使用条款



GIA 网站的用户协议及免责声明

最后更新时间:2015 年 4 月 3 日

 

跳转至:

法律通知、免责声明和使用条款
免责声明
宝石学免责声明
链接到 GIA
GIA 网站材料的使用
GIA 社交媒体行为规范
认可
GIA 网站控制
其他
版权和商标声明
许可和意见提交
责任限制

 

法律通知、免责声明和使用条款

本网站及其在 “gia.edu” 网域中的主页(简称“网站”)是美国宝石研究院(简称 “GIA”)免费向互联网用户提供的信息服务,前提条件是这些用户必须同意遵守本《用户协议》中规定的条款和条件。 GIA 保留随时更改这些条款和条件的权利。 您必须在每次查看网站时参考本《用户协议》的最近版本(而不是较旧的缓存版本)。 对本网站的访问和使用须服从这些条款和条件的约束。 请仔细阅读这些条款和条件,因为使用本网站即表明您同意这些条款和条件。

免责声明

您确认,网站上提供的服务、信息或数据(统称“信息”)“按原样”提供,仅供一般参考。 GIA 对本网站不做任何类型的保证,包括但不限于对准确性、完整性、时效性、可靠性、默示适销性或具体用途的默示适用性的任何保证,或有关这些网页或提供这些网页的服务器不含病毒或其他有害元素的任何保证。 GIA 不做任何担保、表示或保证,出于任何原因,可以依赖这些信息、信息将不中断或无错误或者能够纠正任何缺陷。 本协议明确免除所有保证,包括对适销性、非侵权的默示保证和对具体用途的适用性的默示保证。 GIA 绝不承担与信息有关的任何责任,包括但不限于 GIA 网站上的信息或信息的缺乏对您的电脑硬件、数据、信息、资料和业务造成的损害的任何责任。 您同意对于以下各项,GIA 不负任何法律责任:(1) 在信息的取得、整理或交付过程中全部或部分由其行动、遗漏或疏忽或不受其控制的意外导致的任何损失或伤害;(2) 信息中无论什么原因导致的任何错误、遗漏或不准确之处,或信息交付的延迟或中断;或 (3) 依赖信息做出的任何决策或采取或者未采取的任何决策。

您同意您将免除 GIA 及其控制人、高管、主管和员工承担您对本网站(或本网站内或其链接到的其他网站中所含的信息)的访问或使用(或无法访问或使用)而导致或与其相关的所有索赔的损失,包括但不限于有关您发现从本网站或其链接到的其他网站收听、查看或下载的内容淫秽、令人不快、涉嫌诽谤或侵犯您的知识产权的索赔。 在任何情况下,GIA 或本网站的信息提供者均对您依赖此类信息制定的任何决策、采取的任何行动,而对您或任何其他人产生的任何后果、特殊或类似的损害不承担任何责任,即使 GIA 或信息提供者已被告知可能发生此类损害。

您确认,本网站中包含的意见和建议不一定是 GIA 或 GIA 认可的意见和建议。

宝石学信息免责声明

通过 GIA 网站提供的信息(包括但不限于留言板、文本文件、聊天室或社交媒体)不应取代受过培训的珠宝商或宝石学家在有关任何特定宝石或珠宝首饰方面的服务,或替代他们有关珠宝价值或其他商业评估的建议。 建议用户在购买任何特定宝石或珠宝首饰件之前咨询受过培训的珠宝商或宝石学家。

链接到 GIA

如果您同意下述链接条件,则您可以在其他网站上提供指向本网站的链接。 建立指向 GIA 网站的链接即表明您同意以下链接条件:

  1. 该链接由超文本链接组成,或者使用了链接按钮(带有 GIA 提供的图像和文本);
  2. 您确认 GIA 随时可能会修改图像和文本;
  3. 除了为提供指向 GIA 网站的链接而在您的网站上使用链接按钮的有限、非独家、不可转让、免版税的许可外,您确认并同意 (i) GIA 的商标、名称和链接按钮(包括但不限于熟悉的 “GIA” 标志和“GIA trio 徽标”(统称“标志”))、GIA 的网站及其内容仍然是 GIA 的专有财产;(ii) 这些条件中的任何内容均不赋予您对标志、链接按钮或 GIA 网站的所有权;(iii) 您现在和将来均不得质疑标志的有效性;(iv) 您不得采取任何有损于与标志、链接按钮或 GIA 形象和信誉相关联的价值和商誉的行动;(v) 您不得以任何可能具有误导性的方式使用链接按钮。
  4. 您不会使用链接或链接按钮来贬损 GIA 及其服务;
  5. 链接按钮的外观、位置和其他方面不得失实表示您与 GIA 的关系,或表示有关 GIA 及其服务的虚假或误导性印象;
  6. 链接按钮的外观、位置和其他方面不得造成您或任何非 GIA 实体或任何非 GIA 产品或服务与 GIA 相关联或受其认可或赞助的假象;
  7. 链接在被用户激活时必须全屏显示网站而不是显示在所链接网站的框架中,也不得使用会改动 GIA 网站视觉表现形式或内容的其他技术,例如强行显示浏览器窗口或第三方内容;
  8. 链接按钮只能在您的网站上使用,而不能用于任何其他目的,包括但不限于对您网站的推广、广告或宣传;
  9. 链接按钮必须显示在提及 GIA 的位置附近或同一页的底部;
  10. 您不得修改或以任何方式更改链接按钮,包括颜色、大小、比例等。 或以动画显示或变更其角度;
  11. 您不得偏离或编辑按钮附带的任何技术代码;
  12. 链接网站不能包含可能被理解为不雅或令人不快的材料,而且应该适合所有年龄的人群;
  13. GIA 有权随时有理由或无理由终止本协议,并且可以随时修改本协议而不另行通知;
  14. 您同意捍卫、保护和保障 GIA、其受托人、高管、员工和代理在因您违反本协议或您指向 GIA 网站的超链接而造成的任何索赔、要求、损害、起诉理由、损失或判决中免受损失。

您明确同意自行承担使用 GIA 的材料、标志、链接按钮和网站的风险。 GIA 对其服务将不中断或无错误不做任何保证。 GIA“按原样”提供此访问而不做任何保证。 GIA 明确免除所有明示或默示的保证,包括但不限于对适销性的默示保证、对具体用途的适用性的默示保证和对非侵权的保证。 在任何情况下,GIA 都不会对任何直接、间接、偶然、特殊或后果性损害承担责任,包括但不限于因本协议或使用本协议项下的任何材料、标志或链接按钮或访问本协议中所述的任何服务而引起或造成的利润损失、数据损失、业务损失或其他损失,即使 GIA 已被告知可能发生此类损害。 无论 GIA 是否有过失,也无论此类责任是在合同、疏忽、侵权或任何责任理论方面,上述条款均应该适用。

GIA 保留自行决定随时通过修改这些链接条件来撤销同意该链接的权利。 

您同意,由这些条款引起或与这些条款和 GIA 网站上发布的任何内容(包括副本及其再发布)相关的任何争议,无论是基于合同、侵权、法令还是其他法律,除了与法律规定冲突之处以外,均由加利福尼亚州的法律管辖。 您进一步同意,位于加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥郡并为该地区服务的联邦和州法院拥有属人管辖权,其专属场地是解决所有此类争议的法律论坛。

建立指向 GIA 网站的链接,或使用链接按钮或文字,即表明您同意 GIA 链接条件。 可以在这里下载链接按钮。

GIA 网站材料的使用

版权保护

GIA 对发布于 GIA 网站上的汇编内容享有所有权,其中包括文本、图像、音频、视频、数据库、设计、代码和软件(简称“内容”)。 但是,GIA 不一定对汇编内容的各个组成部分享有所有权。 有些内容可能归其他人所有,但可凭借其使用许可(例如用户生成的内容),或遵照适用法律使用。 有些内容放在公共域,而部分内容受第三方权利保护,如版权、商标、公开权、隐私权和合同限制。

GIA 可提供内容的版权状态,并确定可能适用于内容使用(如商标、隐私权或公开权、其他限制等)的任何其他条款和条件。 然而,GIA 不保证或确保提供了所有相关信息或这些信息在各种情况下都正确。 您有责任确定,为了使用这些内容您需要什么许可权限,以及如有必要,获取这样的许可权限。 如果您对 GIA 网站上的内容有具体的疑问或希望了解相关信息,请与我们联系。 (是否同意链接到“联系我们”页面?)

允许用于非商业目的

GIA 的使命包括教导全球社区有关宝石和珠宝的主题,且研究院鼓励合理使用其内容来支持完成这一使命。 您可以将我们网站上的文本、图片、视频和插图用作个人、教育和其他非商业用途,只要您: 

  • 引用该内容的作者和来源,就如同您引用别的出版物的素材一样。
  • 如果可能,引用并链接到 GIA 网站(作为内容的来源)。
  • 不得删除任何版权、商标或其他所有权通知,包括置于文本、图像或数据中或附近的归属信息、制作人员名单和通知。
  • 遵守所有条款或限制(如商标、公开权和隐私权,或合同限制),这些条款或限制可能会在元数据中详细说明,或是应用于该内容。 
  • 不得将内容用于明确禁止的活动,包括但不限于:(1)非法或欺骗性活动;(2)不正确暗示 GIA 给予的(或 GIA 的任何个别高管或员工)认可、同意或赞助的使用;(3)与 GIA 或其高管或员工的正式沟通消息相混淆的使用;以及(4)印刷的或电子的大量邮件(有时也被称为“垃圾邮件”),招揽商业服务或未经联系的上门推销。

您有责任确保您的使用是合理的,并对可能由您的使用引起的的任何索赔作出回应。 美国版权法的资料,包括合理使用指南,可从美国版权局获得:http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl102.html。 

用于商业目的

商业用途被定义为出售源于或包含该内容的任何材料、产品和服务,以及将该内容用于促销或广告。 如果您想将该内容用于除上述经允许用途外的其他任何目的,如商业用途或出版(根据版权法获得合理使用许可除外),请获取 GIA 的事先书面许可(和/或该内容的其他所有者,如适用)。

GIA 保留对内容使用的商业性质及/或适当性的认定权,并可自行决定随时撤销内容的使用权。

如无明确许可,可能禁止以任何形式使用或复制特定的内容,若图像旁出现声明(如下所示),应直接联系 GIA,提出任何和所有使用申请,以获得许可:

“© GIA 本视频或图像受知识产权保护,未经 GIA 和其他各方(如适用)的书面明确许可,不得全部或部分使用或复制。” 

如有许可请求或其他查询,请与我们联系(链接),包括请求获得更高质量的格式,如高分辨率数字图像。 

 

GIA 社交媒体行为规范

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) 社交媒体页面专供网站访问者作个人使用,不得用于进行任何第三方商业活动。 根据 GIA 的自行判定,任何将 GIA 社交媒体页面用于第三方商业活动的行为都将构成非法和/或未经授权的使用,我们严格禁止以下行为,包括:发布优惠内容或带有商业性质的信息,通过电子或其他方式收集访问者用户名和/或电子邮件地址,从而主动发送未经征求的电子邮件,未经授权地组帧或链接到 GIA 网站。 您将对自己在 GIA 社交媒体页面上与他人的交互行为承担所有责任。 GIA 保留权利,但无义务监视您与其他用户之间的争议。 GIA 在任何情况下均不对第三方在 GIA 任何社交媒体页面上的行为承担任何责任。 商业广告、联盟链接,以及其他形式的请求可能从帖子、评论或对话中删除,恕不另行通知。 若 GIA 社交媒体页面上包含的或与之相关的任何信息被非法或未经授权地使用,我们可能会采取相应的法律举措。 GIA 保留删除由您发布的任何帖子或评论(包括私人信息),或在事先通知或不通知您的情况下随时限制、暂停或终止您全部或部分 GIA 页面访问权限,且不承担任何责任。 以下列出非法或禁止发布于 GIA 社交媒体页面或通过 GIA 社交媒体页面发布的部分内容。 GIA 保留根据 GIA 的自行判断,对违反这一条款的任何人员采取相应法律举措的权利。 这可能包括删除违规的通信和终止此类违规者的访问权限。 禁止的或非法的内容包括但不限于以下内容:

  1. 推广虚假、误导的信息,或宣传非法活动或侮辱、恐吓、猥亵、诽谤或有损他人名誉的行为;
  2. 向不满 18 周岁的任何用户索取个人信息;
  3. 包含限制或密码授权访问的页面或图像;
  4. 骚扰或鼓动骚扰他人、以色情或暴力方式利用他人、或宣传针对任何个人或团体的种族主义、仇恨或人身伤害;
  5. 包含裸体、暴力或攻击性题材或指向成人网站的链接;
  6. 宣传任何犯罪活动或提供诸如(但不限于)侵犯他人隐私、传送或创建电脑病毒,或制造或购买非法武器等活动的指导信息;
  7. 索取密码或个人身份信息用于商业或非法用途;
    涉及欺诈、淫秽材料、儿童色情资料、毒品交易、赌博、骚扰、或发送病毒或其他有害文件;
  8. 包含让任何用户通过 GIA 社交媒体页面购买或出售任何产品或服务的广告或请求。

认可

GIA 不认可 GIA 网站上提到的任何具体商业产品或公司或链接到本网站的任何商业产品或公司。

GIA 网站控制

本网站(不包括链接的站点)由总部设在美国加利福尼亚州的 GIA 控制。 可以从美国的所有 50 个州以及全世界的所有其他国家或地区访问本网站。 由于其中每个地方都有可能与加利福尼亚不同的法律,访问本网站即表明,您和 GIA 均同意不管是否存在法律原则冲突,加利福尼亚的条例和法律均适用于本网站引起或与本网站的使用相关的所有事务。 您和美国宝石研究院还同意并因此服从加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥郡高等法院和美国联邦加州南部地区初审法院有关此类事务的专属属人管辖权和场地。 GIA 对网站上的材料是否适合或可用于其他位置不做任何表示,严禁从这些材料内容被视为非法的地区访问这些材料。 选择从其他位置访问本网站的用户将自行判断并负责遵守当地法律。

其他

本免责声明中所称的 GIA 包括美国宝石研究院、其控制人、高管、子公司、附属公司、代理、员工,以及任何第三方提供商或者信息或数据来源。

版权和商标声明

© 2015 GIA 版权所有。 保留所有权利。 GIA、美国宝石研究院、GIA 印章、Facetware、钻石鉴定精简版证书和 GIA Trio 徽标是 GIA 的注册商标。 有关完整信息,请参阅版权和商标

许可证和创意提交

您同意授予 GIA 网站对您通过所有途径和在目前已知或后来开发的任何介质中提交到 GIA 网站公共区域的任何材料和其他信息(包括但不限于其中包含的针对新的或改进的产品或服务的创意)的非独占、全球性、免版税、永久性许可证,以及进行转授权、复制、分发、传输、创建衍生作品、公开展示和公开表演的权利。 您因此放弃对任何此类材料和信息的精神权利,并因此保证任何此类材料和信息是您的原创或您拥有提交此类材料或信息的权利。 您同意,如果您与我们的通信中所含的任何专有权利受到任何侵权或滥用(无论是声称的还是实际发生的),您对 GIA 并无任何追索权。

责任限制

在任何情况下,GIA 对使用或依赖“信息”或一般情况下的使用网际网路导致的任何损失或损害(无论是合同、侵权还是其他方面)均不承担任何责任。

© 2002 - 2015 美国宝石研究院

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
《宝石与宝石学》(Gems & Gemology) 2016 年春季刊
了解更多 (用英语)

Terms of Use

GIA Website User Agreement and Disclaimer Notice

Last updated 6/27/2014

 

LEGAL NOTICE, DISCLAIMER, AND TERMS OF USE

This website with its home page in the domain "gia.edu" (the "website") is a complimentary information service offered by the Gemological Institute of America, Inc. ("GIA") at no charge to users of the internet, with the express condition that these users agree to be bound by the terms and conditions set forth in this User Agreement. GIA reserves the right to change these terms and conditions any time. You must consult the most recent version of this User Agreement (not an older cached version) each time you view the website. Access to and use of this website is provided subject to these terms and conditions. PLEASE READ THESE TERMS AND CONDITIONS CAREFULLY AS USE OF THIS SITE CONSTITUTES ACCEPTANCE OF THESE TERMS AND CONDITIONS.

DISCLAIMER OF WARRANTY

You acknowledge that the services, information or data (collectively, "Information") on the website is provided "As Is" for general information only. GIA makes no warranties of any kind regarding this website, including, but not limited to, any warranty of accuracy, completeness, currency, reliability, implied merchantability or implied fitness for a particular purpose, or any warranty that these pages, or the server that makes them available, are free of viruses or other harmful elements. GIA makes no warranty, representation or guaranty that the Information may be relied on for any reason, that the Information will be uninterrupted or error-free or that any defects can be corrected. All warranties, including the implied warranty of merchantability, non-infringement and implied warranty of fitness for a particular purpose are hereby expressly disclaimed. GIA shall have absolutely no liability in connection with the Information including without limitation, any liability for damage to your computer hardware, data, information, materials and business resulting from information or lack of information on the GIA website. You agree GIA shall have no liability for: (1) any loss or injury caused, in whole or in part, by its actions, omissions or negligence or for contingencies beyond its control, in procuring, compiling or delivering the Information; (2) any errors, omissions or inaccuracies in the Information regardless of how caused, or delays or interruptions in delivery of the Information; or (3) any decision made or taken or not taken in reliance upon the Information.

You agree that you will hold harmless GIA and its governors, officers, directors, and employees from all claims arising out of or related to your access or use of, or your inability to access or use, this website or the Information contained in this website or other websites to which it is linked, including but not limited to claims that you have found something you have heard, viewed or downloaded from this website or another website to which it is linked to be obscene, offensive, defamatory, or infringing upon your intellectual property rights. In no event will GIA or the contributors of Information to this website be liable to you or anyone else for any decision made or action taken by you in reliance on such Information or for any consequential, special or similar damages, even if GIA or the contributors of Information are advised of the possibility of such damages.

You acknowledge that opinions and recommendations contained in this website are not necessarily those of the GIA or endorsed by GIA.

GEMOLOGICAL INFORMATION DISCLAIMER

The Information provided in or made available through the GIA website (including, but not limited to, message boards, text files, chat rooms or social media), is not intended to replace the services of a trained jeweler or gemologist regarding analysis or appraisal of any particular gem or jewelry item or to be a substitute for their advice regarding gem value or other commercial evaluation. The user is advised to consult with a trained jeweler or gemologist prior to purchasing any particular gem or piece of jewelry.

LINKING TO GIA

You may provide a link to this website on another website, provided you agree to the Link conditions described below. By establishing a link to a GIA website you agree to these conditions:
 

  1. that the link consists of a hypertext link or a link using link buttons with image and text supplied by GIA;
  2. that you acknowledge that GIA may modify images and text at any time;
  3. that except for a limited, non-exclusive, non-transferable, royalty-free license to use the link buttons on your website solely for the purpose of providing a hyperlink to GIA's website, you acknowledge and agree that (i) GIA's trademarks, name and linking buttons, including, but not limited to, the familiar "GIA" mark and "GIA trio logo" (collectively, the "Marks"), GIA's website and its contents are and shall remain the sole property of GIA, (ii) nothing in these conditions shall give you any right of ownership in the Marks, link buttons or GIA's website; (iii) you shall not now or in the future contest the validity of the Marks; and (iv) you shall not take any action that would impair the value or goodwill associated with the Marks, link buttons or GIA's image or reputation; (v) you shall not use the link buttons in any way that might be misleading;
  4. that you will not use the link or link buttons to disparage GIA and its services;
  5. that the appearance, position and other aspects of the link buttons may not be such as to misrepresent your relationship with GIA, or present false or misleading impressions about GIA or its services;
  6. that the appearance, position and other aspects of the link buttons may not create the false appearance that you or any non-GIA entity or any non-GIA product or service is associated with, or endorsed, or sponsored by GIA;
  7. that the link, when activated by a user, must display this website full-screen and not with a "frame" on the linked website or with other techniques which alter the visual presentation or content of GIA's website, such as the imposition of browser windows or third party content;
  8. that the link buttons may only be used on your website, and not for any other purpose including, but not limited to promotion, advertising or publicity for your website;
  9. that the link buttons must be displayed adjacent to a reference to GIA or at the bottom of that same page;
  10. that you may not alter or change the link buttons in any way, including color, size, proportions, etc. or animate or change perspective;
  11. that you may not deviate or edit any of the technical code that accompanies the buttons;
  12. that the linking website may not contain materials that may be interpreted as distasteful or offensive and should be appropriate for all age groups;
  13. that GIA has the right to terminate this Agreement with or without cause at any time, and may amend this Agreement without notice at any time;
  14. that you agree to defend, indemnify and hold GIA, its trustees, officers, employees and agents from and against any claims, demands, damages, causes of action, loss or judgments arising from your breach of this Agreement or your link to GIA's website.

YOU EXPRESSLY AGREE THAT THE USE OF GIA's MATERIALS, MARKS, LINK BUTTONS AND WEBSITE IS AT YOUR SOLE RISK. GIA DOES NOT WARRANT THAT ITS SERVICE WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED OR ERROR FREE. GIA PROVIDES THIS ACCESS "AS IS" WITHOUT WARRANTY OF ANY KIND. GIA DISCLAIMS ALL WARRANTIES, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE IMPLIED WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY, IMPLIED WARRANTY OF FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND WARRANTY OF NONINFRINGEMENT. IN NO EVENT WILL GIA BE LIABLE FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, INCIDENTAL, SPECIAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, LOSS OF PROFIT, LOSS OF DATA, LOSS OF BUSINESS OR OTHER LOSS ARISING OUT OF OR RESULTING FROM THIS AGREEMENT OR THE USE OF ANY OF THE MATERIALS, MARKS, OR LINK BUTTONS UNDER THIS AGREEMENT OR ACCESS TO ANY OF THE SERVICES DESCRIBED IN THIS AGREEMENT EVEN IF GIA HAS BEEN ADVISED OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES. THE FOREGOING SHALL APPLY REGARDLESS OF THE NEGLIGENCE OF GIA AND REGARDLESS OF WHETHER SUCH LIABILITY IS FOUND IN CONTRACTS, NEGLIGENCE, TORT OR ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY.

GIA reserves the right to revoke its consent to a link at any time in its sole discretion by amending these Link Conditions. 

You agree that any dispute arising out of or relating to these Terms or any content posted to the GIA website including copies and republication thereof, whether based in contract, tort, statutory or other law, will be governed by the laws of the State of California, excluding its conflicts of law provisions. You further consent to the personal jurisdiction of and exclusive venue in the federal and state courts located in and serving SAN DIEGO County, California as the legal forum for any such dispute.

By establishing a link to the GIA website, either with a link button or text, you agree to these Link conditions. The link buttons can be downloaded here.

USE OF MATERIAL ON THE GIA WEBSITE

The works of authorship contained in this website, including but not limited to all design, text and images, are owned or licensed by GIA, and may not be copied, reproduced, transmitted, displayed, performed, distributed, rented, sublicensed, altered, stored by subsequent use or otherwise used in whole or in part in any manner without GIA's prior written consent, except that the user may make such temporarily copies in a single computer's RAM and hard drive cache as are necessary to browse the website, and the user may make one permanent printout of each page of the website (unmodified in form, with a copy of this User Agreement attached) to be used by the user for personal and non-commercial uses which do not harm the reputation and interests of GIA or create a likelihood of confusion as to its trademarks. GIA does not waive any of its proprietary rights in the website or Information including, but not limited to, copyrights, trademarks and other intellectual property rights.
 

GIA SOCIAL MEDIA CODE OF CONDUCT

The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) social media pages are for the personal use of website visitors and may not be used in connection with any third-party commercial endeavors. Any use that, in GIA’s sole opinion, constitutes illegal and/or unauthorized use of the GIA social media pages, including posting offers or information of a commercial nature, collecting usernames and/or email addresses of visitors by electronic or other means for the purpose of sending unsolicited email, or unauthorized framing of or linking to the GIA website is strictly prohibited. You are solely responsible for your interactions with others on GIA social media pages. GIA reserves the right, but has no obligation, to monitor disputes between you and other users. Under no circumstances shall GIA be held liable or responsible for the actions of third parties on any GIA social media page. Commercial advertisements, affiliate links, and other forms of solicitation may be removed from posts, comments, or conversations without notice. Appropriate legal action may be taken for any illegal or unauthorized use of any information on or associated with GIA social media pages. GIA reserves the right to remove any posting or comment (including private messages) by you, or to restrict, suspend, or terminate your access to all or any part of the GIA pages at any time, with or without prior notice, and without liability. The following is a partial list of content that is illegal or prohibited to post on or through GIA social media pages. GIA reserves the right to take appropriate legal action against anyone who, in GIA's sole discretion, violates this provision. This may include removing the offending communication and terminating access of such violators. Prohibited or illegal content includes, but is not limited to content that:
 

  1. promotes information that is false, misleading or promotes illegal activities or conduct that is abusive, threatening, obscene, defamatory or libelous;
  2. solicits personal information from anyone under 18;
  3. contains restricted or password-only access pages or images;
  4. harasses or advocates harassment of another person, exploits people in a sexual or violent manner, or promotes racism, hatred or physical harm toward any individual or group;
  5. contains nudity, violence, or offensive subject matter or links to an adult website;
  6. promotes any criminal activity or provides instructional information about activities such as, but not limited to, violating someone's privacy, transmitting or creating computer viruses, or making or buying illegal weapons;
  7. solicits passwords or personal identifying information for commercial or illegal use;
    involves fraud, obscene material, child pornography, drug dealing, gambling, harassment, or sending of viruses or other harmful files;
  8. includes advertising to, or solicitation of, any user to buy or sell any products or services through GIA social media pages.

ENDORSEMENTS

GIA does not endorse any specific commercial product or company mentioned on the GIA website or any commercial product or company linked to this website.

GIA CONTROL OF WEBSITE

This website (excluding linked sites) is controlled by GIA which is headquartered in the State of California, United States of America. It can be accessed from all 50 states, as well as from other countries around the world. As each of these places has laws that may differ from those of California, by accessing this website both you and GIA agree that the statutes and laws of the State of California, without regard to conflicts of laws principles thereof, will apply to all matters arising from or relating to use of this website. You and the Gemological Institute of America also agree and hereby submit to the exclusive personal jurisdiction and venue of the Superior Court of San Diego County, California, and the United States District Court for the Southern District of California with respect to such matters. GIA makes no representation that materials on the website are appropriate or available for use in other locations, and accessing them from territories where their contents are illegal is prohibited. Those who choose to access this website from other locations do so on their own initiative and are responsible for compliance with local laws.

OTHER

For purposes of disclaimer, GIA shall include Gemological Institute of America, its governors, officers, subsidiaries, affiliates, agents, employees and any third party providers or sources of information or data.

COPYRIGHTS AND TRADEMARK NOTICES

Copyright © 2014 GIA. All rights reserved. GIA, Gemological Institute of America, the GIA seal, Facetware, GIA Diamond Dossier and the GIA Trio logo are registered trademarks of GIA. For complete information, see Copyrights and Trademarks.

LICENSES AND IDEA SUBMISSIONS

You agree to grant to the GIA website a non-exclusive, worldwide, royalty-free, perpetual license, with the right to sublicense, to reproduce, distribute, transmit, create derivative works of, publicly display and publicly perform any materials and other information (including, without limitation, ideas contained therein for new or improved products or services) you submit to public areas of the GIA website by all means and in any media now known or hereafter developed. You hereby waive your moral rights in any such materials and information, and you hereby warrant that any such materials and information are original with you, or that you have the right to submit such materials and information. You agree that you shall have no recourse against GIA for any alleged or actual infringement or misappropriation of any proprietary right in your communication to us.

LIMITATION OF LIABILITY

Under no circumstances shall GIA be liable for any losses or damages whatsoever, whether in contract, tort or otherwise, from the use of, or reliance on, the Information or from the use of the internet generally.

© 2002-2014 Gemological Institute of America, Inc.

Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Starry Night Sapphire
Learn More
Koi Fish Wallace Chan
G&G Spring 2014 Edition
Learn more