仪器改变宝石鉴定过程

二月 4, 2013
Robert Shipley Jr(小罗伯特·希普利)
Robert Shipley Jr.
Robert M. Shipley Jr.,长有雀斑,脾气急躁,喜欢把车开得飞快,颇具创新才能,于 1933 年初投身于其父在 GIA 的事业。 他的创造性永远地改变了世界各地珠宝商和宝石学家的业务经营方式。 他设计的宝石检测设备可以应用准确的宝石分级标准,使其父道德、专业的宝石学梦想美梦成真。 如果说父亲是宝石学理念的优秀推销员,那么儿子则为其提供了坚实的科学依据。

ShipleyJr. 很快就意识到暗场照明在检验宝石内部时的优势。 他将低功耗立体放大倍率与其想法相结合,生产出第一台鉴定用 DiamondScope,并于 1938 年获得专利。 受 Edwin Land 的宝丽莱作品启发,在法国工具与模具制造商 Raoul Francouer 的帮助下,他研制出了第一台宝石偏光器。 多年来,他还帮助改造并完善了折射仪、钻石比色仪、Diamolite(后来重新设计并命名为 DiamondLite)、Pearloscope、通用运动浸入阶段和 Mark III GemoLite 显微镜。

Shipley Jr. 的工作鼓舞着一群投身于宝石学的有志之士追随他的脚步前行。 多年来,对宝石鉴定的挑战不断变化,Lester Benson、Kenneth Moore 和 Gale Johnson 不懈努力,以满足业界需求。
与 Shipley Jr. 一样,Benson 从一个“不同”的角度看待问题。 他们两个的创新想法极为相似,但品性却大相径庭。 Shipley Jr. Shipley Jr. 是“油门和刹车”,而 Benson 则是“平静和迷人的。”
 
Benson 于 1948 年加入 GIA,之后不久便开始对宝石学做出贡献,开发了折射率 (R.I.) 点读法测定,这种方法在今天对宝石学家来说仍不可或缺。 为充分利用这一新技术,后来他又设计出第一台 GIA Duplex 型折射仪。
 
他的其他贡献也同样具有广泛影响:他设计了珍珠检测 X 射线装置(可用作宝石显微镜基座)、电子热导计(一个具有多个挡板的照明设备,可将荧光灯转变为多个光点)以及 GIA 珠宝商相机。 作为宝石鉴定和显微摄影方面的专家,他还重新设计了实验室的 X-射线绕射装置并改装了用于宝石学研究的分光光度计。
 
Benson 于 1961 年意外去世,享年 39 岁,Liddicoat 写道“宝石学的领导人之一自此消逝。”
 
Shipley Jr. Shipley Jr. 创办了他自己的仪器制造公司,但在 20 世纪 50 年代,当其对宝石学仪器的兴趣慢慢减退之后,便放弃了该领域的业务。 Benson、Moore 和 Johnson 填补了企业迭代的空白,直到 1966 年 GIA 将其收购,创建了 GEM 仪器公司。
 
20 世纪 60 年代和 70 年代,公司稳步增长,创造了用于观侧钻石车工的比例仪 ProportionScope、Mark V GemoLite 显微镜和上方光源、GIA 照明型偏光器、GIA Duplex 型折射仪和 MiniLab。 1980 年,推出革命性的 ColorMaster,从此淘汰了使用猜测对有色宝石进行色彩评估的方法。 这个最新的仪器使得 GIA 更加坚定了在其设备中使用特殊电子产品的发展道路。
 
随着时间的发展,在 20 世纪 90 年代,GIA 开始拓展其产品线,包括能够检测钻石类似石的电子仪器。 该设备虽然是由其他公司创建的,但 GIA 的研究团队经常对其提出修改建议,以改进仪器性能。 2000 年代初期,GIA 也开始转向更为高级的基于计算机的仪器设计,用于从天然钻石中筛选出合成钻石和仿品。
 
如今,仪器部门致力于满足世界各地对 GIA 研究和教育的需求,并确保其产品符合全球安全标准和法规。

仪器时间轴 Lester Benson(莱斯特·班森)
Lester Benson

仪器时间轴 Kenneth Moore(肯尼斯·摩尔)
Kenneth Moore

 

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Instruments Revolutionize Gem Identification Process

2/4/2013
 Robert Shipley Jr
Robert Shipley Jr.
Robert M. Shipley Jr., a bespeckled, quick-tempered young man who liked to drive fast and had a genius for innovation, joined his father at GIA in early 1933. His creative tinkering forever changed the way jewelers and gemologists around the world did business. The gem-testing equipment he designed made it possible to apply accurate gem-grading standards and made his father’s dream of gemology as an ethical, professional discipline a practical reality. While the father wasthe magnificent salesman of the gemological idea, it was the son who gave it a solid scientific backing.

Shipley Jr. quickly realized the advantage of dark-field illuminationin examining the interior of gemstones. He combined the idea with low-power stereoscopic magnification and produced the first DiamondScope, which he patented in 1938. Inspired by Edwin Land’s work at Polaroid, and with the help of French tool-and-die maker Raoul Francouer, he developed the first gem polariscope. Over the years, he also helped modify and perfect the refractometer, the Diamond Colorimeter, the Diamolite (later redesigned and named the DiamondLite), the Pearloscope, the Universal Motion Immersion Stage and the Mark III GemoLite microscope.

Shipley Jr.’s work inspired a band of gemological brothers to follow in his footsteps. Lester Benson, Kenneth Moore and Gale Johnson strove to meet the needs of the industry as the challenges of gem identification shifted and changed over the years.
Like Shipley Jr., Benson saw things from a “different” perspective. Alike in inventive imagination, these two men could not have been more dissimilar in temperament. Shipley Jr. was all “accelerator and brake,” while Benson was “calm and charming.”
 
Benson’s contributions to gemology started shortly after he joined GIA in 1948, when developed the method of taking spot Refractive Index (R.I.) readings that is indispensable to gemologists today. To take advantage of this new technique, he later designed the first GIA Duplex Refractometer.
 
His other contributions were equally far-ranging: he designed a pearl-testing X-ray unit, a base for gemological microscopes, and electrical conductometer, a light fixture with multiple baffles that turned florescent light into multiple spots and GIA’s Jeweler’s Camera. An expert in gem identification and photomicrography, he also redesigned the lab’s X-ray diffraction unit and adapted the spectrophotometer for gemological studies.
 
When Benson died unexpectedly in 1961 at the age of 39, Liddicoat wrote that “Gemology was robbed of one of its leaders.”
 
Shipley Jr. had begun his own instrument-manufacturing company after World War II, but when his interest in gemological instrumentation faded in the 1950s, he gave up the business. Benson, Moore and Johnson filled the void with iterations of the business until GIA bought it in 1966 and created GEM Instruments.
 
The company grew steadily in the 1960s and ‘70s and created the ProportionScope, Mark V GemoLite microscope and overhead light, the GIA Illuminator Polariscope, the GIA Duplex Refractometer and the MiniLab. It introduced the revolutionary ColorMaster, designed to take the guesswork out of color-assessing colored gemstones, in 1980. This latest instrument set GIA firmly on the path of using special electronics in its equipment.
 
At about this time and moving into the 1990s, GIA began to expand its product line to include electronic instruments that could detect diamond simulants. This equipment was created by other companies, but GIA’s research team often suggested adaptations to improve their features. GIA also began the shift in early 2000 to more advanced computer-based instrumentation designed to screen natural diamond from synthetic diamonds and simulants.
 
Today, the instruments division is focused on meeting the needs of GIA research and education around the world and making sure its products meet global safety standards and regulations.

Instruments Timeline Lester Benson
Lester Benson

Instruments Timeline Kenneth Moore
Kenneth Moore

 

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Starry Night Sapphire
Learn More
G&G Fall 2014 Edition
Learn more