橄榄石的历史与知识


Placeholder Alt Text
这颗 146.10 克拉的橄榄石收藏于伦敦自然历史博物馆
一直以来,橄榄石就与光密不可分。 事实上,埃及人把它称为“太阳的宝石”。有些人认为,它能保护主人免受“夜的恐吓”,尤其是当镶嵌在黄金上。 其他人将橄榄石用驴毛串成串,系在左臂以辟邪。

这个词橄榄石来自阿拉伯语的“faridat”,意思是“宝石”。大多数橄榄石形成于地球深处,在火山喷发时被冲到地表。 有些以陨石的形式来到地球。但来自外星的橄榄石是极为罕见的,不太可能在零售珠宝店看到。

早期的记录表明,古埃及人在红海的一个小岛“Topazios”开采发现了美丽的绿色宝石。这个岛现在被称为圣约翰岛(St. John’s Island)或 Zabargad。 相传岛上蛇群泛滥,使得采矿工作进展艰难。直到有一个大胆的法老将它们驱逐入海。 早期,人们将现在的橄榄石与其他宝石混淆。 它曾被称为是众多“拓帕石”中的一种。

一些历史学家认为,埃及艳后(Cleopatra)收藏的著名祖母绿实际上有可能是橄榄石。 在中世纪时代,人们仍旧把橄榄石与祖母绿混淆。 几个世纪以来,人们认为巧夺天工的 200 克拉 装饰于 Three Holy Kings(位于德国的科隆大教堂内)的宝石是祖母绿。 他们实际上是橄榄石。

Peridot History and Lore

146.10-carat Peridot
This 146.10-carat peridot is in the collection of the Natural History Museum in London
Peridot has always been associated with light. In fact, the Egyptians called it the “gem of the sun.” Some believed that it protected its owner from “terrors of the night,” especially when it was set in gold. Others strung the gems on donkey hair and tied them around their left arms to ward off evil spirits.

The word peridot comes from the Arabic “faridat,” which means “gem.” Most peridot formed deep inside the earth and was delivered to the surface by volcanoes. Some also came to earth in meteorites, but this extraterrestrial peridot is extremely rare, and not likely to be seen in a retail jewelry store.

Early records indicate that the ancient Egyptians mined a beautiful green gem on an island in the Red Sea called Topazios, now known as St. John’s Island or Zabargad. Legend has it that the island was infested with snakes, making mining unpleasant until an enterprising pharaoh drove them into the sea. From the earliest times, people confused this stone—now known to be peridot—with other gems. It was one of many labeled as “topaz.”

Some historians believe that Cleopatra’s famous emerald collection might actually have been peridot. People in medieval times continued to confuse peridot with emerald. For centuries, people believed the fabulous 200-ct. gems adorning the shrine of the Three Holy Kings in Germany’s Cologne Cathedral were emeralds. They are, in fact, peridots.

Peridot Crystal from Zabargad Island

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Starry Night Sapphire
Learn More
G&G Winter 2013 Edition
Learn more