分析与分级

GIA Facetware® 使用条款



使用条款协议

最后更新:2009 年 10 月 20 日

本使用条款协议(以下简称“本协议”)是 THE GEMOLOGICAL INSTITUTE OF AMERICA, INC.(美国宝石研究院有限公司,以下简称“GIA”)、 您和您所代表的法人实体(以下统称“被许可方”)就被许可人使用 GIA FACETWARE® 切工评估仪(以下简称“本软件”)达成的具有法律约束力的协议。

通过单击“我接受”按钮或使用本软件,即表示被许可方同意接受本协议的所有条款和条件的约束。

单击“我接受”按钮的人员申明、保证并证明他/她是被许可方的授权代表,有权同意本协议的条款和条件。

您应该打印一份本协议,以作备用。

有限许可。 根据本协议条款的规定,GIA 特此授权被许可方一项非排他的、针对个人的、不可转让的、不可让与的有限的无权再转授的许可,仅用于获得特定已磨光圆形明亮式钻石的预测切工等级而通过 GIA 网站访问和使用本软件。 GIA 保留本协议中未明确授予给被许可方的其他所有权利。

局限性。 被许可方不得使用本软件来开发或创建其自身的钻石切工参数数据库。 被许可方不得或不得试图泄露或重建 GIA 切工数据库的内容或其中的任何部分,包括但不限于通过在本软件中输入多次迭代和/或钻石参数组合,以及对本软件生成的预测切工等级进行记录。

协议变更。 GIA 可能不时变更本协议的条款和条件。 在这种情况下,将向被许可方提供变更通知或要求被许可方确定已收到修订后的协议。 如果被许可方不同意相关变更,那么被许可方将停止使用本软件或被许可方不再访问本软件。 如果被许可方收到 GIA 有关本协议的变更通知后或被许可方确认收到修订后的协议后仍继续使用本软件,那么被许可方将被视为已同意该等变更。

专有权利的所有权。 根据 GIA 在本协议中授予的许可,GIA 现在是并将一直是一切与本软件和文档相关的权利、所有权和权益以及本软件和文档中的所有知识产权的唯一拥有者,包括但不限于所有版权、商业秘密权和专利权。 本款规定在本协议终止后仍然有效。

GIA 商标的使用;切工等级报告。

不得对屏幕截图或报告进行修改。 被许可方不得删除、修改或遮蔽出现在本软件屏幕截图、打印文件或其他印刷品上的任何数据、商标、服务标志、标识、信息或通知。 被许可方不得在本软件的屏幕截图、打印文件或其他印刷品上添加任何数据或信息,但根据本段第一句的规定,被许可方可在本软件的任何此类印刷品上添加其名称。 本款规定在本协议终止后仍然有效。

切工等级报告。 被许可方的网站或被许可方的宣传材料上将用类似于下面语句的一句或多句话来对被许可方进行表述,假设这样的陈述是真实、准确的:“被许可方利用 GIA Facetware® 切割评估仪来为圆形明亮式钻石规定切工等级。”如果被许可方是报告发行人(定义见下文),那么被许可方必须遵守与其所发行报告(定义见下文)相关的下列要求。 报告可能包含与显示使用本软件计算预测切工等级有关的以下语句:“切工等级”或“使用 GIA Facetware® 切工评估器计算的切工等级”,或 GIA 可能随时书面指定等其他陈述语句。 被许可方可使用 GIA 所采用的术语来描述报告上显示的切工等级(即极好、非常好、好、一般和差)。 此外,被许可方可在报告的其它任何位置添加一个或多个以下类似语句:“报告上显示的切工等级是按 GIA Facetware® 切工评估器计算出来的。”报告上不得有以下类似说明、表示或暗示:报告中显示的切工等级由 GIA 出具或批准;该切工等级为 GIA 切工等级或 GIA 认同被许可方或被许可方报告上的切工等级。 在不影响前述规定的情况下,报告上不得有此类说明:使用本软件计算所得的预测切工等级或证书上出现的其它切工等级为“GIA 切工等级”或“Facetware® 切工等级”。“报告颁发者”是指生成或向第三方提供记载有关钻石切工或与钻石有关的其他相关信息(比如包括以下一项或多项:重量、颜色等级、净度等级和用来描述钻石的类似属性)的报告、证书、分析、评估、其他文档、图像或数据库(以下统称或单独称为“报告” )的个人或实体,以便让钻石买家和/或其他人清楚此人或实体(无论此人或实体是否为独立的第三方、第二方,如私方的估价师或出具报告的自我认证公司)已验证了钻石的等级和特性,从而增加信心。 对于在本协议终止前就已计算出预测切工等级的钻石,本款规定在本协议终止后仍然有效。

不得将 GIA 的名称或商标用作其他目的。 除非本协议明确规定,GIA 不授予被许可方使用、复制或展示 GIA 名称或 GIA 的任何商标、服务标记、商号或标志的任何其他权利或许可,亦不得出于任何目的暗示授予此类权利。

确认;无担保

关于本软件的确认。 . 被许可人承认:
 

  • 本软件生成的预测切工等级大致预测了特定标准圆形明亮式钻石的全面切工等级,该切工等级可能由 GIA 根据对钻石比例和其他极限参数进行检验和测量后给出。

     

  • 从 GIA 获得的实际整体切工等级可能与本软件生成的预测值有所不同,原因如下:

     

    • GIA 确定的钻石实际比例(如钻石的冠部角度)或参数(如钻石的对称性)与输入本软件或本软件假定的钻石比例或参数有所不同。

       

    • 用来测量钻石比例或参数的各种测量方法和光学设备的测量精度和容差可能与 GIA 使用的不同。

       

    • 用户使用本软件的方法不当,或没有按照说明来计算或推算输入本软件的参数。

       

  • 本软件仅用于测算 GIA 的 D 到 Z 颜色等级范围内的标准圆形明亮式钻石的切工等级。

     

  • 预测的切工等级并非估值、估价或保证,它不是由 GIA 评定的钻石最终切工等级的保证或声明。 预测切工等级并不是上文描述的任何一种情况。

     

  • 预测切工等级不是 GIA 为根据特定圆形明亮式钻石的比例和其他参数所得出的整体切工等级所作出的声明或保证。

     

  • 本软件所示的比例范围是业内最常见的范围。 对于比例或参数超出该范围的钻石,不提供其预测切工等级。

     

  • 本软件适用于 0.15 克拉或更大的圆形明亮式钻石。

     

免责声明。 GIA 不会就任何 GIA 网站的“上线时间”、本软件、预测切工等级或此类网站或软件在特定时间内可向被许可方开放等内容作出任何明示、暗示或法定的声明或保证。 本软件、预测切工等级和此类网站按“原样”提供。在适用法律允许的最大范围内,GIA 明确拒绝就本软件、预测切工等级和 GIA 的网站做出任何明示、暗示或法定的保证或声明,包括但不限于商业适售性、特定目的之适用性及未侵害他人权利的暗示保证。 GIA 不保证本软件或用来访问本软件的网站的运行不会中断,且无漏洞或错误。 GIA 不对与本软件有关的任何第三方软件或硬件的质量、性能、功能或其他方面提供任何保证或声明,亦不承担任何责任。 本段免责声明和上文所述的声明在本协议终止后仍然有效。

不对被许可方的客户提供保证;被许可方支付的损害赔偿。 GIA 不对被许可方的客户或与被许可方交流钻石切工等级的任何其他人做出任何形式的声明或保证。 被许可方不得或无权代表 GIA 就本软件或由本软件计算得出的任何预测切工等级向任何人作出任何声明或保证。 被许可方将就索赔、起诉、追索、诉讼、法律程序、责任、损失、损害赔偿、结算金额、成本、费用和与被许可方授予切工等级相关的任何客户或其他第三方提起的任何索赔、诉讼、起诉或法律程序而产生的 GIA 的合理律师费和其他辩护相关费用而赔偿 GIA,使其免受损害。 本款规定在本协议终止后仍然有效。

GIA不做任何赔偿。 被许可方免费使用本软件。 因本协议或被许可方使用本软件而引起或相关的任何第三方赔偿、诉讼、起诉、法律程序或追索或与此类第三方索赔、诉讼、起诉、法律程序或追索有关的导致被许可方遭受的任何损失、损害、结算金额、责任或费用,GIA 没有义务为被许可方进行辩护,为其提供赔偿,使其免受损害。 本款规定在本协议终止后仍然有效。

责任限制。 被许可方可免费使用本软件。 因此,在任何情况下,GIA 都不会因为任何直接的、间接的、后果的、偶然的、惩戒性的、惩罚性的、法定的、特殊的或其它非赔偿性的损害,包括但不限于利益损失、数据丢失、商机错失或业务中断,无论 GIA 是否被告知或清楚可能会发生此类损失,而对被许可方承担任何形式的责任,无论是合同责任、侵权责任(包括过失)、赔偿责任或其他责任。 在任何情况下,GIA 因任何责任理论项下的任何及所有索赔和诉因,无论是合同责任、侵权责任(包括过失)、赔偿责任或其它责任,以及各种形式的损失而承担的累积总赔偿不得超过 100.00 美元。 本段的限制规定应视为在法律允许的最大范围内予以适用,且不考虑本协议中规定的任何有限救济措施未能实现其实质目的的情况。 被许可方确认并同意已全面考虑了上述风险分配,认为该分配是合理的,并同意本段上述限制是双方间缔结合约的本质基础。 本款规定在本协议终止后仍然有效。

终止。 本协议将于被许可方单击“我接受”按钮之日或从使用本软件之时开始生效,直至按本协议规定终止之前将持续有效。 如 (i) 被许可方违反本协议规定的任何义务或(ii)GIA 选择停止在 GIA 网站上使用本软件时,应立即终止本协议。 本协议终止时,本协议授予的所有许可都将立即自动终止。

总则。 以下段落在本协议终止后仍然有效。

各方关系。 GIA 与被许可方的关系是独立承包商的关系,本协议中的任何条款均不用于也不得理解为合约方建立合伙伙伴、代理、合资、 特许或雇佣关系。 任何一方均无权约束另一方或代表另一方招致任何责任。

无第三方受益人。 本协议中的任何条款不用于或被理解为向本协议以外的个人或实体赋予任何权利、利益或救济,或向其赋予本协议相关方的任何责任。 在不影响前述规定的情况下,被许可方的客户不得为本协议的第三方受益人。

通知。 本协议规定的、授权的或在本协议下应具有法律效力的所有通知、同意、豁免和其他通讯必须采用书面形式,且用英文书写。 被许可方注册使用本软件时,GIA 发送给被许可方的通知将发送至被许可方提供的电子邮件地址中。 GIA 发送给被许可方的通知应以挂号信形式(并要求提供回执)发送至 Gemological Institute of America, Inc., Attention: General Counsel,

5355 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA92008-4699
. 递交给 GIA 的急件或通知以收到收据为效,递交给被许可方的通知以收到的急件或通知为效。 一方可向另一方发出新地址变更通知,以便更改通知接收地址。

适用法律;律师费。 在不考虑法律原则冲突的条件下,本协议受美国加利福尼亚州法律的专属管辖,并按其解释和执行, 《联合国国际货物销售合同公约》不适用于本协议。 除了可能获得的其他减免费用外,任何争议、仲裁、诉讼或其他起诉的胜诉方还有权收取因此类法律程序而产生的合理的律师费、专家证人费和现金支出。

英文。 本协议仅以英文编写和签署,其他的翻译版本将无效。 与本协议相关的所有法律程序均应以英文进行。

法院和地点。 因本协议或与本协议相关的任何诉讼、起诉或法律程序必须提交至美国加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥的美国联邦地区初审法院或者州法院进行专属管辖,且各方不可撤销地同意任何上述诉讼、起诉或法律程序的管辖权和仲裁地址。 尽管有上述规定,如果被许可方位于美国以外的地区,GIA 可在对被许可方具有属人管辖权的任何法院提起诉讼、起诉或法律程序。

遵守法律。 各方同意遵守与本协议项下活动有关的所有适用法律法规制度。

弃权。 任何一方未要求另一方履行本协议任一条款,并不影响其以后任何时候要求履行该条款的全部权利,任何一方对违反本协议条款的弃权不得当作或被视为对该条款本身的弃权。

可分割性。 本协议的任何条款根据任何适用法律被认定为不能执行或无效时,并不会导致本协议整体不能执行或无效,而且,在此情况下,此类条款应当为更好达成其目的,在使用法律或使用法庭决定的范围内进行修改或解释。

转让。 被许可方不得转让本协议或本协议项下的任何部分或全部权利或义务,包括但不限于依法对此类权利或义务进行变更。

完整协议。 本协议是被许可方与 GIA 就本协议所议事项签订的完整独家协议,并取代和行文规定双方之前或现在达成的与本协议所议事项有关的所有口头和书面共识、声明、意向书、备忘录、协议或其他通讯内容。

 

 

 

 

 


您或许还会喜欢

零售商资源
寻找零售商
了解更多
在校区商店购物
在校区商店购物
了解更多 (用英语)
品质保证基准
了解更多
Gems & Gemology
G&G Summer 2017 Edition
了解更多 (用英语)

Analysis & Grading

GIA Facetware® Terms of Use



TERMS OF USE AGREEMENT

Last Updated: October 20, 2009

THIS TERMS OF USE AGREEMENT(THE "AGREEMENT") IS A LEGALLY BINDING AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE GEMOLOGICAL INSTITUTE OF AMERICA, INC. ("GIA"), YOU AND THE LEGAL ENTITY YOU REPRESENT (COLLECTIVELY, "LICENSEE") REGARDING LICENSEE'S USE OF THE GIA FACETWARE® CUT ESTIMATOR (THE "SOFTWARE").

BY CLICKING THE "I ACCEPT" BUTTON OR OTHERWISE USING THE SOFTWARE, LICENSEE AGREES TO BE BOUND BY ALL THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS IN THIS AGREEMENT.

THE PERSON CLICKING THE "I ACCEPT" BUTTON REPRESENTS, WARRANTS AND CERTIFIES THAT HE/SHE IS AUTHORIZED BY LICENSEE TO AGREE TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS IN THIS AGREEMENT.

You should print a copy of this Agreement for your records.

LIMITED LICENSE. Subject to the terms in this Agreement, GIA hereby grants to Licensee a non-exclusive, personal, non-assignable, non-transferable limited license, without the right to sublicense, to access and use the Software via GIA's website for the sole purpose of obtaining predicted cut grades for specific polished round brilliant diamonds. All other rights not expressly granted to Licensee in this Agreement are reserved by GIA.

LIMITATIONS. Licensee shall not use the Software to develop or create Licensee's own database of diamond cut parameters. Licensee shall not, and shall not attempt to, discover or recreate the contents of the GIA cut database or any portion thereof, including without limitation by inputting multiple iterations and/or combinations of diamond parameters into the Software and recording the predicted cut grades generated by the Software.

CHANGES TO THIS AGREEMENT. GIA may from time to time change the terms and conditions in this Agreement. In such event, Licensee will either be provided notice of the change or be required to indicate Licensee's acceptance of the revised Agreement. If Licensee does not agree with the changes, then Licensee will cease using the Software or Licensee will no longer have access to the Software. If Licensee continues using the Software after receipt of GIA's notice of a change to this Agreement or after Licensee's acceptance of the revised Agreement, then Licensee will be deemed to have agreed to such change.

OWNERSHIP OF PROPRIETARY RIGHTS. Subject to the licenses granted by GIA in this Agreement, GIA is and will remain the sole and exclusive owner of all right, title and interest in and to the Software and documentation and all intellectual property rights in the Software and documentation, including without limitation, all copyrights, trade secret rights and patent rights. This paragraph shall survive the termination of this Agreement.

USE OF GIA TRADEMARKS; REPORTING CUT GRADES.

No Modification to Screen Shots or Reports. Licensee shall not remove, modify or obscure any data, trademark, service mark, logo, information or notices appearing on any screen shot, screen print or on other printed output from the Software. Licensee shall not add any data or information to any such screen shot, screen print or other printed output from the Software, provided that Licensee may, subject to the first sentence of this paragraph, add its name to any such printed output from the Software. This paragraph shall survive the termination of this Agreement.

Reporting Cut Grades. Licensee may include on Licensee's website and in Licensee's promotional materials one or more statements similar to the following statement, provided such statements are truthful and accurate: "Licensee uses the GIA Facetware® Cut Estimator to formulate cut grades for round brilliant diamonds." If Licensee is a Report Issuer (as defined below), then Licensee must comply with the following requirements with respect to Reports (as defined below) issued by Licensee. Reports may include one of the following statements in connection with the display of a predicted cut grade calculated using the Software: "Cut grade" or "Cut grade formulated using GIA Facetware® Cut Estimator" or such other statement as GIA may specify from time to time in writing. Licensee may use the nomenclature used by GIA to describe cut grades appearing on Reports (i.e., Excellent, Very Good, Good, Fair and Poor). In addition, Licensee may include elsewhere on Reports one or more statements similar to the following statement: "The cut grade appearing on this report was formulated using the GIA Facetware® Cut Estimator." No report may state, suggest or imply that the cut grade appearing on the Report was issued or approved by GIA, that such cut grade is a GIA cut grade or that GIA endorses Licensee or the cut grades appearing on Licensee's Reports. Without limiting the foregoing, no Report may state that the predicted cut grade calculated using the Software or any other cut grade appearing on the Report is a "GIA cut grade" or "Facetware® cut grade." "Report Issuer" means a person or entity that generates or provides to third parties reports, certificates, analyses, appraisals, other documents, images or databases (collectively "Reports" and individually a "Report") that record information about the cut of a diamond and other relevant information pertaining to the diamond, including for example one or more of the following: weight, color grade, clarity grade, and similar items describing the diamond, for the purposes of giving the buyer of the diamond and/or others additional confidence knowing that such person or entity has verified the grading and characteristics of the diamond, whether such person or entity is an independent third party, a secondary party, such as an appraiser to a private party, or a self certifying company that issues Reports. This paragraph shall survive the termination of this Agreement with respect to diamonds for which predicted cut grades were calculated prior to the termination of this Agreement.

No Other Use of GIA Name or Trademarks. Except as expressly provided in this Agreement, no other rights or licenses are granted to Licensee by GIA to use, reproduce or display the name of GIA or any GIA trademarks, service marks, trade names or logos, nor shall such right be implied, for any purpose.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS; NO WARRANTY

Acknowledgements Regarding the Software . Licensee acknowledges that:
 

  • The predicted cut grade generated by the Software provides an approximate prediction of the overall cut grade that a particular standard round brilliant diamond would receive from GIA based on GIA's examination and measurement of the diamond's proportions and other limiting parameters.

     

  • The actual overall cut grade received from GIA for a diamond may differ from that predicted by the Software for the following reasons:

     

    • The diamond's actual proportions (e.g., the crown angle of the diamond) or parameters (e.g., the symmetry of the diamond) as determined by GIA are different than the proportions or parameters for the diamond as input into or assumed by the Software.

       

    • The measurement accuracy and tolerances of different measurement methodologies and optical devices used to measure a diamond's proportions or parameters may differ from those used by GIA.

       

    • The user did not use the software properly, or did not follow instructions to calculate or derive parameters for entry into the software.

       

  • The Software is intended to calculate predicted cut grades for standard round brilliant diamonds on GIA's D-to-Z scale of color only.

     

  • The predicted cut grade is not a valuation, appraisal or guarantee and it is not a warranty or representation of the diamond's final cut grade as determined by GIA. The predicted cut grade may not be referred to as any of the foregoing.

     

  • The predicted cut grade is not a representation or warranty by GIA regarding the overall cut grade that a particular round brilliant diamond would receive from GIA based on the diamond's proportions and other parameters.

     

  • Proportion ranges shown in the Software represent those most typically seen in the trade. Predicted cut grades for diamonds with proportions or parameters outside these ranges are not available.

     

  • The Software is intended for use with round brilliant diamond sizes 0.15 carats and larger.

     

Disclaimers. GIA MAKES NO REPRESENTATIONS OR WARRANTIES, EXPRESS, IMPLIED OR STATUTORY REGARDING THE "UP-TIME" OF ANY GIA WEBSITE, THE SOFTWARE, ANY PREDICTED CUT GRADE, OR THAT SUCH WEBSITES OR THE SOFTWARE WILL BE AVAILABLE TO LICENSEE AT ANY PARTICULAR TIME. THE SOFTWARE, THE PREDICTED CUT GRADES AND SUCH WEBSITES ARE PROVIDED "AS IS." TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW GIA EXPRESSLY DISCLAIMS ALL WARRANTIES AND REPRESENTATIONS WITH RESPECT TO THE SOFTWARE, THE PREDICTED CUT GRADES AND GIA'S WEBSITES, WHETHER EXPRESS, IMPLIED OR STATUTORY, INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND NON-INFRINGEMENT. GIA DOES NOT WARRANT THAT THE OPERATION OF THE SOFTWARE OR THE WEB SITE USED TO ACCESS THE SOFTWARE WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED, BUG FREE, OR ERROR FREE. GIA DOES NOT MAKE ANY WARRANTIES OR REPRESENTATIONS AND SHALL HAVE NO LIABILITY WHATSOEVER REGARDING THE QUALITY, PERFORMANCE, FUNCTIONALITY, OR ANY OTHER ASPECT OF ANY THIRD PARTY SOFTWARE OR HARDWARE USED IN CONNECTION WITH THE SOFTWARE. The disclaimers set forth in this paragraph and the acknowledgements set forth above shall survive the termination of this Agreement.

No Warranty to Licensee's Customers; Indemnification by Licensee. GIA makes no representations or warranties of any kind to Licensee's customers or any other person to whom Licensee communicates a diamond's cut grade. Licensee shall not, and shall not have the have the right to, make any representation or warranty to any person on behalf of GIA regarding the Software or any predicted cut grade calculated by the Software. Licensee will indemnify and hold GIA harmless from and against any claims, actions, demands, suits, proceedings, liabilities, losses, damages, settlement amounts, costs, expenses, and GIA's reasonable attorneys' fees and other defense related costs incurred by GIA arising out of, related to or connected with any claim, suit, action, demand, or proceeding by any customer or other third party relating to a cut grade received from Licensee. This paragraph shall survive the termination of this Agreement.

NO INDEMNIFICATION BY GIA. Licensee's use of the Software is being provided free of charge. Therefore, GIA will have no obligation to defend, indemnify or hold Licensee harmless for any third party claims, suits, actions, proceedings or demands arising out of or related to this Agreement or Licensee's use of the Software, or for any losses, damages, settlement amounts, liabilities or expenses incurred by Licensee in connection with such third party claims, suits, actions, proceedings or demands. This paragraph shall survive the termination of this Agreement.

LIABILITY LIMITATIONS. LICENSEE'S USE OF THE SOFTWARE IS BEING PROVIDED FREE OF CHARGE. THEREFORE, IN NO EVENT SHALL GIA BE LIABLE TO LICENSEE IN ANY MANNER, UNDER ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE), INDEMNITY, BREACH OF WARRANTY OR OTHER THEORY, FOR ANY DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL, INCIDENTAL, EXEMPLARY, PUNITIVE, STATUTORY, SPECIAL OR OTHER NON-COMPENSATORY DAMAGES, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, LOST PROFITS, LOSS OF DATA, LOST BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION, REGARDLESS OF WHETHER GIA WAS ADVISED OF OR WAS AWARE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH DAMAGES. IN NO EVENT SHALL THE TOTAL, CUMULATIVE AGGREGATE LIABILITY OF GIA REGARDING ANY AND ALL CLAIMS AND CAUSES OF ACTION, UNDER ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY, WHETHER IN CONTRACT, IN TORT (INCLUDING NEGLIGENCE), INDEMNITY OR OTHERWISE, AND FOR ALL DAMAGES OF ANY KIND, EXCEED $US 100.00. THE LIMITATIONS SET FORTH IN THIS PARAGRAPH SHALL BE DEEMED TO APPLY TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW AND NOTWITHSTANDING THE FAILURE OF THE ESSENTIAL PURPOSE OF ANY LIMITED REMEDIES SET FORTH IN THIS AGREEMENT. LICENSEE ACKNOWLEDGES AND AGREES THAT IT HAS FULLY CONSIDERED THE FOREGOING ALLOCATION OF RISK AND FINDS IT REASONABLE, AND THAT THE FOREGOING LIMITATIONS IN THIS PARAGRAPH ARE AN ESSENTIAL BASIS OF THE BARGAIN BETWEEN THE PARTIES. This paragraph shall survive the termination of this Agreement.

TERMINATION. This Agreement will commence on the date Licensee clicks the "I Accept" button or begins using the Software and will remain in effect until terminated as provided herein. This Agreement shall immediately terminate if (i) Licensee is in breach of any obligation under this Agreement or (ii) GIA elects to discontinue making the Software available on the GIA website. Upon any termination of this Agreement, all licenses granted in this Agreement shall automatically and immediately terminate.

GENERAL. The following paragraphs shall survive the termination of this Agreement.

Relationship of Parties. GIA's relationship with Licensee is that of an independent contractor, and nothing in this Agreement is intended to, or should be construed to, create a partnership, agency, joint venture, franchise or employment relationship. Neither party shall have the power to bind the other or incur obligations on the other's behalf.

No Third Party Beneficiaries. Nothing contained in this Agreement is intended or shall be construed as creating or conferring any rights, benefits or remedies upon, or creating any obligations of the parties hereto toward, any person or entity not a party to this Agreement. Without limiting the foregoing, Licensee's customers and clients shall not be third party beneficiaries of this Agreement.

Notices. All notices, consents, waivers, and other communications required by, authorized by or intended to have legal effect under this Agreement must be in writing and must be in English. Notices sent to Licensee by GIA will be sent to the e-mail address provided by Licensee when Licensee registers to use the Software. Notices sent to GIA by Licensee should be sent by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Gemological Institute of America, Inc., Attention: General Counsel,

5355 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA92008-4699
. Notice to Licensee will be effective upon dispatch and notices to GIA will be effective upon receipt. Each party may change its address for receipt of notices by giving notice of the new address to the other party.

Governing Law; Attorneys' Fees. This Agreement will be solely and exclusively governed, construed and enforced in accordance with the laws of the State of California, USA, without reference to conflict of laws principles. The United Nations Convention on Contracts for the Sale of International Goods does not apply to this Agreement. The prevailing party in any dispute, arbitration, litigation or other action shall be entitled to receive its reasonable attorneys' fees, expert witness fees and out-of-pocket costs incurred in connection with such proceeding, in addition to any other relief it may be awarded.

English Language. This Agreement is prepared and executed in the English language only and any translations of this Agreement into any other language shall have no effect. All proceedings related to this Agreement shall be conducted in the English language.

Forum and Venue. Any suit, action or proceeding arising from or relating to this Agreement must be brought, solely and exclusively, in United States District Court in San Diego, California, USA or in the State courts in San Diego, California, USA and each party irrevocably consents to the jurisdiction and venue of any such court in any such suit, action or proceeding. Notwithstanding the foregoing, if Licensee is located outside the United States, then GIA may initiate a suit, action or proceeding in any court with personal jurisdiction over Licensee.

Compliance with Laws. Each party agrees to comply with all applicable laws, rules, and regulations in connection with its activities under this Agreement.

Waiver. The failure of either party to require performance by the other party of any provision of this Agreement will not affect the full right to require such performance at any time thereafter; nor will the waiver by either party of a breach of any provision of this Agreement be taken or held to be a waiver of the provision itself.

Severability. If any provision of this Agreement is unenforceable or invalid under any applicable law, such unenforceability or invalidity will not render this Agreement unenforceable or invalid as a whole, and such provision will be changed and interpreted so as to best accomplish the objectives of such unenforceable or invalid provision within the limits of applicable law or applicable court decisions.

Assignment. Licensee may not assign this Agreement nor any rights or obligations under this Agreement in whole or in part, including without limitation in connection with a change in control or by operation of law.

Entire Agreement. This Agreement completely and exclusively states the agreement between Licensee and GIA regarding its subject matter and it supersedes, and its terms govern, all prior or contemporaneous understandings, representations, letters of intent, memoranda of understanding, agreements, or other communications between the parties, oral or written, regarding such subject matter.

 

 

 

 

 


GIA Facetware

Use Facetware to access GIA's database of more than 38.5 million proportion sets and estimate
a cut grade.

Log In

Free Facetware App

Visit www.gia.edu/facetware-mobile with your iPhone or Android phone.

Cut Grading System Charts & Booklets

Read More

You Might Also Like

Resources For Retailers
Find a Retailer
learn more
Shop the Campus Store
Learn More
Quality Assurance Benchmarks
Learn More
Gems & Gemology
G&G Spring 2017 Edition
Learn more