弗吉尼亚州退伍军人法案®教育福利



弗吉尼亚法案适用于培训非大学学位 (NCD) 机构培训,包括 GIA。退伍军人事务部将单独评估每个学校的课程。

经过蒙哥马利法案 (GI Bill) 认证的 GIA 校园课程或后 9/11 福利:

  • 研究宝石学家 (Graduate Gemologist),全日制校园课程(26 个教学周):卡尔斯巴德或纽约校区
  • 钻石文凭 (Graduate Diamonds),全日制校园课程(7 个教学周):卡尔斯巴德或纽约校区
  • 有色宝石文凭 (Graduate Colored Stones),全日制校园课程(19 个教学周):卡尔斯巴德或纽约校区

  • 珠宝设计与技术 (Jewelry Design & Technology),全日制校园课程(26 个教学周):卡尔斯巴德或纽约校区
  • 研究珠宝学家 (Graduate Jeweler),全日制校园课程(26 个教学周):仅限卡尔斯巴德校区
  • 珠宝设计 (Jewelry Design),全日制校园课程(9 个教学周):卡尔斯巴德或纽约校区
  • 综合珠宝 CAD/CAM 课程 (Comprehensive CAD/CAM for Jewelry),全日制校园课程(7 个教学周):卡尔斯巴德或纽约校区

根据退伍军人事务部的评估,GIA 远程教学、网络学习和实习班暂时不符合退伍军人福利要求。

后-9/11 退伍军人法案(第 33 章)非大学学位课程(NCD)

退伍军人事务部最高将支付 24,476.79 美元的学杂费净成本。根据留给退伍军人事务部的奖学金额度,退伍军人账户可能无法全额支付奖学金。如果退伍军人事务部出现任何资金短缺,学生应支付剩余金额。24,476.79 美元的年度金额在每个军事财年(2019 年 8 月 1 日至 2020 年 7 月 31 日)仅发放一次。 自 GIA 收到资格证明或有效 VAF 28-1905 后证实学生注册之日起最多 90 天内免除学杂费。

退伍军人也可能有资格获得每月住房补贴。更多信息可参阅 www.gibill.va.gov 网站。

蒙哥马利军人法案(第 30 章)

对于在参加合格课程上课期间拥有退伍军人第 30 章教育福利的学生,弗吉尼亚州将直接向学生支付每月津贴。弗吉尼亚福利独立于您可能获得的任何类型的经济援助以外。

退伍军人第 30 章福利的资金将在您开始上课之后直接向您支付,并且不能用作学费,因此,您必须在第一个上课日的当天或之前支付全部学费。您可能希望申请联邦经济援助(学生贷款和助学金)或 GIA 奖学金,以帮助支付您的学费。如需申请 GIA 课程的经济援助,或了解 GIA 奖学金申请信息,请访问此链接:www.gia.edu/gem-education-financial-aid。有关申请联邦经济援助(助学金和低息学生贷款)的更多信息,请致电 800 421 7250,分机号码 4005。

蒙哥马利法案福利将在您退伍日期的十年后过期:请与保存您退伍记录的弗吉尼亚州办公室确认您的资格。欲了解更多信息,请访问:www.benefits.va.gov/gibill

联邦经济援助或 GIA 奖学金

您可能希望申请联邦经济援助(学生贷款和助学金)或 GIA 奖学金,以帮助支付您的学费。如需了解如何申请联邦经济援助或 GIA 奖学金,请访问此链接:www.gia.edu/gem-education-financial-aid

其他退伍军人计划

您可能有资格参加其他退伍军人计划,以帮助支付您的 GIA 学费,如储备教育援助计划 (REAP)、幸存者和家属援助 (DEA)、退伍军人教育援助计划 (VEAP)、后-9/11 福利家属转移计划 (TEB) 以及其他计划。请在弗吉尼亚州确认您的资格。

如何申请弗吉尼亚州福利

请访问 www.gibill.va.gov,申请蒙哥马利法案或后 9/11 教育福利。单击教育和培训,并选择“申请福利”,了解如何填写和提交申请(网上、本人填写或邮寄)。获得批准之后,您将收到资格证书。

如何申请和注册 GIA

将您的资格证明 (COE)、DD-214 和退伍军人优先教育表副本以及您的成绩单复印件发送至学生经济援助办公室 (Office of Student Financial Assistance),邮箱为 financialaid@gia.edu。对于所有退伍军人和申请退伍军人福利的人士,GIA 将评估其先前的教育和培训。如果学分被批准,课程将被缩短并将通知退伍军人管理局。

在获得资格证书并将复印件发送给 GIA 之后,您就可能参加 GIA 课程。向 GIA 提供文件并不意味着您将自动加入课程。报名请致电 800 421 7250,转 4001 或联系我们。请务必在咨询时提及弗吉尼亚州的福利。

注册之后,在课程开始日期之前,GIA 将与弗吉尼亚州确认您加入符合条件的项目,并批准您的注册。弗吉尼亚州将授权 GIA 向您的学生账户付款。我们建议您在课程开始前 30 天内访问 eBenefits 链接(网址:http://www.gibill.va.gov),了解当前的注册状态。

如果您存在与退伍军人福利相关的任何疑问,请直接联系弗吉尼亚州办公室。

GI Bill® 为美国退伍军人事务部 (VA) 的 注册商标。有关 VA 提供的教育福利的更多信息,可从美国政府的官方网站 www.benefits.va.gov/gibill 获取。

VA GI Bill® Education Benefits



The GI Bill is available for training at Non-College Degree (NCD) institutions, including GIA. The Department of Veterans’ Affairs evaluates each school’s programs individually.

GIA On-Campus programs certified for Montgomery Bill (GI Bill) or Post 9/11 benefits:

  • Graduate Gemologist, full time on campus (26 instructional weeks): Carlsbad or New York
  • ​Graduate Diamonds, full time on campus (7 instructional weeks): Carlsbad or New York
  • Graduate Colored Stones, full time on campus (19 instructional weeks): Carlsbad or New York

  • Jewelry Design & Technology, full time on campus (26 instructional weeks): Carlsbad or New York
  • ​Graduate Jeweler, full time on campus (26 instructional weeks): Carlsbad Campus Only
  • Jewelry Design, full time on campus (9 instructional weeks): Carlsbad or New York
  • Comprehensive CAD/CAM for Jewelry, full time on campus (7 instructional weeks): Carlsbad or New York

GIA’s Distance Education, eLearning, and Lab Classes are NOT eligible for VA benefits at this time, as evaluated by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs.

Post-9/11 GI Bill (Chapter 33) for Non-College Degree Programs (NCD)

VA will pay up to $24,476.79 towards the net costs of tuition and fees. Depending on the amount of eligibility remaining with the VA, the veterans account may not have the full amount of eligibility. Any shortage of funds received by the VA, the student is responsible to pay the remaining amount. The annual amount of $24,476.79 can only be awarded once per military fiscal year (August 1, 2019 through July 31, 2020). Tuition and fee payments will be waived up to 90 days from the date that GIA certifies the student's enrollment following receipt of a certificate of eligibility or a valid VAF 28-1905.

Veterans may also qualify for a monthly housing allowance. More information is available on the www.gibill.va.gov website.

Montgomery GI Bill (Chapter 30)

The VA will pay a monthly stipend directly to a student with VA Chapter 30 education benefits for the duration of their class when enrolled in an eligible program. VA benefits are separate from any other type of financial assistance you may be eligible to receive.

VA Chapter 30 education benefit money is sent directly to you after you start class and is not available to use for tuition, so you are responsible to pay tuition in full on or before your first day of class. You may wish to apply for federal financial aid (student loans and grants) or for a GIA scholarship to help pay your tuition. Use this link to apply for federal financial aid for GIA programs or for information about GIA scholarship applications: www.gia.edu/gem-education-financial-aid. For additional information about applying for federal financial aid (grants and low-interest student loans), call 800 421 7250, ext. 4005.

Montgomery Bill benefits expire ten years after your discharge date: confirm your eligibility with the VA office that maintains your records. For more information, go to: www.benefits.va.gov/gibill

Federal Financial Aid or GIA Scholarships

You may also apply for federal financial aid (student loans and grants) or for a GIA scholarship to help pay your tuition. Use this link to access information about how to apply for federal financial aid or a GIA scholarship: www.gia.edu/gem-education-financial-aid

Other VA Programs

You may qualify for other VA programs to help with your GIA tuition, such as Reserve Educational Assistance (REAP), Survivors & Dependents Assistance (DEA), Veterans Educational Assistance Program (VEAP), Transfer of Post-9/11 Benefits to Dependents (TEB), and others. Check with the VA for eligibility.

How to Apply for VA Benefits

Apply for Montgomery Bill or Post 9/11 education benefits at www.gibill.va.gov. Click on Education & Training and choose “Apply for Benefits” for information about how to complete and submit an application (online, in person or by mail). When approved, you will receive a Certificate of Eligibility.

How to Apply and Enroll at GIA

Send a copy of your Certificate of Eligibility( COE), a copy of DD-214 and Prior Education form for Veterans with copies of your transcript(s) to Office of Student Financial Assistance to financialaid@gia.edu. GIA evaluates the previous education and training of all veterans and eligible persons applying for veterans’ benefits. If credit is warranted, the course will be shortened and the Veterans Administration will be notified.

You may enroll in your GIA program when your Certificate of Eligibility is issued and a copy sent to GIA. Providing documents to GIA does not automatically enroll you in courses. You must call 800 421 7250, Ext 4001 or contact us to enroll. Please be sure to mention VA benefits in your inquiry.

After you enroll, and in advance of the start date of your program, GIA confirms with the VA that you are enrolled in an eligible program and certifies your enrollment. The VA will then authorize payment to GIA towards your student account. 30 days prior to start of your program we suggest that you check your current enrollment status on the eBenefits link at http://www.gibill.va.gov

Any questions regarding about your VA benefits, please contact the VA office directly.

GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). More information about education benefits offered by VA is available at the official U.S. government Web site at www.benefits.va.gov/gibill.