深入探寻 2013 年图森展


每年二月,全球有色宝石行业同仁共聚亚利桑那州图森,参加全世界最大的宝石展览会之一。 经销商、切磨师和矿商带上各类奇妙宝石从全球各地来到这个小镇上。

从祖母绿到玛瑙,从红宝石到陨石,此时此刻的图森到处是琳琅满目的宝石,以及在市场上推广这些宝石的行业领导者。

GIA 采访了众多业内专业人士,深入了解全球整体市场和个别专业领域。 这些极富教育意义的采访链接列示如下。

Rajneesh Bhandari(拉杰尼希·班达里),RMC Gems Thai Co. Ltd.
Bhandari(班达里)先生是宝石处理、宝石合成工艺及仿品宝石制造的专家。 所有这些主题对贸易和消费者来说都极为重要。 在采访中,Bhandari(班达里)先生讨论了摩根石绿柱石和双色碧玺的仿品、薄膜涂层在宝石中的使用以及宝石处理的前景。
了解更多

Dudley Blauwet(达德利·布劳维),Dudley Blauwet Gems(达德利·布劳维宝石公司)
Blauwet(布劳维)先生是拥有数十年经验的有色宝石经销商。 为了购买有色宝石,他的足迹遍布世界各地,包括东南亚、中亚、非洲以及其他地方。 跟随 Blauwet(布劳维)先生的脚步,聆听他的最新旅行及全球有色宝石供应的介绍。
了解更多

Edward Boehm(爱德华·贝姆)Rare Source
Boehm(贝姆)先生是一位地质学家、宝石学家和成品宝石经销商,专门处理稀有的高端宝石。 他的足迹遍布世界各地的众多宝石产地,并常常对市场供需发表评论。 在采访中,Boehm(贝姆)先生全面介绍了有色宝石市场以及特定的宝石市场。
了解更多

Bruce Bridges(布鲁斯·布里奇斯)Bridges Tsavorite(布里奇斯沙弗莱石)
Bridges(布里奇斯)先生从小对有色宝石市场耳儒目染,与颇具名望的父亲 Campbell Bridges(坎贝尔·布里奇斯)一起在肯尼亚察沃国家公园附近的“蝎子”矿开采丰富的沙弗莱石。 Bridges(布里奇斯)先生讨论了沙弗莱石开采的历史、开采现状、沙弗莱石的品质,以及他父亲被暗杀这件事和目前的法律形势。
了解更多

Evan Caplan(埃文·卡普兰)Evan Caplan Fine Gemstones(埃文·卡普兰高级宝石)
Caplan(卡普兰)先生是有色宝石行业中的高端市场经销商,因其渊博的专业知识而颇负盛名。 采访中,Caplan(卡普兰)先生讨论了供应紧张、需求量高的原因,以及他对未来的预测。
了解更多

Paula Crevoshay(保拉·卡拉沃莎依),Crevoshay(卡拉沃莎依)
Paula Crevoshay(保拉·卡拉沃莎依)是世界知名设计师,对工作的无限激情是她源源不断的驱动力。 她被媒体行业戏称为“色彩女王”。 在采访中,她讲述了自己的珠宝设计理念和灵感来源。 她还详细介绍了自己的一些扛鼎之作。
了解更多

Michael M. Dyber(迈克尔·M·戴伯)Ledge Art Studio(Ledge 艺术工作室)
Dyber(戴伯)先生是一位领先的设计师、宝石切割师和雕刻师。 他曾对各种宝石进行刻面和雕刻。 他将原石材料及其塑造潜力视为真正的艺术世界。 在这些深入访谈中,Dyber(戴伯)先生讨论了艺术宝石切割和雕刻的方方面面。
了解更多

Arthur Groom(亚瑟·格鲁姆),Arthur Groom and Company(亚瑟·格鲁姆和公司)
Groom(格鲁姆)先生是祖母绿市场及祖母绿品质改进方面的专家。 其业务包括从全世界各个产地(包括阿富汗)购买祖母绿原石、祖母绿切割和品质改进、批发贸易和零售。 在采访中,Groom(格鲁姆)先生讨论了阿富汗祖母绿市场、祖母绿原石评估,并对祖母绿的品质进行了介绍。 采访期间,他手持各式各样的祖母绿向我们进行介绍。
了解更多

Bob Halem(鲍勃·哈勒姆),Royal West Warehouse 公司经理
Halem(哈勒姆)先生从其库存中精选了各种各样的石英晶洞前往参加图森展。 他和我们谈论了从晶洞产地、石英处理、晶洞切割、晶洞质量评估、晶洞包装到晶洞业务等诸多话题。
了解更多

Susie Kennedy(苏西·肯尼迪),Susie Kennedy Jewelry, Ltd.(苏西·肯尼迪珠宝有限公司)和 The Kennedy’s International(肯尼迪国际) ICA 总监
Kennedy(肯尼迪)夫人的业务涉及有色宝石业的各方各面。 与丈夫一起,她已经真正融入采矿到销售的整个价值链。 在采访中,Kennedy(肯尼迪)夫人讨论了宝石生产和东非的宝石业发展,以及非洲宝石开采的未来前景。 她还介绍了她是如何涉足宝石业,并就在宝石业发展事业和构建人际网给出了可能最佳的建议。 Kennedy(肯尼迪)夫人还介绍了如何在时间紧迫的情况下,成功为即将与坦桑尼亚总统共进晚餐的时任国务卿 Hillary Clinton(希拉里·克林顿)提供一对精美绝伦的丹泉石耳环。
了解更多

Moussa Konate(穆萨·科纳特),BC Gemas do Brazil
Konate(科特纳)先生在莫桑比克积极参与含铜碧玺以及一些海蓝宝石的开采。 他一直是含铜碧玺生产的驱动力。 在专访期间,Konate(科特纳)先生介绍了莫桑比克矿区含铜碧玺的生产现状、矿址的变化、非洲含铜碧玺的市场,以及他所涉足的莫桑比克海蓝宝石矿。
了解更多

Jeff Mason(杰夫·梅森),Mason-Kay 公司总裁
Mason(梅森)先生拥有丰富的硬玉市场经验,是专业经营各种颜色及切工式样硬玉的杰出经销商。 在专访中,他谈到了高度专业化的硬玉市场,以及硬玉处理和雕刻品。
了解更多

Sam Naseri(山姆·纳赛里),Global Gems(环球珠宝公司)
Naseri(纳赛里)先生身在图森,拥有大量青金石原石、苏纪石等其他材料,以及各种珠饰。 他自小接触宝石行业,并前往阿富汗采购青金石。 在专访中,Naseri(纳赛里)先生谈到了阿富汗青金石的方方面面,包括政府法规、材料运输、质量评估、新旧生产、矿山位置以及市场营销。
了解更多

Bryan Pavlik(布赖恩·帕夫利克),ICA 总监
Pavlik(帕夫利克)先生曾涉足有色宝石行业的诸多领域,包括采矿、原石采购、宝石切割、未镶嵌有色宝石和矿物样本的交易、珠宝、宝石学实验室工作、为奥地利政府开展评估工作,以及清算等。  Pavlik(帕夫利克)先生在采访中介绍了清算业务、全球宝石市场、当前市场热度以及全球宝石展。
了解更多

Stephan Reif(斯蒂芬·赖夫),Green Dragon(绿龙)矿销售主管
Reif(赖夫)先生对纳米比亚 Green Dragon(绿龙)浓绿榴石柘榴石矿有着深入的了解。 在这些范围广泛的访谈中,Reif(赖夫)先生提供了有关矿山地质和生产的大量信息,以及政府采矿法规和用水要求。 Reif(赖夫)先生还详细介绍了浓绿榴石柘榴石的切割、质量评估和市场。
了解更多

Joshua Saltzman(约书亚·萨尔茨曼),Nomad’s Lapidary 公司
Saltzman(萨尔茨曼)先生负责从世界各地采购有色宝石原石、切割并将成品有色宝石销往全世界。 他的公司专注于精密切割高端市场的各类有色宝石。 在专访中,Saltzman(萨尔茨曼)先生讨论了公司的切割理念、市场动态、尖晶石产地和生产、阿富汗碧玺、红碧玺市场以及未经处理宝石的相关工作。
了解更多

Menahem Sevdermish(梅纳海姆·瑟弗德米斯),GemeWizard 总裁兼首席执行官
Sevdermish(瑟弗德米斯)先生是一位领先的以色列有色宝石经销商、切割师及专家。 几十年来,他一直在购买、切割和销售有色宝石,一直关注着独特的宝石与令人兴奋的颜色。 他还是 GemeWizard 的发明者,这是一种有色宝石分级计算机软件程序,既可提供定价信息,也是一个网上交易平台。 在专访中,Sevdermish(瑟弗德米斯)先生讨论了天然有色宝石、坦桑尼亚宝石、坦桑尼亚生产以及与众不同的丹泉石颜色。
了解更多

Bill Vance(比尔·万斯),Vance Gems(万斯珠宝)
几十年来,Vance(万斯)先生一直从事有色宝石的采购、切割和销售。 他于 1983 年获得研究宝石学家文凭。 在专访中,Vance(万斯)先生讨论了当前宝石价格上涨的原因,市场上的宝石供应情况、宝石切割、建立商业信誉,并向年轻的宝石学家们提供建议。
了解更多

An Inside Look at the 2013 Tucson Shows


Every February, in Tucson, Arizona, the global colored gemstone industry comes together for one of the biggest gem shows in the world. Dealers, cutters, and miners descend on this town from all parts of the globe, bringing with them an amazing array of gems.

All kinds of gemstones, from emerald to agate and ruby to meteorites, are found in Tucson at this time, along with the industry leaders who bring these stones to market.

GIA interviewed a number of industry professionals to gain insight into the overall global market, as well as individual areas of expertise. Links to these informative interviews are listed below.

Rajneesh Bhandari, RMC Gems Thai Co. Ltd.
Mr. Bhandari is an expert in gem treatments, gemstone synthesis processes, and the creation of imitation gemstones. All of these are topics of the utmost importance to the trade and consumers alike. In these interviews, Mr. Bhandari discusses imitations of morganite beryl and bi-color tourmaline as well as the use of thin film coatings on gemstones and the future of treatments.
Learn More

Dudley Blauwet, Dudley Blauwet Gems
Mr. Blauwet is a colored gemstone dealer with decades of experience. His journeys to buy colored gemstones take him to deposits all over the world, including South East Asia, Central Asia, Africa and other localities. Join Mr. Blauwet as he describes his latest travels and the world’s supply of colored gemstones.
Learn More

Edward Boehm, Rare Source
Mr. Boehm is a geologist, gemologist, and accomplished gem dealer who works with rare and higher-end gems. He has traveled to a wide variety of gem sources across the globe and often speaks on both the supply and demand side of the market. Mr. Boehm discusses the overall colored gemstone market as well as markets for specific gemstones in his interviews.
Learn More

Bruce Bridges, Bridges Tsavorite
Mr. Bridges grew up in the colored gemstone market, working with his famous father Campbell Bridges at the prolific tsavorite-producing Scorpion Mine near Tsavo Park in Kenya. Mr. Bridges discusses the history of tsavorite mining, current production, and tsavorite qualities, as well as the assassination of his father and the current legal situation.
Learn More

Evan Caplan, Evan Caplan Fine Gemstones
Mr. Caplan is well known in the colored gemstone industry as a knowledgeable dealer in the upper end of the market. In his interviews, Mr. Caplan gives his insight into why supplies are tight and demand is high, as well as what he feels lies ahead.
Learn More

Paula Crevoshay, Crevoshay
Paula Crevoshay is a world renowned designer who is driven by uncompromising passion for her work. She has been dubbed the “Queen of Color” by the trade press. In these interviews, she conveys her philosophy of jewelry design and her sources of inspiration. She also describes some of her own magnificent pieces in detail.
Learn More

Michael M. Dyber, Ledge Art Studio
Mr. Dyber is a leading designer-gemstone cutter and carver. He has faceted and carved a variety of gemstones. He looks at the rough material and its potential as a true artist would. In these extensive interviews, Mr. Dyber discusses all aspects of artistic gem cutting and carving.
Learn More

Arthur Groom, Arthur Groom and Company
Mr. Groom is an expert on the emerald market as well as on emerald enhancement. His business encompasses buying rough emerald at sources around the world, including Afghanistan, as well as emerald cutting and enhancements, wholesale trading, and retail sales. In his interviews, Mr. Groom discusses the Afghan emerald market, evaluation of emerald rough, and describing emerald quality. During the interview, he describes a variety of emeralds he has on hand.
Learn More

Bob Halem, Manager, Royal West Warehouse
Mr. Halem was at the Tucson show with a large variety of quartz geodes as part of his inventory. He spoke to us on a wealth of topics, from geode sources, quartz treatments, geode cutting, evaluating geode qualities, packing geodes, and the geode business.
Learn More

Susie Kennedy, ICA Director, Susie Kennedy Jewelry, Ltd. and The Kennedy’s International
Mrs. Kennedy has been involved in all aspects of the colored stone industry. With her husband, she has truly been involved in the entire mine-to-market value chain. In her interviews, Mrs. Kennedy discusses gemstone production and the industry in East Africa and the future of mining in Africa. She also describes her start in the gem industry and gives perhaps the best advice around on building a career and creating a networking system in the gem business. Mrs. Kennedy also describes how she met a tight deadline to provide then-Secretary of State Hillary Clinton with a magnificent pair of tanzanite earrings for a dinner with the President of Tanzania.
Learn More

Moussa Konate, BC Gemas do Brazil
Mr. Konate is intimately involved in the mining of copper-bearing tourmaline, as well as some aquamarine, in Mozambique. He has been a driving force in copper-bearing tourmaline production. During his interviews, Mr. Konate discusses current production of copper-bearing tourmaline in Mozambique, changes at the mine site, the market for African copper-bearing tourmaline, and the Mozambique aquamarine mine he is involved in.
Learn More

Jeff Mason, President, Mason-Kay, Inc.
Mr. Mason is highly experienced in the jadeite market and is a prominent dealer of a variety of jadeite colors and cutting styles. In these interviews, he discusses the highly specialized market for jadeite, as well as jadeite treatments and carvings.
Learn More

Sam Naseri, Global Gems
Mr. Naseri was at Tucson with a large quantity of rough lapis lazuli, along with other materials like sugilite, and a variety of beads. He has been in the gem business since childhood and travels to Afghanistan to buy lapis lazuli. In his interviews, Mr. Naseri discusses all aspects of trading in lapis lazuli from Afghanistan, including government regulations, transportation of material, evaluating quality, old and new production, mine locations, and the market.
Learn More

Bryan Pavlik, ICA Director
Mr. Pavlik has been involved in many areas of the colored gemstone industry, including mining, buying of rough, gem cutting, dealing in loose colored stones and mineral specimens, jewelry, gemological laboratory work, appraisals for the Austrian Government, and liquidations.  During his interviews, Mr. Pavlik discusses the liquidation business, the global gem market, current market fever, and global gem shows.
Learn More

Stephan Reif, Sales Executive, the Green Dragon Mine
Mr. Reif has intimate knowledge of the Green Dragon demantoid garnet mine in Namibia. In these extensive interviews, Mr. Reif provides a wealth of information regarding the mine’s geology and production, along with government mining regulations and water requirements. Mr. Reif also discusses, in detail, the cutting of demantoid garnet, quality evaluation, and the market.
Learn More

Joshua Saltzman, Nomad’s Lapidary Company
Mr. Saltzman is involved with buying rough colored gemstones from around the world, and cutting and selling finished colored gemstones globally. His company focuses on precision cutting of a wide variety of colored stones at the higher end of the market. In his interviews, Mr. Saltzman discusses the company’s cutting philosophy, market update, spinel sources and production, Afghan tourmaline, the rubellite tourmaline market, and working with untreated stones.
Learn More

Menahem Sevdermish, CEO and President GemeWizard
Mr. Sevdermish is one of the leading Israeli colored gemstone dealers, cutters, and experts. He has been buying, cutting, and selling colored gemstones for decades and has focused on unique stones with exciting colors. He is also the inventor of GemeWizard, a computer software program for grading colored gemstones, as well as a provider of pricing information and an internet trading platform. In his interviews Mr. Sevdermish discusses natural-color gemstones, Tanzanian gemstones, Tanzanian production, and unique tanzanite colors.
Learn More

Bill Vance, Vance Gems
Mr. Vance has been involved with buying, cutting, and selling colored gemstones for decades. He received his Graduate Gemology Diploma in 1983. In his interviews, Mr. Vance discusses the reason for the current price increases in gemstones, availability of gemstones in the market, gem cutting, building credibility in the trade, and advice to young gemologists.
Learn More