ.

Several metaphysical properties have been attributed to this March birthstone. They  include increasing strength, giving invisibility, and preserving health and youth. In modern times, many believe the bloodstone birthstone to be a lucky charm, as it is prized by athletes and others who want to grow their strength. Even today in India, fine bloodstones may be crushed into a powder and used as an aphrodisiac.

Although bloodstone does not share the same beauty as the aquamarine March birthstone, many prize bloodstone for its special properties. Bloodstones used as gems are typically cut as cabochons, though some striking examples are faceted.

 

An engraved bullae bloodstone cameo from the Roman Empire features the March birthstone.
One of the ninety engraved gems, cameos and bullae from the Roman Empire. Courtesy: The J. Paul Getty Museum

Where is Bloodstone Found?

Most bloodstone in the marketplace today is from India. However, the bloodstone birthstone also comes from parts of Brazil, Australia, China and the United States, among other countries. Bloodstone can be found filling filling fractures or cavities in other rocks or as pebbles in riverbeds.
 

A giant slab of the March birthstone, bloodstone, is green with red, yellow, and white spots.
Slab of bloodstone from Asia.

Bloodstone Birthstone Care & Cleaning

Your bloodstone birthstone can be easily cleaned at home with warm soapy water and a soft brush. It is important to keep your bloodstone away from harsh chemicals and extremely hot temperatures. Dry off this March birthstone with a clean, soft cloth. To keep the stone from getting scratched (it’s 6.5–7 on the Mohs scale), it is important to store your bloodstone birthstone in a soft fabric.
 

A rare Mexican silver bracelet featuring the March birthstone has bezel set bloodstones in silver, bar and ball overlay links, and is secured with a box clasp and chain.
A rare Antonio Pineda Mexican silver and bloodstone bracelet from Taxco, Mexico, circa 1953. The bracelet has bezel set bloodstones, bar and ball overlay links and is secured with box clasp and chain. Courtesy: Heritage Auctions


Born in March? Pisces and Aries are your zodiac signs. Jewelry designers have fashioned some creative pieces, and we’ve found ones for you to enjoy. The March birthstones aquamarine and bloodstone have it all: They are beautiful, rich in lore and exceptionally wearable. Now you know how to pick one that will become a cherished addition to your jewelry wardrobe.




Interested in exploring additional birthstones?