青金石的历史与知识


Placeholder Alt Text
几个世纪以来,阿富汗一直是最优质青金石的重要产地。
历史学家认为,人类和青金石之间的联系可以追溯到 6,500 多年以前。 在美索不达米亚、埃及、中国、希腊和罗马的古代文明时期,青金石被视为珍宝。 青金石之所以珍贵是因为其生动细腻的颜色。青金石和其他蓝色宝石(例如蓝宝石和土耳其石)一样受到珍爱。

巴达赫尚省,现代阿富汗的一个省,是一片险恶的荒山,几乎是不毛之地。 陡峭的高山正面高达 17,000 英尺,并且包含险峻的峡谷。 人们去往那里只为寻求一种珍宝:品质上乘的天籁般颜色的青金石。

矿工的物资必须通过骡车队运入这片荒芜的地区。 - Gary
Bowersox
早在公元前 700 年,当该地区隶属于巴克特里亚时,所有情况也相同。 曾经盛产青金石的矿山今天仍在开采。 事实上,它们是世界上已知的商业宝石的最早产地。

巴克特里亚(现在为阿富汗)的古代矿山今天仍盛产青金石。 这块
色彩颜丽的样品因其独特的形状而被命名为“猫头鹰”。 重
约 2 磅 (1 千克) - Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登),由 M. Chung 友情提供
商队运送其珍贵的蓝色青金石,横跨巴克特里亚,途经古希腊、印度、埃及、美索不达米亚和波斯的各大城市。 马可·波罗于 1271 年参观了该地区的青金石矿,但是由于该地区不宜居住,因此鲜为外人知晓。

几千年来,青金石加工旨在彰显其浓郁的颜色。 通常,首饰用的青金石切磨成凸圆形、珠饰、镶嵌物以及平片。 但是青金石的应用从未仅限于首饰。 青金石同时还是一种广受欢迎的雕刻材料。 纵观历史,青金石被加工成实用的物体,包括游戏板、碗、匕首柄、梳子和护身符。

该青金石凸圆面雕刻了古老的金龟子图饰。 - Maha Tannous
镶嵌物 — 典型的青金石切割式样,可制成男士戒指。 黄金戒托与镶嵌物中的黄铁矿斑点相得益彰。 - Mike Havstad
纵观历史,青金石被加工成装饰品。 此件精美的
雕刻品充分利用浅色方解石和深蓝色青金石
之间的鲜明对比。
如今,青金石经常被塑造成形式自由、以自然为主题的雕刻品。 其中一些雕刻品成为可穿戴艺术品,其他则纯粹用于装饰。

这枚精致的老虎胸针是卡地亚(纽约知名设计公司)的杰作。 其戏剧性的设计采用了黄色钻石、黑色条纹玛瑙、青金石和铂金。 - GIA 和 Harold & Erica Van Pelt,由纽约 Ishaia Trading Corp. 友情提供。
这件精美的雕刻品属于“Symphony in Gemstones”(宝石交响乐)系列收藏品(共 21 件)之一。 - Robert Weldon(罗伯特·韦尔登),由 Art Sexauer(阿特·色可奥尔) 捐赠

Lapis Lazuli History and Lore

For centuries, Afghanistan has been an important source for top-quality lapis.
Historians believe the link between humans and lapis lazuli stretches back more than 6,500 years. The gem was treasured by the ancient civilizations of Mesopotamia, Egypt, China, Greece, and Rome. They valued it for its vivid, exquisite color, and prized it as much as they prized other blue gems like sapphire and turquoise.

Badakshan, a province in present-day Afghanistan, is a forbidding wasteland of mountains, bare of any vegetation. The sheer mountain faces rise as high as 17,000 feet, and are scored with treacherous ravines. Humans make their way there to seek one thing only: the azure treasure that is fine lapis lazuli.

The miners’ supplies have to be brought into the desolate area by mule train. - Gary
Bowersox
The same was true as far back as 700 BC, when the region was part of a country known as Bactria. The lapis mines that were producing then are still producing today. They are, in fact, the world’s oldest known commercial gemstone sources.

The ancient mines of Bactria—now Afghanistan—are still producing lapis today. This
fine-color specimen was named "The Owl" because of its distinctive shape. It weighs
about 2 lbs. (1 kg).- Robert Weldon, courtesy M. Chung
Merchant caravans transported their precious blue cargo across Bactria, on their way to the great cities of the ancient Greeks, Indians, Egyptians, Mesopotamians, and Persians. Marco Polo referred to the area’s lapis mines in 1271, but few outsiders have seen them because of their inhospitable location.

For thousands of years, lapis has been fashioned to show off its rich, dark color. Typically, lapis used in jewelry has been cut into cabochons, beads, inlays, and tablets. But lapis lazuli’s use has never been limited to jewelry alone. It’s also a popular carving material. Throughout its history, lapis has been fashioned into practical objects, including game boards, bowls, dagger handles, hair combs, and amulets.

This lapis cabochon features the ancient symbol of a scarab beetle carved into its surface. - Maha Tannous
Inlay, a typical lapis cutting style, is featured in this man’s ring. The gold mounting complements the pyrite flecks in the inlay. - Mike Havstad
Throughout history, lapis has been fashioned into ornamental objects. This elaborate
carving takes advantage of the striking contrast between light-colored calcite and the
deep blue of lapis.
Today, lapis is frequently fashioned into freeform and nature-themed sculptures. Some of these carvings become wearable art, others are purely decorative.

This striking tiger brooch is a creation of Cartier, New York, the famed design house. Its dramatic appearance features yellow diamonds, black onyx, lapis lazuli, and platinum. - GIA and Harold & Erica Van Pelt, courtesy Ishaia Trading Corp., New York.
This delicate carving is part of the 21-piece “Symphony in Gemstones” collection. - Robert Weldon, gift of Art Sexauer

Learn More About Lapis

Why we love Lapis Lazuli
Explore lapis history, research, quality factors, and more in the GIA Gem Encyclopedia.
 
Read More

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Resources For Retailers
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Exhibit: Variations on a Theme
Learn More
G&G Spring 2016 Edition
Learn more