分析与分级

美国宝石研究院 (GIA) Facetware® 帮助



GIA Facetware 帮助

界面
参数范围
比例参数
其他因素
缩写词
与参数和输出有关的其它信息
腰围厚度
最小/最大腰围
刷磨/剔磨
磨光和对称
全深
为什么Facetware 的结果与 GIA 证书上的信息有所不同
冠高
底深
全深
对切工等级估计的影响
在实际中四舍五入


界面

1) 比例参数 – 切工等级估算所需的参数。 打开 Facetware® 时,设置为默认值。
2) 其它因素 - 限制可能的最大切工等级。 打开 Facetware® 时,设置为默认值。 如需详细了解其他因素,请下载:宣传册 -修饰、尖底、腰围(高分辨率).
3)结果 - 显示 Facetware 输出值,包括估算切工
4)复位 - 打开 Facetware® 时,将所有参数恢复为默认值。
5) 添加参数集 - 创建输入值和相应结果的临时列表。 为每个参数集命名,然后单击“添加”,创建列表。 列表仅对当前会话有效。
6) 显示已保存的参数集。
7) 选择全部 – 突出显示列表中的所有参数集。
8) 删除 – 从列表中移除所选参数集。
9) 电子邮件 – 打开电子邮件客户端,发送列表中的所选参数集。
10) 打印 – 打印列表中的所选参数集。
11) 导出 – 将列表中所选的参数集转至 CSV 文件中。

返回页首


参数范围

比例参数

参数 增量
桌面尺寸 44% 72% 1%
冠角 20° 41.5° 0.5°
底部角度 37.2° 43.8° 0.2°
星形刻面长度 35% 75% 5%
腰围下方 60% 95% 5%
腰围厚度 1.5% 11% 0.5%

其他因素

参数
最小腰围 ETN, VTN, THN, MED, STK, THK, VTK, ETK
最大腰围 ETN, VTN, THN, MED, STK, THK, VTK, ETK
尖底大小 NON, VSM, SML, MED, SLG, LGE, VLG, ELG
抛光 EX, VG, G, F, P
对称性 EX, VG, G, F, P
刷磨/剔磨 NEG, MOD, SIG, SEV

缩写词

缩写 全称
ELG 极大
ETK 极厚
ETN 极薄
EX 极优
F 尚可
G 良好
LGE
MED 中等
MOD
NEG 可以忽略不计
NON 无荧光
P 不良
SEV 严重
SIG 显著
SLG 稍大
SML
STK 略厚
THK
THN
VG 优良
VLG 非常大
VSM 非常小
VTK 非常厚
VTN 非常薄

返回页首


与参数和输出有关的其它信息

腰围厚度

腰围厚度(百分比)范围随所选的最小和最大腰围(口头描述)而不同。 这三个参数描述的是圆形明亮式钻石扇形腰围的不同方面。 腰围厚度的测量在风筝刻面和底部主刻面的八个结合处进行,并以平均直径百分比表示。 描述的是圆形明亮式钻石冠部到底部之间的距离。 最小和最大腰围(口头描述)根据上半部刻面和下半部刻面之间的“谷”部分进行衡量。 通常相比在刷磨或剔磨可忽略不计的情况下、比例正常、在风筝刻面测量的腰围厚度百分比,这些“谷”部分测量的腰围厚度百分比约小1.7%。 天然面和洞痕等特征会影响所记载的最小和最大腰围。(请参见 宣传册 -修饰、尖底、腰围(高分辨率),第 8 页和第 9 页)。

最小/最大腰围

钻石的最小和最大腰围值(与其他因素)可能共同限制其最大可能切工等级。 Facetware 打开时,最小和最大腰围均设置为 MED,导致腰围厚度处于 2% 至 5% 之间,增值为 0.5%。 将最小腰围从 Min 变为 ETN,会使腰围厚度范围变化 1.5% - 4.5%。 另外,将最大腰围变为 ETK,会使腰围厚度范围在 4% - 11% 之间浮动。 如果未显示所需的腰围厚度值,请尝试对最小或最大腰围进行设置,扩大所选范围。

选择了所需的腰围厚度值后,对最小和最大腰围值进行设置,且检查所选的这些数值不会强行改变腰围厚度值。 在极少数情况下,如果正确的最小或最大腰围值与所需腰围厚度值不相符,请找出预估等级对应的正确的比例组合。 然后查看第 5 页: Booklet - Estimating a Cut Grade,以采用实际最小或最大腰围值的更多限制条件。

刷磨/剔磨

刷磨/剔磨对切工等级的影响可分为四个级别:可以忽略不计、中度、显著或严重。 使用该因素来确定中等或较强刷磨/剔磨等级是否按比例对预计的切工等级产生限制作用。 以下 PDF 文件对各种形式的刷磨和剔磨进行了说明,并给出了相关示例: 宣传册 -修饰、尖底、腰围(高分辨率).

磨光和对称

根据 PDF 文件中的描述对磨光和对称性进行分级。 宣传册 -修饰、尖底、腰围(高分辨率).

全深

输出的全深百分比是根据比例参数的近似值组合计算所得。 这个计算值可能与所报告的总深度百分比存在差异(以所测的钻石直径和深度为基准)。

总深度百分比的计算包括所选择的尖底尺寸。 默认的尖底大小为 VSM,且全深极限值(PDF 文件第 5 页 Booklet - Estimating a Cut Grade)和该默认值一起被用来计算全深。 中等和更大的尖底按照比例对初始切工等级进行了限制。

返回页首


为什么计算的 Facetware 结果可能与 GIA 证书上的信息不同

Facetware® 可以获取用户选择的 6 个比例参数近似值。 鉴定所对圆形明亮式切工钻石进行分级时,需收集处理 100 多个测量值。 有时候,这些不同的数值对导致完全不同的冠度百分比、底深百分比和/或全深百分比,如下所述。

冠高百分比

Facetware® 所示冠高百分比可能会与证书上所印的数值有所不同。 对于 GIA 钻石鉴定证书和钻石鉴定精简版® 证书,上面记录的冠高是根据八个风筝刻面的测量值得出的。 然后,取这个八个测量值的平均值,将其转化为平均直径的百分比。 将所得结果四舍五入,精确至 0.5%。 Facetware® 则采用桌面百分比近似值和冠角近似值来计算冠高,公式为:冠高 % = 0.5 (100 - 桌面 %) x TAN(冠角平均值)。 将所得结果四舍五入,精确至小数点后一位。

底深百分比

Facetware® 所示底深百分比可能与证书上所印的数值有所不同。 对于 GIA 钻石鉴定证书和钻石鉴定精简版® 证书,上面记录的底深是根据八个底部主要刻面的测量值得出的。 然后,取这个八个测量值的平均值,将其转化为平均直径的百分比。并四舍五入,精确至 0.5%。 Facetware® 则采用尖底大小和底部角度近似值来计算底深,公式为:底深 % = 0.5 (100 – 尖底大小 %) x TAN(底部角度平均值)。 将所得结果四舍五入,精确至小数点后一位。 这个公式中使用了一个特定值作为每个尖底的尺寸;非常小的数值:0.5%。

全深百分比

Facetware® 所示全深百分比可能与证书上所印的数值有所不同。 对于 GIA 钻石鉴定证书和钻石鉴定精简版证书 (Diamond Dossier®),全深百分比以测量的钻石直径和深度为基础。 Facetware® 输出值中显示的全深百分比是通过比例参数的近似值组合,并根据公式:冠高% + 底深% + 腰围厚度% 计算得出的,其中冠高百分比和底深百分比均通过上述计算得出。 这个计算值可能与证书所示的总深度百分比存在差异;一般情况下,差异通常为 0.2-0.3%,极端情况下,差异可达到 0.8%。

对切工等级估计的影响

对于腰围厚度为 2.5% 至 7.0% 的圆形明亮式钻石来说,由于输入值中的六个比例参数可以计算出切工等级的第一部分,因此,它们的近似值决定了 GIA 鉴定所估计的 Facetware® 切工等级。 选定的尖底尺寸影响了计算得出的底深值和全深百分比,但是,无论是这些显示出来的数值,还是证书中的全深百分比,它们都是估计的切工等级的一部分。 在这个腰围厚度范围内,利用默认的尖底尺寸(0.5%,很小)计算出分级系统中所有比例组合的全深百分比,以便得出下图中所示极限值 Booklet - Estimating a Cut Grade

Facetware® 切工等级评估仪并不限制选用这个范围外(小于 2.5% 或大于 7.0%)的腰围厚度来计算全深百分比。 Facetware® 提醒用户,估计值取决于其他分级限制因素。 对于腰围厚度小于 2.5% 的圆形明亮式钻石来说,GIA 最终认定的切工等级可能高于利用 Facetware® 估计的切工等级。 对于腰围厚度大于 7.0% 的圆形明亮式钻石来说,将证书中的全深百分比值和腰围厚度作为极限值通常可以得出精确的等级估计值。

如果您想获得某特殊示例的全深极限值,请使用反馈表。

在实际中四舍五入

Facetware® 使用用户选定的舍入比例参数计算冠高、底深和全深百分比,计算得出的数值可能与证书上所印的数值有所不同。 对于平均腰围厚度为 2.5% 至 7.0% 的圆形明亮式钻石来说,测量的全深对切工等级没有任何影响。 相反,全深是根据下列著名公式,并利用这六个平均参数计算得出的。 分级系统采用计算出来的全深,确保实现和保持可预测性,对于制造商来说,这是系统最基本的一个方面。

我们来看一个示例,在这个示例中,测量值与计算值有差异,并且这种差异对切工等级产生了影响。

这颗 5.00 克拉的圆形明亮式钻石经 GIA 鉴定所鉴定,切工等级为优良。 如图所示,根据测量值,证书中显示的全深为 65.2%。 Facetware® 计算的全深则为 64.5%,这个结果可以通过以下公式计算得出:

冠高 % = 0.5 (100 - 桌面 %) x TAN(冠角平均值)
= 0.5 (100 – 53) x TAN (35.5)
= 16.8%

底深 % = 0.5 (100 – 尖底大小 %) x TAN(底部角度平均值)
如果腰围厚度在 2.5% 和 7.0% 之间,应采用默认值 0.5%(很小)作为尖底尺寸。
= 0.5 (100 – 0.5) x TAN (41.0)
= 43.2%

全深 % = 冠高 % + 底深 % + 腰围厚度 %
= 16.8 + 43.2 + 4.5
= 64.5%

这种情况下,证书中所示的全深就与 Facetware® 计算得出的全深相差 0.7%。 这种最佳的四舍五入法可以确保全深参数处于“优良”等级范围内。

全深百分比极限值
极优 57.5 - 63.0
优良 56.0 - 57.4    63.1 - 64.5
良好 53.0 - 55.9  64.6 - 66.5
尚可 51.0 - 52.9  66.6 - 70.9
不良 ≤ 50.9  ≥ 71.0

比例组合太接近舍入极限和等级极限会导致舍入不佳,最终对切工等级造成不利影响。


 

这颗 0.54 克拉的圆形明亮式钻石经 GIA 鉴定所鉴定,切工等级为优良。 如图所示,根据测量值,证书中显示的全深为 62.6%。 Facetware® 计算的全深则为 63.1%,这个结果可以通过以下公式计算得出:

冠高 % = 0.5 (100 - 桌面 %) x TAN(冠角平均值)
= 0.5 (100 – 57) x TAN (36.0)
= 15.6%

底深 % = 0.5 (100 – 尖底大小 %) x TAN(底部角度平均值)
如果腰围厚度在 2.5% 和 7.0% 之间,应采用默认值 0.5%(很小)作为尖底尺寸。
= 0.5 (100 – 0.5) x TAN (40.8)
= 42.9%

全深 % = 冠高 % + 底深 % + 腰围厚度 %
= 15.6 + 42.9 + 4.5
= 63.1%

这种情况下,证书中所示的全深就与 Facetware® 计算得出的全深相差 0.5%。 这种不佳的舍入导致全深参数在“优良”范围内降低一个等级。

随着时间的推移,制造商已经知道如何利用舍入规则得出高切工等级和高重量值,因此,将会有大量鉴定证书所示的全深百分比(测量值)明显超过公布的“极优”切工等级极限值 63.0%(计算值)。 但是,如上所述,太过于接近舍入极限和等级极限的切磨规划可能造成一种风险,即某个参数的舍入不佳,导致某个比例组合的切工等级较低。

测量的全深误差较小,还可能是因为测量设备的精确度较高,因而对测量值取平均值时使用的数值也比较准确。 比如,GIA 鉴定所利用多个未舍入的测量值,然后对平均值进行四舍五入。 如果测量设备精确度比 GIA 所使用的测量仪更低,则一个或多个参数可能出现不同的舍入结果。 这种情况下,您的设备中附带的 Facetware® 等级评估仪提供的等级可能和证书所示的等级不同,并且,至少有一个参数与证书所示不同。

返回页首

您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Analysis & Grading

GIA Facetware® Help



GIA Facetware Help

The Interface
Parameter Ranges
Proportion Parameters
Additional Factors
Abbreviations
Additional Information on Parameters and Output
Girdle Thickness
Girdle Min/Max
Painting / Digging
Polish and Symmetry
Total Depth
Why Facetware Results Differ from GIA Reports
Crown Height
Pavilion Depth
Total Depth
Affect On Cut Grade Estimate
Rounding In Practice


The Interface

1) Proportion parameters – required to estimate cut grade. Set to default values when Facetware® opens.
2) Additional factors - limits the maximum possible cut grade. Set to default values when Facetware® opens. For more information about the additional factors, download: Booklet - Finish, Culet, Girdle (high res).
3) Results – displays Facetware output values, including Estimated Cut Grade
4) Reset - returns all parameters to the default values that first display when Facetware® opens.
5) Add Your Parameter Set - creates a temporary list of your input values and corresponding results. Name each parameter set and click “Add” to create the list. List is valid for your current session only.
6) Displays saved parameter sets.
7) Select All – highlights all the sets in your list.
8) Delete – removes selected sets from your list.
9) Email – opens email client to send the selected sets in your list.
10) Print – prints selected sets in your list.
11) Export – converts selected sets in your list to a CSV file.

Back to Top


Parameter Ranges

Proportion Parameters

Parameter Low High Increment
Table Size 44% 72% 1%
Crown Angle 20° 41.5° 0.5°
Pavilion Angle 37.2° 43.8° 0.2°
Star Length 35% 75% 5%
Lower Half 60% 95% 5%
Girdle Thickness 1.5% 11% 0.5%

Additional Factors

Parameter Values
Girdle Min ETN, VTN, THN, MED, STK, THK, VTK, ETK
Girdle Max ETN, VTN, THN, MED, STK, THK, VTK, ETK
Culet Size NON, VSM, SML, MED, SLG, LGE, VLG, ELG
Polish EX, VG, G, F, P
Symmetry EX, VG, G, F, P
Painting/Digging NEG, MOD, SIG, SEV

Abbreviations

Abbreviation Full Name
ELG Extremely Large
ETK Extremely Thick
ETN Extremely Thin
EX Excellent
F Fair
G Good
LGE Large
MED Medium
MOD Moderate
NEG Negligible
NON None
P Poor
SEV Severe
SIG Significant
SLG Slightly Large
SML Small
STK Slightly Thick
THK Thick
THN Thin
VG Very Good
VLG Very Large
VSM Very Small
VTK Very Thick
VTN Very Thin

Back to Top


Additional Information on Parameters and Output

Girdle Thickness

The range displayed for Girdle Thickness (percentages) varies with the choices for Girdle Min and Girdle Max (verbal descriptions). These three parameters describe different aspects of the round brilliant's scalloped girdle. Girdle Thickness is measured at the eight junctions between the bezel and pavilion main facets, and expressed as a percentage of the average diameter. It describes the distance between the crown and pavilion of the round brilliant. Girdle Min and Girdle Max (verbal descriptions) are assessed in the "valleys" between the upper and lower half facets. Typically the girdle thickness percentage in these valleys is about 1.7% less than the girdle thickness percentage measured at the bezels for normal proportions and when no or negligible painting or digging is present. Characteristics like naturals and cavities can affect the reported descriptions of Girdle Min and Girdle Max (see Booklet - Finish, Culet, Girdle (high res), pages 8 and 9).

Girdle Min/Max

The Girdle Min and Girdle Max values (along with the other additional factors) combine to potentially limit the maximum possible cut grade. Facetware opens with Girdle Min and Girdle Max both set to MED, which causes Girdle Thickness to show a range from 2% to 5%, at 0.5% increments. Changing Girdle Min to ETN changes the Girdle Thickness range to 1.5% - 4.5%. Alternatively, changing Girdle Max to ETK yields a range of 4% - 11% for Girdle Thickness choices. If the desired Girdle Thickness value is not displayed, try changing either Girdle Min or Girdle Max by a few settings to extend the range.

Once the desired value for Girdle Thickness has been chosen, set the values for Girdle Min and Girdle Max, and check that these choices did not force a change to the Girdle Thickness value. For the rare cases where the correct Girdle Min or Girdle Max is not compatible with the desired value of Girdle Thickness, find the estimated grade for the correct proportion combination. Then see page 5 of Booklet - Estimating a Cut Grade, to apply further limitations from the actual Girdle Min or Girdle Max value.

Painting / Digging

The effect of painting or digging out to the cut grade can be applied at four levels: negligible, moderate, significant, or severe. Use this factor to determine whether moderate or stronger painting or digging would limit the estimated cut grade based on the proportions. An explanation and visual presentation of the different forms of painting and digging can be found in the PDF: Booklet - Finish, Culet, Girdle (high res).

Polish and Symmetry

Polish and Symmetry are graded according to descriptions that can be found in the PDF: Booklet - Finish, Culet, Girdle (high res).

Total Depth

The total depth percentage displayed in the output is calculated from the combination of rounded proportion parameters. This calculated value may differ from the reported total depth percentage, which is based on the measured diameter and depth of the diamond.

The calculation of total depth percentage includes the chosen culet size. The default culet size is VSM, and total depth limits (as described on page 5 of the pdf Booklet - Estimating a Cut Grade) are applied to calculated total depth with this default size. Culets of MED and larger limit the initial cut grade based on the proportions.

Back to Top


Why Calculated Facetware Results May Differ from GIA Reports

Facetware® has access to the six rounded proportion parameters selected by the user. When the Laboratory grades a round brilliant diamond, more than 100 individual measurement values are gathered and processed. In some cases, these distinctions lead to rather different values for crown height percentage, pavilion depth percentage, and/or total depth percentage, as described below.

Crown Height Percent

The crown height percentage displayed in Facetware® may differ from the value printed on the report. For GIA Diamond Grading and Diamond Dossier® Reports, crown height is measured at the eight bezel facets. These eight measurements are then averaged and converted to a percentage of the average diameter. The resulting number is rounded to the nearest 0.5%. Facetware® calculates crown height according to this formula, using rounded table percentage and rounded crown angle: Crown Height % = 0.5 (100 - Table %) x TAN (Crown Angle Average). The resulting number is rounded to one decimal place.

Pavilion Depth Percent

The pavilion depth percentage displayed in Facetware® may differ from the value printed on the report. For GIA Diamond Grading and Diamond Dossier® Reports, pavilion depth is measured at the eight pavilion main facets. These eight measurements are averaged, converted to a percentage of the average diameter, and rounded to the nearest 0.5%. Facetware® uses culet size and rounded pavilion angle to calculate pavilion depth according to this formula: Pavilion Depth % = 0.5 (100 – Culet Size %) x TAN (Pavilion Angle Average). The resulting number is rounded to one decimal place. A specific value is used in this formula for each verbal culet size; very small corresponds to 0.5%.

Total Depth Percent

The total depth percentage displayed in Facetware® may differ from the value printed on the report. For GIA Diamond Grading and Diamond Dossier® Reports, total depth percentage is based on the measured diameter and depth of the diamond. The total depth percentage displayed in the Facetware® output is calculated from the combination of rounded proportion parameters, according to this formula: Crown Height % + Pavilion Depth % + Girdle Thickness %, where crown height and pavilion depth percentages are derived from the calculations mentioned above. This calculated value may differ from the reported total depth percentage; typical differences are 0.2 – 0.3%, with extreme cases differing by as much as 0.8%.

Affect On Cut Grade Estimate

For round brilliant diamonds with girdle thickness between 2.5 and 7.0%, the six rounded proportion parameters in the input section determine the Facetware® estimated cut grade, just as those parameters produce the first component of the cut grade within the GIA laboratory. The chosen culet size affects the calculated values of pavilion depth and total depth percentages, but neither of those displayed values, nor the reported total depth percentage, are part of the estimated cut grade. Within this girdle thickness range, total depth percentage was calculated for all proportion combinations in the grading system using a default culet size of 0.5% (very small) to produce the limits shown in the figure below and at Booklet - Estimating a Cut Grade.

The Facetware® cut grade estimator does not include limitations based on the total depth percentage for girdle thickness outside this range (less than 2.5 or larger than 7.0%). Facetware® warns users that grade estimates are subject to additional grading limitations. For round brilliants with girdles less than 2.5%, the final cut grade assigned by GIA may be higher than estimated using Facetware®. For round brilliants with girdles larger than 7.0%, comparing reported values of total depth and girdle thickness to the limiting factor borders usually produces an accurate grade estimate.

Please use the Feedback form if you would like assistance applying total depth limits for a particular example.

Rounding In Practice

Facetware® uses rounded proportion parameters selected by the user to calculate values for crown height, pavilion depth, and total depth percentages, each of which may differ from the value printed on the report. For round brilliants with average girdle thickness between 2.5 and 7.0%, measured total depth plays no role in the cut grade. Instead, total depth is calculated from those six averaged parameters, according to well-known formulas described below. The grading system uses calculated total depth in order to achieve and maintain predictability, an essential aspect of the system for manufacturers.

Let’s look at an example where the measured values differ from the calculated values and how that impacts the cut grade.

This 5.00 carat round brilliant received a Very Good cut grade by the GIA laboratory. The reported total depth based on measurements is 65.2%, as shown on this profile image. The Facetware® calculated total depth is 64.5%, which can be derived by the following formulas:

Crown Height % = 0.5 (100 - Table %) x TAN (Crown Angle Average)
= 0.5 (100 – 53) x TAN (35.5)
= 16.8%

Pavilion Depth % = 0.5 (100 – Culet Size %) x TAN (Pavilion Angle Average)
For girdle thickness between 2.5 and 7.0%, a default value of 0.5% (very small) should be used for the culet size.
= 0.5 (100 – 0.5) x TAN (41.0)
= 43.2%

Total Depth % = Crown Height % + Pavilion Depth % + Girdle Thickness %
= 16.8 + 43.2 + 4.5
= 64.5%

This is a case where the reported total depth differs from the Facetware® calculated total depth by 0.7%. This favorable rounding keeps the total depth parameter in the Very Good range.

Total Depth % Limits
Excellent 57.5 - 63.0
Very Good 56.0 - 57.4  or  63.1 - 64.5
Good 53.0 - 55.9  or  64.6 - 66.5
Fair 51.0 - 52.9  or  66.6 - 70.9
Poor ≤ 50.9  or  ≥ 71.0

Proportion combinations too close to the rounding boundaries and grade borders can lead to unfavorable rounding as well, which ultimately impacts the cut grade in a negative way.


 

This 0.54 carat round brilliant received a Very Good cut grade by the GIA laboratory. The reported total depth based on measurements is 62.6%, as shown on this profile image. The Facetware® calculated total depth is 63.1%, which can be derived by the following formulas:

Crown Height % = 0.5 (100 - Table %) x TAN (Crown Angle Average)
= 0.5 (100 – 57) x TAN (36.0)
= 15.6%

Pavilion Depth % = 0.5 (100 – Culet Size %) x TAN (Pavilion Angle Average)
For girdle thickness between 2.5 and 7.0%, a default value of 0.5% (very small) should be used for the culet size.
= 0.5 (100 – 0.5) x TAN (40.8)
= 42.9%

Total Depth % = Crown Height % + Pavilion Depth % + Girdle Thickness %
= 15.6 + 42.9 + 4.5
= 63.1%

This is a case where the reported total depth differs from the Facetware® calculated total depth by 0.5%. This unfavorable rounding pushed the total depth parameter down one grade into the Very Good range.

Over time, manufacturers have learned how to make use of the rounding rules to produce both high cut grades and higher weight yield, resulting in a number of grading reports where the reported total depth percentage (as measured) noticeably exceeds the published limit of 63.0% (as calculated) for an Excellent cut grade. However, as shown above, cut planning so close to both rounding boundaries and grade borders assumes the risk that one parameter will round unfavorably and produce a proportion combination with a lower cut grade.

Minor differences in measured total depth can also be attributed to the precision of the measuring device, and the subsequent precision used in averaging those measurements. For instance, the GIA laboratory takes the average of multiple unrounded measurements, and then rounds the averaged number. If the measuring device is using lower precision than by those used at GIA, one or more parameters may round differently. In that case, the imbedded Facetware® grade estimator in your device may give a different grade than the report, along with at least one parameter reported differently.

Back to Top

GIA Facetware

Use Facetware to access GIA's database of more than 38.5 million proportion sets and estimate
a cut grade.

Log In

Free Facetware App

Visit www.gia.edu/facetware-mobile with your iPhone or Android phone.

Cut Grading System Charts & Booklets

Read More

You Might Also Like

Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Summer 2017 Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
Learn more